DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 01/30/2025 & 10/24/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
¶0037 of the specification recites the sentence “In instances when six images are included in a set of images of the surface of the core of the sample, each of the six images may be acquired when a different LED of the elastomeric sensing device 220.” The use of the “when” (italicized for emphasis), renders this sentence incomplete. Given the context of this sentence in reference to multiple LEDs of the elastomeric sensing device 220, the examiner believes the applicant intended to recite “…with a different LED of the elastomeric sensing device 220.”
¶0048 of the specification recites the sentence “Images 410, 420, 430, and 440 may be filtered images that were generated after applying Gaussian filters or original images 415, 425, 435, and 445.” The examiner believes applicant intended the underlined “or” was intended to recite “on”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 9, 16 & 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dvorkin et al (US 2010/0128932 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Dvorkin”, in view of Adelson et al (US 2013/0033595 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Adelson”.
Regarding claim 1, Dvorkin teach A method (methods for image segmentation [¶0037; Fig. 2] and analysis [¶0039-44; Fig. 3]) comprising:
accessing image data of a surface of a sample that includes pore spaces and portions of rock matrix (at step 40, a 2D CT scan image frame is selected [¶0037; Fig. 2], this 2D image frame being from a wellbore core comprising void spaces (pore spaces) and rock grains (rock matrix) [¶0021-23]),
applying one or more segmentation techniques on the image data (a region growing segmentation method is applied to the 2D image frame to classify pixels as either pore spaces or rock matrix [¶0023-24, 37]);
transforming the image data into a binary image that separates the pore spaces from the portions of the rock matrix based on at least one segmentation technique of the one or more segmentation techniques (thresholding is applied to bin pixel values below a certain threshold value as grains (i.e., rock matrix) while all other values are identified as pore spaces, resulting in a binary index image [¶0023-24; 37; Fig. 2]); and
identifying one or more petrophysical properties of the sample based on the binary image that separates the pore spaces from the portions of the rock matrix (the calculated porosity of the sample (obtained from the binary index image) can be used to obtain petrophysical parameters such as permeability (step 78), resistivity (step 80), and bulk, elastic, and/or shear module (step 82) [¶0044; Fig. 3]).
Dvorkin, however, utilizes CT images to segment pore and rock matrix, as opposed to images obtained by an elastomeric sensing device. Adelson, on the other hand, is analogous art pertinent to the field of endeavor of the present application and disclose a retrographic sensor for high-resolution surface imaging. Adelson teach wherein the image data is associated with data acquired by an elastomeric sensing device (Adelson: the retrographic sensor comprises a clear elastomer (i.e., an elastomeric sensing device) capable of transmitting an image [¶0065; Fig. 2], this sensor enables the visualization of the surface topography of a specimen in contact with the reflective membrane [¶0079]); based on the image data being associated with the data acquired by the elastomeric sensing device (Adelson: the retrographic sensor comprises a clear elastomer (i.e., an elastomeric sensing device) capable of transmitting an image [¶0065; Fig. 2], with examples of images obtained by the retrographic sensor illustrated in Figs. 3-5, 10-13, 15-19).
Adelson explain that their device fills a niche in providing an inexpensive and facile method for obtaining detailed measurements of surface topology [¶0007], which has uses in industrial surface inspection to quantify roughness or the presence of cracks, pits, and gouges [¶0004]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to utilize the retrographic sensor disclosed by Adelson to image wellbore core samples. This would enable accurate measurement of pore sizes and distributions to better inform the segmentation described by Dvorkin to arrive at the invention of the instant application.
