DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed January 5, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 – 16 and 19 – 21 are pending in the application with claims 17 and 18 being cancelled and claim 21 being newly added. The amendment to the claims has overcome the drawing and claim objections, double patenting rejection and 35 USC 112 rejections set forth in the last Non-Final Action mailed October 3, 2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 – 11, 14 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 6: “the motor section” should read --a motor section--.
Claim 1, line 11: “a motor section” should read --the motor section--.
Claim 14, lines 2-3: “the cam aligns with the radially recessed groove on a male end of a lever of the camlock fitting” should read --the cam aligns withthe second portion
Claim 21, line 2: “the motor section” should read --a motor section--.
Claims 2 – 11 are objected to for being dependent on claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
As discussed in the last office action, the claim limitations “toolless attachment mechanism” and “an external locking mechanism” in claim 1 are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krohn, Mark Damien (US 2019/0226474 – herein after Krohn).
Krohn teaches a pump housing (see figs. 1-2) comprising:
an interchangeable pump section (see fig. 7: section with features such as 180, 110, 120, 17, 20) comprising:
a first portion comprising an inlet (17, see ¶96) that includes a radially recessed groove (as evident from fig. 7 and present in view of disclosure of “camlock connector 27” in ¶96); and
a second portion comprising an outlet (20, see ¶96) that includes a radially recessed groove (as evident from fig. 7 and present in view of disclosure of “camlock connector 27” in ¶96; the groove being present in the camlock connector 27) for receiving a cam of a camlock fitting (see ¶17: “camlock fitting” referred as cam-lock couplings; “cam” being an inherent feature of the camlock fitting designed to engage the recessed groove of the male portion), wherein the camlock fitting comprises a male camlock portion integrated into the pump housing [the camlock coupling, when attached onto 27, comprises a male camlock portion (which is a portion within connector 27 that mates with corresponding female portion in the camlock coupling); in Krohn, connector 27 is an integrated part of the pump housing that functions as the male adapter];
wherein connecting and disconnecting hoses is possible via the camlock fitting without the use of tools (inherent feature).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 4 and 8 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoning, Makus (US 2023/0003217 – herein after Schoning; cited by applicant on IDS dated 01/31/2025) in view of Cai et al. (US 2015/0337820 – herein after Cai; cited by applicant on IDS dated 01/31/2025) and Stucker et al. (US 5,791,882 – herein after Stucker; cited by applicant on IDS dated 01/31/2025).
In reference to claim 1, Schoning teaches a self-priming transfer pump [as per applicant in ¶54 of pg. pub of instant application: “The pump 100 is referred to as a self-priming transfer pump such because the pump is able to transfer chemical product(s) while operating, and can operate even where air is mixed with said chemical product(s)”; please note that the phrase “can” indicates possibility or probability; Schoning’s pump is a diaphragm type pump that also transfers chemical product(s) (drugs, as per ¶2) and can even operate when air is mixed with the chemical product(s)] comprising:
a pump section (see fig. A below; herein after referred as “2”);
a pump cartridge [“pump cartridge” = a small assembly in or part of a larger assembly; in Schoning: pump cartridge is considered to be formed by components present within the housing wall 5 (seen in fig. 2)] permanently affixed to the pump section without bolts {Schoning does not disclose a use of “bolts” to secure components (within the housing wall 5) to the asserted pump section} [as per Schoning’s ¶10: “This ensures quick assembly and disassembly of the pump, in particular replacement of the pump head”; as per applicant in ¶81 of pg. pub of the instant application: “Again, most if not all of the guts 140 can be provided as a single cartridge permanently fixed to the pump section 102. In this way, these components can be inventoried and/or sold as a single part. This also makes assembly of the pump section 102 to the motor section 104 easier”; the phrase “permanently affixed” is interpreted to mean that the asserted pump cartridge is coupled/fixed permanently to the asserted pump section such that the cartridge is part of the asserted pump section (i.e. cartridge and pump section is a single part/assembly) and is replaced along with the whole pump section] and such that guts (plural components such as valve assembly, diaphragm; these components/guts are inherent features of a diaphragm pump and are present within the asserted pump cartridge) within the pump cartridge are sealed from the environment (in an assembled state of the pump, asserted “guts” are considered to be “sealed” from the surrounding environment), wherein the pump section is provided as a completed assembly (see fig. A below; “completed assembly” = assembly referred as “pump head” in ¶10 which is