This action is in response to the application filed on 01/29/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/27/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 18, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, in line 5, “divided by two less than the plurality of phases” appears that it should read as “divided by two less than a number of the plurality of phases”, because an amperage value cannot be divided by a plurality of structural elements.
Regarding claim 2, in line 4, “by two less than the plurality of phases” appears that it should read as “by two less than a number of the plurality of phases”, because an amperage value cannot be divided by a plurality of structural elements.
Regarding claim 4, in line 3, “de-throttling the current delivered by the plurality of phases” appears that it should read as “de-throttling current delivered by the plurality of phases”, because claim 1 recites current delivered by remaining operational phases and provides no antecedent basis for the current delivered by the plurality of phases.
Regarding claim 5, in lines 2-3, “of the plurality of phases; and wherein the remaining operational phases remain functional” appears that it should read as “of the plurality of phases, wherein the remaining operational phases remain functional”.
Regarding claim 6, in line 4, “divided by three less than the plurality of phases” appears that it should read as “divided by three less than a number of the plurality of phases”, because an amperage value cannot be divided by a plurality of structural elements.
Regarding claim 8, in line 9, “divided by two less than the plurality of phases” appears that it should read as “divided by two less than a number of the plurality of phases”, because an amperage value cannot be divided by a plurality of structural elements.
Regarding claim 9, in line 4, “by two less than the plurality of phases” appears that it should read as “by two less than a number of the plurality of phases”, because an amperage value cannot be divided by a plurality of structural elements.
Regarding claim 11, in line 3, “de-throttling the current delivered by the plurality of phases” appears that it should read as “de-throttling current delivered by the plurality of phases”, because claim 8 recites current delivered by remaining operational phases and provides no antecedent basis for the current delivered by the plurality of phases.
Regarding claim 12, in lines 2-3, “of the plurality of phases; and wherein the remaining operational phases remain functional” appears that it should read as “of the plurality of phases, wherein the remaining operational phases remain functional”.
Regarding claim 13, in line 4, “divided by three less than the plurality of phases” appears that it should read as “divided by three less than a number of the plurality of phases”, because an amperage value cannot be divided by a plurality of structural elements.
Regarding claim 15, in line 8, “divided by two less than the plurality of phases” appears that it should read as “divided by two less than a number of the plurality of phases”, because an amperage value cannot be divided by a plurality of structural elements.
Regarding claim 16, in line 4, “by two less than the plurality of phases” appears that it should read as “by two less than a number of the plurality of phases”, because an amperage value cannot be divided by a plurality of structural elements.
Regarding claim 18, in lines 2-3, “of the plurality of phases; and wherein the remaining operational phases remain functional” appears that it should read as “of the plurality of phases, wherein the remaining operational phases remain functional”.
Regarding claim 19, in line 4, “divided by three less than the plurality of phases” appears that it should read as “divided by three less than a number of the plurality of phases”, because an amperage value cannot be divided by a plurality of structural elements.
Appropriate correction is required.
Examiner’s Note
4. Claim 15 recites “computer readable storage media”. Paragraph [0065] of the specification expressly states that a computer readable storage medium, as that term is used in the present disclosure, is not to be construed as storage in the form of transitory signals per se. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “computer readable storage media” in claim 15 therefore excludes transitory signals, and no rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 is made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5, 6, 9, 12, 13, 16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, the recitation “the normal maximum amperage” renders the claims indefinite. Claim 1 requires throttling until the normal maximum amperage divided by two less than the plurality of phases is less than the maximum per phase current, while claim 2 requires determining that a result of dividing the normal maximum amperage by two less than the plurality of phases is greater than the maximum per phase current. It is therefore unclear whether “the normal maximum amperage” refers to the normal maximum amperage before the throttling recited in the independent claim or to the adjusted normal maximum amperage after that throttling. Claims 9 and 16 recite the same limitation with respect to claims 8 and 15, respectively. For purposes of examination, “the normal maximum amperage” is interpreted as the normal maximum amperage before the throttling recited in the respective independent claim (see [0044] of the specification, describing a normal maximum amperage 106 of 130 A that the controller 126 adjusts to 100 A upon losing the first phase).
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 18, the recitation “the throttled current” lacks antecedent basis, and the recitation “the remaining operational phases” renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether that term refers to the phases remaining operational after the failed phase recited in the respective independent claim or to the phases remaining operational after the second failed phase recited in the claim itself. For purposes of examination, “the throttled current” is interpreted as the current delivered by the remaining operational phases after the throttling recited in the respective independent claim (see [0052] of the specification), and “the remaining operational phases” is interpreted as the phases remaining operational after the second failed phase is detected (see [0048] of the specification).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 19, the recitation “the normal maximum amperage” renders the claims indefinite for the reasons set forth above with respect to claims 2, 9, and 16, and the recitation “the remaining operational phases” renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether that term refers to the phases remaining operational after the failed phase recited in the respective independent claim or to the phases remaining operational after the second failed phase recited in the claim itself. For purposes of examination, “the normal maximum amperage” is interpreted as the normal maximum amperage before the throttling recited in the respective independent claim (see [0044] of the specification), and “the remaining operational phases” is interpreted as the phases remaining operational after the second failed phase is detected (see [0048] of the specification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2020/0064878 A1, hereinafter “Tang”) in view of Miller et al. (US Patent US 10,615,691 B1, hereinafter “Miller”) and Balaji et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2023/0035151 A1, hereinafter “Balaji”).