Turning to claim 8, Dvorkin in view of Adelson teach The method of claim 1 (as described above), further comprising:
comparing image data associated with the one or more segmentation techniques to data indicative of at least one of depth or location of the pore spaces of the surface of the sample (Dvorkin: during region growing segmentation, initial thresholds t1 and t2 are used to initialize clusters or "seeds" (which convey location information within the image) corresponding to pore spaces and rock grains , respectively [¶0029 & 37; steps 44 & 46 of Fig. 2]); and
identifying that image data associated with a first segmentation technique of the one or more segmentation techniques corresponds to a threshold of a segmentation rule (Dvorkin: pixels adjacent to clusters are interrogated during the region growing step, and is later allocated to a cluster if it is within a certain tolerance (i.e., a certain threshold for region growing segmentation), and this process is repeated until all pixels are allocated [¶0033-35, 37; steps 48-54 of Fig. 2]), wherein the image data is transformed into the binary image based on the image data being associated with the identification that the first segmentation technique of the one or more segmentation techniques corresponds to the threshold of the segmentation rule (Dvorkin: all pixels are allocated to clusters of pores or rock matrix in a binary index based on the region growing segmentation [¶0023-24; Fig. 2]).
As for claim 9, Dvorkin teach A non-transitory computer-related storage medium having embodied thereon instructions (computer 32, which one of ordinary skill would recognize would include at least one memory, contains program instructions to perform image analysis [¶0020; Fig. 1]) that when executed by one or more processors (computer 32, which one of ordinary skill would recognize would include at least one processor [¶0020; Fig. 1]) cause the one or more processors to:
access image data of a surface of a sample that includes pore spaces and portions of rock matrix (at step 40, a 2D CT scan image frame is selected [¶0037; Fig. 2], this 2D image frame being from a wellbore core comprising void spaces (pore spaces) and rock grains (rock matrix) [¶0021-23]),
apply one or more segmentation techniques on the image data (a region growing segmentation method is applied to the 2D image frame to classify pixels as either pore spaces or rock matrix [¶0023-24, 37]);
transform the image data into a binary image that separates the pore spaces from the portions of the rock matrix based on at least one segmentation technique of the one or more segmentation techniques (thresholding is applied to bin pixel values below a certain threshold value as grains (i.e., rock matrix) while all other values are identified as pore spaces, resulting in a binary index image [¶0023-24; 37; Fig. 2]); and
identify one or more petrophysical properties of the sample based on the binary image that separates the pore spaces from the portions of the rock matrix (the calculated porosity of the sample (obtained from the binary index image) can be used to obtain petrophysical parameters such as permeability (step 78), resistivity (step 80), and bulk, elastic, and/or shear module (step 82) [¶0044; Fig. 3]).
Dvorkin, however, utilizes CT images to segment pore and rock matrix, as opposed to images obtained by an elastomeric sensing device. Adelson, on the other hand, is analogous art pertinent to the field of endeavor of the present application and disclose a retrographic sensor for high-resolution surface imaging. Adelson teach wherein the image data is associated with data acquired by an elastomeric sensing device (Adelson: the retrographic sensor comprises a clear elastomer (i.e., an elastomeric sensing device) capable of transmitting an image [¶0065; Fig. 2], this sensor enables the visualization of the surface topography of a specimen in contact with the reflective membrane [¶0079]); based on the image data being associated with the data acquired by the elastomeric sensing device (Adelson: the retrographic sensor comprises a clear elastomer (i.e., an elastomeric sensing device) capable of transmitting an image [¶0065; Fig. 2], with examples of images obtained by the retrographic sensor illustrated in Figs. 3-5, 10-13, 15-19).
Adelson explain that their device fills a niche in providing an inexpensive and facile method for obtaining detailed measurements of surface topology [¶0007], which has uses in industrial surface inspection to quantify roughness or the presence of cracks, pits, and gouges [¶0004]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to utilize the retrographic sensor disclosed by Adelson to image wellbore core samples. This would enable accurate measurement of pore sizes and distributions to better inform the segmentation described by Dvorkin to arrive at the invention of the instant application.
