Detailed Action
Status of Claims
This is the first office action on the merits. Claims 1-32 are currently pending and addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/29/2025, 05/27/2025, 06/10/2025, 08/19/2025 has being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC §102
Claim(s) 1-3, 13-15, & 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hosie (US Pub No 20040069496).
Hosie discloses in 1. A downhole tool, comprising:
a whipstock assembly (Hosie Fig 8a; 802), the whipstock assembly including a whipface (Hosie Fig 8a; 804);
a packer assembly (Hosie Fig 8a; [0179] packer (sealing) assembly comprising 828, 870 and 832) coupled to the whipstock assembly (Hosie Fig 8a), the packer assembly including a packer element (Hosie Fig 8a; 870 sealing element) configured to move between a radially retracted state (Hosie Fig 8a and 8b; 870 sits in a radially retracted state) and a radially expanded state (Hosie Fig 8e; [0179] 870 is compressed to a radially expanded state); and
a downhole power unit (Hosie Fig 8a; 854 & 850) coupled to the packer assembly (Hosie Fig 8a; 840 is interconnected (coupled) with the packer assembly), the downhole power unit configured to move the packer element between the radially retracted state and the radially expanded state (Hosie [0181]-[0182] pump and battery utilized for compressing packer assembly).
Hosie discloses in 2. The downhole tool as recited in Claim 1, further including a ported sub (Hosie Fig 8a; 810) coupled to the downhole power unit (Hosie Fig 8a; [0181] pump and battery are disposed in a pump recess 851 within ported sub 810), the ported sub configured to hydraulically connect activation fluid to the downhole power unit (Hosie fig 8a; [0181] 851 hydraulically connects power unit with activation fluid stored in reservoir 844 in the ported sub 810).
Hosie discloses in 3. The downhole tool as recited in Claim 2, wherein the ported sub is configured to hydraulically connect activation fluid from an annulus of a wellbore to the downhole power unit (Hosie Fig 8a; 806 [0188]-[0189] vent allows wellbore pressure to act to reduce pressure on the hydraulic system utilized to radially expand the packer assembly).
Hosie discloses in 13. The downhole tool as recited in Claim 1, wherein the downhole power unit is configured to receive an activation signal along wired drill string (Hosie [0151] & [0182] acoustic signal delivered by drill string).
Hosie discloses in 14. The downhole tool as recited in Claim 13, wherein the activation signal is an acoustic signal (Hosie [0151] & [0182] acoustic signal delivered by drill string).
Hosie discloses in 15. A well system, comprising:
a main wellbore (Hosie Fig 8B main wellbore) located in a subterranean formation (Hosie Fig 8b; 860);
a lateral wellbore (Hosie Fig 8b; 12) extending from the main wellbore (Hosie Fig 8b);
and a downhole tool (Hosie Fig 8b; 10) positioned proximate an intersection between the main wellbore and the lateral wellbore (Hosie Fig 8b tool positioned in a proximate intersection between the two wellbores), the downhole tool including:
a whipstock assembly (Hosie Fig 8a; 802), the whipstock assembly including a whipface (Hosie Fig 8a; 804);
a packer assembly (Hosie Fig 8a; [0179] packer (sealing) assembly comprising 828, 870 and 832) coupled to the whipstock assembly (Hosie Fig 8a), the packer assembly including a packer element (Hosie Fig 8a; 870 sealing element) configured to move between a radially retracted state (Hosie Fig 8a and 8b; 870 sits in a radially retracted state) and a radially expanded state (Hosie Fig 8e; [0179] 870 is compressed to a radially expanded state); and
a downhole power unit (Hosie Fig 8a; 854 & 850) coupled to the packer assembly (Hosie Fig 8a; 840 is interconnected (coupled) with the packer assembly), the downhole power unit configured to move the packer element between the radially retracted state and the radially expanded state (Hosie [0181]-[0182] pump and battery utilized for compressing packer assembly).
Hosie discloses in 27. The well system as recited in Claim 15, wherein the downhole power unit is coupled to wired drill string (Hosie [0152] describes the process for running in the working tool on a drill string for Fig 7 [0183] defines that the run in process is the same in the embodiment of Fig 8), and further wherein the downhole power unit is configured to receive an activation signal along the wired drill string (Hosie [0151] & [0182] acoustic signal delivered by drill string).