Regarding claim 1, Tang discloses (see Fig. 1) a computer-implemented method (method of operating the fault-tolerant power distribution system 100, which comprises a processor 102, a multiphase VR 104 and a system manager 106) (see [0040] of Tang, “FIG. 1 illustrates an embodiment of a fault-tolerant power distribution system 100 that includes a processor 102, a multiphase VR 104 for powering the processor 102, and a system manager 106.”) comprising: detecting a failed phase (faulty power stage 108) of a plurality of phases (power stages 108) in a Voltage Regulator Module (VRM) (multiphase VR 104) (see [0042] of Tang, “Each multiphase VR 104 included in the fault-tolerant power distribution system 100 has a plurality of power stages 108, also referred to herein as phases, each of which is configured to deliver a phase current iphx to the processor 102.”; see [0044] of Tang, “The multiphase VR controller 110 also includes phase fault detection circuitry 114 which has fault monitoring and telemetry functionality for detecting and disabling a faulty power stage 108”); and throttling current delivered by remaining operational phases of the plurality of phases (the processor 102 operates in a reduced functionality mode and the reduced current demand is met by the multiphase VR 104 operating with one or more disabled power stages 108) (see [0057] of Tang, “Load throttling, via a dedicated signal or bus 120 to the processor 102, may correspond to the processor 102 operating in a reduced functionality mode, thereby reducing the current/power demand placed on the multiphase VR 104. The reduced current/power demand is met by the multiphase VR 104 operating with one or more disabled power stages 108.”).
Tang does not disclose until a normal maximum amperage divided by two less than the plurality of phases is less than a maximum per phase current.
However, Miller teaches (see Fig. 3) until a normal maximum amperage (specified cumulative output current of the phase group) divided by two less than the plurality of phases (following a failure of at least two regulator phases within a phase group) is less than a maximum per phase current (per-phase current delivery capacity of each regulator phase within a phase group) (see col. 22, lines 8-12 of Miller, “the per-phase current delivery capacity of each regulator phase within a phase group can allow for delivery of a specified cumulative output current of the phase group following a failure of at least two regulator phases within a phase group”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Tang until a normal maximum amperage divided by two less than the plurality of phases is less than a maximum per phase current, as taught by Miller, because it can help prevent an overcurrent condition on the remaining power stages in the event of a subsequent power stage failure, thereby benefiting the availability of the processor supplied by the multiphase voltage regulator.
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, Tang does not disclose determining that a second failed phase of the plurality of phases would cause the remaining operational phases to exceed the maximum per phase current.
However, Miller teaches (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 6) determining that a second failed phase of the plurality of phases would cause the remaining operational phases to exceed the maximum per phase current (system control function 108 compares voltage regulator load versus total current capacity of the voltage regulators within the phase groups, and the per-phase current delivery capacity is specified to allow delivery of the cumulative output current following a failure of at least two regulator phases) (see col. 21, lines 35-38 of Miller, “At operation 616, an analysis is performed by system control function 108 that compares voltage regulator load versus total current capacity of voltage regulators within the various phase groups within the voltage regulator apparatus.”; see col. 22, lines 8-12 of Miller, “the per-phase current delivery capacity of each regulator phase within a phase group can allow for delivery of a specified cumulative output current of the phase group following a failure of at least two regulator phases within a phase group”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Tang wherein determining that a second failed phase of the plurality of phases would cause the remaining operational phases to exceed the maximum per phase current, as taught by Miller, because it can help identify in advance whether the phase group retains sufficient capacity to absorb a further phase failure, thereby benefiting the uninterrupted delivery of power to the processor.
Tang does not disclose dividing the normal maximum amperage by two less than the plurality of phases; and determining that a result of the dividing is greater than the maximum per phase current.
