DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-XXX is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okamoto et al. (KR 20200086656).
As to claim 1, Okamoto discloses an apparatus/product for transferring and LED chip comprising: a resin layer (X2) formed on a substrate (Y2), wherein said resin is expandable upon energy/UV radiation to where it expands at a predetermined temperature; wherein the LED chip is disposed on the resin layer and a flip-chip/clip-up structure is embedded in said resin layer (Abstract; ¶47, 65;144, 150, 273, 341, 427, 451; Fig. 5 & 6 below).
“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Here, the apparatus/product of Okamato above discloses all of the recited structural elements claimed.
As to claim 3, the product of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Claim 3 is drawn to method/intended use limitations and does not positively recite any structural elements in the product different than that of claim 1.
As to claim 4, the product of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Okamato discloses that the resin may comprise of a base resin, a solvent, and a photoactive agent (¶150, 273, 427, 451).
As to claim 5, the product of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Okamato discloses that the resin may contain additives/fillers which reinforce adhesive force such curing accelerators (¶369).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamoto et al. (KR 20200086656) in view of Sato et al. (US 20190292415).
As to claim 2, the product of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Okamato discloses that the resin may comprise of a base resin, a solvent, and a photoactive agent (¶ 150, 273, 427, 451), but fails to specifically teach that the solvent in the resin may be in the form of an organic solvent. Sato discloses an adhesive sheet for peeling (Abstract). Sato discloses that it is known and conventional in the art to use an organic solvent (alcohol) for dissolving the base resin in a UV expandable adhesive (¶ 9, 45). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the organic solvent of Sato in the product taught by Okamoto because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution to achieve the predictable result of providing a known successful and conventional solvent for use in a UV expandable/releaseable adhesive. “The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 6, the closest prior art of Okamoto et al. (KR 20200086656) fails to teach or disclose that ultrapure (DI) water may be added to the resin.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER C CAILLOUET/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745