releasably fastened to the pump drive) such that the guts (plural components such as valve assembly, diaphragm within the asserted pump cartridge or pump head) are permanently attached to the pump section [the guts are considered to be “permanently attached” to the pump section or pump head because they are part of the pump head which is replaceable as per disclosure in ¶10; the guts are housed within the pump head wall and are intended to be replaced as a single unit along with the pump head] and are only temporarily attached to a motor section (see fig. A below; herein after referred as “3”) [the guts are further considered to be “temporarily attached” to the asserted motor section because the guts are part of the pump section or pump head that is temporarily (releasably) attached to the motor section using a toolless attachment mechanism],
the motor section (3) housing a motor [motor (i.e. pump driving means) is not shown but present within shown drive housing 14 in fig. 1 and as per disclosure in ¶35];
a toolless attachment mechanism (latching lugs 11 + closure arrangement 19, as per ¶35) allowing connection and disconnection between the pump section and the motor section; and
an external locking mechanism (securing device 18, as per ¶35) to prevent the pump section from rotating and disengaging from the motor section during operation of the pump [see ¶35: “The purpose of the securing closure 18 is to ensure that the rotary closure cannot be released when the pump 1 is running”]; and
a relief valve (relief valve element in relief valve 8) that allows fluid to flow away from the main flow path (path followed by fluid via pump chamber) when a predetermined pressure is reached, wherein the relief valve is separately installed as a component in the fluid path (see fig. 1: the asserted relief valve 8 is coupled using fasteners, thus it is considered to be separately installed as a component in the fluid path).
Fig. A: Edited fig. 1 of Schoning to show claim interpretation.
Schoning remains silent on the self-priming transfer pump, wherein the guts within the pump cartridge are “hermetically” sealed from the environment.
However, Cai teaches a similar transfer pump, wherein guts (components such as diaphragm 70 and valve assembly 90) are hermetically attached to a rim (24) of the pump section (20) so that the guts are hermetically sealed from the environment [see fig. 11 and ¶3: “..the outer brim for the assembly of diaphragm membrane 70 and piston valvular assembly 90 can hermetically attach on the tiered rim 24 (as enlarged view shown in FIG. 11 of association)..”].
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to seal the guts within the pump section in Schoning’s pump in a hermetic manner as taught by Cai for the well-known purpose of having an airtight feature.
Schoning remains silent on the self-priming transfer pump, wherein the guts comprise at least: a diaphragm; a wobble plate; and a valve plate.
However, Stucker teaches the self-priming transfer pump, wherein guts (components of a pump section) are selected from the group consisting of: a diaphragm (33), a wobble plate (49) and a valve plate (31).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify pump section in Schoning for having the pump cartridge with “guts comprise at least: a diaphragm, a wobble plate, and a valve plate” as taught by Stucker for the well-known purpose of driving the diaphragm using the wobble plate and control the fluid flow in the diaphragm pump in one direction using the valve plate with valves.
In reference to claim 2, Schoning teaches the self-priming transfer pump, wherein (see ¶40 and figs. 3A, 3B) the external locking mechanism (18) comprises a locking tab (closure lever 29) and a toolless head screw (push rod or locking bolt 34).
In reference to claim 3, Schoning teaches the self-priming transfer pump, further comprising a clamp plate (housing ring 9).
In reference to claim 4, Schoning teaches the self-priming transfer pump, wherein the pump section (see fig. A above) further comprises (see ¶33: “wherein in the embodiment shown, connections 7 on two sides, at least one inlet and one outlet, are arranged”) an inlet (one of the connections 7), an outlet (other of the connections 7), and a main flow path between the inlet and the outlet [main flow path = path followed by fluid via pump chamber due to actuation of the diaphragm].
In reference to claim 8, Schoning teaches the self-priming transfer pump, wherein:
the motor section (3) comprises a motor mounting plate (17, in fig. 1) that contacts the pump section (2) during operation of the self-priming transfer pump [during operation of the pump, the asserted motor mounting plate 17 is in contact with socket 10 of the asserted pump section 2];
the toolless attachment mechanism (11+19) comprises protrusions at a periphery of the pump section (2) and notches at a periphery of the motor mounting plate [see fig. 1: notches/slots 19 formed at a periphery of the motor mounting plate 17 and protrusions/latching lugs 11 formed at a periphery of the ring 9 that is part of the pump section 2]; and
the protrusions (11) and notches (19) cause the pump section (2) to lock to the motor section (3) after turning the pump section (2) at least certain degrees.
Schoning remains silent on turning the pump section at least forty-five degrees.
