DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-13, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Burns (US 2017/0224135).
Regarding claim 1, Burns (hereafter “D1”) discloses an apparatus (figure 2) comprising: a shelf fixture (back shelf portion 14) configured to support a product shelf (figure 1; abstract), the shelf fixture comprising a pair of electrically conducting shelf brackets (hooks 22, best seen in figure 8), electrically separated to provide opposing polarity for supplied electrical power ([0094]), and a powered case (front portion 12) configured to be removably mechanically affixed to the shelf fixture (via connectors 18 – [0056]), the powered case comprising: an aperture (flap member 37 opens creating aperture in 12 – [0061]) configured to receive an electrically-powered shelf module (at least led strip 36), a pair of power terminal arms (connector portions 18) extending from the powered case opposite the aperture (rearward on opposite side of 12), and a first electrical connector (inherently connected to led 36 – [0057]) located within the aperture and electrically coupled to at least one of the power terminal arms (18); and wherein: when the pair of power terminal arms is directly electrically coupled with the pair of electrically conducting shelf brackets ([0058]), the pair of power terminal arms (18) provides opposing polarity for the supplied electrical power; and the first electrical connector is configured to couple to the electrically-powered shelf module (at led 36), thereby providing the supplied electrical power from the pair of electrically conducting shelf brackets, through the pair of power terminal arms, through at least the first electrical connector, to the electrically-powered shelf module (figure 1).
Regarding claim 2, D1 discloses wherein each electrically conducting shelf bracket (22) extends outward from the shelf fixture and is configured to be removably mechanically affixed to a vertical electrically conducting shelf support rail (30/31) of a pair of vertical electrically conducting shelf support rails (figure 3); and wherein when the pair of electrically conducting shelf brackets is affixed to the pair of vertical electrically conducting shelf support rails, the pair of vertical electrically conducting shelf support rails provides opposing polarity for the supplied electrical power to the pair of electrically conducting shelf brackets ([0094]).
Regarding claim 3, D1 discloses further comprising: the pair of vertical electrically conducting shelf support rails (30/31); the electrically-powered shelf module (36); and a power supply (12V power supply – [0094]) electrically coupled to the pair of vertical electrically conducting shelf support rails, wherein when the pair of electrically conducting shelf brackets is affixed to the pair of vertical electrically conducting shelf support rails, the pair of power terminal arms is electrically coupled with the pair of electrically conducting shelf brackets, and the electrically-powered shelf module is electrically coupled to the powered case through at least the first electrical connector, the supplied electrical power flows from the power supply, through the pair of vertical electrically conducting shelf support rails, through the pair of electrically conducting shelf brackets, through the pair of power terminal arms, through at least the first electrical connector, and to the electrically-powered shelf module ([0058]).
Regarding claim 4, D1 discloses further comprising: a light emitter (led strip 28) located on an underside of the shelf fixture opposite a position where the product shelf may be supported, electrically coupled to the pair of electrically conducting shelf brackets, such that the supplied electrical power flows through the pair of electrically conducting shelf brackets to the light emitter ([0099]).
Regarding claim 5, D1 discloses wherein the first electrical connector (inherently connector supplied to led 36) is coupled to a first one of the pair of power terminal arms (18), and wherein either: the powered case further comprises a second electrical connector located within the aperture and electrically coupled to a second one of the power terminal arms, such that the first electrical connector and the second electrical connector together provide opposing polarity for the supplied electrical power; or the first electrical connector is further coupled to the second one of the pair of power terminal arms, such that the first electrical connector provides opposing polarity for the supplied electrical power ([0057]).
Regarding claim 6, D1 discloses wherein the electrically-powered shelf module comprises at least one device selected from the list consisting of: an electronic shelf label, a sensor, and a short-range wireless transmitter or receiver (D1 discloses use of lcd in place of led 36 thereby disclosing an electronic shelf label – [0101]).
Regarding claim 7, D1 discloses wherein the powered case (12) further comprises: a rigid positioning member (protrusion48), and a mechanically compliant snap coupler (button 49); wherein the shelf fixture further comprises: a first mating surface (side undershelf surface abutting 48 when connected), and a second mating surface (at 51); and wherein when the rigid positioning member engages the first mating surface and the mechanically compliant snap coupler engages the second mating surface, the powered case is affixed to the shelf fixture ([0051]).
Regarding claim 9, D1 discloses wherein the shelf fixture further comprises: an electrically insulating cover (including channels 23) covering at least a portion of the pair of electrically conducting shelf brackets (22/20) and comprising a pair of openings (slots 24) configured to permit each of the power terminal arms to electrically couple with one of the electrically conducting shelf brackets ([0058]); wherein each power terminal arm (18) has a portion with a thinner vertical dimension than a horizontal dimension (at 21, seen in figure 4a), to permit the product shelf to lie flat atop the shelf fixture; and wherein each power terminal arm has a u-shaped clip portion (at protrusion 21 – best seen in figure 4) configured to compliantly engage one of the electrically conducting shelf brackets.
Regarding claims 10-13 and 16, see the discussions of claims 1-7 and 9 above disclosing the parts or members required by the claims and wherein D1 necessarily discloses the process steps claimed in order to make and use the device.
Regarding claim 17, D1 discloses placing a product shelf (such as cassette 70) atop the shelf fixture, wherein the electrically insulating cover is configured to prevent lateral movement of the product shelf in at least one lateral dimension (by way of intersection with valley 25 – [0068]).
Regarding claims 18-20, see the discussions of claims 1-7, 9-13, 16-17 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burns (US 2017/0224135).
D1 discloses further comprising: the electrically-powered shelf module (at 36); a front cover (flap member 37) configured to be removably mechanically affixed to the powered case and to hold the electrically-powered shelf module within the aperture of the powered case ([0061]); and the cover is attached to the powered case at attachment points ([0061]). D1 does not disclose what fastener is used for the attachment points. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to utilize screw and nut connection as these are well known in the art for the attachment pivot connection from cover to powered case of D1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See notice of references cited form PTO-892. References not applied but cited are relevant as disclosing or suggesting at least one feature in the claims or disclosure of the present application.The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See notice of references cited form PTO-892. References not applied but cited are relevant as disclosing or suggesting at least one feature in the claims or disclosure of the present application.
/PATRICK D HAWN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631