DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 10: “14 third housing” should read --14 third bearing--.
All instances of phrase “included angle” should read --inclined angle--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 5 – 14, 16 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, lines 3-4: “the oil connection tank” should read --the oil collection tank--.
Claim 5, last line: “included angle” should read --inclined angle--.
Claim 20, line 2: “a hydraulic motor and cylinder of the vehicle” should read --the hydraulic motor and cylinder of the vehicle--.
Claims 6 – 14 are objected to for being dependent on claim 5.
Claim 16 is objected to for being dependent on claim 2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo (KR 101977697B1 – herein after Heo) in view of Greiter, Ivo (US 2025/0096645 – Greiter).
In reference to claim 1, Heo teaches an integrated electric pump (see fig. 2), comprising
an electric machine (100) and a pump (300),
wherein the electric machine and the pump are integrated (as evident from fig. 2), the electric machine comprises a machine housing (housing of motor), a stator (210), a rotor (220), and a rotor shaft (240),
wherein the machine housing has an inner cavity (space), the stator, the rotor, and the rotor shaft are disposed in the inner cavity (as evident from fig. 2), the stator is fixedly disposed in the machine housing (as evident from fig. 2), the rotor shaft is rotatably disposed in the machine housing (as evident from fig. 2), the rotor is fixedly disposed on the rotor shaft (as evident from fig. 2), the stator is sleeved on the rotor with a gap (gap being an inherent feature since the rotor should be able to rotate freely in the stator) between the stator and the rotor, and the rotor shaft is drivingly connected to the pump.
Fig. A: Edited fig. 2 of Heo to show claim interpretation.
Heo remains silent on the integrated electric pump, wherein “the rotor shaft is provided with a first cooling oil circuit, the machine housing is provided with a second cooling oil circuit, a plurality of spray nozzles fixed to the machine housing, wherein the plurality of spray nozzles are connected to the second cooling oil circuit and are used for spraying cooling oil to the stator; and an oil discharge pump for discharging cooling oil in the inner cavity out of the inner cavity”.
However, Greiter teaches an electric machine (see fig. 3) comprising a machine housing (2+8+9+44), a stator (4), a rotor (5), an inner cavity (27) and a rotor shaft (6), wherein the rotor shaft is provided with a first cooling oil circuit (43), the machine housing is provided with a second cooling oil circuit (41); a plurality of spray nozzles (nozzles 46, see ¶32) fixed to the machine housing, wherein the plurality of spray nozzles are connected to the second cooling oil circuit (as evident from disclosure in ¶32) and are used for spraying cooling oil to the stator (sprayed on windings 21 of the stator 4); and an oil discharge pump (56, see ¶33) for discharging cooling oil in the inner cavity out of the inner cavity (27).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the integrated electric pump of Heo by providing the electrical machine with first and second cooling oil circuits as taught by Greiter for the well-known purpose of cooling the components of the electrical machine or electric motor
In reference to claim 4, Heo remains silent on the integrated electric pump, further comprising a first bearing and a second bearing arranged at intervals, wherein an inner race of the first bearing and an inner race of the second bearing are fixedly sleeved on two ends of the rotor shaft, respectively, and an outer race of the first bearing and an outer race of the second bearing are both fixedly disposed in the machine housing.
However, Greiter teaches an electric machine (see fig. 3), further comprising a first bearing (15) and a second bearing (13) arranged at intervals (see fig. 3), wherein (see ¶40) an inner race (referred as “inner ring”) of the first bearing (15) and an inner race (referred as “inner ring”) of the second bearing (13) are fixedly sleeved on two ends of the rotor shaft (6), respectively, and (see ¶40) an outer race (referred as “outer ring”) of the first bearing (15) and an outer race (referred as “outer ring”) of the second bearing (13) are both fixedly disposed in the machine housing (housing walls 8 and 9 of the housing 2+8+9+44).
Bearings are a standard, essential mechanical element for any rotating electric machine to reduce friction and support the rotor. Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the machine housing in the modified integrated electric pump of Heo for provision of first and second bearings as taught by Greiter for the well-known purpose of supporting loads applied to the shaft, ensuring stable rotation and proper alignment of the rotor within the housing.
In reference to claim 20, Heo, as modified, teaches a vehicle, comprising a hydraulic motor or cylinder and the integrated electric pump of claim 1, wherein the integrated electric pump and the hydraulic motor or cylinder of the vehicle form a closed hydraulic system loop.