However, as evident from Schoning (see figs. 1, 4A, 5), the turning of the pump section (shown in fig. B below) to particular degree is dependent on a circumferential length of the slot in which the protrusion of the pump section is received. Thus, Schoning recognizes that the turning angle is a result effective variable since varying it affects the circumferential length of the slot.
Fig. B: Edited figs. 4A and 5 of Schoning to show claim interpretation.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Schoning’s pump for having the turning of the pump section “at least forty-five degrees” since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Further, applicant places no criticality on the claimed turning angle, indicating simply (see ¶84 in pg. pub of the instant application) “The pump section 102 is then rotated an eighth-turn (45°), quarter-turn (90°), half-turn (180°), and/or any other suitable-type turn, via rotating step 196, until the pump section 102 locks into place”.
In reference to claim 9, Schoning teaches the self-priming transfer pump, wherein the toolless attachment mechanism (11+19) is selected from the group consisting of: threads; a clamp; and a bracket [asserted toolless attachment mechanism comprises of notches/slots 19 and protrusions/lugs 11; in view of fig. 1: notches/slots 19 formed on the motor mounting plate 17 engages/clamps to the protrusions/lugs 11 formed on the socket 10 that is part of the pump section 2; thus the asserted toolless attachment mechanism is selected of “clamp” type].
In reference to claim 10, Schoning teaches the self-priming transfer pump, wherein the toolless attachment mechanism (11+19) employs, at least in part, a magnetic, pneumatic, or compressive force to pull the pump section and the motor section toward each other [11+19 employs (make use of) “compressive force” to pull the asserted pump and motor sections toward each other when slots 19 formed on the motor mounting plate 17 that is part of the motor section 3 engages to the protrusions 11 formed on the socket 10 that is part of the pump section 2; this compressive force ensures/creates a secure connection between the two sections].
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoning in view of Cai, Stucker and evidenced by Schoenmeyr et al. (US 2019/0145387 – herein after Schoenmeyr; cited by applicant on IDS dated 01/31/2025).
Schoning teaches the self-priming transfer pump, further comprising (see fig. C below) a relief valve cover (housing/casing of relief valve 8) in the pump section (2) that allows access to the relief valve (relief valve element) [the asserted relief valve cover is coupled using fasteners, thus it is removable and allows access to the valve element within it]
Fig. C: Edited fig. 1 of Schoning to show claim interpretation.
[please note the following: Schoning discloses a relief valve 8 which is interpreted to be a relief valve assembly; Schoning’s relief valve assembly inherently has the claimed features of “relief valve” (a valve element); Schoenmeyr shows the inherent features of the relief valve and teaches an exemplary relief valve cover and relief valve (see fig. 2: cross-sectional view of a relief valve assembly 68 shows a valve element within a housing of the relief valve assembly)].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoning in view of Cai, Stucker and Krohn, MarkDamien (US 2019/0226474 – herein after Krohn).
Regarding claim 6,
Schoning teaches the self-priming transfer pump, wherein a portion of the pump section (see fig. A above) comprising the inlet (one of the connections 7) and another portion of the pump section comprising the outlet (other of the connections 7).
Schoning remains silent on the self-priming transfer pump, wherein the inlet includes a radially recessed groove and wherein the outlet includes a radially recessed groove for receiving a cam of a camlock fitting.
However, Krohn teaches a pump, wherein the inlet (17, see ¶96) includes a radially recessed groove (as evident from fig. 7 and present in view of disclosure of “camlock connector 27” in ¶96) and wherein the outlet (20, see ¶96) includes a radially recessed groove (as evident from fig. 7 and present in view of disclosure of “camlock connector 27” in ¶96) for receiving a cam of a camlock fitting (see ¶17; “cam” being an inherent feature of the camlock fitting).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify inlet and the outlet in the pump of Schoning for providing radially recessed grooves for receiving camlock fitting as taught by Krohn for the well-known purpose of rapid connection and disconnection of hoses/pipes without the need for tools.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoning in view of Cai, Stucker and Beaudry et al. (US 2022/0178366 – herein after Beaudry; cited by applicant on IDS dated 01/31/2025).
Schoning remains silent on the self-priming transfer pump, further comprising a switch that controls power to the motor, said switch having an on position and an off position.
However, Beaudry teaches the self-priming transfer pump, further comprising a switch that controls power to the motor, said switch having an on position and an off position [see ¶111: “When a triggering event such as scheduled maintenance or a problem are indicated by the monitoring system (200), the pump may be shut down by a switch, disconnecting the cord (190) or through the controller (220)… Moreover, certain operational features of the controller (220) may be reset as appropriate. Reconnection of the cord (190) or actuation of a switch or the controller (220) would restart the pump (100)”].