Hosie discloses in 28. The well system as recited in Claim 27, wherein the activation signal is an acoustic signal (Hosie [0151] & [0182] acoustic signal delivered by drill string).
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-12, 13, 15-17, 23-25, 27, 29-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sonnier (US Pat No 6684953).
Sonnier discloses in claim 1. A downhole tool, comprising:
a whipstock assembly (Sonnier Fig 1; 14), the whipstock assembly including a whipface (Sonnier Fig 1; 15);
a packer assembly (Sonnier Fig 1; 10) coupled to the whipstock assembly (Sonnier Fig 1 10 is coupled to whipstock assembly), the packer assembly including a packer element (Sonnier Col 4 line 13-15 packer/slip unit) configured to move between a radially retracted state and a radially expanded state (Sonnier Col 4 line 28-32 setting of the packer against the wellbore wall to secure the whipstock); and
a downhole power unit (Sonnier Fig 3; 59 motor chamber) coupled to the packer assembly (Sonnier Fig 1), the downhole power unit configured to move the packer element between the radially retracted state and the radially expanded state (Sonnier col 4 line 23-32 downhole packer actuator operates to set the packer against the wellbore wall to secure the whipstock).
Sonnier discloses in claim 2. The downhole tool as recited in Claim 1, further including a ported sub (Sonnier Fig 3; 50 ported shaft mandrel) coupled to the downhole power unit (Sonnier Fig 3 col 4 line 12-14 shaft mandrel is connected to the motor chamber), the ported sub configured to hydraulically connect activation fluid to the downhole power unit (Sonnier Col 4 line 25-32 wellbore fluid pressure drives the setting piston and cylinder against the pressure shoulder to se the packer/slip).
Sonnier discloses in claim 3. The downhole tool as recited in Claim 2, wherein the ported sub is configured to hydraulically connect activation fluid from an annulus of a wellbore to the downhole power unit (Sonnier Col 4 line 25-32 wellbore fluid pressure drives the setting piston and cylinder against the pressure shoulder to se the packer/slip).
Sonnier discloses in claim 9. The downhole tool as recited in Claim 1, wherein the downhole power unit is positioned between the whipstock assembly and the packer assembly (Sonnier Fig 1 power unit is between the whipstock and the packer assembly).
Sonnier discloses in claim 10. The downhole tool as recited in Claim 1, further including a milling assembly removably coupled to the whipface (Sonnier Fig 5 through 7 col 4 line 55-65 shearable fastener 18 between whipstock and drill string is sheared).
Sonnier discloses in claim 11. The downhole tool as recite in Claim 10, wherein the milling assembly is removably coupled to the whipface using a shear feature (Sonnier Fig 5 through 7 col 4 line 55-65 shearable fastener 18 between whipstock and drill string is sheared).
Sonnier discloses in claim 13. The downhole tool as recited in Claim 1, wherein the downhole power unit is configured to receive an activation signal along wired drill string (Sonnier col 4 line 22-32 signal microprocessor for activation signal for setting operations of the packer/slips).
Sonnier discloses in claim 15. A well system, comprising:
a main wellbore (Sonnier Fig 5; 40) located in a subterranean formation (Sonnier Fig 5; subterranean wellbore col 3 line 43-45);
a lateral wellbore (Sonnier Fig 7; 42) extending from the main wellbore (Sonnier Fig 7; 42 extends from 40);
and a downhole tool (Sonnier Fig 7 elements 14, 12 and 10) positioned proximate an intersection between the main wellbore and the lateral wellbore (Sonnier Fig 7), the downhole tool including:
a whipstock assembly (Sonnier Fig 1; 14), the whipstock assembly including a whipface (Sonnier Fig 1; 15);
a packer assembly (Sonnier Fig 1; 10) coupled to the whipstock assembly (Sonnier Fig 1 10 is coupled to whipstock assembly), the packer assembly including a packer element (Sonnier Col 4 line 13-15 packer part of the packer/slip unit) configured to move between a radially retracted state and a radially expanded state (Sonnier Col 4 line 28-32 setting of the packer against the wellbore wall to secure the whipstock);
and a downhole power unit (Sonnier Fig 3; 59 motor chamber) coupled to the packer assembly (Sonnier Fig 1 59 is a component of element 12 as shown in fig 3), the downhole power unit configured to move the packer element between the radially retracted state and the radially expanded state (Sonnier col 4 line 23-32 downhole packer actuator operates to set the packer against the wellbore wall to secure the whipstock).