Concerning claim 16, Dvorkin in view of Adelson teach The non-transitory computer-related storage medium of claim 9 (outlined above), wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to:
compare image data associated with the one or more segmentation techniques to data indicative of at least one of depth or location of the pore spaces of the surface of the sample (Dvorkin: during region growing segmentation, initial thresholds t1 and t2 are used to initialize clusters or "seeds" (which convey location information within the image) corresponding to pore spaces and rock grains , respectively [¶0029 & 37; steps 44 & 46 of Fig. 2]); and
identify that image data associated with a first segmentation technique of the one or more segmentation techniques corresponds to a threshold of a segmentation rule (Dvorkin: pixels adjacent to clusters are interrogated during the region growing step, and is later allocated to a cluster if it is within a certain tolerance (i.e., a certain threshold for region growing segmentation), and this process is repeated until all pixels are allocated [¶0033-35, 37; steps 48-54 of Fig. 2]), wherein the image data is transformed into the binary image based on the image data being associated with the identification that the first segmentation technique of the one or more segmentation techniques corresponds to the threshold of the segmentation rule (Dvorkin: all pixels are allocated to clusters of pores or rock matrix in a binary index based on the region growing segmentation [¶0023-24; Fig. 2]).
Regarding claim 17, Dvorkin teach A system comprising:
a memory; and
one or more processors that execute instructions out of the memory (computer 32, which one of ordinary skill would recognize would include at least one processor and memory, contains program instructions to perform image analysis [¶0020; Fig. 1]) to:
access image data of a surface of a sample that includes pore spaces and portions of rock matrix (at step 40, a 2D CT scan image frame is selected [¶0037; Fig. 2], this 2D image frame being from a wellbore core comprising void spaces (pore spaces) and rock grains (rock matrix) [¶0021-23]),
apply one or more segmentation techniques on the image data (a region growing segmentation method is applied to the 2D image frame to classify pixels as either pore spaces or rock matrix [¶0023-24, 37]);
transform the image data into a binary image that separates the pore spaces from the portions of the rock matrix based on at least one segmentation technique of the one or more segmentation techniques (thresholding is applied to bin pixel values below a certain threshold value as grains (i.e., rock matrix) while all other values are identified as pore spaces, resulting in a binary index image [¶0023-24; 37; Fig. 2]); and
identify one or more petrophysical properties of the sample based on the binary image that separates the pore spaces from the portions of the rock matrix (the calculated porosity of the sample (obtained from the binary index image) can be used to obtain petrophysical parameters such as permeability (step 78), resistivity (step 80), and bulk, elastic, and/or shear module (step 82) [¶0044; Fig. 3]).
Dvorkin, however, utilizes CT images to segment pore and rock matrix, as opposed to images obtained by an elastomeric sensing device. Adelson, on the other hand, is analogous art pertinent to the field of endeavor of the present application and disclose a retrographic sensor for high-resolution surface imaging. Adelson teach an elastomeric sensing apparatus (Adelson: a retrographic sensor comprising a clear elastomeric surface (i.e., an elastomeric sensing device, configured as either a bench-based [Fig. 7] or portable [Fig. 8] apparatus [¶0065; 0107-112]); wherein the image data is associated with data acquired by an elastomeric sensing device (Adelson: the retrographic sensor comprises a clear elastomer (i.e., an elastomeric sensing device) capable of transmitting an image [¶0065; Fig. 2], this sensor enables the visualization of the surface topography of a specimen in contact with the reflective membrane [¶0079]); based on the image data being associated with the data acquired by the elastomeric sensing device (Adelson: the retrographic sensor comprises a clear elastomer (i.e., an elastomeric sensing device) capable of transmitting an image [¶0065; Fig. 2], with examples of images obtained by the retrographic sensor illustrated in Figs. 3-5, 10-13, 15-19).
Adelson explain that their device fills a niche in providing an inexpensive and facile method for obtaining detailed measurements of surface topology [¶0007], which has uses in industrial surface inspection to quantify roughness or the presence of cracks, pits, and gouges [¶0004]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to utilize the retrographic sensor disclosed by Adelson to image wellbore core samples. This would enable accurate measurement of pore sizes and distributions to better inform the segmentation described by Dvorkin to arrive at the invention of the instant application.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 10, 11, 18 & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dvorkin et al (US 2010/0128932 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Dvorkin”, in view of Adelson et al (US 2013/0033595 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Adelson”, further in view of Ng et al (US 9001226 B1), hereinafter referred to as “Ng”.
