DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) form PTO-1449. These IDS has been considered.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12236992.
Current Application # 19039241
US Pat # 12236992
For example:
Claim 1:
1. A device comprising: a memory array having data cells and pattern cells; and a controller configured to: apply at least one voltage to the pattern cells to determine at least one characteristic of the data cells; and apply, based on the determined characteristic, at least one voltage to the data cells.
For example:
Claim 1:
A system comprising: a memory array comprising pattern cells and data cells, wherein each of the pattern cells is configured to store only a first logic state; sensing circuitry configured to read the pattern cells; and a controller configured to: store a codeword in the data cells; apply first voltages to the pattern cells; determine, using the sensing circuitry, that at least a portion of the pattern cells switch; determine, based on the portion of the pattern cells that switch, to refresh the codeword; and apply the refresh of the codeword.
14. The system of claim 1, wherein: applying the first voltages to the pattern cells comprises applying different respective voltages to each of multiple groups of the pattern cells; and the respective voltage for each group is higher than a read voltage applied to the data cells.
Even though the claims at issue are not identical but overall scope of the claims are identical and they are not patentably distinct from each other. For example, the above limitation “apply, based on the determined characteristic, at least one voltage to the data cells.” in current application 19039241 and the limitation “applying different respective voltages to each of multiple groups of the pattern cells; and the respective voltage for each group is higher than a read voltage applied to the data cells” in US Pat # 122236992 are not identical but overall scope of the claims are identical and they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goda et al. (US Pub # 2009/0109743).
Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
Regarding independent claim 1, Goda et al. teach a device comprising: a memory array having data cells and pattern cells (see Fig.1-10, paragraph 0025-0027, 0030-0044, 0047-0056, 0060-0080, 0087-0097, 0104-0109, reference cells are pattern cell); and a controller configured to: apply at least one voltage to the pattern cells to determine at least one characteristic of the data cells; and apply, based on the determined characteristic, at least one voltage to the data cells (see Fig.1-10, paragraph 0025-0027, 0030-0044, 0047-0056, 0060-0080, 0087-0097, 0104-0109, Unit 1070 is controller, step 910-960).
Even though Goda et al. teach determining read reference voltage for the data cells based on reference cells but silent exclusively about determine at least one characteristic of the data cells. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the teaching of Goda et al. where determining effective read reference voltage for the data cells would be called at least one characteristics of data cells in order to have effective read operation and to improve data retention for the data cells (see paragraph 0008).
Regarding claim 2, Goda et al. further teach, wherein each of the pattern cells is configured to store only a first logic state (see Fig.1-10, paragraph 0025-0027, 0030-0044, 0047-0056, 0060-0080, 0087-0097).
Regarding claim 3, Goda et al. further teach, wherein the voltage applied to the pattern cells is higher than the voltage applied to the data cells (see Fig.1-10, paragraph 0025-0027, 0030-0044, 0047-0056, 0060-0080, 0087-0097, 0104-0105).
Regarding claim 4, Goda et al. further teach, wherein applying the voltage to the pattern cells comprises applying ramps to the pattern cells (see Fig.1-10, paragraph 0025-0027, 0030-0044, 0047-0056, 0060-0080, 0087-0090).
Regarding claim 5, Goda et al. further teach, wherein applying the voltage to the pattern cells comprises applying steps to the pattern cells (see Fig.1-10, paragraph 0025-0027, 0030-0044, 0047-0056, 0060-0080, 0087-0091).
Regarding claim 6, Goda et al. further teach, wherein the memory array has a vertical array architecture comprising vertical bitlines or digit lines intersecting a plurality of horizontal decks of wordlines (see Fig.1-10, paragraph 0025-0027, 0030-0044, 0047-0056, 0060-0080, 0087-0096).
Regarding claim 7, Goda et al. further teach, wherein each deck is configured as two interdigitated wordline combs so that each bitline or digit line forms two cells at each of the decks (see Fig.1-10, paragraph 0025-0027, 0030-0044, 0047-0056, 0060-0080, 0087-0097, 0104-0106).
Regarding independent claim 8, Goda et al. teach a device comprising: a memory array having data cells and pattern cells (see Fig. 1-10, paragraph 0025-0027, 0030-0044, 0047-0056, 0060-0080, 0087-0097, 0104-0109, reference cells are pattern cell); and a controller configured to: apply a voltage to the pattern cells; and apply a voltage to the data cells, wherein the voltage applied to the pattern cells is higher than the voltage applied to the data cells (see Fig.1-10, paragraph 0025-0027, 0030-0044, 0047-0056, 0060-0080, 0087-0097, 0104-0109, Unit 1070 is controller, step 910-960).
