DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/28/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06/23/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4, 8, 11, 15 and 18 have been amended. No Claims have been newly added. No Claims have been/remains canceled. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Applicant amendments to the Specification have overcome the objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 03/25/2026. The objection has been withdrawn in view of the amended Specification.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Applicant’s arguments, on page 9-11 of the remark filed on 06/23/2026, on the newly amended limitations of independent claim 1 “wherein the distributed ledger operates using a dynamic consensus model in which the quantity of distributed ledger nodes required for consensus is determined based on the impact level and the time sensitivity of the security event..”, arguments are persuasive.
Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Thomas et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20250141896) and Trudeau et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20250150289) further in view of Mardikar et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20250330485), has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of the following prior art: Chew et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20230050160) in conjunction Thomas et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20250141896) and Trudeau et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20250150289) and Mardikar et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20250330485)). Please refer to the 35 U.S.C. 103 section below for a detailed explanation.
For the reasons stated above and the new ground(s) of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 below, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument, see Applicant’s Remarks Page 9-11, regarding allowance of the application. Examiner asserts that claims 1-20 are rejected for the reasons stated above in conjunction with the new ground(s) of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 below.
Conclusion: Fang-Chan-Trevethan teaches the aforementioned limitations of independent claims and 1, 8 and 15 rendering the claim limitations obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-10 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20250141896, hereinafter referred to as “Thomas”), Trudeau et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20250150289, hereinafter referred to as “Trudeau”) and Mardikar et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20250330485, hereinafter referred to as “Mardikar”) further in view of Chew et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20230050160, hereinafter referred to as “Chew”)
In regards to Claim 1, Thomas teaches a method for automatic distributed security logging, the method comprising: (Par. (0050-0051, 0055 and 0200); recording threat actions on system using machine learning)), (Figure 11 labels 1190b, 110, 1190, 1190c and (Par. (0199-0200)); automatic distributed security logging (blockchain with machine learning and logging data)
detecting, by security agent circuitry, a security event related to a computer network; (Par. (0008-00010); threat intelligence system detecting threats on enterprise network)), (Par. (0044-0046); by security agent circuitry (threat intelligence system corresponding to transmitting events to security analyst devices), (Figure 1A labels 102,162; by security agent circuitry (threat intelligence with security analyst devices and threat detection))
recording, by logging circuitry, an indication of the security event to a storage element belonging to the computer network; (Par. (0012); transmitted threat events to data storage for storage on enterprise network)), (Par. (0007, 0010, 0013); recording by logging circuitry, (data store recording and storing events of threat)), (Par. (0007, 0010 and 0013); an indication of the security event to a storage element belonging to the computer network; (data store storing information of detected threat events with tag as indication before recorded and stored in data store on enterprise network))
determining, by the security agent circuitry, an impact level and a time sensitivity of the security event; (Par. (000-0010); determining, by the security agent circuitry (threat intelligence computer system with security analyst devices determines detected threat event with level based on threshold period of time passed)), (Par. (0062-0064 and 0093); determining, by the security agent circuitry, an impact level (threat intelligence system corresponding to impact level (severity level)), (Par. (0052-0054); a time sensitivity of the security event (amount of time, time passed and last time collected threat action was detected by threat intelligence system)), (Figure 2 labels 210; determining, by the security agent circuitry, an impact level (impact levels of Strong, medium, weak corresponding to malicious threats detected))
Thomas does not explicitly teach processing, by ledger circuitry, the security event based on the impact level to produce a ledger security event; selecting, by the ledger circuitry, a quantity of distributed ledger nodes of a distributed ledger for consensus based on the impact level and the time sensitivity of the security event; and broadcasting, by the ledger circuitry, an indication of the ledger security event to a set of distributed ledger nodes numbering at least the quantity of distributed ledger nodes, wherein the distributed ledger operates using a dynamic consensus model in which the quantity of distributed ledger nodes required for consensus is determined based on the impact level and the time sensitivity of the security event.
Wherein Trudeau teaches processing, by ledger circuitry, the security event based on the impact level to produce a ledger security event; (Par. (0132-0133); processing, by ledger circuitry, the security event based on the impact level (node of blockchain detecting and generating lock-chain related events corresponding to suspicious patterns and malicious block with attacks), (Par. (0133); the security event based on the impact level to produce a ledger security event (reliability metric corresponding to suspicious pattern and malicious block is generated)), (Par. (0210); the security event (blockchain related event corresponding to malicious and suspicious)), (Par. (0132-0133 and 0177-01788); by ledger circuitry, (enforcer node and generator node of blockchain detecting suspicious blockchain related events and producing events)), (Par. (0221); to produce a ledger security event; (generator node of blockchain generating block with blockchain related event associated with suspicious/malicious))
selecting, by the ledger circuitry, a quantity of distributed ledger nodes of a distributed ledger for consensus based on the impact level and the time sensitivity of the security event; and (Par. (0223-0224); selecting, by the ledger circuitry, a quantity of distributed ledger nodes of a distributed ledger (first node of blockchain selects plurality of second nodes based on block-chain related event and impact level (reliability metric)), (Par. (0295-0296); based on the impact level and the time sensitivity of the security event (blockchain related events based on impact level (reliability metric) and time sensitivity (given period of time/ time elapsing)), (Par.(0369 and 0377); selecting, by the ledger circuitry, a quantity of distributed ledger nodes (selecting of nodes) based on the impact level and the time sensitivity of the security event (based on blockchain related events corresponding to reliability metric and determined amount of time)), (Par. (0267-0268); for consensus (selection process based blockchain-related events and consensus))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thomas to incorporate the teaching of Trudeau to utilize the above feature detection of security events using blockchain network and machine learning, with the motivation of securely protecting the blockchain network by identifying possible malicious events, removing and scoring with metrics over time so that other nodes in the consensus can be aware to ensure data legitimacy and share between entities freely. (Trudeau Par. (0003-0006 and 0066-0070))
Thomas and Trudeau do not explicitly teach broadcasting, by the ledger circuitry, an indication of the ledger security event to a set of distributed ledger nodes numbering at least the quantity of distributed ledger nodes, wherein the distributed ledger operates using a dynamic consensus model in which the quantity of distributed ledger nodes required for consensus is determined based on the impact level and the time sensitivity of the security event.