With respect to claim 2, Dvorkin in view of Adelson teach The method of claim 1 (described above), further comprising:
receiving data sensed by the elastomeric sensing device, wherein the sensed data includes a plurality of images of the surface of the sample and each image of the plurality of images includes light effects associated with illumination provided by the elastomeric sensing device (Adelson: Figs 3B and 3C illustrate surface images of individual balls of a ball grid obtained by a retrographic sensor, wherein speckling (a type of light effect) can be reduced by changing the illumination pattern [¶0085]);
light effects associated with the illumination provided by the elastomeric sensing device (Adelson: Figs 3B and 3C illustrate surface images of individual balls of a ball grid obtained by a retrographic sensor, wherein speckling (a type of light effect) can be reduced by changing the illumination pattern [¶0085]).
Dvorkin, nor Adelson describe a process for filtering the data for reducing lighting effects as a result of the illumination. Ng, on the other hand, is analogous art pertinent to the realm of endeavor of the present application and describe a process for obtaining a plurality of images under different lighting conditions and filtering and combining them to generate a relighted image. Ng teach applying a filter function on the data sensed by the elastomeric sensing device to reduce the light effects associated with the illumination (Ng: a low-pass filter is applied to minimize variations in image brightness [col. 30, ln. 47-57; Figs. 10A-E]); and
generating a combined image based on the application of the filter function that reduces the light effects associated with the illumination (Ng: relighted images (i.e., combined images) are generated by assembling various portions of captured images with different lighting conditions [col. 21, ln. 29-47] exemplified by Figs. 10A-E showing examples of relighted images with sufficient filtering [col. 30, ln. 47-57]).
Ng emphasize the flexibility of their invention, being able to be implemented across a variety of contexts for subjects of varying scales and surfaces with different reflectance properties [col. 31, ln. 21-29], and that the generation of a combined image with various filters applied enables a user to sharpen or flatten the resultant image [col. 1-2, ln. 57-67, 1-4]. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the advantage of implementing Ng's filtering to generate a relighted image with the imaging system of Dvorkin in view of Adelson to account for differences in illumination conditions to arrive at the invention of the instant application.
Concerning claim 3, Dvorkin in view of Adelson, further in view of Ng teach The method of claim 2 (described above), wherein the illumination of each respective image of the plurality of images is provided at a different angle relative to a reference orientation of the sample (Adelson: illumination can be provided at various angles to achieve a grazing angle, with Fig. 2B and 2C showing illumination angles either incident with or parallel to the surface [¶0083; Fig. 2]).
Adelson explain that their device fills a niche in providing an inexpensive and facile method for obtaining detailed measurements of surface topology [¶0007], which has uses in industrial surface inspection to quantify roughness or the presence of cracks, pits, and gouges [¶0004]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to utilize the retrographic sensor disclosed by Adelson to image wellbore core samples at varying angles of illumination. This would enable accurate measurement of pore sizes and distributions to better inform the segmentation described by Dvorkin to arrive at the invention of the instant application.
Considering claim 10, Dvorkin in view of Adelson teach The non-transitory computer-related storage medium of claim 9 (described previously), wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to:
receive data sensed by the elastomeric sensing device, wherein the sensed data includes a plurality of images of the surface of the sample and each image of the plurality of images includes light effects associated with illumination provided by the elastomeric sensing device (Adelson: Figs 3B and 3C illustrate surface images of individual balls of a ball grid obtained by a retrographic sensor, wherein speckling (a type of light effect) can be reduced by changing the illumination pattern [¶0085]);
light effects associated with the illumination provided by the elastomeric sensing device (Adelson: Figs 3B and 3C illustrate surface images of individual balls of a ball grid obtained by a retrographic sensor, wherein speckling (a type of light effect) can be reduced by changing the illumination pattern [¶0085]).
