DETAIL ACTION
Priority
This application claims priority to U.S provisional Patent Application No. 63552603, filed on 2/12/2024 and is hereby incorporated by references.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 1/30/2025 and 7/22/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Katsavounidis (“Dynamic optimizer-a perceptual video encoding optimization framework” 3/5/2018; applicant provided prior art).
Regarding claim 1, Katsavounidis discloses a computer-implemented method for determining video quality for streaming media implementations [e.g. FIG. 5; encoding image by video codec and determining RD], the method comprising: generating a first comparison video based on a source video [e.g. FIG. 5; input source video]; generating an encoded video based on the source video [e.g. output of encode box]; decoding the encoded video to generate a decoded video [e.g. output of decode box]; generating a second comparison video based on the decoded video [output of up sampling video]; and computing a video quality score[e.g. PSNR or VMAF]] based on the first comparison video and the second comparison video, wherein the encoded video is selected for transmission to a client device [e.g. streaming client] based on the video quality score [e.g. FIG. 1-2 and 5; page 17; it benefits both standalone bitstream creation, intended for downloading and offline consumption, as well as full bitrate ladder creation, used for adapting streaming].
Regarding claim 20, this is a system that includes same limitation as in claim 1 above, the rejection of which are incorporated herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katsavounidis (“Dynamic optimizer-a perceptual video encoding optimization framework” 3/5/2018; applicant provided prior art) in view of Oh et al (US 20080152296 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Katsavounidis further discloses generating the first comparison video comprises generating the encoded video comprises downscaling the source video [e.g. Katsavounidis: FIG. 5; down sampling], and generating the second comparison video comprises upscaling the decoded video [FIG. 5; up sampling after decode], but Katsavounidis fails to explicitly disclose the detail of generating the first comparison video.
However, Oh teaches the well-known concept of generating the comparison video comprises denoising the source video [e.g. FIG. 1; element 3; noise removal].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system disclosed by Katsavounidis to exploit the well-known video encoding technique taught by Oh as above, in order to provide to improve the natural appearance of an image [See Oh; [0022]].
Regarding claim 3, Katsavounidis and Oh further disclose generating the first comparison video comprises: denoising the source video to generate a denoised video [e.g. Oh: FIG. 1-2; noise removal]; and adding first synthesized film grain to the denoised video [e.g. Oh: 1-2 and 5; film grain noise synthesizer may generate film grain noise].
Regarding claim 4, Katsavounidis and Oh further disclose generating the second comparison video comprises: adding second synthesized film grain to the decoded video to generate a renoised video; and upscaling the renoised video to generate the second comparison video [e.g. Katsavounidis: FIG. 5; Oh: FIG. 1-3].
Regarding claim 5, Katsavounidis and Oh further disclose generating the first comparison video comprises: computing first film grain at a first resolution [Katsavounidis: FIG. 1-2; page 1-2; encoding parameters such as resolution/quality change; Oh: FIG. 1; [0022-0024]], wherein the encoded video has resolution equal to the first resolution; upscaling the first film grain to a second resolution to generate second film grain [e.g. Katsavounidis: FIG. 1-2 and 5; Oh: FIG. 1-3], wherein the source video has a resolution equal to the second resolution [e.g. Katsavounidis: FIG. 5]; and adding the second film grain to a denoised version of the source video to generate the first comparison video [e.g. Katsavounidis: FIG. 1-2 and 5; Oh: FIG. 1].
Regarding claim 6, Katsavounidis and Oh further disclose generating the second comparison video comprises: adding the first film grain to the decoded video to generate a renoised video, and upscaling the renoised video to generate the second comparison video [e.g. Katsavounidis: FIG. 1-2 and 5; Oh: FIG. 1].
Regarding claim 7, Katsavounidis and Oh further disclose the video quality score is computed using a video quality metric [e.g. Katsavounidis: FIG. 5; VMAF or PSNR; page 9-10 and 17].
Regarding claim 8, Katsavounidis and Oh further disclose the video quality score is computed using video multimethod assessment fusion (VMAF) [e.g. Katsavounidis: FIG. 5; VMAF].
Regarding claim 9, Katsavounidis and Oh further disclose generating at least a portion of a bitrate ladder using the video quality score [e.g. Katsavounidis: FIG. 1 and 5; VMAF; page 17; a bitrate ladder].
Regarding claim 10, Katsavounidis and Oh further disclose transmitting the encoded video to the client device based on the video quality score and a network bandwidth [e.g. Katsavounidis: FIG. 1-2 and 5; page 1-2 and 17-18; Oh: FIG. 1].
Regarding claim 11, this is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that includes same limitation as in claim 1 above, the rejection of which are incorporated herein. Furthermore, Oh teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium [e.g. [0065]; memory].
Regarding claim 12-19, this is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that includes same limitation as in claim 2-6 and 8-10 above respectively, the rejection of which are incorporated herein.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Su et al (US 20170359580 A1).
KATSAVOUNIDIS (US 20200169592 A1).
/ZHUBING REN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483