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the pump of Schoning for providing a switch as taught by Beaudry for the purpose of shutting down the pump for maintenance purposes and restating it after the maintenance, as evidenced by Beaudry (in ¶111).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoning in view of Cai, Stucker and Schneider, Danniel Shane (US 5,806,161 – herein after Schneider; cited by applicant on IDS dated 01/31/2025).
With respect to the limitation: the self-priming transfer pump, further comprising: a connection between the motor section and the pump section comprising: (i) a male splined motor shaft associated with the motor section; and a female splined section associated with the pump section; wherein the male splined motor shaft is configured to mate with the female splined section; or (ii) a hex shaped shaft; a hex drive motor; a plurality of set screws between the hex shaped shaft and the hex drive motor; a hex drive bearing surrounding the hex drive motor; and an annular bearing surrounding a portion of the hex drive bearing
Schoning teaches the self-priming transfer pump, further comprising a connection between the motor section (3) and the pump section (2) comprising, wherein the connection involves connecting a drive shaft of the motor to a driven shaft within the pump section (this connection being an inherent feature since a diaphragm within the pump section needs to be actuated for pumping the fluid).
Schoning remains silent on the self-priming transfer pump with claimed particular details of the connection.
However, Schneider teaches an apparatus (see fig. 1) comprising a connection between the motor section (motor 12) and the pump section (pump 14) comprising: (i) a male motor splined shaft (male splined shaft 16) associated with the motor section (12); and a female splined section (female splined shaft 18) associated with the pump section (14); wherein the male motor splined shaft is configured to mate with the female splined section.
Because both Schoning and Schneider teaches a motor drive shaft connection in the apparatus comprising of motor and pump, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute a generic connection between the motor shaft and the slot in the transfer pump of Schoning for a splined connection as taught by Schneider in order to obtain the predictable result of transmitting power from the motor for operation of the pump to pump the fluid. KSR Int’l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1740-41, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
Claims 13 – 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krohn in view of Hartman et al. (US 2022/0356973 – herein after Hartman).
Regarding claim 13,
Krohn remains silent on the pump housing, wherein the second portion is configured to complement the cam so that the cam lies at an end of a lever of the camlock fitting.
However, Hartman teaches a camlock fitting (see figs. 57-60), wherein the second portion (equivalent to portion 214, see ¶282) is configured to complement the cam (bulged/ear portion) so that the cam lies at an end (bottom end in view of fig. 58) of a lever (224) of the camlock fitting.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use improved camlock fitting as taught by Hartman for the outlet in the pump housing of Krohn since it allows to be only partially opened by means of a safety lock feature which allows the improved fitting to be reclosed if the operator observes that the contents inside the improved fitting remain pressurized, as recognized by Hartman (see ¶8).
Regarding claim 14,
Krohn remains silent on the pump housing, wherein the second portion is configured to complement the cam so that the cam aligns with the radially recessed groove on a male end of a lever of the camlock fitting.
However, Hartman teaches a camlock fitting (see figs. 57-60), wherein the second portion (equivalent to portion 214, see ¶282) is configured to complement the cam (bulged/ear portion) so that the cam aligns with the radially recessed groove (230, see figs. 59-60) on a male end (end that mates with right end of 214, see fig. 60) of a lever (224) of the camlock fitting.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use improved camlock fitting as taught by Hartman for the outlet in the pump housing of Krohn since it allows to be only partially opened by means of a safety lock feature which allows the improved fitting to be reclosed if the operator observes that the contents inside the improved fitting remain pressurized, as recognized by Hartman (see ¶8).
Regarding claim 15,
Krohn, as modified, teaches the pump housing, wherein (see Hartman) when levers (224) are rotated to the locked position, they pull the male end into a female end (212), configured to create a tight seal against a gasket (240, see ¶282) within the female end (212).
Regarding claims 16,
Krohn, as modified, teaches the pump housing, wherein (see Hartman) levers (224) lock into position using over-center geometry, preventing accidental decoupling (see fig. 60 and ¶7).
Claims 12 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoning, Makus (US 2023/0003217 – herein after Schoning; cited by applicant on IDS dated 01/31/2025) in view of Hartman et al. (US 2022/0356973 – herein after Hartman).
In reference to claim 12, Schoning teaches a pump housing (2, see fig. 1) comprising:
an interchangeable pump section (see fig. A above and ¶33; pump head 2 acts as “interchangeable pump section”) comprising: a first portion comprising an inlet (7; see ¶33 and fig. 1); and a second portion comprising an outlet (7; see ¶33 and fig. 1).