Heo describes the “conventional” prior art shown in fig. 2 as an electric motor driving the pumps. Heo explicitly discloses the vehicle context for this prior art (see ¶3-¶6 of translation):
Vehicle: Heo states that this technology (replacing diesel engines with electric motors to drive pumps) is propose for “heavy construction equipment such as excavators” (which are vehicles).
Hydraulic motor or cylinder: Heo states that in these vehicles, the hydraulic pump is the “power source…for the movement and operation” of the equipment. “Movement” (propulsion) in excavators is typically achieved via hydraulic motors (track drives) and “operation” (digging) is achieved via hydraulic cylinders.
Heo explicitly frames the figure 2 prior art as a solution for “urban areas” to reduce pollution in excavators. Implementing this pump within a closed hydraulic loop (connecting the pump to the vehicle’s hydraulic travel motors) is the standard engineering practice for excavator propulsion (hydrostatic transmission).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo in view of Greiter and further in view of Luo, Yu-tao (CN 203645474U – herein after Luo).
Heo, as modified, teaches the integrated electric pump, wherein the machine housing (2; see fig. 3 of Greiter) is further provided with an oil collection tank (35; see fig. 3 of Greiter), the oil discharge pump (56; see fig. 3 of Greiter) is connected to the oil collection tank.
Heo, as modified, remains silent on the integrated electric pump, wherein the oil collection tank is connected to the inner cavity, and a connection point between the oil connection tank and the inner cavity is located at a lowest point of the inner cavity.
However, Luo teaches an electric machine (see fig. B below) comprising a machine housing (referred as “motor housing 9”) and wherein the machine housing is further provided with an oil collection tank (labeled “tank” in fig. B below or referred as “oil pan 15”), the oil discharge pump (labeled “pump” in fig. B below or referred as “oil pump 2”) is connected to the oil collection tank, the oil collection tank is connected to the inner cavity (see fig. B below), and a connection point (labeled “c.p.”) between the oil connection tank and the inner cavity is located at a lowest point (bottom point) of the inner cavity.
Fig. B: Edited fig. 1 of Luo to show claim interpretation.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to locate the oil collection tank of Heo/Greiter in the inner cavity such that a connection point between the oil collection tank and the inner cavity is located at a lowest point of the inner cavity as taught by Luo for the purpose of providing a still (separate) environment for contaminants to settle to the bottom and/or ensuring that the cooling oil sprayed by the nozzles flows by gravity to the lowest point for efficient extraction by the oil discharge pump.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo in view of Greiter and further in view of Sekine, Kosuke (JPH 08237908A – herein after Sekine).
Heo, as modified, remains silent on the integrated electric pump, further comprising a plurality of gas jet nozzles that are disposed in the machine housing, connected to the inner cavity, and used for spraying compressed gas into the inner cavity.
However, Sekine teaches an electrical machine (electric motor) comprising (see fig. 1) a gas jet nozzle (air blowing nozzle 30, see ¶24 of translation) that is disposed in a machine housing (motor housing 10+11+12), connected to the inner cavity (space within the motor housing), and used for spraying compressed gas into the inner cavity.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the machine housing in the modified integrated electric pump of Heo for provision of gas jet nozzle as taught by Sekine for the purpose of blowing away accumulated dust or contaminants, thus eliminating the need for disassembly and cleaning during maintenance and inspection of the electrical machine, as recognized by Sekine (see ¶26 of translation). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a plurality of gas jet nozzles in the modified integrated electric pump of Heo since it has been held that that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Please note that in the instant application, see ¶48 of filed specification, applicant has not disclosed any criticality associated with “a plurality” of gas jet nozzles.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo in view of Greiter and further in view of Ruckgaber et al. (US 2014/0150641 – herein after Ruckgaber).
In reference to claim 5, Heo teaches the integrated electric pump, wherein (see fig. 2) the pump (300) is a piston pump (as evident from fig. 2), wherein the piston pump comprises: a pump housing (see fig. A above) fixedly disposed on the machine housing.
Heo remains silent on the claimed details of the piston pump.