Wherein Mardikar teaches broadcasting, by the ledger circuitry, an indication of the ledger security event to a set of distributed ledger nodes numbering at least the quantity of distributed ledger nodes, (Par. (0092-0093); broadcasting by the ledger circuitry, an indication of the ledger security event (broadcasting by compromise assessment smart contract of distributed ledger an indication (broadcast message) of the ledger security event to a set of distributed ledger nodes (compromise report identifying node as suspicious to all participant nodes) numbering at least the quantity of distributed ledger nodes, (lists suspicious node in compromise report)) , (Par. (0023); transmitting to poll to each node with indication of compromised nodes)), (Par. (0153-0155); numbering at least the quantity of distributed ledger nodes (set of nodes 202-208 belonging to intersecting groups of consensus))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thomas and Trudeau to incorporate the teaching of Mardikar to utilize the above feature detection of security events using blockchain network and machine learning, with the motivation of identifying possible compromised nodes in blockchain network and consensus used to vote and poll as well as isolate nodes to counter cyber threats and regulate levels of access to authorized users to prevent vulnerabilities in system. (Mardikar Par. (0005-0009, 0073-0074 and 0077))
Thomas, Trudeau and Mardikar do not explicitly teach wherein the distributed ledger operates using a dynamic consensus model in which the quantity of distributed ledger nodes required for consensus is determined based on the impact level and the time sensitivity of the security event.
Wherein Chew teaches wherein the distributed ledger operates using a dynamic consensus model in which the quantity of distributed ledger nodes required for consensus is determined based on the impact level and the time sensitivity of the security event. (Par. (0058); wherein the distributed ledger operates using a dynamic consensus model in which the quantity of distributed ledger nodes (consensus protocol with distributed ledger that includes different models to delegate consensus protocol)), (Par. (0037); quantity of distributed ledger nodes required for consensus is determined based on the impact level and the time sensitivity (consensus protocol of distributed ledger with polling of nodes based on impact level (metric of malicious transaction) and time sensitivity (finite and bounded by time with metric and consensus) of the security event (malicious transaction detected)), (Par. (0058, 0065); and the time sensitivity of the security event (time slots corresponding to consensus based on valid transactions))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thomas, Trudeau and Mardikar to incorporate the teaching of Chew to utilize the above feature detection of security events using blockchain network and machine learning, with the motivation of using a consensus to create secure cryptographic transfer of data and exchanges between nodes without sensitive data being exposed. (Chew Par. (0027 and 0085))
In regards to Claim 2, the combination of Thomas, Trudeau, Mardikar and Chew teach the method of claim 1, Mardikar further teaches receiving, by the ledger circuitry and via the distributed ledger, an indication of an actionable security event; and (Par. (0092-0093); receiving by the ledger circuitry (compromise assessment smart contract of distributed ledger receiving indication receiving votes corresponding to compromised node and broadcasting to all participant nodes of distributed ledger a broadcast message with indication of actionable security event (compromised node)), (Par. (0022-0023); transmitting and receiving by nodes in blockchain and indication in form of poll of actionable security event (compromised node))
performing an action based on the actionable security event. (Par. (0093); compromised node identified, action of isolating and voting, then adjusted value and prevented access to distributed ledger))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thomas, Trudeau and Chew to incorporate the teaching of Mardikar to utilize the above feature detection of security events using blockchain network and machine learning, with the motivation of preventing access to compromised nodes that can lead to vulnerabilities and malware in system by regulating access to authorized entities and providing indication in reports using machine learning for effective outputs. (Mardikar Par. (0026, 0077 and 0093))
In regards to Claim 3, the combination of Thomas, Trudeau, Mardikar and Chew teach the method of claim 1, Mardikar further teaches wherein the distributed ledger is a permissioned distributed ledger. (Par. (0046); permissioned distributed ledger))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thomas, Trudeau and Chew to incorporate the teaching of Mardikar to utilize the above feature detection of security events using blockchain network and machine learning, with the motivation of utilizing a permissioned blockchain to restrict and regulate access to certain nodes creating privacy and protecting documents and assets. (Mardikar Par. (0046 and 0050))
In regards to Claim 8, Thomas teaches an apparatus for automatic distributed security logging, (Par. (0201); apparatus), (Par. (0050-0051, 0055 and 0200); recording threat actions on system using machine learning)), (Figure 11 labels 1190b, 110, 1190, 1190c and (Par. (0199-0200)); automatic distributed security logging (blockchain with machine learning and logging data)
the apparatus comprising: (Par. (0201); apparatus)
security agent circuitry configured to: detect a security event related to a computer network; (Par. (0008-00010); threat intelligence system detecting threats on enterprise network)), (Par. (0044-0046); by security agent circuitry (threat intelligence system corresponding to transmitting events to security analyst devices), (Figure 1A labels 102,162; by security agent circuitry (threat intelligence with security analyst devices and threat detection))
logging circuitry configured to: record an indication of the security event to a storage element belonging to the computer network, (Par. (0012); transmitted threat events to data storage for storage on enterprise network)), (Par. (0007, 0010, 0013); recording by logging circuitry, (data store recording and storing events of threat)), (Par. (0007, 0010 and 0013); an indication of the security event to a storage element belonging to the computer network; (data store storing information of detected threat events with tag as indication before recorded and stored in data store on enterprise network))
