DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 are pending in this action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/27/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
In analyzing under step 1, is the claim to a process, machine manufacture or composition of matter? Yes.
In analyzing under step 2A Prong One, Does the claim recite an abstract idea law of nature or natural phenomenon? Yes.
The claim(s) 6 recite(s) the abstract limitations such as “determining that data of a semiconductor device is to be read; determining whether the data to be read is data of a first type, among a plurality of types; and transmitting an accurate read command to the semiconductor device in response to a determination that the data to be read is the data of the first type” is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer processor.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components and software module, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas.
The human mind can determine whether to read data from a semiconductor and determine whether the read data is 1st type and send a command after determination that the read data is 1st type.
In analyzing under step 2A Prong Two, Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? NO.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims recite a generic for determination.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because a generic processor and software module which are high level of generality determination.
Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
In analyzing under step 2B, does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? NO
Claim 6 do not recite any additional elements except a generic processor for determination and transmit a command. Accordingly, the additional generic elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because a generic processor and software module which are high level of generality performing code generation
The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “… based on a main read voltage… based on a low auxiliary read voltage”
The recited condition limitation such as “… based on a main read voltage… based on a low auxiliary read voltage” renders this limitation indefinite because the previous limitation does not mention about main read voltage or a low auxiliary read voltage. As such, it is unclear how the read can be based on a main read voltage or a low auxiliary read voltage.
Claim 6 recites “determining that data of a semiconductor device is to be read”
The recited condition limitation such as “determining that data of a semiconductor device is to be read” renders this limitation indefinite because it is unclear what happen the condition is “determination is not to read any data from semiconductor”. That is it is unclear whether any of limitations such as “determining whether the data to be read is data of a first type, among a plurality of types; and transmitting an accurate read command to the semiconductor device in response to a determination that the data to be read is the data of the first type” is performing.
Claim 6 recites “determining whether the data to be read is data of a first type, among a plurality of types”
The recited condition limitation such as “determining whether the data to be read is data of a first type, among a plurality of types” renders this limitation indefinite because it is unclear what happen the condition is “not first type data”. That is it is unclear whether any of limitations such as “transmitting an accurate read command to the semiconductor device in response to a determination that the data to be read is the data of the first type” is performing.
Claim 7 recites “… based on an auxiliary read voltage…”
The recited condition limitation such as “based on an auxiliary read voltage” renders this limitation indefinite because the previous limitation does not mention about an auxiliary read voltage. As such, it is unclear how the read can be based on an auxiliary read voltage.
Claim 8 recites “does not precharge a first sensing node of a page buffer connected to memory cells, among the selected memory cells, having a threshold voltage lower than the auxiliary read voltage”
The recited negative condition limitation such as “does not precharge a first sensing node” renders this limitation indefinite because it is unclear what it is performing when it does not precharge.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miladinovic et al (US 2021/0,191,638), in view of Bedeschi (US 2013/0,159,796)
As per claim 1:
Miladinovic discloses:
A method of operating a controller, the method comprising:
(Miladinovic, Figs 1-14)
transmitting a normal read
(Miladinovic [0230], One or more processors 602 perform writes to and reads from the flash memory 608, applying error correction 604. Based on error correction, the processor(s) 602 can determine when a bit flip has occurred, i.e., when the true or corrected value of a bit differs from the read value of the bit in the original, raw data read from the flash memory prior to error correction)
performing an error correction operation on the first read data; and
(Miladinovic [0230], One or more processors 602 perform writes to and reads from the flash memory 608, applying error correction 604. Based on error correction, the processor(s) 602 can determine when a bit flip has occurred, i.e., when the true or corrected value of a bit differs from the read value of the bit in the original, raw data read from the flash memory prior to error correction)
transmitting an accurate read command to the semiconductor device
(Miladinovic [0235], … forms one or more commands to adjust one or more read voltage levels. … sends one or more commands to adjust one or more read voltage levels, to the flash memory)
(Miladinovic, Fig 7, step 712 Form commands to adjust read voltage levels)
(Miladinovic, Fig 7, step 714 send commands to adjust read voltage levels)
in response to a determination that the error correction operation has failed.