However, Ruckgaber teaches an integrated electric pump, wherein the pump is a piston pump (axial piston machine 10, see fig. 1, ¶18 and claim 10), wherein the piston pump comprises:
a pump housing (20);
a cylinder body (60) rotatably disposed in the pump housing (see ¶20), wherein the cylinder body is provided with a plurality of piston chambers (62);
a pump shaft comprising a connection end (end of flange 46) and a connecting shaft (40+44) fixedly connected to the connection end (46), and the connecting shaft (portion 44 of the connecting shaft 40+44) and the rotor shaft (shaft of motor coupled to 44 for operating the axial piston machine 10 as a pump) are splined (see ¶18: “A drive journal 44 of the drive shaft 40 projects from the housing 20 and can have a multi-spline shaft profile”; the phrase “multi-spline shaft profile” implying the connecting and rotor shafts are splined);
a plurality of first pistons (80, see ¶19) slidably disposed in the plurality of piston chambers in one-to-one correspondence, wherein (as evident from fig. 1) a first ball head (84, see ¶19) is disposed at an end of each of the plurality of first pistons and spherically hinged with the connection end (46); and
a second piston (64, see ¶20), wherein the plurality of first pistons (80) are evenly distributed along a circumferential direction of the second piston (as evident from fig. 1), a second ball head (65) is provided at an end of the second piston and spherically hinged with the connection end (46), and a centerline (61) of the second piston (64) is disposed at an inclined angle (see fig. 1) to a centerline (41) of the pump shaft (40).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify each of the piston pumps (labeled “pump 1” and “pump 2”) of Heo for the piston pump taught by Ruckgaber in order to take advantage of associated benefits such as minimize abrasion on the cylinder bore as well as less installation space requirement of the piston pump, as recognized by Ruckgaber (see ¶4).
Thus, Heo, as modified, teaches the integrated electric pump, wherein the connecting shaft (of Ruckgaber) is rotatably disposed in the machine housing (of Heo).
In reference to claim 6, Heo, as modified, teaches the integrated electric pump (see fig. C below; note that this figure is shown for convenience in view of claimed position relationships in this claim which would naturally flow from the proposed modification as discussed above), wherein the piston pump (of Ruckgaber) further comprises a third bearing (43; see fig. 1 of Ruckgaber), wherein the first bearing (see fig. C below; the shown “first bearing” is in view of rejection discussed above in claim 4 or alternatively is viewed as bearing “42” of Ruckgaber) is located between the third bearing (43; see fig. 1 of Ruckgaber) and the second bearing (see fig. C below; the shown “second bearing” is in view of rejection discussed above in claim 4), and an inner race of the third bearing (43; see fig. 1 of Ruckgaber) is fixedly sleeved on the connecting shaft (40+44; of Ruckgaber); and the machine housing (of Heo; see fig. C below) comprises a cylindrical housing (component labeled “A”) in a tubular shape, a first end housing (housing made up of components labeled B1 and B2 – herein after B1+B2), and a second end housing (housing made up of components labeled C1 and C2 – herein after C1+C2), the first end housing and the second end housing are connected to two ends (left and right ends) of the cylindrical housing (as evident from fig. C below or fig. 2 of Heo), the cylindrical housing (“A”), the first end housing (“B1+B2”), and the second end housing (“C1+C2”) enclose to form the inner cavity, the connecting shaft (40+44; of Ruckgaber) is rotatably disposed in the first end housing (“B1+B2”), the outer race of the first bearing and an outer race of the third bearing are both fixedly disposed in the first end housing (“B1+B2”), and the outer race of the second bearing is fixedly disposed in the second end housing (“C1+C2”).
Fig. C: Edited fig. 2 of Heo to show proposed modification in view of teachings from Greiter and Ruckgaber.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo in view of Greiter and further in view of Ruckgaber and Li et al. (CN 114001007A – herein after Li).
Heo, as modified, teaches the integrated electric pump, wherein the rotor shaft (240; of Heo) and the connecting shaft (40+44; of Ruckgaber) are coupled using a splined connection (see ¶18 of Ruckgaber: “A drive journal 44 of the drive shaft 40 projects from the housing 20 and can have a multi-spline shaft profile”; the phrase “multi-spline shaft profile” implying the connecting and rotor shafts are splined).
Heo, as modified, remains silent on the integrated electric pump, wherein the rotor shaft is provided with a spline groove, the connecting shaft is provided with spline teeth, the spline teeth are inserted into the spline groove, and the first bearing is also sleeved on the connecting shaft.