However, Balaji teaches (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 6) dividing the normal maximum amperage (power supply current limit) by two less than the plurality of phases (the number of phases in the voltage regulator) (see [0020] of Balaji, “For multiphase voltage regulators, the power supply current limit is the number of phases in the voltage regulator multiplied by the current limit per phase.”); and determining that a result of the dividing is greater than the maximum per phase current (the LIMIT signal in each of the phases is monitored to detect an overcurrent limit condition in that phase) (see [0043] of Balaji, “If the voltage regulator has multiple phases, the LIMIT signal in each of the phases is monitored for an OCL condition in that phase.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Tang wherein dividing the normal maximum amperage by two less than the plurality of phases; and determining that a result of the dividing is greater than the maximum per phase current, as taught by Balaji, because it can help detect when the current demanded from each phase exceeds the current limit per phase, thereby benefiting the reliability of the power transistors of the phases. Regarding claim 3, Tang discloses (see Fig. 1) wherein the VRM does not have any redundant phases in the plurality of phases (the multiphase VR 104 has a plurality of power stages 108, each of which is configured to deliver a phase current iphx to the processor 102, and upon a power stage failure the multiphase VR 104 operates with a reduced number of power stages) (see [0039] of Tang, “Embodiments described herein provide a mechanism for disabling a power stage when a non-catastrophic power stage failure is detected, and operating with a reduced number of power stages.”; see [0042] of Tang, “Each multiphase VR 104 included in the fault-tolerant power distribution system 100 has a plurality of power stages 108, also referred to herein as phases, each of which is configured to deliver a phase current iphx to the processor 102.”).
Regarding claim 5, as best understood, Tang discloses (see Fig. 1) detecting a second failed phase of the plurality of phases (the phase fault detection circuitry 114 disables a faulty power stage 108 and the multiphase VR 104 operates with some power stages 108 disabled) (see [0045] of Tang, “the phase fault detection circuitry 114 may disable a faulty power stage 108, allowing the multiphase VR 104 to operate with some power stages 108 disabled”).
Tang does not disclose wherein the remaining operational phases remain functional at the throttled current that is less than the maximum per phase current for respective phases of the remaining operational phases.
However, Miller teaches (see Fig. 3) wherein the remaining operational phases remain functional at the throttled current that is less than the maximum per phase current for respective phases of the remaining operational phases (the per-phase current delivery capacity of each regulator phase allows the phase group to deliver its specified cumulative output current following a failure of at least two regulator phases) (see col. 22, lines 8-12 of Miller, “the per-phase current delivery capacity of each regulator phase within a phase group can allow for delivery of a specified cumulative output current of the phase group following a failure of at least two regulator phases within a phase group”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Tang wherein the remaining operational phases remain functional at the throttled current that is less than the maximum per phase current for respective phases of the remaining operational phases, as taught by Miller, because it can help keep each remaining regulator phase within its current delivery capacity after multiple phase failures, thereby benefiting the continued operation of the phase group.
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, Tang discloses (see Fig. 1) detecting a second failed phase of the plurality of phases (the phase fault detection circuitry 114 disables a faulty power stage 108 and the multiphase VR 104 operates with some power stages 108 disabled) (see [0045] of Tang, “the phase fault detection circuitry 114 may disable a faulty power stage 108, allowing the multiphase VR 104 to operate with some power stages 108 disabled”).
Tang does not disclose further throttling the current delivered by the remaining operational phases until the normal maximum amperage divided by three less than the plurality of phases is less than the maximum per phase current.
However, Miller teaches (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 5) further throttling the current delivered by the remaining operational phases (system control function 108 throttles a system component at operation 508 to reduce the power demands placed on the evaluated voltage regulator phase group) until the normal maximum amperage divided by three less than the plurality of phases (the current delivery capacity of each regulator phase is specified to result in delivery of the specified cumulative output current of the phase group following a failure of one regulator phase and following a failure of at least two regulator phases) is less than the maximum per phase current (per-phase current delivery capacity of each regulator phase) (see col. 18, lines 19-23 of Miller, “throttling can be applied to a component or subsystem, e.g., a processor, processor card or processor cluster, in order to reduce the power demands of that component or subsystem on the evaluated voltage regulator phase group supplying its power.”; see col. 18, lines 37-40 of Miller, “Operation 508 generally refers to throttling a portion or all of the electronic system. As described above, throttling a portion or all of the electronic system can be initiated and managed by system control function 108.”; see col. 22, lines 3-12 of Miller, “According to embodiments, a current delivery capacity of each regulator phase within a phase group can be specified so as to result in the delivery of a specified cumulative output current of the phase group following a failure of one regulator phase within a phase group. In some embodiments, the per-phase current delivery capacity of each regulator phase within a phase group can allow for delivery of a specified cumulative output current of the phase group following a failure of at least two regulator phases within a phase group.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Tang wherein further throttling the current delivered by the remaining operational phases until the normal maximum amperage divided by three less than the plurality of phases is less than the maximum per phase current, as taught by Miller, because it can help maintain the remaining regulator phases within their current delivery capacity as successive phase failures accumulate, thereby benefiting the availability of the processor.
Claims 4, 8-13, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Miller, Balaji, and Belady et al. (US Patent US 7,730,365 B1, hereinafter “Belady”).
Regarding claim 4, Tang does not disclose detecting a new phase that replaces the failed phase in the plurality of phases; and de-throttling the current delivered by the plurality of phases.