Sonnier discloses in claim 16. The well system as recited in Claim 15, further including a ported sub (Sonnier Fig 3; 50 ported shaft mandrel) coupled to the downhole power unit (Sonnier Fig 3 col 4 line 12-14 shaft mandrel is connected to the motor chamber), the ported sub configured to hydraulically connect activation fluid to the downhole power unit (Sonnier Col 4 line 25-32 wellbore fluid pressure drives the setting piston and cylinder against the pressure shoulder to set the packer/slip)..
Sonnier discloses in claim 17. The well system as recited in Claim 16, wherein the ported sub is configured to hydraulically connect activation fluid from an annulus of the main wellbore to the downhole power unit (Sonnier Col 4 line 25-32 wellbore fluid pressure drives the setting piston and cylinder against the pressure shoulder to set the packer/slip).
Sonnier discloses in claim 23. The well system as recited in Claim 15, wherein the downhole power unit is positioned between the whipstock assembly and the packer assembly (Sonnier Fig 1 power unit is between the whipstock and the packer assembly).
Sonnier discloses in claim 24. The well system as recited in Claim 15, further including a milling assembly removably coupled to the whipface (Sonnier Fig 5 through 7 col 4 line 55-65 shearable fastener 18 between whipstock and drill string is sheared).
Sonnier discloses in claim 25. The well system as recite in Claim 24, wherein the milling assembly is removably coupled to the whipface using a shear feature (Sonnier Fig 5 through 7 col 4 line 55-65 shearable fastener 18 between whipstock and drill string is sheared).
Sonnier discloses in claim 27. The well system as recited in Claim 15, wherein the downhole power unit is coupled to wired drill string (Sonnier Fig 7; 32 drill string with telemetry unit), and further wherein the downhole power unit is configured to receive an activation signal along the wired drill string (Sonnier Fig 4; 31 col 4 line 40-50 signal sequence for activation).
Sonnier discloses in claim 29. A method, comprising:
positioning a downhole tool proximate an intersection between a main wellbore and where a lateral wellbore is to be located, the downhole tool including:
a packer assembly (Sonnier Fig 1; 10) coupled to the whipstock assembly (Sonnier Fig 1l 10 is coupled to whipstock assembly), the packer assembly including a packer element (Sonnier Col 4 line 13-15 packer/slip unit) configured to move between a radially retracted state and a radially expanded state (Sonnier Col 4 line 28-32 setting of the packer against the wellbore wall to secure the whipstock); and
a downhole power unit (Sonnier Fig 3; 59 motor chamber) coupled to the packer assembly (Sonnier Fig 1 59 is a component of element 12 as shown in fig 3), the downhole power unit configured to move the packer element between the radially retracted state and the radially expanded state (Sonnier col 4 line 23-32 downhole packer actuator operates to set the packer against the wellbore wall to secure the whipstock).
and moving the packer element from the radially retracted state to the radially expanded state to fix the downhole tool within the main wellbore (Sonnier Col 4 line 28-32 setting of the packer against the wellbore wall to secure the whipstock).
Sonnier discloses in claim 30. The method as recited in Claim 29, wherein the downhole tool further includes a ported sub (Sonnier Fig 3; 50 ported shaft mandrel) coupled to the downhole power unit (Sonnier Fig 3 col 4 line 12-14 shaft mandrel is connected to the motor chamber), the ported sub configured to hydraulically connect activation fluid to the downhole power unit (Sonnier Col 4 line 25-32 wellbore fluid pressure drives the setting piston and cylinder against the pressure shoulder to set the packer/slip).
Sonnier discloses in claim 31. The method as recited in Claim 30, wherein the ported sub is configured to hydraulically connect activation fluid from an annulus of the main wellbore to the downhole power unit (Sonnier Col 4 line 25-32 wellbore fluid pressure drives the setting piston and cylinder against the pressure shoulder to set the packer/slip). .
Sonnier discloses in claim 32. The method as recited in Claim 30, wherein moving the packer element from the radially retracted state to the radially expanded state includes hydraulically connecting the activation fluid to the downhole power unit using the ported sub (Sonnier Col 4 line 25-32 wellbore fluid pressure drives the setting piston and cylinder against the pressure shoulder to set the packer/slip).
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 103
set forth in this Office action:
Non-obviousness.
Claim(s) 4, 6-7, 18, 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonnier (US Pat No 6684953) in view of Hosie (US Pub No 20040069496).