wherein the security agent circuitry is further configured to determine an impact level and a time sensitivity of the security event; and (Par. (000-0010); determining, by the security agent circuitry (threat intelligence computer system with security analyst devices determines detected threat event with level based on threshold period of time passed)), (Par. (0062-0064 and 0093); determining, by the security agent circuitry, an impact level (threat intelligence system corresponding to impact level (severity level)), (Par. (0052-0054); a time sensitivity of the security event (amount of time, time passed and last time collected threat action was detected by threat intelligence system)), (Figure 2 labels 210; determining, by the security agent circuitry, an impact level (impact levels of Strong, medium, weak corresponding to malicious threats detected))
Thomas does not explicitly teach ledger circuitry configured to: process the security event based on the impact level to produce a ledger security event, select a quantity of distributed ledger nodes of a distributed ledger for consensus based on the impact level and the time sensitivity of the security event, and broadcast an indication of the ledger security event to a set of distributed ledger nodes numbering at least the selected quantity of distributed ledger nodes, wherein the distributed ledger operates using a dynamic consensus model in which the quantity of distributed ledger nodes required for consensus is determined based on the impact level and the time sensitivity of the security event.
Wherein Trudeau teaches ledger circuitry configured to: process the security event based on the impact level to produce a ledger security event, (Par. (0132-0133); processing, by ledger circuitry, the security event based on the impact level (node of blockchain detecting and generating lock-chain related events corresponding to suspicious patterns and malicious block with attacks), (Par. (0133); the security event based on the impact level to produce a ledger security event (reliability metric corresponding to suspicious pattern and malicious block is generated)), (Par. (0210); the security event (blockchain related event corresponding to malicious and suspicious)), (Par. (0132-0133 and 0177-01788); by ledger circuitry, (enforcer node and generator node of blockchain detecting suspicious blockchain related events and producing events)), (Par. (0221); to produce a ledger security event; (generator node of blockchain generating block with blockchain related event associated with suspicious/malicious))
select a quantity of distributed ledger nodes of a distributed ledger for consensus based on the impact level and the time sensitivity of the security event, and (Par. (0223-0224); selecting, by the ledger circuitry, a quantity of distributed ledger nodes of a distributed ledger (first node of blockchain selects plurality of second nodes based on block-chain related event and impact level (reliability metric)), (Par. (0295-0296); based on the impact level and the time sensitivity of the security event (blockchain related events based on impact level (reliability metric) and time sensitivity (given period of time/ time elapsing)), (Par.(0369 and 0377); selecting, by the ledger circuitry, a quantity of distributed ledger nodes (selecting of nodes) based on the impact level and the time sensitivity of the security event (based on blockchain related events corresponding to reliability metric and determined amount of time)), (Par. (0267-0268); for consensus (selection process based blockchain-related events and consensus))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thomas to incorporate the teaching of Trudeau to utilize the above feature detection of security events using blockchain network and machine learning, with the motivation of securely protecting the blockchain network by identifying possible malicious events, removing and scoring with metrics over time so that other nodes in the consensus can be aware to ensure data legitimacy and share between entities freely. (Trudeau Par. (0003-0006 and 0066-0070))
Thomas and Trudeau do not explicitly teach broadcast an indication of the ledger security event to a set of distributed ledger nodes numbering at least the selected quantity of distributed ledger nodes, wherein the distributed ledger operates using a dynamic consensus model in which the quantity of distributed ledger nodes required for consensus is determined based on the impact level and the time sensitivity of the security event.
Wherein Mardikar teaches broadcast an indication of the ledger security event to a set of distributed ledger nodes numbering at least the selected quantity of distributed ledger nodes, (Par. (0092-0093); broadcasting by the ledger circuitry, an indication of the ledger security event (broadcasting by compromise assessment smart contract of distributed ledger an indication (broadcast message) of the ledger security event to a set of distributed ledger nodes (compromise report identifying node as suspicious to all participant nodes) numbering at least the quantity of distributed ledger nodes, (lists suspicious node in compromise report)) , (Par. (0023); transmitting to poll to each node with indication of compromised nodes)), (Par. (0153-0155); numbering at least the quantity of distributed ledger nodes (set of nodes 202-208 belonging to intersecting groups of consensus))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thomas and Trudeau to incorporate the teaching of Mardikar to utilize the above feature detection of security events using blockchain network and machine learning, with the motivation of identifying possible compromised nodes in blockchain network and consensus used to vote and poll as well as isolate nodes to counter cyber threats and regulate levels of access to authorized users to prevent vulnerabilities in system. (Mardikar Par. (0005-0009, 0073-0074 and 0077))
Thomas, Trudeau and Mardikar do not explicitly teach wherein the distributed ledger operates using a dynamic consensus model in which the quantity of distributed ledger nodes required for consensus is determined based on the impact level and the time sensitivity of the security event.
