DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This office action is responsive to the Application No.:19/041,224 filed on 01/30/2025.
Claims 1-7 and 21-33 are pending and presented for examination.
This action has been made NON-FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/07/2025 is being considered by the examiner. A signed IDS is hereby attached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 21-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Isik, US Patent No.:11983854.
Claim 1:
Isik discloses a method (See Isik Abstract; Column 1, Lines 10-40; Column 1, Lines 45-67; Column 2, Lines 1-7; Column 2, Lines 25-67) comprising:
determining, based at least on a plurality of samples (See Isik Column 1, Lines 45-67; Column 2, Lines 1-7; Column 2, Lines 25-67) indicative of a plurality of light sources (See Isik Column 8, Lines 30-40; Column 14, Lines 40-67; Column 15, Lines 1-5) illuminating at least a portion of a virtual environment depicted in an image (“virtual scene” See Isik Column 1, Lines 10-40), one or more first weights (See Isik Column 40, Lines 60-67) corresponding to one or more first light sources of the plurality of light sources (See Isik Column 8, Lines 30-40; Column 14, Lines 40-67; Column 15, Lines 1-5), and one or more second weights (See Isik Column 40, Lines 60-67) corresponding to one or more second light sources of the plurality of light sources (See Isik Column 8, Lines 30-40; Column 14, Lines 40-67; Column 15, Lines 1-5);
storing, in one or more reservoirs corresponding to one or more pixels of the image (See Isik Column 1, Lines 10-40; Column 1, Lines 45-67; Column 2, Lines 1-7; Column 2, Lines 25-67) and based at least on the one or more first weights (See Isik Column 40, Lines 60-67) being greater than the one or more second weights (See Isik Column 40, Lines 60-67), one or more statistics (“calculations” See Isik Column 29, Lines 40-67) associated with the one or more first light sources (See Isik Column 8, Lines 30-40; Column 14, Lines 40-67; Column 15, Lines 1-5);
and rendering, using the one or more statistics (“calculations” See Isik Column 29, Lines 40-67), one or more second images depicting one or more second portions of the virtual environment (“virtual scene” See Isik Column 1, Lines 10-40).
Claim 2:
Isik discloses generating, based at least on the one or more statistics (“calculations” See Isik Column 29, Lines 40-67), one or more light sampling distributions corresponding to one or more portions of the image (See Isik Column 1, Lines 45-67; Column 2, Lines 1-7; Column 2, Lines 25-67); and sampling (See Isik Column 1, Lines 45-67; Column 2, Lines 1-7; Column 2, Lines 25-67), based at least on the one or more light sampling distributions (See Isik Column 1, Lines 45-67; Column 2, Lines 1-7; Column 2, Lines 25-67), the plurality of light sources illuminating one or more second portions of the virtual environment (“virtual scene” See Isik Column 1, Lines 10-40), wherein the rendering of the one or more second images is based at least on the sampling (See Isik Column 1, Lines 45-67; Column 2, Lines 1-7; Column 2, Lines 25-67).
Claim 3:
Isik discloses determining one or more first relative contributions of the one or more first light sources (See Isik Column 8, Lines 30-40; Column 14, Lines 40-67; Column 15, Lines 1-5) to one or more radiance values of the one or more pixels in the image (See Isik Column 1, Lines 10-40; Column 1, Lines 45-67; Column 2, Lines 1-7; Column 2, Lines 25-67), wherein the one or more first weights are based at least on the one or more first relative contributions (See Isik Column 40, Lines 60-67); and determining one or more second relative contributions of the one or more second light sources (See Isik Column 8, Lines 30-40; Column 14, Lines 40-67; Column 15, Lines 1-5) to the one or more radiance values of the one or more pixels in the image (See Isik Column 1, Lines 10-40; Column 1, Lines 45-67; Column 2, Lines 1-7; Column 2, Lines 25-67), wherein the one or more second weights are based at least on the one or more second relative contributions (See Isik Column 40, Lines 60-67).
Claim 4:
Isik discloses wherein the one or more statistics (“calculations” See Isik Column 29, Lines 40-67) associated with the one or more first light sources (See Isik Column 8, Lines 30-40; Column 14, Lines 40-67; Column 15, Lines 1-5) include at least: one or more identifiers corresponding to the one or more first light sources (See Isik Column 8, Lines 30-40; Column 14, Lines 40-67; Column 15, Lines 1-5); the one or more first weights corresponding to the one or more first light sources (See Isik Column 40, Lines 60-67); and one or more total weights including one or more sums of the one or more first weights and the one or more second weights (See Isik Column 40, Lines 60-67).
