DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I, claims 1-15 and 20 in the reply filed on 7/28/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/28/2026.
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “a difference between a difference between a thickness of the third end portion of the second half ring portion and a thickness of the first end portion of the first half ring portion and a sum of a thickness of the base layer and a thickness of the display module is 40 pm or less.”. It’s unclear what this limitation is claiming. In order to examine this application, examiner will consider the limitation as “a sum of a thickness of the base layer and a thickness of the display module is 40 pm or less.”.
Claim 20 recites “the outer surface is spiral shaped and comprises one rotation… …”. A spiral is defined as a continuous curving line or shape that winds around a central point, getting gradually further away from it or closer to it. The “outer surface” is impossible to have a spiral shape and that “one rotation” cannot be reasonably considered as spiral. Thus, this limitation is considered indefinite. In order to examine this application, examiner will consider the limitation as “the outer surface comprises one rotation…”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 9, 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hinson (US 9,244,494).
Regarding claim 1, Hinson discloses a display apparatus (600, Figs. 6A-10B) comprising:
a shaft (616, Fig. 6A, 8F) extending in a first direction (elongated direction of 616 in Fig. 6A) and comprising:
a first half ring portion (bottom half ring of 616 including 812, 814 in Fig. 8F; see cropped Fig. 8F below) having a curvature from a first end portion (see 1 in cropped Fig. 8F below) to a second end portion (see 2 in cropped Fig. 8F below; also note this is same interpretation of “end portion” as this instant application) opposite to the first end portion on a plane perpendicular to the first direction (plane shown in Fig. 8F), and
a second half ring portion (top half ring of 616, Fig. 8F) having a curvature from a third end portion (see 3 in cropped Fig. 8F below) to a fourth end portion (see 4 in cropped Fig. 8F below) opposite to the third end portion on the plane,
wherein the third end portion and the fourth end portion of the second half ring portion are respectively connected to the first end portion and the second end portion of the first half ring portion (all ends connected as shown in Fig. 8F);
a groove (620 in Fig. 7A and 812/814 in Fig. 8F) arranged adjacent to the first end portion of the first half ring portion and concavely formed from an outer surface of the first half ring portion in a thickness direction of the first half ring portion (as shown in Fig. 8F);
a base layer (same as 634, 636 and base layer of 622, Fig. 6A; note 622 inherently have a base layer below the TFTs or OLEDs) configured to overlap the first half ring portion and the second half ring portion from the first end portion in a wound state of the display apparatus (such as shown in Fig. 7C), the base layer comprising a protrusion (634, Fig. 6A; col. 9, lns. 9-26) fitted into the groove; and
a display module (OLEDs of 622; col. 3, lns. 8-16: “…technology such as TFTs… OLEDs…”) disposed on the base layer.
Regarding claim 2, Hinson discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, and Hinson further discloses wherein a width of the groove increases from the outer surface to an inner surface of the first half ring portion (814 shown wider than 812 horizontally in Fig. 8F).
Regarding claim 4, Hinson discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, and Hinson further discloses wherein: a thickness of the third end portion of the second half ring portion is greater than a thickness of the first end portion of the first half ring portion (3 thicker than 1 as shown in cropped Fig. 8F below), and the second half ring portion comprises a stepped surface (stepped surface at 3), wherein a thickness of the stepped surface is greater than a thickness of the first end portion at the third end portion (as shown in cropped Fig. 8F below).
Regarding claim 9, Hinson discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, and Hinson further discloses wherein an outer surface of the second end portion of the first half ring portion and an outer surface of the fourth end portion of the second half ring portion, which are connected to each other, form a continuous surface (outer surface of 2 and 4 form continuous surface as shown in cropped Fig. 8F above).
Regarding claim 12, Hinson discloses the display apparatus of claim 9, and Hinson further discloses wherein a thickness of the fourth end portion of the second half ring portion is less than a thickness of the third end portion of the second half ring portion (3 is thicker than 4 as shown in cropped Fig. 8F below).
Regarding claim 20 as best understood, Hinson discloses a display apparatus (600, Figs. 6A-10B) comprising:
a shaft (616, Figs. 6A, 8F) comprising a central shaft (618, Figs. 6A, 8F), a first end portion (see 1 in cropped Fig. 8F below), a stepped surface (stepped surface at 3 in cropped Fig. 8F below), and an outer surface (outer surface of 616), wherein, when viewed in a direction of the central shaft, the outer surface comprises one rotation starting from the first end portion to the stepped surface (from 1 to 3 counterclockwise as shown in cropped Fig. 8F below) with respect to the central shaft;
a groove (620, Fig. 7A and 812/814 Fig. 8F) concavely formed from the outer surface of the shaft at the first end portion in a thickness direction (as shown in Fig. 8F);
a base layer (same as 634, 636 and base layer of 622, Fig. 6A; note 622 inherently have a base layer below the TFTs or OLEDs) fitted into the groove and configured to overlap the outer surface of the shaft in a wound state of the display apparatus (such as shown in Fig. 7C; col. 9, lns. 9-26); and
a display module (OLEDs of 622; col. 3, lns. 8-16: “…technology such as TFTs… OLEDs…”) disposed on the base layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6, 10, 11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinson.