Sonnier discloses in claim 4. The downhole tool as recited in Claim 2, wherein the downhole power unit has a pre-determined depth (Sonnier col 4 line 34-36 positioning of the tool at a desired depth) the downhole power unit configured to initiate a setting sequence of the packer assembly after receiving activation fluid having at least the pre-determined activation depth from the ported sub (Sonnier Col 4 line 33-54 the whipstock is positioned at a predetermined depth the down hole tool receives as signal and the downhole power unit is configured to initiate a setting sequence of the packer and slip system to anchor the whipstock into the desired location). Sonnier discloses the downhole power unit (Sonnier Fig 3; 59 motor chamber) is controlled by a microprocessor (Sonnier Fig 3; 36) which is operated by a mud pulse telemetry (Sonnier Fig 4; 31 Abstract, col 4 line 3-11) to operate a solenoid valve (Sonnier col 2 line 44-46) to begin the setting sequence. However, Sonnier does not disclose the use of a predetermined activation pressure to initiate the setting sequence.
However, Hosie discloses a valve system initiated by: a predetermined activation pressure (Hosie [0160] a rupture disc is broken at a designated pressure)
As both Sonnier and Hosie both disclose a valve system, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the solenoid valve of Sonnier for the rupture disc of Hosie with a reasonable expectation of success to achieve the predictable result of stopping fluid flow until a predetermined activation pressure is achieved.
Sonnier in view of Hosie disclose in claim 6. The downhole tool as recited in Claim 4, wherein the ported sub (Sonnier Fig 3; 50 ported shaft mandrel) has a burst disc (Hosie [0160] a rupture disc is broken at a designated pressure), the burst disc configured to burst upon receiving at least the pre-determined activation pressure before initiating the setting sequence (Hosie [0160] a rupture disc is broken at a designated pressure) (Sonnier col 3 line 6-9 when the valve is ruptured wellbore pressure causes the motor chamber to set the packer).
Sonnier in view of Hosie disclose in claim 7. The downhole tool as recited in Claim 4, wherein the downhole power unit is configured to immediately initiate the setting sequence of the packer assembly after receiving the activation fluid having at least the pre-determined activation pressure from the ported sub (Sonnier col 3 line 6-9 when the valve is ruptured wellbore pressure causes the motor chamber to set the packer).
Sonnier discloses in claim 18. The well system as recited in Claim 16, wherein the downhole power unit has a pre-determined depth (Sonnier col 4 line 34-36 positioning of the tool at a desired depth) the downhole power unit configured to initiate a setting sequence of the packer assembly after receiving activation fluid having at least the pre-determined activation depth from the ported sub (Sonnier Col 4 line 33-54 the whipstock is positioned at a predetermined depth the down hole tool receives as signal and the downhole power unit is configured to initiate a setting sequence of the packer and slip system to anchor the whipstock into the desired location). Sonnier discloses the downhole power unit (Sonnier Fig 3; 59 motor chamber) is controlled by a microprocessor (Sonnier Fig 3; 36) which is operated by a mud pulse telemetry (Sonnier Fig 4; 31 Abstract, col 4 line 3-11) to operate a solenoid valve (Sonnier col 2 line 44-46) to begin the setting sequence. However, Sonnier does not disclose the use of a predetermined activation pressure to initiate the setting sequence.
However, Hosie discloses a valve system initiated by: a predetermined activation pressure (Hosie [0160] a rupture disc is broken at a designated pressure)
As both Sonnier and Hosie both disclose a valve system, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the solenoid valve of Sonnier for the rupture disc of Hosie with a reasonable expectation of success to achieve the predictable result of stopping fluid flow until a predetermined activation pressure is achieved.
Sonnier in view of Hosie disclose in claim 20. The well system as recited in Claim 18, wherein the ported sub (Sonnier Fig 3; 50 ported shaft mandrel) has a burst disc (Hosie [0160] a rupture disc is broken at a designated pressure), the burst disc configured to burst upon receiving at least the pre-determined activation pressure before initiating the setting sequence (Hosie [0160] a rupture disc is broken at a designated pressure) (Sonnier col 3 line 6-9 when the valve is ruptured wellbore pressure causes the motor chamber to set the packer).
