DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 remain for examination. Applicant's arguments filed on 07/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejections are maintained and incorporated by reference the last Office action on 04/29/2026. Accordingly, this action has been made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Tenenboym U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20160127131 A1 (hereinafter " Tenenboym").
As to claim 1, Tenenboym teaches a computer-implemented method for content origin verification, comprising (Tenenboym Pa. [0002]) [manage digital signature verification for documents managed by that application]: obtaining a signing certificate for a peripheral input device (Tenenboym Pa. [0063]) [a trusted certificate authority (CA) may issue a digital certificate that cryptographically binds the signing individual or entity to the signer's public key]; receiving input data from the peripheral input device and a digest associated with the input data (Tenenboym, Fig. 2, ) [In Fig. 2 the validation server 170 receives from computing device 100 a message digest 150 new digest 150 of electronic document 120. Computing device 100 extracts digital signature block 130 from signed electronic document 120 and sends a request 160 to validation server 170 to validate the digital signature for the signed document] [0001] [electronic devices that receive, send, generate and validate electronic documents. When a signed electronic document is received by an electronic device, the electronic signature on the received document may require validation, and the document may be checked for authenticity. An electronic signature may include a digest or hash of the signed document.]; processing the received input data as standard input; and verifying an origin of the standard input (Tenenboym, Fig. 2, Pa. [0040]) [The public-key infrastructure allows the signer of, or a distributor of, the electronic document 120 signed by the signer to prove that the original electronic document 120, whose representation is currently being accessed via computing device 100, really was signed by the signer, so that signed electronic document 120 may be taken as being authentic], the verifying including applying the signing certificate for the peripheral input device to the digest and checking contents of the digest against the standard input (Tenenboym, Fig. 2, Pa. [0051]) [computing device 100 sends a request 160 to separate validation server 170 to validate digital signature 130. Request 160 includes at least digital signature 130 and new message digest 150 of electronic document 150,] [0025] [The validation server 170 validate the digital signature block and provides validation results 180 to computing device 100. Since validation server 170 was supplied the new digest 150 with request 160, computing device 100 dos not need to transfer the entire electronic document 120 to validation server 170 to have the digital signature for document 120 validated,]
As to claim 2, Tenenboym teaches wherein receiving the digest associated with the input data includes applying a data reducing schema to the digest to reduce a data transmission rate of the digest from the peripheral input device to an input receiving device connected to the peripheral input device (Tenenboym, Fig. 2, Pa. [0025]) [computing device 100 dos not need to transfer the entire electronic document 120 to validation server 170 to have the digital signature for document 120 validated, saving considerable data transmission bandwidth]
As to claim 3, Tenenboym teaches wherein a portion of the input data is received from the peripheral input device without an in-line digest, and wherein an additional digest for the portion of the input data without the in-line digest is received from the peripheral input device (Tenenboym, Fig. 2, Pa. [0025]) [Computing device 100 may calculate a new digest 150 of electronic document 120. Computing device 100 extracts digital signature block 130 from signed electronic document 120 and sends a request 160 to validation server 170 to validate the digital signature for the signed document 120. The request 160 includes digital signature block 130, new digest 150]
As to claim 4, Tenenboym teaches wherein the digest is received from the peripheral input device in response to an input prompt or a defined input interval of user input entered via the peripheral input device (Tenenboym, Fig. 2, Pa. [0024]) [Electronic document 120 itself may, according to some embodiments, have originated or been created on a device separate from computing device 100 at any time during the period preceding the invocation of the distributed validation methods described herein]
As to claim 5, Tenenboym teaches wherein the input data is generated based on user input entered via the peripheral input device (Tenenboym, Fig. 2, Pa. [0030]) [entity signing electronic document 120 with digital signature 130 may be a person who signs electronic document 120 by generating digital signature 130 for electronic document 120 via a computing device]
As to claim 6, Tenenboym teaches wherein the peripheral input device is a keyboard and the user input is one or more keystrokes, and wherein the digest associated with the input data is produced based, at least in part, on: generating a scan code for a keystroke; copying the scan code; adding a salt to the copy of the scan code; and signing the salted copy of the scan code to produce the digest (Tenenboym, Fig. 5, item 570)
As to claim 7, Tenenboym teaches wherein signing the input data to produce the digest associated with the input data includes signing the input data with a private key (Tenenboym, Fig. 2, Pa. [0040]) [any of numerous public-key encryption algorithms of the public-key infrastructure (PKI) may be applied to message digest 140 to generate digital signature 130. Two mathematically paired keys, a private key and a public key, may be used in conjunction with any of numerous known public-key algorithms in generating the digital signature and in decrypting the digital signature thus generated] with a public certificate for the peripheral input device (Tenenboym, Fig. 2, Pa. [0063]) [The digital certificate may combine the signer's public key with identity information associated with the signer, and with other auxiliary data related to users or systems or processes.]