However, Belady teaches (see Fig. 2) detecting a new phase that replaces the failed phase in the plurality of phases (workload manager WM2 continuously monitors the power supplies and power supply S21 is replaced); and de-throttling the current delivered by the plurality of phases (the original configuration of server SV2 is restored after the replacement) (see col. 3, lines 26-28 of Belady, “Workload manager WM2 continuously monitors power supplies and fans.”; see col. 3, lines 51-52 of Belady, “The original configuration of server SV2 can be restored after power supply S21 is replaced.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Tang wherein detecting a new phase that replaces the failed phase in the plurality of phases; and de-throttling the current delivered by the plurality of phases, as taught by Belady, because it can help return the processor to its full performance level once the failed unit has been replaced.
Regarding claim 8, Tang discloses (see Fig. 1) a system (fault-tolerant power distribution system 100) comprising: a processor (processor 102) (see [0040] of Tang, “FIG. 1 illustrates an embodiment of a fault-tolerant power distribution system 100 that includes a processor 102, a multiphase VR 104 for powering the processor 102, and a system manager 106.”). Tang discloses a method comprising: detecting a failed phase (faulty power stage 108) of a plurality of phases (power stages 108) in a Voltage Regulator Module (VRM) (multiphase VR 104) (see [0042] of Tang, “Each multiphase VR 104 included in the fault-tolerant power distribution system 100 has a plurality of power stages 108, also referred to herein as phases, each of which is configured to deliver a phase current iphx to the processor 102.”; see [0044] of Tang, “The multiphase VR controller 110 also includes phase fault detection circuitry 114 which has fault monitoring and telemetry functionality for detecting and disabling a faulty power stage 108”); and throttling current delivered by remaining operational phases of the plurality of phases (the processor 102 operates in a reduced functionality mode and the reduced current demand is met by the multiphase VR 104 operating with one or more disabled power stages 108) (see [0057] of Tang, “Load throttling, via a dedicated signal or bus 120 to the processor 102, may correspond to the processor 102 operating in a reduced functionality mode, thereby reducing the current/power demand placed on the multiphase VR 104. The reduced current/power demand is met by the multiphase VR 104 operating with one or more disabled power stages 108.”).
Tang does not disclose a computer-readable storage medium storing program instructions executable by the processor, wherein the program instructions are configured to cause the processor to perform a method.
However, Belady teaches (see Fig. 1) a computer-readable storage medium (computer-readable storage media 17) storing program instructions executable by the processor (processors 13), wherein the program instructions are configured to cause the processor to perform a method (media 17 stores computer-executable instructions and management workstation 11 runs workload manager 21) (see col. 2, lines 20-23 of Belady, “Management workstation 11 includes processors 13, communication devices 15, and computer-readable storage media 17. Media 17 stores computer-readable data and computer-executable instructions for manipulating the data.”; see col. 2, lines 23-27 of Belady, “In particular, management workstation 11 runs workload manager 21, which plans allocations of hardware resources to workloads periodically and on occasion of an event such as a hardware failure.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tang wherein a computer-readable storage medium storing program instructions executable by the processor, wherein the program instructions are configured to cause the processor to perform a method, as taught by Belady, because it can help implement the throttling determination in software that can be revised without altering the voltage regulator hardware.
Tang does not disclose until a normal maximum amperage divided by two less than the plurality of phases is less than a maximum per phase current.
However, Miller teaches (see Fig. 3) until a normal maximum amperage (specified cumulative output current of the phase group) divided by two less than the plurality of phases (following a failure of at least two regulator phases within a phase group) is less than a maximum per phase current (per-phase current delivery capacity of each regulator phase within a phase group) (see col. 22, lines 8-12 of Miller, “the per-phase current delivery capacity of each regulator phase within a phase group can allow for delivery of a specified cumulative output current of the phase group following a failure of at least two regulator phases within a phase group”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tang until a normal maximum amperage divided by two less than the plurality of phases is less than a maximum per phase current, as taught by Miller, because it can help prevent an overcurrent condition on the remaining power stages in the event of a subsequent power stage failure, thereby benefiting the availability of the processor supplied by the multiphase voltage regulator.
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, Tang does not disclose determining that a second failed phase of the plurality of phases would cause the remaining operational phases to exceed the maximum per phase current.
However, Miller teaches (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 6) determining that a second failed phase of the plurality of phases would cause the remaining operational phases to exceed the maximum per phase current (system control function 108 compares voltage regulator load versus total current capacity of the voltage regulators within the phase groups, and the per-phase current delivery capacity is specified to allow delivery of the cumulative output current following a failure of at least two regulator phases) (see col. 21, lines 35-38 of Miller, “At operation 616, an analysis is performed by system control function 108 that compares voltage regulator load versus total current capacity of voltage regulators within the various phase groups within the voltage regulator apparatus.”; see col. 22, lines 8-12 of Miller, “the per-phase current delivery capacity of each regulator phase within a phase group can allow for delivery of a specified cumulative output current of the phase group following a failure of at least two regulator phases within a phase group”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Tang wherein determining that a second failed phase of the plurality of phases would cause the remaining operational phases to exceed the maximum per phase current, as taught by Miller, because it can help identify in advance whether the phase group retains sufficient capacity to absorb a further phase failure, thereby benefiting the uninterrupted delivery of power to the processor.