Wherein Chew teaches wherein the distributed ledger operates using a dynamic consensus model in which the quantity of distributed ledger nodes required for consensus is determined based on the impact level and the time sensitivity of the security event. (Par. (0058); wherein the distributed ledger operates using a dynamic consensus model in which the quantity of distributed ledger nodes (consensus protocol with distributed ledger that includes different models to delegate consensus protocol)), (Par. (0037); quantity of distributed ledger nodes required for consensus is determined based on the impact level and the time sensitivity (consensus protocol of distributed ledger with polling of nodes based on impact level (metric of malicious transaction) and time sensitivity (finite and bounded by time with metric and consensus) of the security event (malicious transaction detected)), (Par. (0058, 0065); and the time sensitivity of the security event (time slots corresponding to consensus based on valid transactions))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thomas, Trudeau and Mardikar to incorporate the teaching of Chew to utilize the above feature detection of security events using blockchain network and machine learning, with the motivation of using a consensus to create secure cryptographic transfer of data and exchanges between nodes without sensitive data being exposed. (Chew Par. (0027 and 0085))
In regards to Claim 9, the combination of Thomas, Trudeau, Mardikar and Chew teach the apparatus of claim 8, Mardikar further teaches wherein the ledger circuitry is further configured to: receive, via the distributed ledger, an indication of an actionable security event; and (Par. (0092-0093); receiving by the ledger circuitry (compromise assessment smart contract of distributed ledger receiving indication receiving votes corresponding to compromised node and broadcasting to all participant nodes of distributed ledger a broadcast message with indication of actionable security event (compromised node)), (Par. (0022-0023); transmitting and receiving by nodes in blockchain and indication in form of poll of actionable security event (compromised node))
perform an action based on the actionable security event. (Par. (0093); compromised node identified, action of isolating and voting, then adjusted value and prevented access to distributed ledger))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thomas, Trudeau, and Chew to incorporate the teaching of Mardikar to utilize the above feature detection of security events using blockchain network and machine learning, with the motivation of preventing access to compromised nodes that can lead to vulnerabilities and malware in system by regulating access to authorized entities and providing indication in reports using machine learning for effective outputs. (Mardikar Par. (0026, 0077 and 0093))
In regards to Claim 10, the combination of Thomas, Trudeau, Mardikar and Chew teach the apparatus of claim 8, Mardikar further teaches wherein the distributed ledger is a permissioned distributed ledger. (Par. (0046); permissioned distributed ledger))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thomas, Trudeau and Chew to incorporate the teaching of Mardikar to utilize the above feature detection of security events using blockchain network and machine learning, with the motivation of utilizing a permissioned blockchain to restrict and regulate access to certain nodes creating privacy and protecting documents and assets. (Mardikar Par. (0046 and 0050))
In regards to Claim 15, Thomas teaches a computer program product for automatic distributed security logging, (Par. (0201); computer program product)), (Par. (0050-0051, 0055 and 0200); recording threat actions on system using machine learning)), (Figure 11 labels 1190b, 110, 1190, 1190c and (Par. (0199-0200)); automatic distributed security logging (blockchain with machine learning and logging data)
the computer program product comprising at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing program instructions that, when executed, cause a system to: (Par. (0201); computer program product with computer readable medium)
detect a security event related to a computer network; (Par. (0008-00010); threat intelligence system detecting threats on enterprise network)), (Par. (0044-0046); by security agent circuitry (threat intelligence system corresponding to transmitting events to security analyst devices), (Figure 1A labels 102,162; by security agent circuitry (threat intelligence with security analyst devices and threat detection))
record an indication of the security event to a storage element belonging to the computer network; (Par. (0012); transmitted threat events to data storage for storage on enterprise network)), (Par. (0007, 0010, 0013); recording by logging circuitry, (data store recording and storing events of threat)), (Par. (0007, 0010 and 0013); an indication of the security event to a storage element belonging to the computer network; (data store storing information of detected threat events with tag as indication before recorded and stored in data store on enterprise network))
determine an impact level and a time sensitivity of the security event; (Par. (000-0010); determining, by the security agent circuitry (threat intelligence computer system with security analyst devices determines detected threat event with level based on threshold period of time passed)), (Par. (0062-0064 and 0093); determining, by the security agent circuitry, an impact level (threat intelligence system corresponding to impact level (severity level)), (Par. (0052-0054); a time sensitivity of the security event (amount of time, time passed and last time collected threat action was detected by threat intelligence system)), (Figure 2 labels 210; determining, by the security agent circuitry, an impact level (impact levels of Strong, medium, weak corresponding to malicious threats detected))
Thomas does not explicitly teach process the security event based on the impact level to produce a ledger security event; select a quantity of distributed ledger nodes of a distributed ledger for consensus based on the impact level and the time sensitivity of the security event; and broadcast an indication of the ledger security event to a set of distributed ledger nodes numbering at least the selected quantity of distributed ledger nodes, wherein the distributed ledger operates using a dynamic consensus model in which the quantity of distributed ledger nodes required for consensus is determined based on the impact level and the time sensitivity of the security event.