As to claim 8, Tenenboym teaches wherein processing the received input data as the standard input includes applying an interrupt handler routine, the interrupt handler routine including: reading the received input data to obtain one or more input characters; writing the one or more input characters as the standard input; and writing the digest to a standard certification input associated with the digest standard input (Tenenboym, Fig. 2, Pa. [0002]) [computer may be capable of managing signature validation, digital signing, and encryption and decryption of PDF documents. Public-key encryption, digital]
As to claim 9, Tenenboym teaches wherein verifying the origin of the standard input further includes: decrypting the digest with the signing certificate; discarding a salt included in the digest to desalt the digest; and checking the standard input against the decrypted and desalted digest (Tenenboym, Fig. 2, Pa. [0059]) [apply to the appropriate representation (decrypted or encrypted, depending on how the digest was calculated for the signature) of electronic document 120]
As to claim 10, Tenenboym teaches further comprising: representing verified origins of the standard input in a user interface of an input receiving device connected to the peripheral input device (Tenenboym, Fig. 2, Pa. [0021]) [Signed document source 200 may also be a computing device intermediating between the signer whose digital signature 130 accompanies electronic document 120 and computing device 100, which receives signed electronic document 120]
As to claim 11, Tenenboym teaches further comprising: saving a file with verified origins of the standard input with a copy of the associated digests and a copy of the signing certificate (Tenenboym, Fig. 2, Pa. [0021]) [data update from signed document source 200 to computing device 100, where the new data or data update includes at least signed electronic document 120.]
As to claim 12, Tenenboym teaches further comprising: executing a verification of the origin of contents included in the file by at least one of a program, an interface, or an application as part of displaying, processing, or manipulating the file (Tenenboym, Fig. 5, item 580)
As to claims 13 and 17, claims 13 and 17 recite the claimed that respectively contain similar limitations as claim 1; therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale.
As to claims 14 and 18, claims 14 and 18 recite the claimed that respectively contain similar limitations as claim 5; therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale.
As to claims 15 and 19, claims 15 and 19 recite the claimed that respectively contain similar limitations as claim 6; therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale.
As to claims 16 and 20, claims 16 and 20 recite the claimed that respectively contain similar limitations as claim 12; therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
Arguments
It is argued that:
The Current Office Action alleged that Tenenboym discloses the following limitations of independent claim 1 (and similarly independent claims 13 and 17): "obtaining a signing certificate for a peripheral input device (Tenenboym Pa. [0063]) [a trusted certificate authority (CA) may issue a digital certificate that cryptographically binds the signing individual or entity to the signer's public key]".1 Applicant respectfully disagrees.
Applicant initially notes that the above recited limitations recite "obtaining a signing certificate for a peripheral input device" (emphasis added). According to Applicant's specification, a peripheral input device is defined as "an auxiliary hardware or software device that an information processing system uses to receive information such as text, characters, or command input".2 Applicant's specification further provides examples of peripheral input devices, such as a keyboard (physical or virtual) or pointing devices, such as computer mice or trackpads.3
On the other hand, Tenenboym discloses that "a trusted certificate authority (CA) may issue a digital certificate that cryptographically binds the signing individual or entity to the signer's public key". Tenenboym further discloses that "[t]he entity signing electronic document 120 with digital signature 130 may be a person who signs electronic document 120 by generating digital signature 130 for electronic document via a computing device" or alternatively "the agent signing electronic document 120 with digital signature may only be a machine" and that the "[d]igital signature 130 itself may be generated by the signer, whether the signer is a human or a machine". Thus, although Tenenboym may disclose that the signing entity of a digital signature 130 can be a person or a machine, and that the digital certificate is issued for a person or machine, Tenenboym fails to specifically disclose that the machine is a peripheral input device. Accordingly, Tenenboym fails to disclose "obtaining a signing certificate for a peripheral input device" (emphasis added).