(Miladinovic, Fig 7, step 704 compare or form ratio of 0 to 1 and 1 to 0 bit flips)
(Miladinovic, Fig 7, step 706 comparison or ratio exceed threshold? == YES)
Miladinovic discloses read from memory.
(Miladinovic [0230], One or more processors 602 perform writes to and reads from the flash memory 608, applying error correction 604. Based on error correction, the processor(s) 602 can determine when a bit flip has occurred, i.e., when the true or corrected value of a bit differs from the read value of the bit in the original, raw data read from the flash memory prior to error correction)
However, Miladinovic does not clearly mention read command.
Bedeschi discloses:
read command
(Bedeschi [0030] Memory controller 515 may perform commands such as read and/or write commands initiated by processing unit 520. …)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a well-known read command into the system in order to communicate with the memory and to start the process of verifying the memory device.
(Bedeschi [0030] Memory controller 515 may perform commands such as read and/or write commands initiated by processing unit 520. …)
As per claim 2:
Miladinovi discloses:
wherein the normal read command controls the semiconductor device to perform a read operation based on a main read voltage, and
(Miladinovic [0230], One or more processors 602 perform writes to and reads from the flash memory 608, applying error correction 604. Based on error correction, the processor(s) 602 can determine when a bit flip has occurred, i.e., when the true or corrected value of a bit differs from the read value of the bit in the original, raw data read from the flash memory prior to error correction)
wherein the accurate read command controls the semiconductor device to perform a read operation based on a
(Miladinovic [0235], … forms one or more commands to adjust one or more read voltage levels. … sends one or more commands to adjust one or more read voltage levels, to the flash memory)
(Miladinovic, Fig 7, step 712 Form commands to adjust read voltage levels)
(Miladinovic, Fig 7, step 714 send commands to adjust read voltage levels)
Miladinovic does not clearly to lower the read voltage.
Bedeschi discloses:
to lower the read voltage
(Beschi, Fig. 3, Decrease Read step 360 or Increase Read based comparison 350)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Bedeschi’s method of increasing or decreasing the read voltage in order to reduce the read errors.
(Beschi, Fig. 3, Decrease Read step 360 or Increase Read based comparison 350)
As per claim 5:
Miladinovic-Bedeshi further discloses:
receiving second read data corresponding to the accurate read command from the semiconductor device.
(Miladinovic [0235], … forms one or more commands to adjust one or more read voltage levels. … sends one or more commands to adjust one or more read voltage levels, to the flash memory)
(Miladinovic, Fig 7, step 712 Form commands to adjust read voltage levels)
(Miladinovic, Fig 7, step 714 send commands to adjust read voltage levels)
As per claim 6:
Miladinovic discloses:
A method of operating a controller, the method comprising:
(Miladinovic, Figs 1-14)
determining that data of a semiconductor device is to be read;
(Miladinovic [0230], One or more processors 602 perform writes to and reads from the flash memory 608, applying error correction 604. Based on error correction, the processor(s) 602 can determine when a bit flip has occurred, i.e., when the true or corrected value of a bit differs from the read value of the bit in the original, raw data read from the flash memory prior to error correction)
determining whether the data to be read is data of a first type, among a plurality of types; and
(Miladinovic, Fig 7, step 704 compare or form ratio of 0 to 1 and 1 to 0 bit flips)
(Miladinovic, Fig 7, step 706 comparison or ratio exceed threshold? == YES)
transmitting an accurate read command to the semiconductor device
(Miladinovic [0235], … forms one or more commands to adjust one or more read voltage levels. … sends one or more commands to adjust one or more read voltage levels, to the flash memory)
(Miladinovic, Fig 7, step 712 Form commands to adjust read voltage levels)
(Miladinovic, Fig 7, step 714 send commands to adjust read voltage levels)
in response to a determination that the data to be read is the data of the first type.
(Miladinovic, Fig 7, step 704 compare or form ratio of 0 to 1 and 1 to 0 bit flips)
(Miladinovic, Fig 7, step 706 comparison or ratio exceed threshold? == YES)
However, Miladinovic does not clearly mention read command.
