Detailed Action
Claims 1-15 of U.S. Application 19/038,640 filed on January 27, 2025 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/27/2025 and 12/18/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being unpatentable over Swanton et al (US Pat No. 9207285).
Prior Art: Swanton
Regarding claim 1, Swanton discloses a battery testing method (using 100), comprising: receiving battery data (receiving it to computing device 130) of a battery to be tested (112) by means of wireless communication (col 5 lines 25-40 discloses sending the data from 120 to 130 using wireless communication); and testing the battery data (using 120) according to a test baseline (reference) corresponding to the battery to be tested to obtain a test result (col 8 lines 34-55 discloses comparing battery values to referenced baselines in order to determine condition of the baseline).
Regarding claim 2, Swanton discloses wherein the battery data comprises at least two items to be tested, and the test baseline comprises a specification interval corresponding to each item to be tested; and said testing the battery data according to a test baseline corresponding to the battery to be tested to obtain a test result comprises: comparing each item to be tested with the corresponding specification interval in the test baseline to determine a test result for each item to be tested (abstract discloses information including temperature, age, etc. and used to comparing values to a baseline).
Regarding claim 3, Swanton discloses wherein the battery data comprises at least one of a maximum voltage of the battery to be tested, a minimum voltage of the battery to be tested, a battery cell voltage difference in the battery to be tested, a maximum temperature of the battery to be tested, a minimum temperature of the battery to be tested, a battery cell temperature difference in the battery to be tested, water inlet and outlet temperatures of the battery to be tested, and a charging port temperature of the battery to be tested (col 3 lines 11-18 discloses differential in temperatures between the battery terminals).
Regarding claim 4, Swanton discloses wherein the method further comprises: sending the test result to a communication device, wherein the communication device is a device for transmitting the battery data of the battery to be tested (using 120-130, and 140 to send and receive data; col 5 lines 25-40 discloses communication device).
Regarding claim 11, Swanton discloses a battery testing apparatus (100), comprising: a first receiving module (using 130) for receiving battery data of a battery to be tested (112) by means of wireless communication (col 5 lines 25-40 discloses sending the data from 120 to 130 using wireless communication); and a testing module (120) for testing the battery data according to a test baseline (reference) corresponding to the battery to be tested to obtain a test result (col 8 lines 34-55 discloses comparing battery values to referenced baselines in order to determine condition of the baseline).
Regarding claim 12, Swanton discloses an electronic device (130), comprising: a processor (330) and a memory (310) storing computer-readable instructions that are executable by the processor, wherein when the electronic device is run, the computer-readable instructions are executed by the processor (col 7 lines 10-21 discloses executing by the processor and memory to execute based on need).
Regarding claim 13, Swanton discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program thereon, wherein the computer program, when run by a processor, executes the steps of the method (col 7 lines 10-21 discloses executing by processor and memory).
Regarding claim 14, Swanton discloses a testing system, comprising an electronic device and a testing device, wherein the electronic device is configured to execute the steps; and the testing device is used for wired connection with the battery to be tested or a vehicle in which the battery to be tested is mounted, so as to perform an endurance test on the battery to be tested (col 7 lines 10-21 discloses executing by processor and memory and abstract discloses to test battery such as age and temperature).
Regarding claim 15, Swanton discloses wherein the testing device is further used for wired connection with the battery to be tested or the vehicle in which the battery to be tested is mounted after obtaining the test result of the battery to be tested from the electronic device, so as to perform the endurance test on the battery to be tested (shown as fig 1 as being connected to the batteries).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swanton et al (US Pat No. 9207285) in view of Hsiao et al (USPGPub 20170285113).
Regarding claim 5, Swanton does not fully disclose wherein before said receiving battery data of a battery to be tested by means of wireless communication, the method further comprises: receiving a connection request of a communication device, wherein the communication device is used for transmitting the battery data of the battery to be tested; and establishing a testing thread for the battery to be tested after receiving the connection request, wherein the testing thread is used for testing the battery to be tested.
However, Hsiao discloses wherein before said receiving battery data of a battery to be tested by means of wireless communication, the method further comprises: receiving a connection request of a communication device, wherein the communication device is used for transmitting the battery data of the battery to be tested; and establishing a testing thread for the battery to be tested after receiving the connection request, wherein the testing thread is used for testing the battery to be tested (pars 55 and 58 discloses wireless apparatus using connection request to connect to the other element).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Swanton in view of Hsiao because it is known to establish a connection to properly send and receive data.
Regarding claim 6, Swanton wherein said establishing a testing thread for the battery to be tested comprises: if the communication device is used for sending battery data of multiple groups of batteries to be tested, establishing one testing thread separately for each group of batteries to be tested in the multiple groups of batteries to be tested; or establishing one testing thread for the multiple groups of batteries to be tested (claims 11, 12 , and col 5 lines 25-40 discloses sequentially testing a group of batteries. Therefore, multiple groups are tested).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swanton et al (US Pat No. 9207285) in view of Elder et al (US Pat No. 8013611).
Regarding claim 7, Swanton does not fully disclose wherein the method further comprises: acquiring product information for the battery to be tested; and determining, according to the product information, the test baseline for testing the battery to be tested.
However, Elder discloses wherein the method further comprises: acquiring product information for the battery to be tested; and determining, according to the product information, the test baseline for testing the battery to be tested (claim 2 discloses acquiring product data). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Swanton in view of Elder in order to determine the data and implement the stored parameters.
Regarding claim 8, Swanton does not fully disclose wherein said acquiring product information for the battery to be tested comprises: receiving the product information for the battery to be tested by means of wireless communication.
However, Elder discloses wherein said acquiring product information for the battery to be tested comprises: receiving the product information for the battery to be tested by means of wireless communication (col 7 lines 26-38 discloses wireless communication based on need). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Swanton in view of Elder in order to determine the data and implement the stored parameters.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest wherein the method is applied to an electronic device on which a testing program and a monitoring program are run, the testing program being used for testing the battery to be tested; and the method further comprises: sending a heartbeat packet to the monitoring program through the testing program; and controlling, through the monitoring program, the testing program to restart if the monitoring program fails to receive the heartbeat packet sent by the testing program for a set length of time in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Claim 10 is also objected to as it depends on objected claim 9.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schueler et al (USPGPub 20180286213): discloses sending heartbeat messages.
Mensah-Brown et al (USPat No 9970993): discloses measuring temperature of the battery using a baseline.
Conclusion
/DOMINIC E HAWKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858