Sonnier in view of Hosie disclose in claim 21. The well system as recited in Claim 18, wherein the downhole power unit is configured to immediately initiate the setting sequence of the packer assembly after receiving the activation fluid having at least the pre-determined activation pressure from the ported sub (Sonnier col 3 line 6-9 when the valve is ruptured wellbore pressure causes the motor chamber to set the packer).
Claim(s) 4-5, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonnier in view of Maher (Maher US Pub No 20230069763)
Sonnier discloses in claim 4. The downhole tool as recited in Claim 2, wherein the downhole power unit has a pre-determined depth (Sonnier col 4 line 34-36 positioning of the tool at a desired depth) the downhole power unit configured to initiate a setting sequence of the packer assembly after receiving activation fluid having at least the pre-determined activation depth from the ported sub (Sonnier Col 4 line 33-54 the whipstock is positioned at a predetermined depth the down hole tool receives as signal and the downhole power unit is configured to initiate a setting sequence of the packer and slip system to anchor the whipstock into the desired location). Sonnier discloses the downhole power unit (Sonnier Fig 3; 59 motor chamber) is controlled by a microprocessor (Sonnier Fig 3; 36) which is operated by a mud pulse telemetry (Sonnier Fig 4; 31 Abstract, col 4 line 3-11) to operate a solenoid valve (Sonnier col 2 line 44-46) to begin the setting sequence. However, Sonnier does not disclose the use of a predetermined activation pressure to command the microprocessor/electronic control device to initiate the setting sequence.
However, Maher discloses a setting control system initiated by: a predetermined activation pressure (Maher Fig 6; 602 [0016] [0024] setting system operated by predetermined activation pressure changes detected by sensors)
As both Sonnier and Maher both disclose an electronic control device, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the microprocessor of Sonnier for the Electronics assembly of Maher with a reasonable expectation of success to achieve the predictable result of setting the packer downhole to a predetermined pressure.
Sonnier in view of Maher discloses in claim 5. The downhole tool as recited in Claim 4, wherein the downhole power unit has a pressure sensor (Maher [0016] pressure sensor apart of electronics assembly can detect minor differences in pressure), the pressure sensor configured to sense for at least the pre-determined activation pressure before initiating the setting sequence (Maher [0016] pressure sensor apart of electronics assembly can detect minor differences in pressure to initiate the setting sequence).
Sonnier discloses in claim 18. The well system as recited in Claim 16, wherein the downhole power unit has a pre-determined depth (Sonnier col 4 line 34-36 positioning of the tool at a desired depth) the downhole power unit configured to initiate a setting sequence of the packer assembly after receiving activation fluid having at least the pre-determined activation depth from the ported sub (Sonnier Col 4 line 33-54 the whipstock is positioned at a predetermined depth the down hole tool receives as signal and the downhole power unit is configured to initiate a setting sequence of the packer and slip system to anchor the whipstock into the desired location). Sonnier discloses the downhole power unit (Sonnier Fig 3; 59 motor chamber) is controlled by a microprocessor (Sonnier Fig 3; 36) which is operated by a mud pulse telemetry (Sonnier Fig 4; 31 Abstract, col 4 line 3-11) to operate a solenoid valve (Sonnier col 2 line 44-46) to begin the setting sequence. However, Sonnier does not disclose the use of a predetermined activation pressure to command the microprocessor/electronic control device to initiate the setting sequence.
However, Maher discloses a setting control system initiated by: a predetermined activation pressure (Maher Fig 6; 602 [0016] [0024] setting system operated by predetermined activation pressure changes detected by sensors)
As both Sonnier and Maher both disclose an electronic control device, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the microprocessor of Sonnier for the Electronics assembly of Maher with a reasonable expectation of success to achieve the predictable result of setting the packer downhole to a predetermined pressure.
Sonnier in view of Maher discloses in claim 19. The well system as recited in Claim 18, wherein the downhole power unit has a pressure sensor (Maher [0016] pressure sensor apart of electronics assembly can detect minor differences in pressure), the pressure sensor configured to sense for at least the pre-determined activation pressure before initiating the setting sequence (Maher [0016] pressure sensor apart of electronics assembly can detect minor differences in pressure to initiate the setting sequence).
Claim(s) 8 & 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonnier & Maher as applied to claims 4 & 18 above, and further in view of Wood (US Pub No 20150122493).