Bedeschi discloses:
read command
(Bedeschi [0030] Memory controller 515 may perform commands such as read and/or write commands initiated by processing unit 520. …)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a well-known read command into the system in order to communicate with the memory and to start the process of verifying the memory device.
(Bedeschi [0030] Memory controller 515 may perform commands such as read and/or write commands initiated by processing unit 520. …)
Claim(s) 3-4, 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miladinovic et al (US 2021/0,191,638), in view of Bedeschi (US 2013/0,159,796), in view of Eminoglu et al. (US 2011/0,031,135)
As per claim 3:
Miladinovi-Bedeschi further discloses
wherein, in response to the accurate read command, the semiconductor device performs
(Miladinovic [0235], … forms one or more commands to adjust one or more read voltage levels. … sends one or more commands to adjust one or more read voltage levels, to the flash memory)
(Miladinovic, Fig 7, step 712 Form commands to adjust read voltage levels)
(Miladinovic, Fig 7, step 714 send commands to adjust read voltage levels)
Miladinovi-Bedeschi does not disclose:
… performs a pre-sensing operation based on the auxiliary read voltage and then performs a main sensing operation based on the main read voltage.
Eminoglu discloses:
… performs a pre-sensing operation based on the auxiliary read voltage and then performs a main sensing operation based on the main read voltage.
(Eminoglu ,[0028] … execute a Read Command… initiate a readout operation, select and set a readout mode, and adjust the bias voltages… control module 121 may be coupled to the biasing module 131 and the readout module 140, so that it may adjust the bias voltage outputs of the biasing module …)
(Eminoglu [0036] … may pre-charge the probe molecules 401, 402, 403, and 404 to a bias voltage level. …unify the amount of charges carried by the probe molecules 401, 402, 403, and 404. … the pre-charged …are oppositely charged. ..perform a pre-sensing read operation to ensure … are properly pre-charged. … may skip the reset operation and instruct the readout module 140 to read or measure the pre-sensing charges …)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a variation method of Eminoglu into the system in order to perform read command at different voltage and therefore it would able to provide read data to the controller.
(Eminoglu ,[0028] … execute a Read Command… initiate a readout operation, select and set a readout mode, and adjust the bias voltages… control module 121 may be coupled to the biasing module 131 and the readout module 140, so that it may adjust the bias voltage outputs of the biasing module …)
(Eminoglu [0036] … may pre-charge the probe molecules 401, 402, 403, and 404 to a bias voltage level. …unify the amount of charges carried by the probe molecules 401, 402, 403, and 404. … the pre-charged …are oppositely charged. ..perform a pre-sensing read operation to ensure … are properly pre-charged. … may skip the reset operation and instruct the readout module 140 to read or measure the pre-sensing charges …)
As per claim 4:
Miladinovi-Bedeschi does not clearly disclose
wherein, during the pre-sensing operation, the semiconductor memory device determines which memory cells, among selected memory cells, have a threshold voltage lower than the auxiliary read voltage, and wherein, during the main sensing operation, the semiconductor device does not precharge a first sensing node of a page buffer connected to memory cells, among the selected memory cells, having a threshold voltage lower than the auxiliary read voltage.
Eminoglu further discloses:
wherein, during the pre-sensing operation, the semiconductor memory device determines which memory cells, among selected memory cells, have a threshold voltage lower than the auxiliary read voltage, and wherein, during the main sensing operation, the semiconductor device does not precharge a first sensing node of a page buffer connected to memory cells, among the selected memory cells, having a threshold voltage lower than the auxiliary read voltage.
(Eminoglu ,[0028] … execute a Read Command… initiate a readout operation, select and set a readout mode, and adjust the bias voltages… control module 121 may be coupled to the biasing module 131 and the readout module 140, so that it may adjust the bias voltage outputs of the biasing module …)
(Eminoglu [0036] … may pre-charge the probe molecules 401, 402, 403, and 404 to a bias voltage level. …unify the amount of charges carried by the probe molecules 401, 402, 403, and 404. … the pre-charged …are oppositely charged. ..perform a pre-sensing read operation to ensure … are properly pre-charged. … may skip the reset operation and instruct the readout module 140 to read or measure the pre-sensing charges …)
In view of motivation previously stated, the claim is rejected.