The Current Office Action further alleged that Tenenboym discloses the following limitations of independent claim 1:
verifying an origin of the standard input (Tenenboym, Fig. 2, Pa. [0040] [The public-key infrastructure allows the signer of, or a distributor of, the electronic document 120 signed by the signer to prove that the original electronic document 120 whose representation is currently being accessed via computing device 100, really was signed by the signer, so that signed electronic document 120 may be taken as being authentic], the verifying including applying the signing certificate.
for the peripheral input device to the digest and checking contents of the digest against the standard input (Tenenboym, Fig. 2, Pa. [0051] [computing device 100 sends a request 160 to separate validation server 170 to validate digital signature 130. Request 160 includes at least digital signature 130 and new message digest 150 of electronic document 150] [0025] [The validation server 170 validate[s] the digital signature block and provides validation results 180 to computing device 100.
Since validation server 170 was supplied the new digest 150 with request 160, computing device do[e]s not need to transfer the entire electronic document 120 to validation server 170 to have the digital signature for document 120 validated]
(underlining original).4
Applicant respectfully disagrees.
As previously discussed above, Tenenboym fails to disclose "obtaining a signing certificate (e.g., a digital certificate) for a peripheral input device" (emphasis added). Based on the foregoing, Tenenboym is therefore incapable of disclosing "verifying an origin of the standard input, the verifying including applying the signing certificate for the peripheral input device to the digest and checking contents of the digest against the standard input" since verifying the origin of the standard input (i.e., the input data received from the peripheral input device) requires the signing certificate for the peripheral input device to be applied to the digest.
Applicant, therefore, respectfully submits that the imposed rejection of independent claims 1, 13, and 17 (and dependent claims 2-12, 14-16, and 18-20 via their respective dependencies thereon) under 35 U.S.C. 102 for anticipation based upon Tenenboym is not viable, and hence, Applicant solicits withdrawal thereof.
the claimed limitations of claim 1 “a computer-implemented method for content origin verification, comprising (Tenenboym Pa. [0002]) [manage digital signature verification for documents managed by that application]: obtaining a signing certificate for a peripheral input device (Tenenboym Pa. [0063]) [a trusted certificate authority (CA) may issue a digital certificate that cryptographically binds the signing individual or entity to the signer's public key]; receiving input data from the peripheral input device and a digest associated with the input data (Tenenboym, Fig. 2, ) [In Fig. 2 the validation server 170 receives from computing device 100 a message digest 150 new digest 150 of electronic document 120. Computing device 100 extracts digital signature block 130 from signed electronic document 120 and sends a request 160 to validation server 170 to validate the digital signature for the signed document] [0001] [electronic devices that receive, send, generate and validate electronic documents. When a signed electronic document is received by an electronic device, the electronic signature on the received document may require validation, and the document may be checked for authenticity. An electronic signature may include a digest or hash of the signed document.]; processing the received input data as standard input; and verifying an origin of the standard input (Tenenboym, Fig. 2, Pa. [0040]) [The public-key infrastructure allows the signer of, or a distributor of, the electronic document 120 signed by the signer to prove that the original electronic document 120, whose representation is currently being accessed via computing device 100, really was signed by the signer, so that signed electronic document 120 may be taken as being authentic], the verifying including applying the signing certificate for the peripheral input device to the digest and checking contents of the digest against the standard input (Tenenboym, Fig. 2, Pa. [0051]) [computing device 100 sends a request 160 to separate validation server 170 to validate digital signature 130. Request 160 includes at least digital signature 130 and new message digest 150 of electronic document 150,] [0025] [The validation server 170 validate the digital signature block and provides validation results 180 to computing device 100. Since validation server 170 was supplied the new digest 150 with request 160, computing device 100 dos not need to transfer the entire electronic document 120 to validation server 170 to have the digital signature for document 120 validated,]
It is argued that:
The Current Office Action alleged that Tenenboym discloses the following limitations of dependent claim 2: "wherein receiving the digest associated with the input data includes applying a data reducing schema to the digest to reduce a data transmission rate of the digest from the peripheral input device to an input receiving device connected to the peripheral input device (Tenenboym, Fig. 2, Pa. [0025]) [computing device 100 do[e]s not need to transfer the entire electronic document 120 to validation server 170 to have the digital signature for document 120 validated, saving considerable data transmission bandwidth".5 Applicant respectfully disagrees.
Applicant initially notes that the limitations of claim 2 are directed towards applying a data reducing schema to a digest and not the input data (e.g., the electronic document 120) itself. On the other hand, Tenenboym discloses that the "computing device 100 do[e]s not need to transfer the entire electronic document 120 to validation server 170 to have the digital signature for document 120 validated" (emphasis added). Thus, even assuming, arguendo, that not transferring the entire electronic document 120 to the validation server 170 to have the digital signature for document 120 validated is equivalent to Applicant's "data reducing schema", Tenenboym would still fail to disclose that this data reducing schema is applied to reduce a data transmission rate of a digest (e.g., message digest 140 or new message digest 150).
