DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III, claims 97-102 in the reply filed on 17 June 2026 is acknowledged. The applicant added new claims 103-115 (new group IV, claims 103-114 & new group V, claim 115). These are not readable on the elected group as explained below.
Inventions III (combo) and IV (subcombo), & IV (subcombo) and V (combo) are related as combination and subcombination. Inventions in this relationship are distinct if it can be shown that (1) the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed for patentability, and (2) that the subcombination has utility by itself or in other combinations (MPEP § 806.05(c)). In the instant case, the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed because the combination does not require the specifically claimed body, wall, opening, and identifier relative another identifier. The subcombination has separate utility such as an identifier for a hot or cold washing machine hose.
The examiner has required restriction between combination and subcombination inventions. Where applicant elects a subcombination, and claims thereto are subsequently found allowable, any claim(s) depending from or otherwise requiring all the limitations of the allowable subcombination will be examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. See MPEP § 821.04(a). Applicant is advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application.
Inventions III and V are related as subcombinations disclosed as usable together in a single combination. The subcombinations are distinct if they do not overlap in scope and are not obvious variants, and if it is shown that at least one subcombination is separately usable. Group V requires a second identifier on a differing tubes connected to differing ports. Group III requires a second identifier on the same tubing but on a different end than the first identifier. In the instant case, subcombination V has separate utility such as an identification system for a hot and cold washing machine hose set. See MPEP § 806.05(d).
The examiner has required restriction between subcombinations usable together. Where applicant elects a subcombination and claims thereto are subsequently found allowable, any claim(s) depending from or otherwise requiring all the limitations of the allowable subcombination will be examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. See MPEP § 821.04(a). Applicant is advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application.
Accordingly, Claims 103-115 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 17 June 2026. Claims 81-96 were withdrawn by the applicant in the 17 June 2026 reply. Claims 97-102 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 97-101 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Provost (2018/0177938).
In re claim 97, Provost discloses a fill and finish assembly (best shown in figs.12-13), comprising;
a surge bag (860) comprising at least one inlet port (unlabeled port on the left bottom side) and one outlet port (unlabeled port on the right lower side to which the needle assembly/tubing is connected);
a needle assembly (802, 862, paras.3, 46) connected to the outlet port by a tubing (802); and
a first line identifier (822) secured to the tubing.
In re claim 98, Provost discloses the fill and finish assembly of claim 97, further comprising a second line identifier (823) secured to the tubing.
In re claim 99, Provost discloses the fill and finish assembly of claim 98, wherein the first and second line identifiers have a same color (para.90) or an identical reference numeral printed.
In re claim 100, Provost discloses the fill and finish assembly of claim 99, wherein the line identifiers comprise a body (body shown in figs.7a-b) having a cylindrical wall structure (main cylindrical structure shown in figs.7a-b).
In re claim 101, Provost discloses the fill and finish assembly of claim 100, wherein the cylindrical wall structure comprises an opening (opening defining the clip portion) in the wall structure configured to grip onto the tubing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 102 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Provost combined with the following reasons.
In re claim 102, Provost fails to explicitly discloses the dimensions of the tubing the line identifiers are capable of securing thereto. The examiner notes that Provost discloses medical tubing which is in the same field as the applicant’s inventions. The dimensions of such tubing are generic. It requires no skill to dimension a color-coding clip to the size of tubing it is intended to be employed therewith.
The applicant is advised that it has been held by the courts that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The cited prior art not relied upon shows various color, or otherwise coded, clips for tubes, hoses, or the like.
/Timothy P. Kelly/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753