As per claim 7:
Miladinovi further discloses
wherein, in response to the accurate read command, the semiconductor device
(Miladinovic [0235], … forms one or more commands to adjust one or more read voltage levels. … sends one or more commands to adjust one or more read voltage levels, to the flash memory)
(Miladinovic, Fig 7, step 712 Form commands to adjust read voltage levels)
(Miladinovic, Fig 7, step 714 send commands to adjust read voltage levels)
Bedeschi further discloses
main read voltage higher than the auxiliary read voltage.
((Beschi, Fig. 3, Decrease Read step 360 or Increase Read based comparison 350)
In view of motivation previously stated, the claim is rejected.
Miladinovi-Bedeschi does not clearly discloses
…performs a pre-sensing operation, … and then performs a main sensing operation,
Eminoglu discloses:
…performs a pre-sensing operation, … and then performs a main sensing operation,
(Eminoglu ,[0028] … execute a Read Command… initiate a readout operation, select and set a readout mode, and adjust the bias voltages… control module 121 may be coupled to the biasing module 131 and the readout module 140, so that it may adjust the bias voltage outputs of the biasing module …)
(Eminoglu [0036] … may pre-charge the probe molecules 401, 402, 403, and 404 to a bias voltage level. …unify the amount of charges carried by the probe molecules 401, 402, 403, and 404. … the pre-charged …are oppositely charged. ..perform a pre-sensing read operation to ensure … are properly pre-charged. … may skip the reset operation and instruct the readout module 140 to read or measure the pre-sensing charges …)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a variation method of Eminoglu into the system in order to perform read command at different voltage and therefore it would able to provide read data to the controller.
(Eminoglu ,[0028] … execute a Read Command… initiate a readout operation, select and set a readout mode, and adjust the bias voltages… control module 121 may be coupled to the biasing module 131 and the readout module 140, so that it may adjust the bias voltage outputs of the biasing module …)
(Eminoglu [0036] … may pre-charge the probe molecules 401, 402, 403, and 404 to a bias voltage level. …unify the amount of charges carried by the probe molecules 401, 402, 403, and 404. … the pre-charged …are oppositely charged. ..perform a pre-sensing read operation to ensure … are properly pre-charged. … may skip the reset operation and instruct the readout module 140 to read or measure the pre-sensing charges …)
As per claim 8:
Miladinovi-Bedeschi does not clearly disclose
wherein, during the pre-sensing operation, the semiconductor memory device determines which memory cells, among selected memory cells, have a threshold voltage lower than the auxiliary read voltage, and wherein, during the main sensing operation, the semiconductor device does not precharge a first sensing node of a page buffer connected to memory cells, among the selected memory cells, having a threshold voltage lower than the auxiliary read voltage.
Eminoglu further discloses:
wherein, during the pre-sensing operation, the semiconductor memory device determines which memory cells, among selected memory cells, have a threshold voltage lower than the auxiliary read voltage, and wherein, during the main sensing operation, the semiconductor device does not precharge a first sensing node of a page buffer connected to memory cells, among the selected memory cells, having a threshold voltage lower than the auxiliary read voltage.
(Eminoglu ,[0028] … execute a Read Command… initiate a readout operation, select and set a readout mode, and adjust the bias voltages… control module 121 may be coupled to the biasing module 131 and the readout module 140, so that it may adjust the bias voltage outputs of the biasing module …)
(Eminoglu [0036] … may pre-charge the probe molecules 401, 402, 403, and 404 to a bias voltage level. …unify the amount of charges carried by the probe molecules 401, 402, 403, and 404. … the pre-charged …are oppositely charged. ..perform a pre-sensing read operation to ensure … are properly pre-charged. … may skip the reset operation and instruct the readout module 140 to read or measure the pre-sensing charges …)
In view of motivation previously stated, the claim is rejected.
Conclusion
/Thien Nguyen/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111