Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2, “a” should apparently be --the--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims {1, 2, 4-10}, {3}, {11,12, 14, 15} and {16-20} are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9, 10 and 14, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,221,299. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims sought to be patented are wholly encompassed within the scope of the patented claims, i.e., the pending claims are merely broader.
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brenden et al (US 11,780,689) in view of Pasek (US 2005/0115416), Chung et al (US 10,793,363) and Stewart (US 2013/0118862).
Brenden shows a system, comprising: a base 14 configured to be positioned on a ground, wherein the base comprises a first conveyor 50 configured to receive a material;
a derrick 62 having a first end that is coupled to the base, wherein the derrick comprises:
a second conveyor 80 configured to receive the material from the first conveyor and to convey the material upward when the system is in an unfolded state (see at least Figs. 1A, 4 and 5D); and
a motor positioned proximate to an end of the derrick and configured to provide power to the second conveyor (not explicitly disclosed but considered inherent; note the control of various motors of elements of the system described in col. 13:4-12 - such a motor, although unlabeled, appears to be shown in at least Fig. 8D);
a first arm 120/130 having a first end that is coupled to the end of the derrick, wherein the first arm comprises a third conveyor 122 (generally, includes belts 150).
Brenden does not disclose the motor to be a drum motor, or the first arm to further comprise a skirt that directs the material toward a middle portion of the third conveyor, and a deflector positioned downstream from the skirt, wherein the deflector consolidates the material as the material enters a transition proximate to a downstream end of the third conveyor, and wherein the deflector also reduces aeration and dust from the material proximate to the transition.
Pasek teaches that it is desirable to use a drum motor 62 to drive a conveyor 46 because it avoids the use of external drive or power transmission mechanisms that otherwise would be exposed to contamination (pars. [0012] and [0034] – [0036]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Brenden by configuring the motor of the second conveyor as a drum motor, as taught by Pasek, to avoid the use of any external drive or power transmission mechanisms that otherwise would be exposed to contamination, thereby keeping the motor cleaner and enabling it to last longer.
Chung shows a conveyor structure comprising a skirt means 12 which includes a liner 14 which guides a granular product toward a middle portion of conveyor belt B (Fig. 2; col. 4:61 to col. 5:12).
Stewart shows a deflector 504 positioned in a transition between two belt conveyors which pivot relative to each other about a vertical axis in a manner substantially similar to applicant’s third and fourth conveyors, wherein the deflector consolidates a granular material carried on the conveyors as the material transitions between the conveyors, and wherein the deflector also reduces the velocity of the material as it transitions between the conveyors (pars. [0033] and [0034]), which would inherently reduce aeration and dust, at least to some extent.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have further modified the system of Brenden by configuring the first arm such that it comprised a skirt that directed the material toward a middle portion of the third conveyor, and a deflector positioned downstream from the skirt, wherein the deflector consolidated the material as the material entered a transition proximate to a downstream end of the third conveyor, and wherein the deflector also reduced aeration and dust from the material proximate to the transition, as collectively suggested by Chung and Stewart, to more efficiently and effectively handle the material as it moved downstream from the third conveyor.
Re claim 9, Brenden further discloses a telescoping loading spout 164 (Fig. 8A-F) positioned downstream from the third conveyor, wherein the telescoping loading spout is configured to load the material into a silo 1 (see at least Figs. 1A, 8A and col. 11:52 to col. 12:15).
Claims 2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brenden et al in view of Pasek, Chung et al and Stewart, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Friesen (US 10,584,003).
Brenden further discloses a grate 48 configured to be positioned under a knife gate (not explicitly disclosed but the grate receives aggregate material, such as sand used in fracking operations, from a bottom dump trailer, as noted in col. 4:9-20; such a trailer would inherently have a gate or valve to release the material, and applicant acknowledges in pars. [0058] and [0059] that a knife gate is conventional on such vehicles); wherein the first conveyor is positioned under the grate, and wherein the grate is configured to direct the material from the knife gate onto a middle portion of the first conveyor (Fig. 6), but does not disclose the grate to be (or to include) a funnel.
Friesen shows a generally similar portable drive-over conveyor system for receiving aggregate material from belly-dump trailers, wherein a funnel 2111 positioned above a conveyor 26 directs material discharged from a discharge opening of the belly-dump trailer, when positioned over the funnel, onto a middle portion of the conveyor, as seen in at least Figs. 2, 12, 15 and 16. A similar funnel 2121 is shown in Figs. 18-24.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have further modified the system of Brenden by configuring the grate as (or to include) a funnel, as taught by Friesen, to ensure that most if not all of the material discharged from the trailer was directed onto a middle portion of the conveyor.