Claim 5:
Isik discloses wherein the storing, in the one or more reservoirs, of the one or more statistics (“calculations” See Isik Column 29, Lines 40-67)associated with the one or more first light sources (See Isik Column 8, Lines 30-40; Column 14, Lines 40-67; Column 15, Lines 1-5) comprises: storing, in the one or more reservoirs and at a first time during a rendering pass, one or more second statistics (“calculations” See Isik Column 29, Lines 40-67) associated with the one or more second light sources (See Isik Column 8, Lines 30-40; Column 14, Lines 40-67; Column 15, Lines 1-5); and storing, in the one or more reservoirs and at a second time after the first time during the rendering pass, the one or more statistics (“calculations” See Isik Column 29, Lines 40-67) associated with the one or more first light sources (See Isik Column 8, Lines 30-40; Column 14, Lines 40-67; Column 15, Lines 1-5) instead of the one or more second statistics (“calculations” See Isik Column 29, Lines 40-67) associated with the one or more second light sources (See Isik Column 8, Lines 30-40; Column 14, Lines 40-67; Column 15, Lines 1-5) based at least on the one or more first weights being greater than the one or more second weights (See Isik Column 40, Lines 60-67).
Claim 6:
Isik discloses determining one or more first contributions of the one or more first light sources (See Isik Column 8, Lines 30-40; Column 14, Lines 40-67; Column 15, Lines 1-5) to one or more specular radiance values of the one or more pixels in the image (See Isik Column 1, Lines 10-40; Column 1, Lines 45-67; Column 2, Lines 1-7; Column 2, Lines 25-67); and determining one or more second contributions of the one or more first light sources (See Isik Column 8, Lines 30-40; Column 14, Lines 40-67; Column 15, Lines 1-5) to one or more diffuse radiance values of the one or more pixels in the image (See Isik Column 1, Lines 10-40; Column 1, Lines 45-67; Column 2, Lines 1-7; Column 2, Lines 25-67), wherein the one or more first weights are based at least on the one or more first contributions and the one or more second contributions (See Isik Column 40, Lines 60-67).
Claim 7:
Isik discloses determining, based at least on the plurality of samples (See Isik Column 1, Lines 45-67; Column 2, Lines 1-7; Column 2, Lines 25-67), one or more materials of one or more surfaces in the virtual environment that are illuminated by the one or more first light sources (See Isik Column 8, Lines 30-40; Column 14, Lines 40-67; Column 15, Lines 1-5) and the one or more second light sources (See Isik Column 8, Lines 30-40; Column 14, Lines 40-67; Column 15, Lines 1-5), wherein the determining of the one or more first weights and the one or more second weights (See Isik Column 40, Lines 60-67) are further based at least on the one or more materials of the one or more surfaces (See Isik Column 40, Lines 60-67).
Claims 21-27:
Claims 21-27 are rejected on the same basis as claims 1-7.
Claim 28:
Isik discloses wherein the system is comprised in at least one of:
a control system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine;
a perception system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine;
a system for performing simulation operations;
a system for performing digital twin operations;
a system for performing light transport simulation;
a system for performing collaborative content creation for 3D assets;
a system for performing deep learning operations;
a system for performing remote operations (See Isik Column 12, Lines 65-67);
a system for performing real-time streaming (See Isik Column 4, Lines 25-30);
a system for generating or presenting one or more of augmented reality content, virtual reality content, or mixed reality content;
a system implemented using an edge device;
a system implemented using a robot;
a system for performing conversational AI operations;
a system implementing one or more multi-modal language models;
a system implementing one or more large language models (LLMs);
a system implementing one or more vision language models (VLMs);
a system for generating synthetic data (See Isik Column 1, Lines 10-40);
a system for generating synthetic data using AI;
a system incorporating one or more virtual machines (VMs);
a system using or deploying one or more inference microservices;
a system that incorporates one or more machine learning models deployed in a service or microservice along with an OS-level virtualization package (e.g., a container);
a system implemented at least partially in a data center;
or a system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources (See Isik Column 11, Lines 1-20).
Claims 29-32:
Claims 29-32 are rejected on the same basis as claims 1-4.
Clam 33:
Claim 33 is rejected on the same basis as claim 28.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230325972 generally relate to systems and methods utilizing a cloud-based framework for processing, analyzing, and visualizing imaging data.
Contact Information
/SHEREE N BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2612 July 28, 2026