Based on the foregoing, Applicant, therefore, respectfully submits that the imposed rejection of claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 102 for anticipation based upon Tenenboym is not viable, and hence, Applicant solicits withdrawal thereof.
Examiner’s response:
In response to applicant's argument, Examiner respectfully submits that claimed limitation is to be given their broadest reasonable interpretation during prosecution, and the scope of a claim cannot be narrowed by reading disclosed limitations into the claim. See In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054, 44 USPQ2D 1023, 1027 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321, 13 USPQ2D 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404, 162 USPQ 541,550 (CCPA 1969). In addition, the law of anticipation does not require that a reference "teach" what an appellant's disclosure teaches. Assuming that reference is properly "prior art,'" it is only necessary that the claims "read on" something disclosed in the reference, i.e., all limitations of the claim are found in the reference, or "fully met" by it. Kalman v. Kimberly-Clark Corp., 713 F.2d 760, 772, 218 USPQ 781,789 (Fed. Cir. 1983). In this case, Tenenboym discloses wherein receiving the digest associated with the input data includes applying a data reducing schema to the digest to reduce a data transmission rate of the digest from the peripheral input device to an input receiving device connected to the peripheral input device (Tenenboym, Fig. 2, Pa. [0025]) [computing device 100 dos not need to transfer the entire electronic document 120 to validation server 170 to have the digital signature for document 120 validated, saving considerable data transmission bandwidth]
It is argued that:
The Current Office Action alleged that Tenenboym discloses the following limitations of dependent claim 4: "wherein the digest is received from the peripheral input device in response to an input prompt or a defined input interval of user input entered via the peripheral input device (Tenenboym, Fig. 2, Pa. [0024]) [Electronic document 120 itself may, according to some embodiments, have originated or been created on a device separate from computing device 100 at any time during the period preceding the invocation of the distributed validation methods described herein]".6 Applicant respectfully disagrees.
Applicant notes that the above referenced portion of paragraph [0024] of Tenenboym has nothing to do with when a digest (e.g., message digest 140 or new message digest 150) is received by computing device 100 from some other computing device (e.g., a peripheral input device). Rather, the above referenced portion of Tenenboym merely discloses where an electronic document 120 (which is separate from the message digest 140 or new message digest 150) may have originated or been created on a different computing device than computing device 100. In other words, Tenenboym discloses that the electronic document 120 may be received on computing device 100 from some other computing device. Accordingly, Tenenboym fails to disclose that "the digest is received from the peripheral input device in response to an input prompt or a defined input interval of user input entered via the peripheral input device" (emphasis added).
Based on the foregoing, Applicant, therefore, respectfully submits that the imposed rejection of claim 4 under 35 U.S.C. 102 for anticipation based upon Tenenboym is not viable, and hence, Applicant solicits withdrawal thereof.
Examiner’s response:
In response to applicant's argument, Examiner respectfully submits that claimed limitation is to be given their broadest reasonable interpretation during prosecution, and the scope of a claim cannot be narrowed by reading disclosed limitations into the claim. See In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054, 44 USPQ2D 1023, 1027 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321, 13 USPQ2D 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404, 162 USPQ 541,550 (CCPA 1969). In addition, the law of anticipation does not require that a reference "teach" what an appellant's disclosure teaches. Assuming that reference is properly "prior art,'" it is only necessary that the claims "read on" something disclosed in the reference, i.e., all limitations of the claim are found in the reference, or "fully met" by it. Kalman v. Kimberly-Clark Corp., 713 F.2d 760, 772, 218 USPQ 781,789 (Fed. Cir. 1983). In this case, Tenenboym discloses wherein the digest is received from the peripheral input device in response to an input prompt or a defined input interval of user input entered via the peripheral input device (Tenenboym, Fig. 2, Pa. [0024]) [Electronic document 120 itself may, according to some embodiments, have originated or been created on a device separate from computing device 100 at any time during the period preceding the invocation of the distributed validation methods described herein]
It is argued that:
The Current Office Action alleged that Tenenboym discloses the following limitations of dependent claim 6: "wherein the peripheral input device is a keyboard and the user input is one or more keystrokes, and wherein the digest associated with the input data is produced based, at least in part, on: generating a scan code for a keystroke; copying the scan code; adding a salt to the copy of the scan code; and signing the salted copy of the scan code to produce the digest".7 Applicant respectfully disagrees.