Tang does not disclose dividing the normal maximum amperage by two less than the plurality of phases; and determining that a result of the dividing is greater than the maximum per phase current.
However, Balaji teaches (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 6) dividing the normal maximum amperage (power supply current limit) by two less than the plurality of phases (the number of phases in the voltage regulator) (see [0020] of Balaji, “For multiphase voltage regulators, the power supply current limit is the number of phases in the voltage regulator multiplied by the current limit per phase.”); and determining that a result of the dividing is greater than the maximum per phase current (the LIMIT signal in each of the phases is monitored to detect an overcurrent limit condition in that phase) (see [0043] of Balaji, “If the voltage regulator has multiple phases, the LIMIT signal in each of the phases is monitored for an OCL condition in that phase.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Tang wherein dividing the normal maximum amperage by two less than the plurality of phases; and determining that a result of the dividing is greater than the maximum per phase current, as taught by Balaji, because it can help detect when the current demanded from each phase exceeds the current limit per phase, thereby benefiting the reliability of the power transistors of the phases.
Regarding claim 10, Tang discloses (see Fig. 1) wherein the VRM does not have any redundant phases in the plurality of phases (the multiphase VR 104 has a plurality of power stages 108, each of which is configured to deliver a phase current iphx to the processor 102, and upon a power stage failure the multiphase VR 104 operates with a reduced number of power stages) (see [0039] of Tang, “Embodiments described herein provide a mechanism for disabling a power stage when a non-catastrophic power stage failure is detected, and operating with a reduced number of power stages.”; see [0042] of Tang, “Each multiphase VR 104 included in the fault-tolerant power distribution system 100 has a plurality of power stages 108, also referred to herein as phases, each of which is configured to deliver a phase current iphx to the processor 102.”).
Regarding claim 11, Tang does not disclose detecting a new phase that replaces the failed phase in the plurality of phases; and de-throttling the current delivered by the plurality of phases.
However, Belady teaches (see Fig. 2) detecting a new phase that replaces the failed phase in the plurality of phases (workload manager WM2 continuously monitors the power supplies and power supply S21 is replaced); and de-throttling the current delivered by the plurality of phases (the original configuration of server SV2 is restored after the replacement) (see col. 3, lines 26-28 of Belady, “Workload manager WM2 continuously monitors power supplies and fans.”; see col. 3, lines 51-52 of Belady, “The original configuration of server SV2 can be restored after power supply S21 is replaced.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Tang wherein detecting a new phase that replaces the failed phase in the plurality of phases; and de-throttling the current delivered by the plurality of phases, as taught by Belady, because it can help return the processor to its full performance level once the failed unit has been replaced.
Regarding claim 12, as best understood, Tang discloses (see Fig. 1) detecting a second failed phase of the plurality of phases (the phase fault detection circuitry 114 disables a faulty power stage 108 and the multiphase VR 104 operates with some power stages 108 disabled) (see [0045] of Tang, “the phase fault detection circuitry 114 may disable a faulty power stage 108, allowing the multiphase VR 104 to operate with some power stages 108 disabled”).
Tang does not disclose wherein the remaining operational phases remain functional at the throttled current that is less than the maximum per phase current for respective phases of the remaining operational phases.
However, Miller teaches (see Fig. 3) wherein the remaining operational phases remain functional at the throttled current that is less than the maximum per phase current for respective phases of the remaining operational phases (the per-phase current delivery capacity of each regulator phase allows the phase group to deliver its specified cumulative output current following a failure of at least two regulator phases) (see col. 22, lines 8-12 of Miller, “the per-phase current delivery capacity of each regulator phase within a phase group can allow for delivery of a specified cumulative output current of the phase group following a failure of at least two regulator phases within a phase group”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Tang wherein the remaining operational phases remain functional at the throttled current that is less than the maximum per phase current for respective phases of the remaining operational phases, as taught by Miller, because it can help keep each remaining regulator phase within its current delivery capacity after multiple phase failures, thereby benefiting the continued operation of the phase group.
Regarding claim 13, as best understood, Tang discloses (see Fig. 1) detecting a second failed phase of the plurality of phases (the phase fault detection circuitry 114 disables a faulty power stage 108 and the multiphase VR 104 operates with some power stages 108 disabled) (see [0045] of Tang, “the phase fault detection circuitry 114 may disable a faulty power stage 108, allowing the multiphase VR 104 to operate with some power stages 108 disabled”).