Sonnier & Maher disclose in claim 8. The downhole tool as recited in Claim 4, wherein the downhole power unit is configured to start a pre-determined sequence to initiate the setting sequence of the packer assembly after receiving the activation fluid having at least the pre-determined activation pressure from the ported sub (Maher Fig 6; 602 [0016] [0024] setting system operated by predetermined activation pressure changes detected by sensors). Sonnier in view of Maher does not teach the setting procedure would involve a countdown timer.
However, Wood discloses the packer actuation signal could be incorporated with: a countdown (Wood [0043] “If desired, a delay could be incorporated into the programming of the actuator of the e-trigger 60 such that a predetermined period of time elapses between the time the triggering signal is received by the e-trigger 60 and the setting piston 63 is exposed to the hydrostatic pressure 62”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a countdown as in Wood in the system operating the downhole tool of Sonnier in view of Maher. As in Wood, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to include a countdown to Sonnier in view of Maher’s invention with a reasonable expectation of success of the predictable result of incorporating a delay as needed in Sonnier in view of Maher.
Sonnier & Maher disclose in claim 22. The well system as recited in Claim 18, wherein the downhole power unit is configured to start a pre-determined sequence to initiate the setting sequence of the packer assembly after receiving the activation fluid having at least the pre-determined activation pressure from the ported sub (Maher Fig 6; 602 [0016] [0024] setting system operated by predetermined activation pressure changes detected by sensors). Sonnier in view of Maher does not teach the setting procedure would involve a countdown timer.
However, Wood discloses the packer actuation signal could be incorporated with: a countdown (Wood [0043] “If desired, a delay could be incorporated into the programming of the actuator of the e-trigger 60 such that a predetermined period of time elapses between the time the triggering signal is received by the e-trigger 60 and the setting piston 63 is exposed to the hydrostatic pressure 62”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a countdown as in Wood in the system operating the downhole tool of Sonnier in view of Maher. As in Wood, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to include a countdown to Sonnier in view of Maher’s invention with a reasonable expectation of success of the predictable result of incorporating a delay as needed in Sonnier in view of Maher.
Claim(s) 12 & 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonnier in view of Szescila (US Pat No 4153109)
Sonnier discloses in claim 12. The downhole tool as recited in Claim 1, and a packer with slips and appears to show a pair of slips above and below the sealing element in Fig 5 element 10 but is silent as to the specific construction of the packer assembly.
However, Szescila teaches a packer assembly: includes an inner mandrel (Szescila Fig 2; 22), upper slips (Szecila Fig 2; 39) positioned about the inner mandrel (Szecila Fig 2; 39 is positioned around inner mandrel 22), lower slips (Szecila Fig 2; 27) positioned about the inner mandrel (Szecila Fig 2; 27 is positioned around inner mandrel 22), and the packer element positioned about the inner mandrel between the upper slips and the lower slips (Szecila Fig 2 33 packer element positioned between the upper and lower slips around the inner mandrel), wherein the inner mandrel is configured to axially slide to move the upper slips and lower slips toward one another to compress the packer element from its radially retracted state to its radially expanded state (Szecila col 4 line 30-35 packer is compressed and radially expanded) for the purpose of anchoring a whipstock in a wellbore.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sonnier to include an inner mandrel and slips as taught by Szecila for the purpose of anchoring a whipstock in a wellbore.
Sonnier discloses in claim 26. The well system as recited in Claim 15, and a packer with slips and appears to show a pair of slips above and below the sealing element in Fig 5 element 10 but is silent as to the specific construction of the packer assembly.
However, Szescila teaches a packer assembly: includes an inner mandrel (Szescila Fig 2; 22), upper slips (Szecila Fig 2; 39) positioned about the inner mandrel (Szecila Fig 2; 39 is positioned around inner mandrel 22), lower slips (Szecila Fig 2; 27) positioned about the inner mandrel (Szecila Fig 2; 27 is positioned around inner mandrel 22), and the packer element positioned about the inner mandrel between the upper slips and the lower slips (Szecila Fig 2 33 packer element positioned between the upper and lower slips around the inner mandrel), wherein the inner mandrel is configured to axially slide to move the upper slips and lower slips toward one another to compress the packer element from its radially retracted state to its radially expanded state (Szecila col 4 line 30-35 packer is compressed and radially expanded) for the purpose of anchoring a whipstock in a wellbore.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sonnier to include an inner mandrel and slips as taught by Szecila for the purpose of anchoring a whipstock in a wellbore.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS D WLODARSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3672
/Nicole Coy/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3672