Applicant notes that Tenenboym is completely silent as to generating a digest associated with input data based on (i) generating a scan code for a keystroke, (ii) copying the scan code, (iii) adding a salt to the copy of the scan code; and (iv) signing the salted copy of the scan code. The absence of the disclosure of the aforementioned steps by Tenenboym is further bolstered by the fact that the Current Office Action merely cites a generic computing system including input/output devices 550, such as a keyboard 570, as support for the disclosure of these limitations. Additionally, Applicant conducted a cursory keyword search for the elements "scan code" and "salt" and was unable to identify a single instance where Tenenboym discloses either of these elements (or elements of similar meaning). Accordingly, Tenenboym fails to disclose "wherein the peripheral input device is a keyboard and the user input is one or more keystrokes, and wherein the digest associated with the input data is produced based, at least in part, on: generating a scan
code for a keystroke; copying the scan code; adding a salt to the copy of the scan code; and signing the salted copy of the scan code to produce the digest" (emphasis added).
Based on the foregoing, Applicant, therefore, respectfully submits that the imposed rejection of claim 6 under 35 U.S.C. 102 for anticipation based upon Tenenboym is not viable, and hence, Applicant solicits withdrawal thereof.
Examiner’s response:
In response to applicant's argument, Examiner respectfully submits that claimed limitation is to be given their broadest reasonable interpretation during prosecution, and the scope of a claim cannot be narrowed by reading disclosed limitations into the claim. See In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054, 44 USPQ2D 1023, 1027 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321, 13 USPQ2D 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404, 162 USPQ 541,550 (CCPA 1969). In addition, the law of anticipation does not require that a reference "teach" what an appellant's disclosure teaches. Assuming that reference is properly "prior art,'" it is only necessary that the claims "read on" something disclosed in the reference, i.e., all limitations of the claim are found in the reference, or "fully met" by it. Kalman v. Kimberly-Clark Corp., 713 F.2d 760, 772, 218 USPQ 781,789 (Fed. Cir. 1983). In this case, Tenenboym discloses wherein the peripheral input device is a keyboard and the user input is one or more keystrokes, and wherein the digest associated with the input data is produced based, at least in part, on: generating a scan code for a keystroke; copying the scan code; adding a salt to the copy of the scan code; and signing the salted copy of the scan code to produce the digest (Tenenboym, Fig. 5, item 570)
It is argued that:
The Current Office Action alleged that Tenenboym discloses the following limitations of dependent claim 9: "wherein verifying the origin of the standard input further includes: decrypting the digest with the signing certificate; discarding a salt included in the digest to desalt the digest; and checking the standard input against the decrypted and desalted digest (Tenenboym, Fig. 2, Pa. [0059]) [apply to the appropriate representation (decrypted or encrypted, depending on how the digest was calculated for the signature) of electronic document 120]".8 Applicant respectfully disagrees.
As previously discussed above with respect to claim 6, Tenenboym fails to disclose generating a digest associated with input data based on adding a salt to the digest. Based on the foregoing, Tenenboym is therefore incapable of disclosing "discarding a salt included in the digest to desalt the digest" since the act of discarding a salt from the digest requires that the salt be added to the digest in the first place. Accordingly, Tenenboym fails to disclose "wherein verifying the origin of the standard input further includes: decrypting the digest with the signing certificate; discarding a salt included in the digest to desalt the digest; and checking the standard input against the decrypted and desalted digest" (emphasis added).
Examiner’s response:
In response to applicant's argument, Examiner respectfully submits that claimed limitation is to be given their broadest reasonable interpretation during prosecution, and the scope of a claim cannot be narrowed by reading disclosed limitations into the claim. See In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054, 44 USPQ2D 1023, 1027 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321, 13 USPQ2D 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404, 162 USPQ 541,550 (CCPA 1969). In addition, the law of anticipation does not require that a reference "teach" what an appellant's disclosure teaches. Assuming that reference is properly "prior art,'" it is only necessary that the claims "read on" something disclosed in the reference, i.e., all limitations of the claim are found in the reference, or "fully met" by it. Kalman v. Kimberly-Clark Corp., 713 F.2d 760, 772, 218 USPQ 781,789 (Fed. Cir. 1983). In this case, Tenenboym discloses representing verified origins of the standard input in a user interface of an input receiving device connected to the peripheral input device (Tenenboym, Fig. 2, Pa. [0021]) [Signed document source 200 may also be a computing device intermediating between the signer whose digital signature 130 accompanies electronic document 120 and computing device 100, which receives signed electronic document 120]
a Personal Identification Code message.]
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EVANS DESROSIERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2491