Tang does not disclose further throttling the current delivered by the remaining operational phases until the normal maximum amperage divided by three less than the plurality of phases is less than the maximum per phase current.
However, Miller teaches (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 5) further throttling the current delivered by the remaining operational phases (system control function 108 throttles a system component at operation 508 to reduce the power demands placed on the evaluated voltage regulator phase group) until the normal maximum amperage divided by three less than the plurality of phases (the current delivery capacity of each regulator phase is specified to result in delivery of the specified cumulative output current of the phase group following a failure of one regulator phase and following a failure of at least two regulator phases) is less than the maximum per phase current (per-phase current delivery capacity of each regulator phase) (see col. 18, lines 19-23 of Miller, “throttling can be applied to a component or subsystem, e.g., a processor, processor card or processor cluster, in order to reduce the power demands of that component or subsystem on the evaluated voltage regulator phase group supplying its power.”; see col. 18, lines 37-40 of Miller, “Operation 508 generally refers to throttling a portion or all of the electronic system. As described above, throttling a portion or all of the electronic system can be initiated and managed by system control function 108.”; see col. 22, lines 3-12 of Miller, “According to embodiments, a current delivery capacity of each regulator phase within a phase group can be specified so as to result in the delivery of a specified cumulative output current of the phase group following a failure of one regulator phase within a phase group. In some embodiments, the per-phase current delivery capacity of each regulator phase within a phase group can allow for delivery of a specified cumulative output current of the phase group following a failure of at least two regulator phases within a phase group.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Tang wherein further throttling the current delivered by the remaining operational phases until the normal maximum amperage divided by three less than the plurality of phases is less than the maximum per phase current, as taught by Miller, because it can help maintain the remaining regulator phases within their current delivery capacity as successive phase failures accumulate, thereby benefiting the availability of the processor.
Regarding claim 15, Tang discloses (see Fig. 1) a method (method of operating the fault-tolerant power distribution system 100, which comprises a processor 102, a multiphase VR 104 and a system manager 106) (see [0040] of Tang, “FIG. 1 illustrates an embodiment of a fault-tolerant power distribution system 100 that includes a processor 102, a multiphase VR 104 for powering the processor 102, and a system manager 106.”) comprising: detecting a failed phase (faulty power stage 108) of a plurality of phases (power stages 108) in a Voltage Regulator Module (VRM) (multiphase VR 104) (see [0042] of Tang, “Each multiphase VR 104 included in the fault-tolerant power distribution system 100 has a plurality of power stages 108, also referred to herein as phases, each of which is configured to deliver a phase current iphx to the processor 102.”; see [0044] of Tang, “The multiphase VR controller 110 also includes phase fault detection circuitry 114 which has fault monitoring and telemetry functionality for detecting and disabling a faulty power stage 108”); and throttling current delivered by remaining operational phases of the plurality of phases (the processor 102 operates in a reduced functionality mode and the reduced current demand is met by the multiphase VR 104 operating with one or more disabled power stages 108) (see [0057] of Tang, “Load throttling, via a dedicated signal or bus 120 to the processor 102, may correspond to the processor 102 operating in a reduced functionality mode, thereby reducing the current/power demand placed on the multiphase VR 104. The reduced current/power demand is met by the multiphase VR 104 operating with one or more disabled power stages 108.”).
Tang does not disclose a computer program product comprising one or more computer readable storage media, and program instructions collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media, the program instructions comprising instructions configured to cause one or more processors to perform a method.
However, Belady teaches (see Fig. 1) a computer program product comprising one or more computer readable storage media (computer-readable storage media 17), and program instructions collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media (media 17 stores computer-executable instructions), the program instructions comprising instructions configured to cause one or more processors to perform a method (processors 13 of management workstation 11 run workload manager 21) (see col. 2, lines 20-23 of Belady, “Management workstation 11 includes processors 13, communication devices 15, and computer-readable storage media 17. Media 17 stores computer-readable data and computer-executable instructions for manipulating the data.”; see col. 2, lines 23-27 of Belady, “In particular, management workstation 11 runs workload manager 21, which plans allocations of hardware resources to workloads periodically and on occasion of an event such as a hardware failure.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Tang wherein a computer program product comprising one or more computer readable storage media, and program instructions collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media, the program instructions comprising instructions configured to cause one or more processors to perform a method, as taught by Belady, because it can help distribute the throttling determination to the one or more processors of a computer system without altering the voltage regulator hardware.
Tang does not disclose until a normal maximum amperage divided by two less than the plurality of phases is less than a maximum per phase current.