Wherein Trudeau teaches process the security event based on the impact level to produce a ledger security event; (Par. (0132-0133); processing, by ledger circuitry, the security event based on the impact level (node of blockchain detecting and generating lock-chain related events corresponding to suspicious patterns and malicious block with attacks), (Par. (0133); the security event based on the impact level to produce a ledger security event (reliability metric corresponding to suspicious pattern and malicious block is generated)), (Par. (0210); the security event (blockchain related event corresponding to malicious and suspicious)), (Par. (0132-0133 and 0177-01788); by ledger circuitry, (enforcer node and generator node of blockchain detecting suspicious blockchain related events and producing events)), (Par. (0221); to produce a ledger security event; (generator node of blockchain generating block with blockchain related event associated with suspicious/malicious))
select a quantity of distributed ledger nodes of a distributed ledger for consensus based on the impact level and the time sensitivity of the security event; and (Par. (0223-0224); selecting, by the ledger circuitry, a quantity of distributed ledger nodes of a distributed ledger (first node of blockchain selects plurality of second nodes based on block-chain related event and impact level (reliability metric)), (Par. (0295-0296); based on the impact level and the time sensitivity of the security event (blockchain related events based on impact level (reliability metric) and time sensitivity (given period of time/ time elapsing)), (Par.(0369 and 0377); selecting, by the ledger circuitry, a quantity of distributed ledger nodes (selecting of nodes) based on the impact level and the time sensitivity of the security event (based on blockchain related events corresponding to reliability metric and determined amount of time)), (Par. (0267-0268); for consensus (selection process based blockchain-related events and consensus))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thomas to incorporate the teaching of Trudeau to utilize the above feature detection of security events using blockchain network and machine learning, with the motivation of securely protecting the blockchain network by identifying possible malicious events, removing and scoring with metrics over time so that other nodes in the consensus can be aware to ensure data legitimacy and share between entities freely. (Trudeau Par. (0003-0006 and 0066-0070))
Thomas and Trudeau do not explicitly teach broadcast an indication of the ledger security event to a set of distributed ledger nodes numbering at least the selected quantity of distributed ledger nodes, wherein the distributed ledger operates using a dynamic consensus model in which the quantity of distributed ledger nodes required for consensus is determined based on the impact level and the time sensitivity of the security event.
Wherein Mardikar teaches broadcast an indication of the ledger security event to a set of distributed ledger nodes numbering at least the selected quantity of distributed ledger nodes, (Par. (0092-0093); broadcasting by the ledger circuitry, an indication of the ledger security event (broadcasting by compromise assessment smart contract of distributed ledger an indication (broadcast message) of the ledger security event to a set of distributed ledger nodes (compromise report identifying node as suspicious to all participant nodes) numbering at least the quantity of distributed ledger nodes, (lists suspicious node in compromise report)) , (Par. (0023); transmitting to poll to each node with indication of compromised nodes)), (Par. (0153-0155); numbering at least the quantity of distributed ledger nodes (set of nodes 202-208 belonging to intersecting groups of consensus))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thomas and Trudeau to incorporate the teaching of Mardikar to utilize the above feature detection of security events using blockchain network and machine learning, with the motivation of identifying possible compromised nodes in blockchain network and consensus used to vote and poll as well as isolate nodes to counter cyber threats and regulate levels of access to authorized users to prevent vulnerabilities in system. (Mardikar Par. (0005-0009, 0073-0074 and 0077))
Thomas, Trudeau and Mardikar do not explicitly teach wherein the distributed ledger operates using a dynamic consensus model in which the quantity of distributed ledger nodes required for consensus is determined based on the impact level and the time sensitivity of the security event.
Wherein Chew teaches wherein the distributed ledger operates using a dynamic consensus model in which the quantity of distributed ledger nodes required for consensus is determined based on the impact level and the time sensitivity of the security event. (Par. (0058); wherein the distributed ledger operates using a dynamic consensus model in which the quantity of distributed ledger nodes (consensus protocol with distributed ledger that includes different models to delegate consensus protocol)), (Par. (0037); quantity of distributed ledger nodes required for consensus is determined based on the impact level and the time sensitivity (consensus protocol of distributed ledger with polling of nodes based on impact level (metric of malicious transaction) and time sensitivity (finite and bounded by time with metric and consensus) of the security event (malicious transaction detected)), (Par. (0058, 0065); and the time sensitivity of the security event (time slots corresponding to consensus based on valid transactions))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thomas, Trudeau and Mardikar to incorporate the teaching of Chew to utilize the above feature detection of security events using blockchain network and machine learning, with the motivation of using a consensus to create secure cryptographic transfer of data and exchanges between nodes without sensitive data being exposed. (Chew Par. (0027 and 0085))
In regards to Claim 16, the combination of Thomas, Trudeau, Mardikar and Chew teach the computer program product of claim 15, Mardikar further teaches receive, via the distributed ledger, an indication of an actionable security event; and (Par. (0092-0093); receiving by the ledger circuitry (compromise assessment smart contract of distributed ledger receiving indication receiving votes corresponding to compromised node and broadcasting to all participant nodes of distributed ledger a broadcast message with indication of actionable security event (compromised node)), (Par. (0022-0023); transmitting and receiving by nodes in blockchain and indication in form of poll of actionable security event (compromised node))
perform an action based on the actionable security event. (Par. (0093); compromised node identified, action of isolating and voting, then adjusted value and prevented access to distributed ledger))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thomas, Trudeau and Chew to incorporate the teaching of Mardikar to utilize the above feature detection of security events using blockchain network and machine learning, with the motivation of preventing access to compromised nodes that can lead to vulnerabilities and malware in system by regulating access to authorized entities and providing indication in reports using machine learning for effective outputs. (Mardikar Par. (0026, 0077 and 0093))
