DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang (WO2018/125058).
With respect to claim 1, Wang discloses generating a tube wave in a piping disposed in a wellbore ([0023], lines 20-23); creating a time-domain forward model with one or more parameters to represent the tube wave in the piping ([0030], lines 1, 4-5); transforming the time-domain forward model to model the tube wave as a pressure wave ([0023], lines 14-15; [0030], line 7-8); evaluating a loss function of the time-domain forward model ([0030], lines 9-10; [0035], lines 3-6); and identifying a second set of parameters from the loss function to adjust the one or more parameters ([0030], lines 13-15).
With respect to claim 2, Wang discloses the time-domain forward model is created before generating the tube wave ([0030], lines 3-4).
With respect to claim 3, Wang discloses the time-domain forward model is a numerical model simulating a transient fluid dynamic ([0031]-[0032]).
With respect to claim 6, Wang discloses the loss function is a sum of absolute errors, a sum of squared errors ([0035], lines 4-6), or a Pearson correlation coefficient.
With respect to claim 8, Wang discloses comparing the loss function with one or more iterations of the loss function ([0030], lines 9-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Wu (GB 2444832).
Wang teaches the invention as discussed above. However, it does not teach comparing the loss function with a predetermined threshold.
Wu teaches comparing the loss function with a predetermined threshold (Pg 10, lines 31-33). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the method of Wang with the threshold of Wu since such a modification would have ensured sufficient accuracy with the minimal amount of necessary processing power.
Claims 9, 11-13, 16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Mayo (WO 2017/223007).
With respect to claim 9, Wang teaches the invention as discussed above. However, it does not teach the generating the tube wave is performed by changing a flow rate of at least one pump, neutralizing all pumps, opening one or more surface valves, or closing the one or more surface valves.
Mayo teaches changing a flow rate of at least one pump, neutralizing all pumps, opening one or more surface valves, or closing the one or more surface valves ([0073], lines 11-16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the method of Wang with the pressure wave generation of Mayo since such a modification would have provided a pressure wave relating to normal well operations.
With respect to claim 11, Wang teaches an information handling system configured to create a time-domain forward model with one or more parameters to represent the tube wave in the piping ([0030], lines 1, 4-5); transform the time-domain forward model to model the tube wave as a pressure wave ([0023], lines 14-15; [0030], line 7-8); evaluate a loss function of the time-domain forward model ([0030], lines 9-10; [0035], lines 3-6); and identify a second set of parameters from the loss function to adjust the one or more parameters ([0030], lines 13-15). However, it does not teach a plurality of pumps, wherein in one or more of the plurality of pumps may generate a tube wave in a piping disposed in a wellbore.
Wu teaches a plurality of pumps ([0092], lines 2-3), wherein in one or more of the plurality of pumps may generate a tube wave in a piping disposed in a wellbore ([0073], lines 11-16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the method of Wang with the pressure wave generation of Mayo since such a modification would have provided a pressure wave relating to normal well operations.
With respect to claim 12, Wang teaches the time-domain forward model is created before generating the tube wave ([0030], lines 3-4).
With respect to claim 13, Wang teaches the time-domain forward model is a numerical model simulating a transient fluid dynamic ([0031]-[0032]).
With respect to claim 16, Wang teaches the loss function is a sum of absolute errors, a sum of squared errors ([0035], lines 4-6), or a Pearson correlation coefficient.
With respect to claim 18, Wang teaches comparing the loss function with one or more iterations of the loss function ([0030], lines 9-10).
With respect to claim 19, Wang teaches the invention as discussed above. However, it does not teach the generating the tube wave is performed by changing a flow rate of at least one pump, neutralizing all pumps, opening one or more surface valves, or closing the one or more surface valves.
Mayo teaches changing a flow rate of at least one pump, neutralizing all pumps, opening one or more surface valves, or closing the one or more surface valves ([0073], lines 11-16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the method of Wang with the pressure wave generation of Mayo since such a modification would have provided a pressure wave relating to normal well operations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 10, 14, 15, and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art which is cited but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The references made herein are done so for the convenience of the applicant. They are in no way intended to be limiting. The prior art should be considered in its entirety.
/KRYSTINE E BREIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645