Re claim 16, the system of Brenden as modified above would perform a method of loading proppant into a silo, the method comprising: transporting a system to a site, wherein the system comprises a base 14, a derrick 62, a first arm 130, and a second arm 132, wherein a first portion of the base comprises a first conveyor 50, and wherein a second portion of the base comprises a chassis, a suspension, and wheels 28 (col. 4:61 to col. 5:5);
actuating the system from a folded state into an unfolded state at the site, wherein the derrick is oriented substantially horizontally when the system is in the folded state (Fig. 3), and wherein the derrick is oriented substantially vertically when the system is in the unfolded state (Fig. 4);
transferring a proppant to the first conveyor, wherein the proppant is transferred through a funnel of the base and onto a middle portion of the first conveyor (when modified by Freisen as above); and
conveying the proppant to the silo, wherein the proppant is conveyed from the first conveyor on the base to a second conveyor 80 on the derrick, to a third conveyor 150 on the first arm, to a fourth conveyor 150 on the second arm, and into the silo, wherein the second conveyor is powered by a drum motor (when modified by Pasek as above) that is positioned proximate to an upper end of the derrick, and wherein the first arm comprises:
a skirt that directs the proppant toward a middle portion of the third conveyor (when modified by Chung as above); and
a deflector positioned downstream from the skirt, wherein the deflector consolidates the proppant as the proppant enters a transition from the third conveyor to the fourth conveyor, and wherein the deflector also reduces aeration and dust from the proppant proximate to the transition (when modified by Stewart as above).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brenden et al in view of Pasek, Chung et al, Stewart and Friesen, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Oehler et al (US 2020/0048985).
Brendan as modified shows the base to comprise at least three sections including a middle section, wherein the funnel (grate) is located in the middle section (Fig. 6), but does not show the middle section mounted on one or more isolators that allow the middle section to move with respect to the other sections, wherein the base further comprises a vibrator configured to vibrate the middle section to facilitate movement of the material through the funnel, and wherein the material has a moisture content greater than 2%.
Oehler shows a proppant sand handling system in the same general field of endeavor, wherein one or more vibrators 234, 726, 828, 830, 832, 1628, etc., are utilized at one or more transitions between a conveyor and other components of the system to facilitate movement of wet proppant through the transition(s), wherein the proppant sand has a moisture content greater than 2% (see at least pars. [0008] to [0013]). Oehler further discloses in at least Figs. 16 and 28 isolators 1636 and 2804-2814, respectively, to mitigate the effects of the vibrator(s) from propagating to other components of the system (i.e., they allow the vibrational movement of the desired portion of the system without deleteriously effecting other components of the system).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have further modified the system of Brenden by mounting the middle section on one or more isolators that allowed the middle section to move with respect to the other sections, and by configuring the base to further comprise a vibrator configured to vibrate the middle section to facilitate movement of the material through the funnel, and wherein the material had a moisture content greater than 2%, as suggested by Oehler, so that wet sand (material) could be more effectively handled, thereby precluding the need for expensive and time consuming drying equipment and operations, and so that the funnel could be vibrated without passing such vibrations to other portions of the system in which vibrations would be undesirable.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brenden et al in view of Pasek, Chung et al and Stewart, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Weyermann et al (US 5,234,094).
Brenden as modified does not show that the deflector comprises a curved central portion with a front face and a back face.
Weyermann discloses a similar deflector 108 positioned in a transition between two conveyors movable relative to each other, wherein the deflector comprises a curved central portion with a front face and a back face (Figs. 10-12).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have further modified the system of Brenden by configuring the deflector to comprise a curved central portion with a front face and a back face, as shown by Weyermann, to more effectively transition the material moving between the two conveyors.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brenden et al in view of Pasek, Chung et al and Stewart, as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Bowlin (US 2023/0312251), .
Brenden as modified does not disclose a duct having at least one end positioned proximate to [a] the downstream end of the third conveyor, and a fan configured to draw a vacuum through the telescoping loading spout and the duct.
Bowlin shows a dust extraction system 210 in a particulate material handling and conveying system 100, wherein a duct 214/216 has at least one end positioned proximate to a downstream end of a conveyor 130, and a fan 224 configured to draw a vacuum through a loading spout 180 and the duct (Fig. 2B). Although the spout per se is not telescopic, legs 232 of frame 230 on which chute assembly 140 is mounted (and to which spout 180 is attached) are telescopic to enable the spout to adjust to the height of the containers 110 into which the material is being fed, in a manner generally similar to that of Brenden (see pars. [0048] and [0049]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have further modified the system of Brenden by providing a duct having at least one end positioned proximate to the downstream end of the third conveyor, and a fan configured to draw a vacuum through the telescoping loading spout and the duct, as suggested by Bowlin, to mitigate the migration of dust particles into the atmosphere, thereby improving visibility, health and safety.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brenden et al in view of Pasek, Chung et al, Stewart and Friesen, as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Weyermann et al.
This rejection utilizes the same obviousness rationale set forth above in par. 10 with respect to claim 4.
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/James Keenan/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3652
10/21/26