DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim1 recites “a vehicle communication device disposed inside the instrument panel and mounted on the instrument panel”. This claim is indefinite as it is not clear exactly what is being claimed. The first part of the recitation requires that the device be “inside” the panel and the second part of the recitation requires that the device is mounted “on” the instrument panel. Although there can be various correct interpretations of this recitation, it would be more clear if the recitation expressly stated that the device is mounted to an undersurface of the instrument panel and is thus covered by the instrument panel.
Dependent claims 2-4 do not act to cure the deficiencies of parent claim 1 and are thereby rejected for at least the same rationale..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 20200376925).
Regarding claim 1: Zhang discloses a mounting structure for a vehicle communication device 54 (Figs. 1, 2; [0029]). Zhang discloses that the mounting structure comprises an instrument panel 14 (Fig. 1, [0051]). Zhang discloses a vehicle communication device 54 disposed inside the instrument panel and mounted on the instrument panel (Figs. 1, 2 – the communication device 54 is at least partially inside the instrument panel and is mounted on the instrument panel). Zhang discloses an air conditioning duct 26, 30, 110 that is part of a vehicle air conditioner (Figs. 1, 2; [0028], [0031]). Zhang discloses the air conditioning duct including a connection portion to which the vehicle communication device is connectable and a portion of the air conditioning duct different from the connection portion being fixed to, and supported by, the instrument panel (Figs. 1, 2, 5, 6 – these figures illustrate the limitation as recited; the figure illustrate that the air conditioning ducts at least contact/support/affix the device 54 in place).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawaya et al. (US 20220321684) in view of Zhang et al. (US 20200376925).
Zhang discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above.
Regarding claim 1: Sawaya discloses a mounting structure for a vehicle communication device 10 (Fig. 7; [0039], [0070], [0073]). Sawaya discloses the mounting structure comprising an instrument panel 2 (Figs. 6, 7; [0071]). Sawaya discloses a vehicle communication device 10 disposed inside the instrument panel 2 and mounted on the instrument panel 2 (Fig. 7; [0072], [0073]).
Sawaya is silent regarding and air conditioner and thus does not explicitly disclose an air conditioning duct that is part of a vehicle air conditioner, the air conditioning duct including a connection portion to which the vehicle communication device is connectable, and a portion of the air conditioning duct different from the connection portion being fixed to, and supported by, the instrument panel. Zhang discloses an air conditioning duct 26, 30, 110 that is part of a vehicle air conditioner (Figs. 1, 2; [0028], [0031]). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art and the benefit of the cited art to have configured Sawaya so as to include an air conditioning duct that is part of a vehicle air conditioner as taught by Zhang. As vehicles are known to have air conditioners and duct work therefor, as Sawaya is simply silent regarding air conditioners, and as Zhang explicitly teaches an air conditioning duct that is part of a vehicle air conditioner, it would have been within routine skill to have selected a desired component to include in a vehicle from a finite selection of components suitable for a vehicle (i.e. including an air conditioner or excluding an air conditioner). Such a simple substitution/addition and configuration would have been predictable with a reasonable expectation for success and with no unexpected results.
Sawaya, as modified by Zhang, discloses that the air conditioning duct includes a connection portion to which the vehicle communication device is connectable and a portion of the air conditioning duct different from the connection portion being fixed to, and supported by, the instrument panel (Zhang - Figs. 1, 2, 5, 6 – these figures illustrate the limitation as recited; the figure illustrate that the air conditioning ducts at least contact/support/affix the device 54 in place).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawaya et al. (US 20220321684) and Zhang et al. (US 20200376925), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kadowaki (US 20220307570).
Sawaya and Zhang disclose the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above.
Regarding claim 2: Sawaya, as modified by Zhang, does not explicitly disclose that an elastically deformable elastic member is interposed between the vehicle communication device and the connection portion. Kadowaki discloses using an elastically deformable elastic member interposed between vibrating members of the vehicle (title; [0003]). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art and the benefit of the cited art to have configured Sawaya, as modified by Zhang, so as to include an elastically deformable elastic member interposed between vibrating members as taught by Kadowaki so as to be included between the communication device and the connection portion of Sawaya, as modified by Zhang. As vibration damping in vehicles is very well known, as Sawaya, as modified by Zhang, is silent regarding vibration damping between connections, and a Kadowaki explicitly teaches vibration damping, it would have been within routine skill to have selected a desired connection structure from a finite selection of connection structures suitable for a vehicle (i.e. including vibration damping structure or excluding such structure). Such a simple substitution/addition and configuration would have been predictable with a reasonable expectation for success and with no unexpected results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Automobiles having air conditioners, ducts, communications devices, instrument panels, and dashboard are very well known in the art. The supporting structures for the instrument panel/dashboard as well as the duct work and communication devices is also well known. Representative art which appears close to the claimed invention includes Sawaya et al. (US 20220321684), Zhang et al. (US 20200376925), Kadowaki (US 20220307570), Ito et al. (US 20030193207), Nishijima et al. (US 5549344), Muramatsu et al. (US 20240109599), Ogata et al. (US 20240023267), Oshima et al (US 20160233563), Choi et al. (US 11873029), Kurokawa et al. (US 20230182824), Kehimker et al. (US 20200247478), Yoshinaka (US 6110037), and Roan et al. (US 5673964). In general, this art, alone or in combination, discloses various recited features, including but not limited to, a mounting structure for a vehicle communication device, an instrument panel/dashboard, a vehicle communication device disposed inside the instrument panel and mounted on the instrument panel, an air conditioning duct that is part of a vehicle air conditioner, the air conditioning duct including a connection portion to which the vehicle communication device is connectable, a portion of the air conditioning duct different from the connection portion being fixed to, and supported by, the instrument panel, and an elastically deformable elastic member is interposed between the vehicle portions. Thus, upon reviewing these cited publications, and their included references, it appears that the claimed subject matter might teach a generally known concept. However, this art fails to disclose or fairly suggest the specifically recited damping structure of the recited structural components. Specifically, the art does not disclose the detailed resonant frequency cancellation between the communication device, the road surface, and the air conditioning system and the remaining recited apparatus structure and the overall relationship to the vehicle. It could be argued that the individual structure is generally known in the art and thus, could just be assembled to disclose the claimed invention. However, the instant invention clearly and specifically recites structural and positional relationships and combinations, which require a greater effort than just cobbling together known structures. Further, the claimed structures are sufficiently detailed to be distinguishable when configured as claimed. The examiner can find no motivation to combine or modify the references which would define a fully functioning apparatus as claimed in the instant application. Thus, it would not have been within routine skill to glean the specifically combined limitations of the instant invention, from the art, without the benefit of hindsight reasoning or extensive experimentation.
Conclusion
/Taras P Bemko/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672
8/17/2026