Schoning does not teach the pump housing, wherein the inlet includes a radially recessed groove; wherein the outlet includes a radially recessed groove for receiving a cam of a camlock fitting, wherein the camlock fitting comprises a male camlock portion integrated into the pump housing; and wherein connecting and disconnecting hoses is possible via the camlock fitting without the use of tools.
However, Hartman teaches a coupling arrangement (see figs. 57-60), wherein inlet/outlet (equivalent to portion 214, see ¶282) includes a radially recessed groove (230), wherein the radially recessed groove receives a cam (bulged/ear portion) of a camlock fitting (211), wherein the camlock fitting comprises a male camlock portion (right portion of 214, see fig. 59); and wherein connecting and disconnecting hoses is possible via the camlock fitting without the use of tools (inherent feature).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the inlet and outlet in the pump housing of Schoning in order to use improved camlock fitting as taught by Hartman for the well-known purpose of allowing user to quickly connect and disconnect hoses to the inlet and outlet of the pump.
Thus, Schoning, as modified, teaches the pump housing, wherein the camlock fitting (of Hartman) comprises a male camlock portion integrated into the pump housing (in the modified pump housing of Schoning, “male camlock portion” is a portion corresponding to the outlet that has radially recessed groove; “male” portion = portion/part that inserts into corresponding female portion/part; this male camlock portion is further considered to be integrated into the pump housing).
In reference to claim 21, Schoning teaches the pump housing, further comprising an external locking mechanism (securing device 18, as per ¶35) to prevent the interchangeable pump section from rotating and disengaging from a motor section (see fig. A above) during operation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 and 20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior arts of record alone or in combination fails to teach the interchangeable pump section comprising “a bulge that extends perpendicularly away from an external surface of the pump housing, said bulge being adapted to engage the locking tab”, as in claim 19. Clam 20 depends on claim 19.
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed January 5, 2026 have been fully considered:
With respect to claims 12 – 16 and 21 (see pages 11 – 15):
For claim 12, the applicant argues that Krohn does not explicitly disclose a “male camlock portion”. This is not found to be persuasive. Krohn’s connector 27 is structurally a male camlock adapter because it includes a radially recessed groove designed to receive a cam. This connector is an extension of the pump housing itself, satisfying the requirement for the male portion to be “integrated into the pump housing”. Krohn explicitly mentions a “cam-lock coupling” (see ¶17). In the field of mechanical fittings, a component that contains a radially recessed groove and is configured to be inserted into a coupling with levers (cams) is structurally and functionally a male camlock adapter.
For claim 21, this is a newly added claim. The arguments are thus moot in view of new grounds of rejection presented for claims 12 and 21 above under 35 USC 103 over Schoning and Hartman.
With respect to claims 1 – 11 (see pages 11 – 21):
The applicant argues, with respect to claim 1, that Schoning does not teach a pump cartridge permanently affixed to the pump section. Examiner disagrees. The applicant appears to narrow the scope of “pump cartridge” in a way that is not supported being their own specification or the claims. The applicant argues that Schoning fails to disclose “permanently attached” guts because Schoning’s pump head is replaceable. However, the applicant’s own specification defines this “permanence” not as an everlasting physical bond, but as a modular convenience (see ¶81 in pg. pub of the instant application). The limitation “cartridge” is interpreted as an assembly of components present within the housing wall 5 in Schoning. In both the instant application and Schoning, the end result is same: the user replaces a single, modular housing containing the internal “guts” rather than individual internal parts within the pump head.
The applicant argues, with respect to claim 1, that the amended limitation requiring a ‘completed assembly’ where guts are permanently attached to the pump section and temporarily attached to the motor section distinguishes the claim from the prior art. Examiner disagrees. As disclosed in ¶10 of Schoning, the ‘pump head’ is a modular assembly replaced as a single unit to facilitate quick maintenance. Because the internal components (‘guts’) are integral to this pump head and are removed or installed with the head, they are structurally ‘permanently attached’ to the pump section and only ‘temporarily attached’ to the motor section when the head is mounted to the drive unit. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a modular replacement part, by its very nature, comprises components permanently fixed to that part and temporarily fixed to that larger machine.
The examiner maintains that Schoning serves as an adequate primary reference for the argued limitations in claim 1 (addressed above). The additional secondary references are not intended to teach those structural arrangements but are properly combined with Schoning to arrive at the additional limitations that are not taught by Schoning. Thus, the arguments with respect to other additional secondary references, are moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIRAG JARIWALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/BRYAN M LETTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746