However, Miller teaches (see Fig. 3) until a normal maximum amperage (specified cumulative output current of the phase group) divided by two less than the plurality of phases (following a failure of at least two regulator phases within a phase group) is less than a maximum per phase current (per-phase current delivery capacity of each regulator phase within a phase group) (see col. 22, lines 8-12 of Miller, “the per-phase current delivery capacity of each regulator phase within a phase group can allow for delivery of a specified cumulative output current of the phase group following a failure of at least two regulator phases within a phase group”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Tang until a normal maximum amperage divided by two less than the plurality of phases is less than a maximum per phase current, as taught by Miller, because it can help prevent an overcurrent condition on the remaining power stages in the event of a subsequent power stage failure, thereby benefiting the availability of the processor supplied by the multiphase voltage regulator.
Regarding claim 16, as best understood, Tang does not disclose determining that a second failed phase of the plurality of phases would cause the remaining operational phases to exceed the maximum per phase current.
However, Miller teaches (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 6) determining that a second failed phase of the plurality of phases would cause the remaining operational phases to exceed the maximum per phase current (system control function 108 compares voltage regulator load versus total current capacity of the voltage regulators within the phase groups, and the per-phase current delivery capacity is specified to allow delivery of the cumulative output current following a failure of at least two regulator phases) (see col. 21, lines 35-38 of Miller, “At operation 616, an analysis is performed by system control function 108 that compares voltage regulator load versus total current capacity of voltage regulators within the various phase groups within the voltage regulator apparatus.”; see col. 22, lines 8-12 of Miller, “the per-phase current delivery capacity of each regulator phase within a phase group can allow for delivery of a specified cumulative output current of the phase group following a failure of at least two regulator phases within a phase group”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Tang wherein determining that a second failed phase of the plurality of phases would cause the remaining operational phases to exceed the maximum per phase current, as taught by Miller, because it can help identify in advance whether the phase group retains sufficient capacity to absorb a further phase failure, thereby benefiting the uninterrupted delivery of power to the processor.
Tang does not disclose dividing the normal maximum amperage by two less than the plurality of phases; and determining that a result of the dividing is greater than the maximum per phase current.
However, Balaji teaches (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 6) dividing the normal maximum amperage (power supply current limit) by two less than the plurality of phases (the number of phases in the voltage regulator) (see [0020] of Balaji, “For multiphase voltage regulators, the power supply current limit is the number of phases in the voltage regulator multiplied by the current limit per phase.”); and determining that a result of the dividing is greater than the maximum per phase current (the LIMIT signal in each of the phases is monitored to detect an overcurrent limit condition in that phase) (see [0043] of Balaji, “If the voltage regulator has multiple phases, the LIMIT signal in each of the phases is monitored for an OCL condition in that phase.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Tang wherein dividing the normal maximum amperage by two less than the plurality of phases; and determining that a result of the dividing is greater than the maximum per phase current, as taught by Balaji, because it can help detect when the current demanded from each phase exceeds the current limit per phase, thereby benefiting the reliability of the power transistors of the phases.
Regarding claim 17, Tang discloses (see Fig. 1) wherein the VRM does not have any redundant phases in the plurality of phases (the multiphase VR 104 has a plurality of power stages 108, each of which is configured to deliver a phase current iphx to the processor 102, and upon a power stage failure the multiphase VR 104 operates with a reduced number of power stages) (see [0039] of Tang, “Embodiments described herein provide a mechanism for disabling a power stage when a non-catastrophic power stage failure is detected, and operating with a reduced number of power stages.”; see [0042] of Tang, “Each multiphase VR 104 included in the fault-tolerant power distribution system 100 has a plurality of power stages 108, also referred to herein as phases, each of which is configured to deliver a phase current iphx to the processor 102.”).
Regarding claim 18, as best understood, Tang discloses (see Fig. 1) detecting a second failed phase of the plurality of phases (the phase fault detection circuitry 114 disables a faulty power stage 108 and the multiphase VR 104 operates with some power stages 108 disabled) (see [0045] of Tang, “the phase fault detection circuitry 114 may disable a faulty power stage 108, allowing the multiphase VR 104 to operate with some power stages 108 disabled”).
Tang does not disclose wherein the remaining operational phases remain functional at the throttled current that is less than the maximum per phase current for respective phases of the remaining operational phases.
However, Miller teaches (see Fig. 3) wherein the remaining operational phases remain functional at the throttled current that is less than the maximum per phase current for respective phases of the remaining operational phases (the per-phase current delivery capacity of each regulator phase allows the phase group to deliver its specified cumulative output current following a failure of at least two regulator phases) (see col. 22, lines 8-12 of Miller, “the per-phase current delivery capacity of each regulator phase within a phase group can allow for delivery of a specified cumulative output current of the phase group following a failure of at least two regulator phases within a phase group”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Tang wherein the remaining operational phases remain functional at the throttled current that is less than the maximum per phase current for respective phases of the remaining operational phases, as taught by Miller, because it can help keep each remaining regulator phase within its current delivery capacity after multiple phase failures, thereby benefiting the continued operation of the phase group.