In regards to Claim 17, the combination of Thomas, Trudeau, Mardikar and Chew teach the computer program product of claim 15, Mardikar further teaches wherein the distributed ledger is a permissioned distributed ledger. (Par. (0046); permissioned distributed ledger))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thomas, Trudeau and Chew to incorporate the teaching of Mardikar to utilize the above feature detection of security events using blockchain network and machine learning, with the motivation of utilizing a permissioned blockchain to restrict and regulate access to certain nodes creating privacy and protecting documents and assets. (Mardikar Par. (0046 and 0050))
Claim(s) 4-5, 11-12 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20250141896, hereinafter referred to as “Thomas”),Trudeau et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20250150289, hereinafter referred to as “Trudeau”), Mardikar et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20250330485, hereinafter referred to as “Mardikar”) and Chew et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20230050160, hereinafter referred to as “Chew”) further in view of Baek et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20250190539, hereinafter referred to as “Baek”)
In regards to Claim 4, the combination of Thomas, Trudeau, Mardikar and Chew teach the method of claim 1, Thomas further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: a first ledger node from the set of distributed ledger nodes uses a first consensus mechanism; and (Par. (0199); group of nodes in blockchain use consensus algorithm))
Thomas, Trudeau, Mardikar and Chew do not explicitly teach a second ledger node from the set of distributed ledger nodes uses a second consensus mechanism.
Wherein Baek teaches a second ledger node from the set of distributed ledger nodes uses a second consensus mechanism. (Par., (0167); first and second plurality of nodes with first and second consensus algorithm)), (Par. (0093); selecting malicious nodes))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thomas, Trudeau, Mardikar and Chew to incorporate the teaching of Baek to utilize the above feature detection of security events using blockchain network, with the motivation of checking for forgery on blockchain network using consensus proofs to create high stability and reliability for data and using multiple consensus protocols for enhanced verification. (Baek Par. (0006 and 0010))
In regards to Claim 5, the combination of Thomas, Trudeau, Mardikar and Chew teach the method of claim 1, Thomas further teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the distributed ledger is a blockchain, (Par. (0199); distributed ledger corresponding to blockchain))
Thomas does not explicitly teach wherein the blockchain comprises a first sidechain and a second sidechain, wherein the first sidechain comprises the first ledger node, wherein the second sidechain comprises the second ledger node.
Wherein Mardikar teaches wherein the blockchain comprises a first sidechain and a second sidechain, (Par. (0065); blockchain with several sidechains)
wherein the first sidechain comprises the first ledger node, wherein the second sidechain comprises the second ledger node. (Par. (0065); validating nodes corresponding to several sidechains))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thomas, Trudeau, Chew and Baek to incorporate the teaching of Mardikar to utilize the above feature detection of security events using blockchain network and machine learning, with the motivation of implementing side chains to have private and permissioned blockchains corresponding to a main blockchain and to provide information in parallel and share transaction data to multiple nodes that are sensitive or non-sensitive. (Mardikar Par. (0065))
In regards to Claim 11, the combination of Thomas, Trudeau, Mardikar and Chew teach the apparatus of claim 8, Thomas further teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein: a first ledger node from the set of distributed ledger nodes uses a first consensus mechanism; and (Par. (0199); group of nodes in blockchain use consensus algorithm))
Thomas, Trudeau, Mardikar and Chew do not explicitly teach a second ledger node from the set of distributed ledger nodes uses a second consensus mechanism.
Wherein Baek teaches a second ledger node from the set of distributed ledger nodes uses a second consensus mechanism. (Par., (0167); first and second plurality of nodes with first and second consensus algorithm)), (Par. (0093); selecting malicious nodes))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thomas, Trudeau, Mardikar and Chew to incorporate the teaching of Baek to utilize the above feature detection of security events using blockchain network, with the motivation of checking for forgery on blockchain network using consensus proofs to create high stability and reliability for data and using multiple consensus protocols for enhanced verification. (Baek Par. (0006 and 0010))
In regards to Claim 12, the combination of Thomas, Trudeau, Mardikar and Chew teach the apparatus of claim 8, Thomas further teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the distributed ledger is a blockchain, (Par. (0199); distributed ledger corresponding to blockchain))
Thomas does not explicitly teach wherein the blockchain comprises a first sidechain and a second sidechain, wherein the first sidechain comprises the first ledger node, wherein the second sidechain comprises the second ledger node.
Wherein Mardikar teaches wherein the blockchain comprises a first sidechain and a second sidechain, (Par. (0065); blockchain with several sidechains)
wherein the first sidechain comprises the first ledger node, wherein the second sidechain comprises the second ledger node. (Par. (0065); validating nodes corresponding to several sidechains))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thomas, Trudeau, Chew and Baek to incorporate the teaching of Mardikar to utilize the above feature detection of security events using blockchain network and machine learning, with the motivation of implementing side chains to have private and permissioned blockchains corresponding to a main blockchain and to provide information in parallel and share transaction data to multiple nodes that are sensitive or non-sensitive. (Mardikar Par. (0065))
In regards to Claim 18, the combination of Thomas, Trudeau, Mardikar and Chew teach computer program product of claim 15, Thomas further teaches the computer program product of claim 15, wherein: a first ledger node from the set of distributed ledger nodes uses a first consensus mechanism; and (Par. (0199); group of nodes in blockchain use consensus algorithm))
Thomas, Trudeau, Mardikar and Chew do not explicitly teach a second ledger node from the set of distributed ledger nodes uses a second consensus mechanism.