Dvorkin, nor Adelson describe a process for filtering the data for reducing lighting effects as a result of the illumination. Ng, on the other hand, is analogous art pertinent to the realm of endeavor of the present application and describe a process for obtaining a plurality of images under different lighting conditions and filtering and combining them to generate a relighted image. Ng teach apply a filter function on the data sensed by the elastomeric sensing device to reduce the light effects associated with the illumination (Ng: a low-pass filter is applied to minimize variations in image brightness [col. 30, ln. 47-57; Figs. 10A-E]); and
generate a combined image based on the application of the filter function that reduces the light effects associated with the illumination (Ng: relighted images (i.e., combined images) are generated by assembling various portions of captured images with different lighting conditions [col. 21, ln. 29-47] exemplified by Figs. 10A-E showing examples of relighted images with sufficient filtering [col. 30, ln. 47-57]).
Ng emphasize the flexibility of their invention, being able to be implemented across a variety of contexts for subjects of varying scales and surfaces with different reflectance properties [col. 31, ln. 21-29], and that the generation of a combined image with various filters applied enables a user to sharpen or flatten the resultant image [col. 1-2, ln. 57-67, 1-4]. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the advantage of implementing Ng's filtering to generate a relighted image with the imaging system of Dvorkin in view of Adelson to account for differences in illumination conditions to arrive at the invention of the instant application.
With respect to claim 11, Dvorkin in view of Adelson, further in view of Ng teach The non-transitory computer-related storage medium of claim 10 (described above), wherein the illumination of each respective image of the plurality of images is provided at a different angle relative to a reference orientation of the sample (Adelson: illumination can be provided at various angles to achieve a grazing angle, with Fig. 2B and 2C showing illumination angles either incident with or parallel to the surface [¶0083; Fig. 2]).
Adelson explain that their device fills a niche in providing an inexpensive and facile method for obtaining detailed measurements of surface topology [¶0007], which has uses in industrial surface inspection to quantify roughness or the presence of cracks, pits, and gouges [¶0004]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to utilize the retrographic sensor disclosed by Adelson to image wellbore core samples at varying angles of illumination. This would enable accurate measurement of pore sizes and distributions to better inform the segmentation described by Dvorkin to arrive at the invention of the instant application.
As for claim 18, Dvorkin in view of Adelson teach The system of claim 17 (as previously described), wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to:
receive data sensed by the elastomeric sensing device, wherein the sensed data includes a plurality of images of the surface of the sample and each image of the plurality of images includes light effects associated with illumination provided by the elastomeric sensing device (Adelson: Figs 3B and 3C illustrate surface images of individual balls of a ball grid obtained by a retrographic sensor, wherein speckling (a type of light effect) can be reduced by changing the illumination pattern [¶0085]);
light effects associated with the illumination provided by the elastomeric sensing device (Adelson: Figs 3B and 3C illustrate surface images of individual balls of a ball grid obtained by a retrographic sensor, wherein speckling (a type of light effect) can be reduced by changing the illumination pattern [¶0085]).
Dvorkin, nor Adelson describe a process for filtering the data for reducing lighting effects as a result of the illumination. Ng, on the other hand, is analogous art pertinent to the realm of endeavor of the present application and describe a process for obtaining a plurality of images under different lighting conditions and filtering and combining them to generate a relighted image. Ng teach apply a filter function on the data sensed by the elastomeric sensing device to reduce the light effects associated with the illumination (Ng: a low-pass filter is applied to minimize variations in image brightness [col. 30, ln. 47-57; Figs. 10A-E]); and
generate a combined image based on the application of the filter function that reduces the light effects associated with the illumination (Ng: relighted images (i.e., combined images) are generated by assembling various portions of captured images with different lighting conditions [col. 21, ln. 29-47] exemplified by Figs. 10A-E showing examples of relighted images with sufficient filtering [col. 30, ln. 47-57]).