Regarding claim 19, as best understood, Tang discloses (see Fig. 1) detecting a second failed phase of the plurality of phases (the phase fault detection circuitry 114 disables a faulty power stage 108 and the multiphase VR 104 operates with some power stages 108 disabled) (see [0045] of Tang, “the phase fault detection circuitry 114 may disable a faulty power stage 108, allowing the multiphase VR 104 to operate with some power stages 108 disabled”).
Tang does not disclose further throttling the current delivered by the remaining operational phases until the normal maximum amperage divided by three less than the plurality of phases is less than the maximum per phase current.
However, Miller teaches (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 5) further throttling the current delivered by the remaining operational phases (system control function 108 throttles a system component at operation 508 to reduce the power demands placed on the evaluated voltage regulator phase group) until the normal maximum amperage divided by three less than the plurality of phases (the current delivery capacity of each regulator phase is specified to result in delivery of the specified cumulative output current of the phase group following a failure of one regulator phase and following a failure of at least two regulator phases) is less than the maximum per phase current (per-phase current delivery capacity of each regulator phase) (see col. 18, lines 19-23 of Miller, “throttling can be applied to a component or subsystem, e.g., a processor, processor card or processor cluster, in order to reduce the power demands of that component or subsystem on the evaluated voltage regulator phase group supplying its power.”; see col. 18, lines 37-40 of Miller, “Operation 508 generally refers to throttling a portion or all of the electronic system. As described above, throttling a portion or all of the electronic system can be initiated and managed by system control function 108.”; see col. 22, lines 3-12 of Miller, “According to embodiments, a current delivery capacity of each regulator phase within a phase group can be specified so as to result in the delivery of a specified cumulative output current of the phase group following a failure of one regulator phase within a phase group. In some embodiments, the per-phase current delivery capacity of each regulator phase within a phase group can allow for delivery of a specified cumulative output current of the phase group following a failure of at least two regulator phases within a phase group.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Tang wherein further throttling the current delivered by the remaining operational phases until the normal maximum amperage divided by three less than the plurality of phases is less than the maximum per phase current, as taught by Miller, because it can help maintain the remaining regulator phases within their current delivery capacity as successive phase failures accumulate, thereby benefiting the availability of the processor.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Miller and further in view of Johari et al. (US Patent US 6,449,676 B1, hereinafter “Johari”).
Regarding claim 7, Tang does not disclose wherein the VRM is a pluggable VRM.
However, Johari teaches (see Fig. 2) wherein the VRM is a pluggable VRM (VRM 30 is removably interconnected to system board 32 by a VRM connector 36 and a corresponding connector 38) (see col. 3, lines 42-44 of Johari, “VRM 30 includes a plurality of leads and circuits formed on or mounted to a circuit board 34, and a VRM connector 36 adapted to interconnect VRM 30 to system board 32 via a corresponding connector 38.”; see col. 3, lines 46-48 of Johari, “The ability to hot-plug a VRM may be desirable when, e.g., a particular VRM is identified as being defective.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Tang wherein the VRM is a pluggable VRM, as taught by Johari, because it can help a user upgrade or service the voltage regulator module while the computer system is still running.
Claims 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Miller, Belady, and Johari.
Regarding claim 14, Tang does not disclose wherein the VRM is a pluggable VRM.
However, Johari teaches (see Fig. 2) wherein the VRM is a pluggable VRM (VRM 30 is removably interconnected to system board 32 by a VRM connector 36 and a corresponding connector 38) (see col. 3, lines 42-44 of Johari, “VRM 30 includes a plurality of leads and circuits formed on or mounted to a circuit board 34, and a VRM connector 36 adapted to interconnect VRM 30 to system board 32 via a corresponding connector 38.”; see col. 3, lines 46-48 of Johari, “The ability to hot-plug a VRM may be desirable when, e.g., a particular VRM is identified as being defective.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tang wherein the VRM is a pluggable VRM, as taught by Johari, because it can help a user upgrade or service the voltage regulator module while the computer system is still running.
Regarding claim 20, Tang does not disclose wherein the VRM is a pluggable VRM.
However, Johari teaches (see Fig. 2) wherein the VRM is a pluggable VRM (VRM 30 is removably interconnected to system board 32 by a VRM connector 36 and a corresponding connector 38) (see col. 3, lines 42-44 of Johari, “VRM 30 includes a plurality of leads and circuits formed on or mounted to a circuit board 34, and a VRM connector 36 adapted to interconnect VRM 30 to system board 32 via a corresponding connector 38.”; see col. 3, lines 46-48 of Johari, “The ability to hot-plug a VRM may be desirable when, e.g., a particular VRM is identified as being defective.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Tang wherein the VRM is a pluggable VRM, as taught by Johari, because it can help a user upgrade or service the voltage regulator module while the computer system is still running.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 10,481,626 B1 discloses a fault-tolerant multiphase voltage regulator that detects and disables a faulty power stage and communicates a throttling signal to the processor over a physical line running between the processor and the controller.
/MONICA LEWIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/JYE-JUNE LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2838