DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The Specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. MPEP § 608.01
Claim Status and Claim Objections (minor informalities)
Claims 1-20 are currently being examined.
The Preamble of Claim 1 states “An automated container storage and retrieval system:”. The Preamble of Claim 2 states: “The automated order fulfillment system of claim 1” which requires correction to reference the system set forth in Claim 1. Each of claims 3-10 requires correction of their respective preambles to reflect the appropriate system named in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lert, Jr. et al (US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0270591).
With respect to independent Claim 1, Lert, Jr. et al discloses the limitations of independent claim 1 as follows:
An automated container storage and retrieval system, comprising:
mobile robots configured to transport containers configured to support products; (See Pars. 0211; Figs. 1A, 1B; Ref. Numerals "totes"(containers), "mobile robots"(mobile robots)
a storage structure accessible by the mobile robots, (See Pars. 0211, 0212; Figs. 1A, 1B, 2; Ref. Numerals 12,32(storage structure), "mobile robots"(mobile robots)
wherein the storage structure comprises multiple vertically spaced levels that each comprise multiple aisles, (See Pars. 0211, 0212; Figs. 1A, 1B, 2; Ref. Numerals 12,32(storage structure), "mobile robots"(mobile robots)
wherein each of the multiple aisles comprise storage locations configured to store a container of the containers; (See Pars. 0216; Figs. 6A, 6B ; Ref. Numerals 152(storage structure), "totes"(containers), "mobile robots"(mobile robots), "aisle"(aisles)
workstations cooperated with the storage structure and accessible by the mobile robots, (See Pars. 0216; Figs. 6A, 6B ; Ref. Numerals 152(storage structure), 156(workstations), "mobile robots"(mobile robots), "aisle"(aisles)
wherein the workstations are spaced at different locations along the storage structure; and (See Pars. 0216; Figs. 6A, 6B ; Ref. Numerals 152(storage structure), 156(workstations), "mobile robots"(mobile robots), "transit deck"(transit decks)
a first transit deck cooperated between the storage structure and a first workstation of the workstations, (See Pars. 0216; Figs. 6A, 6B ; Ref. Numerals 152(storage structure), 156(workstations), "mobile robots"(mobile robots), "aisle"(aisles)
wherein the first transit deck comprises a planar surface upon which the mobile robots transport the containers establishing a planar route between the storage structure and the first workstation; (See Pars. 0216; Figs. 6A, 6B ; Ref. Numerals 152(storage structure), 156(workstations), "mobile robots"(mobile robots), "aisle"(aisles)
wherein each of the workstations comprises:
a first set of one or more substations positioned in a first orientation that is substantially parallel with a first axis of the storage structure, and (See Pars. 0268; Figs. 20A, 20B; Ref. Numerals 486(substations)
a second set of one or more substations positioned in a second orientation that is different than the first orientation along a second axis that is at a first angle to the first axis of the storage structure, (See Pars. 0268; Figs. 20A, 20B; Ref. Numerals 486(substations)
wherein each substation of the first and second sets of one or more substations comprises a respective access port accessible by the mobile robots and (See Pars. 0268; Figs. 20A, 20B; Ref. Numerals 486(substations), 488(mobile robots)
configured to enable a respective container, of the containers, to be exposed through each of the respective access ports allowing a product to be inserted and/or removed; and (See Pars. 0268; Figs. 20A, 20B; Ref. Numerals 486(substations), 488(mobile robots), 494(container)
an access area defined by boundaries of both of the first set of one or more substations and the second set of one or more substations, (See Pars. 0268; Figs. 20A, 20B; Ref. Numerals 486(substations), 488(mobile robots), 494(container)
with the first and second sets of one or more substations positioned such that each access port of the first and second sets of one or more substations are accessible by a picker from the access area. (See Pars. 0268; Figs. 20A, 20B; Ref. Numerals 484(picker), 486(substations), 488(mobile robots), 494(container)
With respect to independent Claim 11, Lert, Jr. et al discloses the limitations of independent claim 11 as follows:
A method of controlling inventory, comprising:
identifying an allocation of products within a storage structure, the storage structure comprising: (See Pars. 0238; Ref. Numeral P-Totes(product allocation in storage structure)
workstations are spaced at different locations along the storage structure, multiple vertically spaced levels that each comprise multiple aisles, (See Pars. 0216; Figs. 6A, 6B ; Ref. Numerals 152(storage structure), 156(workstations), "mobile robots"(mobile robots), "transit deck"(transit decks)
wherein each of the multiple aisles comprise storage locations configured to store at least one container of containers; (See Pars. 0216; Figs. 6A, 6B ; Ref. Numerals 152(storage structure), "totes"(containers), "mobile robots"(mobile robots), "aisle"(aisles)
directing, by a control circuit, a first mobile robot, of mobile robots, to transport containers through the storage structure and to or from a first workstation, of the workstations cooperated with the storage structure and accessible by the mobile robots, (See Pars. 0216; Figs. 6A, 6B ; Ref. Numerals 152(storage structure), 156(workstations), "mobile robots"(mobile robots), "aisle"(aisles)
wherein the first mobile robot:
accessing and traveling along a first transit deck, comprising a planar surface, that is cooperated between the storage structure and the first workstation; and (See Pars. 0216; Figs. 6A, 6B ; Ref. Numerals 152(storage structure), 156(workstations), "mobile robots"(mobile robots), "aisle"(aisles)
accessing a first access port of one of a first set of one or more substations positioned in a first orientation that is substantially parallel with a first axis of the storage structure and a second set of one or more substations positioned in a second orientation that is different than the first orientation along a second axis that is at a first angle to the first axis of the storage structure, and (See Pars. 0268; Figs. 20A, 20B; Ref. Numerals 486(substations), 488(mobile robots)
defining an access area bounded by both of the first set of one or more substations and the second set of one or more substations, with the first and second sets of one or more substations positioned such that each access port of the first and second sets of one or more substations are accessible by a picker from the access area, (See Pars. 0268; Figs. 20A, 20B; Ref. Numerals 486(substations), 488(mobile robots)
wherein each substation of the first and second sets of one or more substations comprises a respective access port that is accessible by the mobile robots and (See Pars. 0268; Figs. 20A, 20B; Ref. Numerals 484(picker), 486(substations), 488(mobile robots), 494(container)
configured to enable a respective container, of the containers, to be exposed through each of the respective access ports allowing a product to be inserted and/or removed by the picker. (See Pars. 0268; Figs. 20A, 20B; Ref. Numerals 484(picker), 486(substations), 488(mobile robots), 494(container)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7-10, 12, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lert, Jr. et al, as applied to the claims set herein above, in view of Durham et al (US Patent No.10,029,851).
With respect to Claim 2, which depends from independent claim 1, Lert, Jr. et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 2, Durham et al disclose as follows:
The automated order fulfillment system of claim 1, further comprising:
a third set of one or more substations oriented opposite the second set of one or more substations and along a third axis that is at a second angle to the first axis of the storage structure, (See Col. 21, Line 50-Col. 22, Line 25; Figs. 10, 11; Ref. Numerals 20(mobile robots), 1005,1007(sets of substations)
wherein the third set of one or more substations comprises a third set of at least one access port accessible by the mobile robots and (See Col. 21, Line 50-Col. 22, Line 25; Figs. 10, 11; Ref. Numerals 20(mobile robots), 1005,1007(sets of substations)
each configured to enable one of the containers to be exposed through the respective one of the third set of at least one access ports allowing the products to be inserted and/or removed; and (See Col. 21, Line 50-Col. 22, Line 25; Figs. 10, 11; Ref. Numerals 20(mobile robots), 1005,1007(sets of substations)
the access area defined between the first set of one or more substations, the second set of one or more substations and the third sets of one or more substations, with the first, second and third sets of one or more substations positioned such that each access port of the first, second and third sets of one or more substations are accessible by the picker from the access area. (See Col. 21, Line 50-Col. 22, Line 25; Figs. 10, 11; Ref. Numerals 20(mobile robots), 1005,1007(sets of substations), 1072(picker)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to modify Lert, Jr. et al with the teachings of Durham et al to have a third set of one or more substations oriented opposite the second set of one or more substations and along a third axis that is at a second angle to the first axis to increase and improve the system throughput for selecting goods to fulfill orders A person with skill in the art would be motivated to incorporate the teachings of Durham et al because they are a known work in the same field of endeavor (ie, using small containers to receive goods that can fit into a larger container for fulfilling orders at an order fulfillment facility) which would prompt its use in the same field of application based on improvements to a system that are predictable and would be recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to Claim 7, which ultimately depends from independent claim 1, Lert Jr, et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1, Lert, Jr. et al and Durham et al together teach all of the limitations of Claim 2, which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 7, Lert, Jr. et al discloses:
The automated storage and retrieval system of claim 2, wherein each of the first, second and third sets of one or more substations comprise:(See Pars. 0220; Figs. 10A, 10B; Ref. Numerals 276(workstations)
multiple station levels comprising a first station level and a second station level that is vertically separated from the first station level; and (See Pars. 0220; Figs. 10A, 10B; Ref. Numerals 276(workstations)
a substation vertical channel extending between the first station level and the second station level and configured to be used by the mobile robots to self-propel between the first station level and the second station level. (See Pars. 0220; Figs. 10A, 10b; Ref. Numerals 274(vertical channels), "mobile robots"(mobile robots)
With respect to Claim 8, which ultimately depends from independent claim 1, Lert Jr, et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1, Lert, Jr. et al and Durham et al together teach all of the limitations of Claim 7, which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 8, Lert, Jr. et al discloses:
The system of claim 7, wherein one or more access ports of each of the first set of one or more substations is positioned at the second station level and oriented such that the mobile robots are configured to move from the first station level to the second station level and (See Pars. 0220, 0221; Figs. 10A, 10B, 11; Ref. Numerals 274(vertical channels), "mobile robots"(mobile robots)
to position a respective one of the containers to at least partially align with the respective access port while the respective one of the containers remains on the respective mobile robot as the respective mobile robot moves through the respective substation of the first set of one or more substations. (See Pars. 0220, 0221; Figs. 10A, 10B, 11; Ref. Numerals 274(vertical channels), "mobile robots"(mobile robots), "totes"(containers)
With respect to Claim 9, which ultimately depends from independent claim 1, Lert Jr, et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1, Lert, Jr. et al and Durham et al together teach all of the limitations of Claim 7, which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 9, Lert, Jr. et al discloses:
The system of claim 7, wherein each of the access ports of a first set of access ports of the second set of one or more substations is configured to receive a respective one of the containers moved into a respective one of the first set of access ports and released by a respective one of the mobile robots such that the respective container does not remain on the respective one of the mobile robots while the respective container is accessible through the respective one of the first set of access ports. (See Pars. 0223, 0333-0336; Figs. 13, 54A-54G; Ref. Numerals 366(workstations), 5500E(access ports). O-bots,P-bots(mobile robots)
With respect to Claim 10, which ultimately depends from independent claim 1, Lert Jr, et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1, Lert, Jr. et al and Durham et al together teach all of the limitations of Claim 7, which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 10, Lert, Jr. et al discloses:
The system of claim 7, wherein the second set of one or more substations comprises a first station aisle at the first station level, (See Pars. 0223, 0333-0336; Figs. 13, 54A-54G; Ref. Numerals 366(workstations), 5500E(access ports). O-bots,P-bots(mobile robots)
wherein the first station aisle is configured to enable the mobile robots to travel along the first station level; (See Pars. 0223, 0333-0336; Figs. 13, 54A-54G; Ref. Numerals 366(workstations), 5500E(access ports). O-bots,P-bots(mobile robots)
wherein the second set of one or more substations comprises a second station aisle at the second station level, (See Pars. 0223, 0333-0336; Figs. 13, 54A-54G; Ref. Numerals 366(workstations), 5500E(access ports). O-bots,P-bots(mobile robots)
wherein a first set of access ports are positioned along at least a first portion of the second station aisle and accessible by the mobile robots while the mobile robots are positioned on the second station aisle, (See Pars. 0223, 0333-0336; Figs. 13, 54A-54G; Ref. Numerals 366(workstations), 5500E(access ports). O-bots,P-bots(mobile robots)
wherein the second station aisle is configured to enable the mobile robots to travel along the second station level and align with any one of the first set of access ports and to move a first container, of the containers, to align with a first one of the first set of access ports. (See Pars. 0223, 0333-0336; Figs. 13, 54A-54G; Ref. Numerals 366(workstations), 5500E(access ports). O-bots,P-bots(mobile robots)
With respect to Claim 12, which depends from independent claim 11, Lert, Jr. et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 11 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 12, Durham et al disclose as follows:
The method of claim 11, further comprising:
a third set of one or more substations oriented opposite the second set of one or more substations and along a third axis that is at a second angle to the first axis of the storage structure,(See Col. 21, Line 50-Col. 22, Line 25; Figs. 10, 11; Ref. Numerals 20(mobile robots), 1005,1007(sets of substations)
wherein the third set of one or more substations comprises a third set of at least one access port accessible by the mobile robots and each configured to enable one of the containers to be exposed through the respective one of the third set of at least one access port allowing the products to be inserted and/or removed; and (See Col. 21, Line 50-Col. 22, Line 25; Figs. 10, 11; Ref. Numerals 20(mobile robots), 1005,1007(sets of substations)
the access area defined between the first set of one or more substations, the second set of one or more substations and the third sets of one or more substations with the first, second and third sets of one or more substations positioned such that each access port of the first, second and third sets of one or more substations are accessible by the picker from the access area. (See Col. 21, Line 50-Col. 22, Line 25; Figs. 10, 11; Ref. Numerals 20(mobile robots), 1005,1007(sets of substations)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to modify Lert, Jr. et al with the teachings of Durham et al to have a third set of one or more substations oriented opposite the second set of one or more substations and along a third axis that is at a second angle to the first axis to increase and improve the system throughput for selecting goods to fulfill orders A person with skill in the art would be motivated to incorporate the teachings of Durham et al because they are a known work in the same field of endeavor (ie, using small containers to receive goods that can fit into a larger container for fulfilling orders at an order fulfillment facility) which would prompt its use in the same field of application based on improvements to a system that are predictable and would be recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to Claim 17, which ultimately depends from independent claim 11, Lert Jr, et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 11, Lert, Jr. et al and Durham et al together teach all of the limitations of Claim 12, which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 17, Lert, Jr. et al discloses:
The method of claim 12, wherein the directing the first mobile robot to access the first access port comprises causing the first mobile robot to enter a first station level of a first substation, of the first set of one or more substations, access a substation vertical channel, of the first substation, that extends between the first station level and a second station level of the first substation, and (See Pars. 0220; Figs. 10A, 10b; Ref. Numerals 274(vertical channels), "mobile robots"(mobile robots)
self-propel vertically along the substation vertical channel between the first station level and the second station level, (See Pars. 0220; Figs. 10A, 10b; Ref. Numerals 274(vertical channels), "mobile robots"(mobile robots)
wherein the second station level is vertically separated from the first station level. (See Pars. 0220; Figs. 10A, 10b; Ref. Numerals 274(vertical channels), "mobile robots"(mobile robots)
With respect to Claim 18, which ultimately depends from independent claim 11, Lert Jr, et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 11, Lert, Jr. et al and Durham et al together teach all of the limitations of Claim 17, which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 18, Lert, Jr. et al discloses:
18. The method of claim 17, wherein the directing the first mobile robot to access the first access port comprises causing the first mobile robot to move from the first station level to the second station level and (See Pars. 0220, 0221; Figs. 10A, 10B, 11; Ref. Numerals 274(vertical channels), "mobile robots"(mobile robots)
to position a respective one of the containers to at least partially align with the first access port while the respective one of the containers remains on the first mobile robot. (See Pars. 0220, 0221; Figs. 10A, 10B, 11; Ref. Numerals 274(vertical channels), "mobile robots"(mobile robots)
With respect to Claim 19, which ultimately depends from independent claim 11, Lert Jr, et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 11, Lert, Jr. et al and Durham et al together teach all of the limitations of Claim 17, which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 19, Lert, Jr. et al discloses:
The method of claim 17, wherein the directing the first mobile robot to access the first access port comprises causing the first mobile robot to release the respective container into a first substation of the second set of one or more substations such that the respective container does not remain on the first mobile robot while the respective container is accessible through the first access port. (See Pars. 0223, 0333-0336; Figs. 13, 54A-54G; Ref. Numerals 366(workstations), 5500E(access ports). O-bots,P-bots(mobile robots)
With respect to Claim 20, which ultimately depends from independent claim 11, Lert Jr, et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 11, Lert, Jr. et al and Durham et al together teach all of the limitations of Claim 17, which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 20, Lert, Jr. et al discloses:
The method of claim 17, wherein the directing the first mobile robot to access the first access port comprises causing the first mobile robot to enter a first station aisle, of the second set of one or more substations, at the first station level and travel along the first station aisle; (See Pars. 0223, 0333-0336; Figs. 13, 54A-54G; Ref. Numerals 366(workstations), 5500E(access ports). O-bots,P-bots(mobile robots)
vertically move to a second station aisle at the second station level; (See Pars. 0223, 0333-0336; Figs. 13, 54A-54G; Ref. Numerals 366(workstations), 5500E(access ports). O-bots,P-bots(mobile robots)
travel along the second station level and align with the first access port, of a first set of access ports that are positioned along at least a first portion of the second station aisle and accessible by the mobile robots while the mobile robots are positioned on the second station aisle; and (See Pars. 0223, 0333-0336; Figs. 13, 54A-54G; Ref. Numerals 366(workstations), 5500E(access ports). O-bots,P-bots(mobile robots)
move the respective container to at least partially align with the first access port. (See Pars. 0223, 0333-0336; Figs. 13, 54A-54G; Ref. Numerals 366(workstations), 5500E(access ports). O-bots,P-bots(mobile robots)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 and 13-16 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. In the alternative, one or more of these claims may be incorporated as further limitations into the respective rejected independent base claim from which they depend. These allowable claims would make the rejected independent base claim allowable because the rejected base claim would then contain subject matter that was neither disclosed nor taught or fairly suggested in the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure because the prior art references contain subject matter that relates to one or more of Applicant’s claim limitations.
/THOMAS RANDAZZO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655 October 13, 2026