Ng emphasize the flexibility of their invention, being able to be implemented across a variety of contexts for subjects of varying scales and surfaces with different reflectance properties [col. 31, ln. 21-29], and that the generation of a combined image with various filters applied enables a user to sharpen or flatten the resultant image [col. 1-2, ln. 57-67, 1-4]. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the advantage of implementing Ng's filtering to generate a relighted image with the imaging system of Dvorkin in view of Adelson to account for differences in illumination conditions to arrive at the invention of the instant application.
Regarding claim 19, Dvorkin in view of Adelson, further in view of Ng The system of claim 18 (outlined above), wherein the illumination of each respective image of the plurality of images is provided at a different angle relative to a reference orientation of the sample (Adelson: illumination can be provided at various angles to achieve a grazing angle, with Fig. 2B and 2C showing illumination angles either incident with or parallel to the surface [¶0083; Fig. 2]).
Adelson explain that their device fills a niche in providing an inexpensive and facile method for obtaining detailed measurements of surface topology [¶0007], which has uses in industrial surface inspection to quantify roughness or the presence of cracks, pits, and gouges [¶0004]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to utilize the retrographic sensor disclosed by Adelson to image wellbore core samples at varying angles of illumination. This would enable accurate measurement of pore sizes and distributions to better inform the segmentation described by Dvorkin to arrive at the invention of the instant application.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 14 & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dvorkin et al (US 2010/0128932 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Dvorkin”, in view of Adelson et al (US 2013/0033595 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Adelson”, further in Su et al (US 2021/0407062 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Su”.
Considering claim 6, Dvorkin in view of Adelson teach The method of claim 1 (as described previously), further comprising:
receiving data sensed by the elastomeric sensing device, wherein the sensed data includes a plurality of images of the surface of the sample (Adelson: Figs 3B and 3C illustrate surface images of individual balls of a ball grid obtained by a retrographic sensor, wherein speckling (a type of light effect) can be reduced by changing the illumination pattern [¶0085]); and
from the data sensed by the elastomeric sensing device (Adelson: the retrographic sensor comprises a clear elastomer (i.e., an elastomeric sensing device) can transmit an image [¶0065; Fig. 2]).
Adelson, however, fails to disclose generating a combined image. Su, on the other hand, is analogous art pertinent to the field of endeavor of the present application and describe a process for detecting image features (particularly product defects) by generating a multi-channel image. More particularly, Su teach generating one or more combined images (Su: multiple images or video of a product under different types of lighting conditions at different angles are acquired, and provided to an image merging module to merge the images or frames of a video to acquire a multi-channel image of the target product [¶0077-78; Figs. 3 & 4]).
Su explain that their invention leverages information acquired across the plurality of image channels, as well as the correlation between image channels to improve overall defect detection accuracy [¶0049]. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, instead of utilizing these multi-channel images for defect detection, they can instead be applied to pore detection as taught by Dvorkin in view of Adelson to leverage features from both surface and depth images for accurate pore detection.
As for claim 7, Dvorkin in view of Adelson, further in view of Su teach The method of claim 6 (described above), wherein the one or more combined images includes a depth image and an image of the surface of the sample (Su: five images of the target are collected (construed as a "image of the surface of the sample" as any image of an object would convey the surface), as well a 3D information of the target conveying surface depth for a pixel in an image (i.e., a depth image) to obtain a 6-channel (i.e., combined) image [¶0069]).
Su explain that their invention leverages information acquired across the plurality of image channels, as well as the correlation between image channels to improve overall defect detection accuracy [0049]. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, instead of utilizing these multi-channel images for defect detection, they can instead be applied to pore detection as taught by Dvorkin in view of Adelson to leverage features from both surface and depth images for accurate pore detection.