Wherein Baek teaches a second ledger node from the set of distributed ledger nodes uses a second consensus mechanism. (Par., (0167); first and second plurality of nodes with first and second consensus algorithm)), (Par. (0093); selecting malicious nodes))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thomas, Trudeau, Mardikar and Chew to incorporate the teaching of Baek to utilize the above feature detection of security events using blockchain network, with the motivation of checking for forgery on blockchain network using consensus proofs to create high stability and reliability for data and using multiple consensus protocols for enhanced verification. (Baek Par. (0006 and 0010))
In regards to Claim 19, the combination of Thomas, Trudeau, Mardikar and Chew teach the computer program product of claim 15, Thomas further teaches the computer program product of claim 18, wherein the distributed ledger is a blockchain, (Par. (0199); distributed ledger corresponding to blockchain))
Thomas does not explicitly teach wherein the blockchain comprises a first sidechain and a second sidechain, wherein the first sidechain comprises the first ledger node, wherein the second sidechain comprises the second ledger node.
Wherein Mardikar teaches wherein the blockchain comprises a first sidechain and a second sidechain, (Par. (0065); blockchain with several sidechains)
wherein the first sidechain comprises the first ledger node, wherein the second sidechain comprises the second ledger node. (Par. (0065); validating nodes corresponding to several sidechains))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thomas, Trudeau, Chew and Baek to incorporate the teaching of Mardikar to utilize the above feature detection of security events using blockchain network and machine learning, with the motivation of implementing side chains to have private and permissioned blockchains corresponding to a main blockchain and to provide information in parallel and share transaction data to multiple nodes that are sensitive or non-sensitive. (Mardikar Par. (0065))
Claim(s) 6-7, 13-14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20250141896, hereinafter referred to as “Thomas”),Trudeau et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20250150289, hereinafter referred to as “Trudeau”) Mardikar et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20250330485, hereinafter referred to as “Mardikar”) and Chew et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20230050160, hereinafter referred to as “Chew”) further in view of Zaytsev et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20230344843, hereinafter referred to as “Zaytsev”)
In regards to Claim 6, the combination of Thomas, Trudeau, Mardikar and Chew teach the method of claim 1, Thomas further teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by communications hardware, a record of activity related to the computer network; and (Par. (0184-0187); computer system retrieving tagged event corresponding to flagged known activity), (Par. (0063 and 0067); computer system determining activity level))
Thomas, Trudeau, Mardikar and Chew do not explicitly teach generating, by a machine learning model, a skimmed log based on the record of activity, wherein the indication of the security event comprises the skimmed log.
Wherein Zaytsev teaches generating, by a machine learning model, a skimmed log based on the record of activity, (Par. (0077); generating, by a machine learning model, (machine learning model generating) a skimmed log (generated and filtered behavior events) based on the record (filtered behavior events corresponding to activity (threat and malware classifier))
wherein the indication of the security event comprises the skimmed log. (Par. (0025); skimmed log (filtered detected events) corresponding to indication of the security event (behavior events and target malicious processes))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thomas, Trudeau, Mardikar and Chew to incorporate the teaching of Zaytsev to utilize the above feature detection of security events using machine learning, with the motivation of preventing exploits in security with hostile attacks such as viruses, worms etc. and determining if program has malicious behaviors to save time and resources to target and map possible threats based on patterns and capture threats more effectively with relationships and reporting that is filtered and able to process. (Zaytsev Par. (0001 and 0009-0012))
In regards to Claim 7, the combination of Thomas, Trudeau, Mardikar and Chew do not explicitly teach generating, by a language model, a formatted log based on the record of activity, wherein generating the skimmed log uses the formatted log as input to the machine learning model.
Wherein Zaytsev teaches generating, by a language model, a formatted log based on the record of activity, (Par. (0045-0046); machine learning model generates behavior artifacts based on behavioral events that has formatted logs of “Behavior_A, Behavior_B, Behavior C” over window of time) based on the record of activity (based on flagged behaviors of malicious events over time)), (Figure 1 labels 126, 128 and Par/. (0044-0046); event data of false negative data and label data used to generate formatted log of behavior artifacts/behavior events “Behavior_A, Behavior_B, Behavior C”))
wherein generating the skimmed log uses the formatted log as input to the machine learning model. (Par. (0077-0078 and 0044-0046); generated skimmed log (generated filtered behavioral events) uses the formatted log as input to the machine learning model (past behavior event “Behavior_A, Behavior_B, Behavior C “used in machine learning models that is received as input))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thomas, Trudeau, Mardikar and Chew to incorporate the teaching of Zaytsev to utilize the above feature detection of security events using machine learning, with the motivation of filtering security detected events to reduce size of data transferred and convey behavior of malicious events to computing devices to be monitored. (Zaytsev Par. (0025-0027))
In regards to Claim 13, the combination of Thomas, Trudeau, Mardikar and Chew teach the apparatus of claim 8, Thomas further teaches the apparatus of claim 8, further comprising communications hardware configured to: receive a record of activity related to the computer network, (Par. (0184-0187); communications hardware (computer system) retrieving tagged event corresponding to flagged known activity), (Par. (0063 and 0067); computer system determining activity level))
Thomas, Trudeau, Mardikar and Chew do not explicitly teach wherein the security agent circuitry is further configured to generate, by a machine learning model, a skimmed log based on the record of activity, wherein the indication of the security event comprises the skimmed log.
