DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yaphe et al. [U.S. 2013/0033859 A1].
Regarding claim 1 Yaphe et al. discloses a lighting apparatus [see figure 4], comprising: a back cover [210]; a light source [232, 234], wherein the light source is disposed to an inner side of the back cover [see figure 4 and 6]; a surrounding wall [240, 250], wherein the surrounding wall has a top edge and a bottom edge [see figure 4], wherein the back cover [210] is attached to the top edge of the surrounding wall [figures 4 and 6]; and a light cover [260], wherein the light cover has a top ridge [274] and a bottom ridge [a protrusion extending from 265, see figures 4 and 6], wherein the top ridge and the bottom ridge of the light cover are disposed to clip a protruding structure [246, see figures 4 and 6] of the surrounding wall [240 and 250] to fix the light cover [260] to the surrounding wall [240 and 250], wherein the light of the light source [234] is emitted downwardly and passes through the light cover (figures 4-6).
Regarding claim 17 Yaphe et al. discloses the surrounding wall form a rectangular shape (figure 4).
Regarding claim 18 Yaphe et al. discloses there are multiple lenses [266A and 266B] corresponding multiple LED modules [LEDs 234] of the light source (figures 4 and 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yaphe et al. [U.S. 2013/0033859 A1].
Regarding claim 2, Yaphe et al. discloses the lighting apparatus having a first bottom surface of the bottom ridge and a second surface of the bottom edge of the surrounding wall (figure 6). However, Yaphe et al. does not clearly show that the first bottom surface of the bottom ridge is aligned with a second surface of the bottom edge of the surrounding wall.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have the first bottom surface of the bottom ridge being aligned with the second surface of the bottom edge of the surrounding wall, since applicant has not disclosed that the aligned surfaces solve(s) any new stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with Yaphe et al.’s invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-16 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: claims 3, 5, 6, 10 and 19, each recites further details of the lighting apparatus, which are not disclosed or suggested by the prior of record. Claim 4 depends on claim 3. Claims 7-9 depend on claim 6. Claims 11-16 depend on claim 10. Claim 20 depends on claim 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Doubek et al. 2023/0250929 A1 discloses a lighting device including a housing, a light source, a light guide panel, a lens, and a rotatable clip.
Seligman et al. 2019/0049100 A1 discloses light fixtures that provide uniform light distribution across a length of room, and can be adjusted in the field to accommodate different sized openings.
Karpen U.S. 5,184,881 discloses a full spectrum polarized lighting fixture for general commercial.
Jaksich U.S. 5,171,085 discloses lighting fixtures that are recessible into an opening formed in a ceiling.
Rhee U.S. 6,601,976 B1 discloses a light fixture of the type including a frame having a border for overlying the marginal edges of an opening cut for mounting thereof and including a pan configured with laterally disposed, outwardly flared mounting flanges which overlie mounting flanges on the frame.
BAO Q. TRUONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/BAO Q TRUONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875