Turning to claim 14, Dvorkin in view of Adelson teach The non-transitory computer-related storage medium of claim 9 (described previously), wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to:
receive data sensed by the elastomeric sensing device, wherein the sensed data includes a plurality of images of the surface of the sample (Adelson: Figs 3B and 3C illustrate surface images of individual balls of a ball grid obtained by a retrographic sensor, wherein speckling (a type of light effect) can be reduced by changing the illumination pattern [¶0085]); and
from the data sensed by the elastomeric sensing device (Adelson: the retrographic sensor comprises a clear elastomer (i.e., an elastomeric sensing device) can transmit an image [¶0065; Fig. 2]).
Adelson, however, fails to disclose generating a combined image. Su, on the other hand, is analogous art pertinent to the field of endeavor of the present application and describe a process for detecting image features (particularly product defects) by generating a multi-channel image. More particularly, Su teach generate one or more combined images (Su: multiple images or video of a product under different types of lighting conditions at different angles are acquired, and provided to an image merging module to merge the images or frames of a video to acquire a multi-channel image of the target product [¶0077-78; Figs. 3 & 4]).
Su explain that their invention leverages information acquired across the plurality of image channels, as well as the correlation between image channels to improve overall defect detection accuracy [¶0049]. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, instead of utilizing these multi-channel images for defect detection, they can instead be applied to pore detection as taught by Dvorkin in view of Adelson to leverage features from both surface and depth images for accurate pore detection.
Concerning claim 15, Dvorkin in view of Adelson, further in view of Su teach The non-transitory computer-related storage medium of claim 14 (described above), wherein the one or more combined images includes a depth image and an image of the surface of the sample (Su: five images of the target are collected (construed as a "image of the surface of the sample" as any image of an object would convey the surface), as well a 3D information of the target conveying surface depth for a pixel in an image (i.e., a depth image) to obtain a 6-channel (i.e., combined) image [¶0069]).
Su explain that their invention leverages information acquired across the plurality of image channels, as well as the correlation between image channels to improve overall defect detection accuracy [0049]. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, instead of utilizing these multi-channel images for defect detection, they can instead be applied to pore detection as taught by Dvorkin in view of Adelson to leverage features from both surface and depth images for accurate pore detection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 12-13 & 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, the primary reason for indication of allowable subject matter is that the prior art neither teach nor fail to suggest a process of repeatedly applying a filtering function with different values of a variable to result in a level of blur in a combined image corresponding to a filtration rule. The closest cited prior art, Ng, relied upon for teaching the application of a filtering function to reduce lighting effects and to generate a combined image, fails to disclose performing a parameter sweep of their low-pass filter to achieve a desired level of blurring. The closest art of record, Chen et al (“An Empirical Identification Method of Gaussian Blur Parameter for Image Deblurring”, 2009, IEEE) detail performing a parameter sweep to achieve an optimal blur parameter sigma, however this is only applied to a singular image, and fails to generate a combined image based on their filtering for blur removal.
The same analysis outlined above can be applied to claims 12 & 20, which recite substantially identical subject matter.
Claims 5 & 13 would be allowable by virtue of their dependence on claims 4 & 12, respectively, which were indicated to contain allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hurley et al (US 2012/0275658 A1) describe a method for analyzing petrographic images to segment images into grains and pores to determine capillary pressure
Zhao et al (US 2020/0005013 A1) provide a workflow for obtaining parameters of a rock texture via clustering and watershedding to locate pore and grain sizes and distributions.
Yang et al (US 2026/0044654 A1) outline a method for scanning wellbore cores via CT to generate a binary representation to simulate the pore network.
Koroteev et al (US 2015/0262417 A1) provide a method for reconstructing a 3D model of a rock sample via X-ray/CT image data to resolve sample porosity.
Zhang et al (“An innovative image-based workflow for quantitative pore structure characterization in reservoir rocks”, 2021, Journal of Petroleum Science and Engineering) provide a detailed method for resolving connectivity of pores in rock matrix.
Han et al (“Automatic Illumination and Color Compensation Using Mean Shift and Sigma Filter”, 2009, IEEE) describe a process for correcting lighting effects using gaussian filtering.
/MICHAEL M SOFRONIOU/Examiner, Art Unit 2661
/JOHN VILLECCO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2661