Wherein Zaytsev teaches wherein the security agent circuitry is further configured to generate, by a machine learning model, a skimmed log based on the record of activity, (Par. (0030 and 0091); the security agent circuitry (machine learning models with classification of malware corresponding to model component)) (Par. (0077); generating, by a machine learning model, (machine learning model generating) a skimmed log (generated and filtered behavior events) based on the record (filtered behavior events corresponding to activity (threat and malware classifier))
wherein the indication of the security event comprises the skimmed log. (Par. (0025); skimmed log (filtered detected events) corresponding to indication of the security event (behavior events and target malicious processes))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thomas, Trudeau, Mardikar and Chew to incorporate the teaching of Zaytsev to utilize the above feature detection of security events using machine learning, with the motivation of preventing exploits in security with hostile attacks such as viruses, worms etc. and determining if program has malicious behaviors to save time and resources to target and map possible threats based on patterns and capture threats more effectively with relationships and reporting that is filtered and able to process. (Zaytsev Par. (0001 and 0009-0012))
In regards to Claim 14, the combination of Thomas, Trudeau, Mardikar and Chew do not explicitly teach wherein the security agent circuitry is further configured to generate, by a language model, a formatted log based on the record of activity, wherein generating the skimmed log uses the formatted log as input to the machine learning model.
Wherein Zaytsev teaches wherein the security agent circuitry is further configured to generate, by a language model, a formatted log based on the record of activity, (Par. (0030 and 0091); the security agent circuitry (machine learning models with classification of malware corresponding to model component)) ,(Par. (0045-0046); machine learning model generates behavior artifacts based on behavioral events that has formatted logs of “Behavior_A, Behavior_B, Behavior C” over window of time) based on the record of activity (based on flagged behaviors of malicious events over time)). (Figure 1 labels 126, 128 and Par/. (0044-0046); event data of false negative data and label data used to generate formatted log of behavior artifacts/behavior events “Behavior_A, Behavior_B, Behavior C”))
wherein generating the skimmed log uses the formatted log as input to the machine learning model. (Par. (0077-0078 and 0044-0046); generated skimmed log (generated filtered behavioral events) uses the formatted log as input to the machine learning model (past behavior event “Behavior_A, Behavior_B, Behavior C “used in machine learning models that is received as input))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thomas, Trudeau, Mardikar and Chew to incorporate the teaching of Zaytsev to utilize the above feature detection of security events using machine learning, with the motivation of filtering security detected events to reduce size of data transferred and convey behavior of malicious events to computing devices to be monitored. (Zaytsev Par. (0025-0027))
In regards to Claim 20, the combination of Thomas, Trudeau, Mardikar and Chew teach the computer program product of claim 15, Thomas further teaches the computer program product of claim 15, further comprising additional program instructions that, when executed, cause the system to: receive a record of activity related to the computer network; and (Par. (0184-0187); computer system retrieving tagged event corresponding to flagged known activity), (Par. (0063 and 0067); computer system determining activity level))
Thomas, Trudeau, Mardikar and Chew do not explicitly teach generate, by a machine learning model, a skimmed log based on the record of activity, wherein the indication of the security event comprises the skimmed log.
Wherein Zaytsev teaches generate, by a machine learning model, a skimmed log based on the record of activity, (Par. (0077); generating, by a machine learning model, (machine learning model generating) a skimmed log (generated and filtered behavior events) based on the record (filtered behavior events corresponding to activity (threat and malware classifier))
wherein the indication of the security event comprises the skimmed log. (Par. (0025); skimmed log (filtered detected events) corresponding to indication of the security event (behavior events and target malicious processes))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thomas, Trudeau, Mardikar and Chew to incorporate the teaching of Zaytsev to utilize the above feature detection of security events using machine learning, with the motivation of preventing exploits in security with hostile attacks such as viruses, worms etc. and determining if program has malicious behaviors to save time and resources to target and map possible threats based on patterns and capture threats more effectively with relationships and reporting that is filtered and able to process. (Zaytsev Par. (0001 and 0009-0012))
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mckelvey; Corridon Watt (U.S Pub. No. 20250068928) “Decentralized Federated Learning Systems, Devices, And Methods For Security Threat Detection And Reaction”. Considered this reference because it addressed confidence scores based on threat detection on blockchain network.
TANG; Zhilin (U.S Pub. No. 20230269260) “BLOCKCHAIN-BASED BIG DATA ANALYSIS AND DECISION-MAKING SYSTEM AND METHOD”. Considered this application because it relates to security events of blockchain network using intelligence systems.
RUBIN; Mor (U.S Pub. No. 20210243208) “AUTOMATIC DETECTION OF ILLICIT LATERAL MOVEMENT”. Considered this application because it addressed impact levels and detection of security events on blockchain network.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.A.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2497
/ELENI A SHIFERAW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2497