However, Li teaches an integrated electric pump, wherein (see figs. 1, 3, 4) the rotor shaft (23) is provided with a spline groove (23-1), the connecting shaft (18) is provided with spline teeth (18-2), the spline teeth are inserted into the spline groove, and the first bearing (4) is also sleeved on the connecting shaft (18).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify substitute a splined connection between the rotor shaft and the connecting shaft in the modified integrated electric pump of Heo for another splined connection such that the rotor shaft is provided with a spline groove, the connecting shaft is provided with spline teeth, the spline teeth are inserted into the spline groove as taught by Li in order to obtain the predictable result of transmitting torque, as recognized by Li (see ¶8 of translation). KSR Int’l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1740-41, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
Thus, Heo, as modified, teaches the integrated electric pump, wherein the first bearing (see fig. C above) is also sleeved (indirectly) on the connecting shaft (40+44; of Ruckgaber) [by nesting the connecting shaft inside the rotor shaft directly under the bearing support, the bearing concentrically sleeves and supports the connecting shaft].
Claims 8 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo in view of Greiter and further in view of Ruckgaber and Ishikawa et al. (US 2017/0159639 – herein after Ishikawa; cited by applicant on IDS dated 01/29/2025).
Regarding claim 8,
Heo, as modified, teaches the integrated electric pump, wherein the piston pump further comprises (see fig. C above) a shaft seal (45; of Ruckgaber) located between the first bearing (of Greiter) and the third bearing (43; see fig. 1 of Ruckgaber), the shaft seal is sleeved on the connecting shaft (40+44; of Ruckgaber) and sealingly mates with the connecting shaft, the shaft seal is in sealing contact with the machine housing (formed of components “A+B1+B2+C1+C2” in view of fig. C above), a first oil chamber (see fig. D below; this asserted space serves as “oil chamber” for oil that is provided to the first bearing either for cooling or lubrication reasons) is formed between the shaft seal (45; of Ruckgaber) and the first bearing (of Greiter; see fig. C above).
Fig. D: Edited fig. 1 of Heo to show claim interpretation.
Heo, as modified, remains silent on the integrated electric pump, comprising a second oil chamber is formed between the shaft seal and the third bearing.
However, Ishikawa teaches a hydraulic rotary machine that explicitly teaches using a shaft seal (27) to define a fluid-filled lubrication/cooling chamber adjacent to a bearing (20). Thus, Ishikawa teaches the pump, wherein a second oil chamber (accommodation portion 4b, see fig. 2) is formed between the shaft seal (27) and the third bearing (portion 20a of bearing 20).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ruckgaber’s pump(s) in the modified integrated electric pump of Heo for provision of a second oil chamber utilizing the teaching of Ishikawa between the shaft seal and the third bearing in the modified integrated electric pump of Heo for the purpose of lubrication and cooling of the bearings/components in the pump.
Regarding claim 9,
Heo, as modified, teaches the integrated electric pump, wherein the piston pump (modified piston pump of Ruckgaber) is further provided with an oil inlet circuit (utilizing the teaching of Ishikawa; see fig. 2: oil inlet circuit = 13) passing through the pump housing (viewed as component 5 of the pump housing in Ishikawa or 20 in Ruckgaber), the cylinder body (viewed as 2 in Ishikawa or 60 in Ruckgaber), the second piston (component 5 of the pump housing in Ishikawa or 64 in Ruckgaber), and the pump shaft (viewed as 1b in Ishikawa or 40+46+44 in Ruckgaber) in sequence.
Heo, as modified, remains silent on the integrated electric pump, wherein the oil inlet circuit is “connected to an end of the first cooling oil circuit”.
Ishikawa teaches a dedicated internal cooling circuit that taps the working fluid to cool the pump shaft and splines (as evident from the disclosed figures; In Ishikawa, splines being at the coupling portion 31). The modified pump of Heo, as in claim 8, has the pump shaft connected to the motor shaft by splined connection, wherein the pump shaft is cooled by the fluid flowing through the oil inlet circuit of Ishikawa and the motor shaft is cooled by the first cooling oil circuit of Greiter. It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to connect the oil inlet circuit with an end of the first cooling oil circuit in the modified pump of Heo for the purpose of creating a single continuous cooling circuit (pump housing > pump shaft > motor shaft) through shafts (pump shaft & motor shaft) in the modified integrated electric pump of Heo. It is within the general skill level of a worker in the art to appropriately distribute cooling circuit throughout the pump housing in order to provide effective cooling of the different pumps components in need of cooling.
Regarding claim 10,
Heo, as modified, teaches the integrated electric pump, wherein the connecting shaft (40+44+46 of Ruckgaber) is further provided with a first lubricating oil circuit (axial passage drilled through the shaft 1b in Ishikawa or shaft 40+44+46 of Ruckgaber in view of proposed modification discussed above in claim 9) connected to the oil inlet circuit (13, in Ishikawa), and the first lubricating oil circuit is connected to the first oil chamber (inherent feature in view of single continuous circuit proposed modification discussed above in claim 9).