Even though Goda et al. teach voltage applied for the data cells andn reference cells but silent exclusively about wherein the voltage applied to the pattern cells is higher than the voltage applied to the data cells. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the teaching of Goda et al. where voltage applied to data cells about 15V-16V and voltage applied to pattern / reference cells 19V-20V (see specially paragraph 0043) i.e. pattern cells voltage is higher than data cells voltage in order to have effective program-read operation and to improve data retention for the data cells (see paragraph 0008).
Regarding claim 9, Goda et al. further teach, wherein the voltage applied to the data cells is a read voltage (see Fig.1-10, paragraph 0025-0027, 0030-0044, 0047-0056, 0060-0080).
Regarding claim 10, Goda et al. further teach, wherein the voltage is applied in multiple steps (see Fig.1-10, paragraph 0025-0027, 0030-0044, 0047-0056, 0060-0080, 0087-0089).
Regarding claim 11, Goda et al. further teach, wherein the pattern cells are arranged in multiple groups,and applying the voltage to the pattern cells comprises applying a voltage to a single group of the pattern cells (see Fig.1-10, paragraph 0025-0027, 0030-0044, 0047-0056, 0060-0070).
Regarding claim 12, Goda et al. further teach, wherein the voltage applied to the single group is higher than a read voltage applied to the data cells (see Fig.1-10, paragraph 0025-0027, 0030-0044, 0047-0056, 0060-0078).
Regarding claim 13, Goda et al. further teach, wherein applying the voltage to the pattern cells comprises applying different respective voltages to each of multiple groups of the pattern cells (see Fig.1-10, paragraph 0025-0027, 0030-0044, 0047-0056, 0060-0080, 0087).
Regarding claim 14, Goda et al. further teach, wherein the respective voltage for each group is higher than the voltage applied to the data cells (see Fig.1-10, paragraph 0025-0027, 0030-0044, 0047-0056, 0060-0079).
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goda et al. (US Pub # 2009/0109743) in view of Tran et al. (US Pub # 2023/0386543).
Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
Regarding independent claim 15, Goda et al. teach a system comprising: a first group of memory cells; a second group of memory cells (see Fig.1-10, paragraph 0025-0027, 0030-0044, 0047-0056, 0060-0080, 0087-0097, 0104-0109, first group data cells, second group reference cells); and a controller configured to determine, based on whether the first group or the second group has switched, to refresh a codeword (see Fig.1-10, paragraph 0025-0027, 0030-0044, 0047-0056, 0060-0080, 0087-0097, 0104-0109, Unit 1070 is controller, step 910-960, write-read operation confirmed switching for cells).
Goda et al. is silent about refresh a code word.
Tran et al. teach refresh a code word (see paragraph 0005-0006, 0059-0060, 0145, 0167).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the teaching of Tran et al. to the teaching of Goda et al. where refreshing codeword as taught by Tran et al. would be implemented for reference cells of Goda et al. in order to improve endurance of memory cells (see Tran et al, paragraph 0050).
Further reason to combine the teachings of Tran et al. and Goda et al. is evidenced by virtue of their common field of endeavor, e.g. both are drawn towards memory array including data cells and pattern cells.
Regarding claim 16, Goda et al. further teach wherein each of the memory cells in the first and second groups is configured to store only a first logic state (see Fig.1-10, paragraph 0025-0027, 0030-0044, 0047-0056, 0060-0080, 0087-0097).
Regarding claim 17, Goda et al. further teach, wherein the controller is further configured to store the codeword in data cells, and apply the refresh of the codeword (see Fig.1-10, paragraph 0025-0027, 0030-0044, 0047-0056, 0060-0080, 0087-0091).
Regarding claim 18, Goda et al. further teach, wherein the controller is further configured to apply voltage ramps in parallel to the first and second groups (see Fig.1-10, paragraph 0025-0027, 0030-0044, 0047-0056, 0060-0080, 0087-0088).
Regarding claim 19, Goda et al. further teach, further comprising sensing circuitry configured to read the memory cells of the first and second groups, wherein the controller is further configured to determine, using the sensing circuitry, that at least a portion of the memory cells of the first and second groups switch (see Fig.1-10, paragraph 0025-0027, 0030-0044, 0047-0056, 0060-0075).
Regarding claim 20, Goda et al. further teach, wherein the controller is further configured to apply voltage steps in parallel to the first and second groups (see Fig.1-10, paragraph 0025-0027, 0030-0044, 0047-0056, 0060-0080, 0087-0090).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attachment.
/MOHAMMED A BASHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824