Regarding claim 3, Hinson teaches the display apparatus of claim 2, and Hinson further teaches wherein: the groove is approximately trapezoidal shaped (814 of 620 shown to be about trapezoidal shape in Fig. 8F), and the protrusion fits to a shape of the groove (634 fits into 620; col. 9, lns. 16-17: “…the bar 634 fits into the opening 620 of the core 616…”; also see col. 10, lns. 6-18).
Hinson does not explicitly teach the groove is exactly trapezoidal shaped, and the protrusion is trapezoidal shaped corresponding to a shape of the groove. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the groove is exactly trapezoidal shaped, and the protrusion is trapezoidal shaped corresponding to a shape of the groove in Hinson, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, having a dovetail or trapezoidal shaped protrusion allow the protrusion to anchor to the groove and prevent separation, and this yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 6 as best understood, Hinson teaches the display apparatus of claim 1. Hinson does not teach a sum of a thickness of the base layer and a thickness of the display module is 40 μm or less. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a sum of a thickness of the base layer and a thickness of the display module is 40 μm or less in Hinson, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, having thinner thickness for sum of display module and base layer allow the display apparatus to roll easier, and this trend of thinner thickness yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 10, 11 and 13-15, Hinson teaches the display apparatus of claims 1 and 9. Hinson does not teach wherein: a thickness of the shaft continuously varies over the first end portion of the first half ring portion to the second end portion of the first half ring portion; and the thickness of the shaft continuously varies over the fourth end portion of the second half ring portion to the third end portion of the second half ring portion; wherein a thickness of the first end portion of the first half ring portion is less than a thickness of the second end portion of the first half ring portion; wherein a curvature radius associated with an outer surface of the first half ring portion and a curvature radius associated with an outer surface of the second half ring portion each continuously vary; wherein the curvature radius associated with the outer surface of the first half ring portion and the first end portion is less than the curvature radius associated with the outer surface of the first half ring portion and the second end portion; wherein the curvature radius associated with the outer surface of the second half ring portion and the fourth end portion is less than the curvature radius associated with the outer surface of the second half ring portion and the third end portion. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a thickness of the shaft continuously varies over the first end portion of the first half ring portion to the second end portion of the first half ring portion; and the thickness of the shaft continuously varies over the fourth end portion of the second half ring portion to the third end portion of the second half ring portion; wherein a thickness of the first end portion of the first half ring portion is less than a thickness of the second end portion of the first half ring portion; wherein a curvature radius associated with an outer surface of the first half ring portion and a curvature radius associated with an outer surface of the second half ring portion each continuously vary; wherein the curvature radius associated with the outer surface of the first half ring portion and the first end portion is less than the curvature radius associated with the outer surface of the first half ring portion and the second end portion; wherein the curvature radius associated with the outer surface of the second half ring portion and the fourth end portion is less than the curvature radius associated with the outer surface of the second half ring portion and the third end portion in Hinson, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in form and shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). In this case, changing the thickness or the curvature of the outer surface of the shaft just slightly change the shape of the shaft, and this modification does not yields any unexpected results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinson, and further in view of Wu et al. (US 11,908,350; hereinafter “Wu”).
Regarding claim 5, Hinson teaches the display apparatus of claim 4. Hinson does not teach wherein the base layer is fixed to the second half ring portion by an adhesive layer between the base layer and the stepped surface of the second half ring portion. However, Wu teaches a base layer (104, Fig. 9) is fixed to a half ring portion (see top half ring portion with stepped surface in Fig. 1) by an adhesive layer (glue/solder 108, Fig. 9) between the base layer and a stepped surface (see stepped surface by 108 in Fig. 9) of the half ring portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the base layer is fixed to the second half ring portion by an adhesive layer between the base layer and the stepped surface of the second half ring portion in Hinson, as taught by Wu, in order to prevent separation of parts
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinson, and further in view of Choi et al. (US 2022/0269312; hereinafter “Choi”).
Regarding claims 7-8, Hinson teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, and Hinson further teaches wherein the display module comprises: a display panel configured to display an image (622 inherently display image).
Hinson does not teach a cover window disposed such that the cover window covers the display panel; wherein the display module further comprises a protection film between the display panel and the base layer. However, Choi teaches a cover window (WIN, Fig. 5) disposed such that the cover window covers a display panel (DP, Fig. 5); wherein a display module (DM, Fig. 5) further comprises a protection film (PS, Fig. 5) between the display panel and a base layer (CSL, Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a cover window disposed such that the cover window covers the display panel; wherein the display module further comprises a protection film between the display panel and the base layer in Hinson, as taught by Choi, in order to protect top and bottom portions of the display panel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kim et al. (US 10,932,375) discloses a display apparatus (Figs. 6, 11-12), comprising: a shaft (600, Figs. 11-12), a groove (650, Fig. 12) concavely formed from an outer surface of the shaft; a display module disposed on a base layer (Fig. 6(A), 6(B); col. 7, lns. 10-22); a thickness of the shaft and a curvature radius associated with an outer surface of the shaft continuously varies over different portions of the shaft (see R4, R5 in Figs. 11, 12).
/JAMES WU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841