DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
5. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
“a processing unit, configured to”, “processing unit to estimate” and “a parameterizing unit, configured to” in claims 1, 2, 7, 12, and 14.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by "Highly sensitive near-infrared gas sensor system using a novel H-type resonance-enhanced multi-pass photoacoustic cell", MEASUREMENT, INSTITUTE OF MEASUREMENT AND CONTROL. LONDON, GB, July 25, 2023, by Li et al (hereinafter Li) (Submitted by Applicant in IDS).
Regarding Claim 14, Li teaches a Photoacoustic detector (Fig. 1, 7-9, Abstract), comprising (Fig. 1-13):
- a measurement chamber, configured to be filled by a gas, the gas containing at least one target gas species whose concentration is to be determined (Fig. 1, 7-9, Abstract);
- a laser source (Fig. 7 @ DFB), configured to illuminate the gas, the emission power and/or wavelength of the laser source being modulated, the emission power of the laser source and its temporal modulation being defined by at least one illumination parameter (Sec. 3.2, 3.3);
- an acoustic transducer (Fig. 7 @ MIC), configured to form a plurality of successive detection signals, each detection signal being representative of a modulation of a pressure in the measurement chamber, under the effect of the modulation of the laser source (Sec. 3.2, 3.3);
- a processing unit (Fig. 7 @ PC), configured to demodulate each detection signal, to estimate the concentration of the target gas species, the demodulation of the signal being defined by a demodulation parameter (Fig. 9, Sec. 3.4),
- wherein an acquisition parameter, selected from an illumination parameter and/or a demodulation parameter, is different for two successive detection signals (Fig. 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 1-13 are allowed.
9. Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reason for Allowance
10. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
11. As to Claim 1, the prior arts of record alone or in combination fails to teach or suggest the claimed limitation of - the method comprises a parameterizing phase, implemented by a parameterizing unit, comprising:
(a) defining a measurement error as a function of at least one of said acquisition parameters;
(b) determining said at least one parameter minimizing the measurement error;
(c) for each detection signal, selecting the acquisition parameter determined in (b)” along with all other limitations of claim 1.
12. As to Claim 15, the prior arts of record alone or in combination fails to teach or suggest the claimed limitation of “- in a first iteration, the acquisition parameters are initialized arbitrarily or according to an a priori relative to the concentration of the target gas species;
- in a second iteration, the acquisition parameters are selected depending on the concentration of the target gas species resulting from the preceding iteration” along with all other limitations of claim 15.
13. Li et al (NPL) teaches a Photoacoustic detector but fails to teach the claimed limitations.
Additional Prior Art
14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The reference listed teaches of other prior art method/system of Photoacoustic Measurement Of Light Absorption.
US 9696283 B1 by Yu et al. (Fig. 1)
Conclusion
/JAMIL AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877