Regarding claim 11,
Heo, as modified, teaches the integrated electric pump, wherein the connecting shaft (40+44+46 of Ruckgaber) is further provided with a second lubricating oil circuit (radial passage drilled through the shaft 1b in Ishikawa or shaft 40+44+46 of Ruckgaber in view of proposed modification discussed above in claim 8) connected to the oil inlet circuit (13, in Ishikawa), and the second lubricating oil circuit is connected to the second oil chamber (inherent feature in view of proposed modification discussed above in claims 8 and 9).
Regarding claims 12 – 14,
Heo, as modified, teaches the integrated electric pump, comprising two piston pumps disposed at two ends of the electric machine, respectively (in view of proposed modification discussed above in claim 5; further shown in fig. C above), wherein the two ends of the rotor shaft are splined to connecting shafts of the two piston pumps (inherent feature: left and right ends of rotor shaft are connected to respective connecting shafts of two pump using splined connection, see Ruckgaber’s ¶18: “A drive journal 44 of the drive shaft 40 projects from the housing 20 and can have a multi-spline shaft profile”; the phrase “multi-spline shaft profile” implying the connecting and rotor shafts are splined), respectively, and at least one of the two piston pumps is provided with the oil inlet circuit (in view of proposed modification discussed above in claim 9).
Claims 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo in view of Greiter and Chu et al. (US 2020/0340463 – herein after Chu).
Heo teaches the integrated electric pump with the electric machine (motor).
Heo remains silent on the integrated electric pump, wherein the electric machine is rotatable in a forward direction and a reverse direction.
However, Chu teaches an integrated electric pump, wherein an electric machine (228, see figs. 20-25 and ¶5, ¶62-¶63) is rotatable in a forward direction and a reverse direction.
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electric machine in the integrated electric pump of Heo for making it a bi-directional motor such that is rotatable in a forward direction and a reverse direction as taught by Chu for the purpose of making the integrated electric pump (i.e. pump and motor assembly) suitable for applications that require bidirectional flow, as recognized by Chu (see ¶5).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo in view of Greiter and further in view of Luo and Chu et al. (US 2020/0340463 – herein after Chu).
Heo teaches the integrated electric pump with the electric machine (motor).
Heo remains silent on the integrated electric pump, wherein the electric machine is rotatable in a forward direction and a reverse direction.
However, Chu teaches an integrated electric pump, wherein an electric machine (228, see figs. 20-25 and ¶5, ¶62-¶63) is rotatable in a forward direction and a reverse direction.
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electric machine in the integrated electric pump of Heo for making it a bi-directional motor such that is rotatable in a forward direction and a reverse direction as taught by Chu for the purpose of making the integrated electric pump (i.e. pump and motor assembly) suitable for applications that require bidirectional flow, as recognized by Chu (see ¶5).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo in view of Greiter and further in view of Sekine and Chu et al. (US 2020/0340463 – herein after Chu).
Heo teaches the integrated electric pump with the electric machine (motor).
Heo remains silent on the integrated electric pump, wherein the electric machine is rotatable in a forward direction and a reverse direction.
However, Chu teaches an integrated electric pump, wherein an electric machine (228, see figs. 20-25 and ¶5, ¶62-¶63) is rotatable in a forward direction and a reverse direction.
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electric machine in the integrated electric pump of Heo for making it a bi-directional motor such that is rotatable in a forward direction and a reverse direction as taught by Chu for the purpose of making the integrated electric pump (i.e. pump and motor assembly) suitable for applications that require bidirectional flow, as recognized by Chu (see ¶5).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo in view of Greiter and further in view of Ruckgaber and Chu et al. (US 2020/0340463 – herein after Chu).
Heo teaches the integrated electric pump with the electric machine (motor).
Heo remains silent on the integrated electric pump, wherein the electric machine is rotatable in a forward direction and a reverse direction.
However, Chu teaches an integrated electric pump, wherein an electric machine (228, see figs. 20-25 and ¶5, ¶62-¶63) is rotatable in a forward direction and a reverse direction.
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electric machine in the integrated electric pump of Heo for making it a bi-directional motor such that is rotatable in a forward direction and a reverse direction as taught by Chu for the purpose of making the integrated electric pump (i.e. pump and motor assembly) suitable for applications that require bidirectional flow, as recognized by Chu (see ¶5).
Conclusion
/CHIRAG JARIWALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/ESSAMA OMGBA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746