DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant should indicate granted patent numbers for parent applications in paragraph [0001].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-10, 12-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wudtke (US Pub. No. 2008/0268944 A1).
As per claims 1, 14, and 19, Wudtke teaches an electronic gaming system, method, and medium (abstract and Fig. 6), comprising: a gaming cabinet (Fig. 6 and paragraph [0007] describes a display being revealed via movement relative to the cabinet); a first display rotatably mounted to the gaming cabinet, the first display including a first edge having a first dimension and a second edge having a second dimension (Fig 6, item 64 and paragraph [0041] see cited secondary display which is rotatably mounted can rotate around the z axis); a second display (Fig. 6, item 60 and paragraph [0041] see top box as the second display and paragraph [0030] indicates that the top box includes a display for displaying animations and other game features), including: a screen housing (Fig. 6, item 60 and paragraph [0030]); and an extendable screen that is configured to extend towards the first display, to retract from the first display, to extend along the first display (Fig. 6, item 60 and paragraph [0041] extends upwards along display 64 which would reveal the display), or combinations thereof; and a controller configured to: control the first display to display a game (paragraph [0007] game information is displayed after revealing the display); control the first display to rotate (Fig 6, item 64 and paragraph [0041] see cited secondary display which is rotatably mounted can rotate around the z axis); and control the extendable screen of the second display to extend towards the first display, to retract from the first display or to extend along the first display in response to an extendible screen movement indication (Fig. 6, item 60 and paragraph [0041] extends upwards along display 64 which would reveal the display and paragraph [0066] moved in response to events).
As per claim 2, Wudtke teaches a system wherein the screen housing is an extendable screen housing that is configured to extend from the gaming cabinet according to control signals from the controller (Fig. 6, item 60 and paragraph [0041] extends upwards along display 64 which would reveal the display and paragraph [0066] moved in response to events).
As per claims 3 and 15, Wudtke teaches a system and method wherein the controller is configured to control the extendable screen to extend along the first edge of the first display or along the second edge of the first display (Fig. 6, see upwards along the side edges).
As per claims 4, 16, and 20, Wudtke teaches a system, method, and medium wherein the controller is configured to: cause the first display and the second display to form an enlarged display that includes the first display and the extendable screen (Fig. 6 fully extends more display space is available. Specifically applicant does not indicate how the larger display is to appear); and cause the enlarged display to present game content (paragraph [0007]).
As per claims 5 and 17, Wudtke teaches a system and method wherein the extendible screen movement indication comprises an indication that the first display is in a position suitable for the extendible screen to extend towards the first edge of the first display, to move away from the first edge of the first display or to extend along the first edge of the first display (paragraph [0041] would occur when the screen is not extended).
As per claim 9, Wudtke teaches a system wherein the screen housing resides outside of the gaming cabinet (Fig. 6).
As per claim 10, Wudtke teaches a system wherein the screen housing comprises an overhead signage housing (Fig. 6, see top box which would usually be over the head of a player and paragraph [0030] can contain signage).
As per claim 12, Wudtke teaches a system wherein the controller is configured to:cause the extendable screen to extend to the first display, such that the first display and the second display form an enlarged display that includes the first display and the extendable screen (Fig. 6 fully extends more display space is available. Specifically applicant does not indicate how the larger display is to appear); and cause the enlarged display to present game content (paragraph [0007]).
As per claim 13, Wudtke teaches a system wherein the extendible screen movement indication comprises a detection, by the controller, of one or more gaming conditions, one or more triggering events, one or more player inputs, a proximity of a person, or a proximity of one or more other mobile devices (paragraph [0066] moved in response to events).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12243378. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims remain directed towards similar subject matter regarding a first display that is rotatable and a second display which extends relative to the first display. See below..
Current application
12243378 claim limitation
Reasoning
An electronic gaming system, comprising: a gaming cabinet;
1. An electronic gaming system comprising: a gaming cabinet;
Same
a first display rotatably mounted to the gaming cabinet, the first display including a first edge having a first dimension and a second edge having a second dimension;
1. a first display mounted to the gaming cabinet, operable to display a game, and having a first edge having a first dimension and a second edge having a second dimension;
initiate a retraction of the second display away from the first edge resulting in a retracted second display thereby permitting a rotation of the first display with respect to the gaming cabinet from a first orientation associated with the first edge toward a second orientation associated with the second edge
Current application is broader from of this.
a second display, including :a screen housing; and an extendable screen that is configured to extend towards the first display, to retract from the first display, to extend along the first display, or combinations thereof;
a second display being extendable and meeting the first edge of the first display;
initiate a retraction of the second display away from the first edge resulting in a retracted second display thereby permitting a rotation of the first display with respect to the gaming cabinet
Similar. 12243378 is directed towards the retraction embodiment.
And a controller configured to: control the first display to display a game; control the first display to rotate; and control the extendable screen of the second display to extend towards the first display, to retract from the first display or to extend along the first display in response to an extendible screen movement indication.
1. first display mounted to the gaming cabinet, operable to display a game,
cause the processor to at least: initiate a retraction of the second display away from the first edge resulting in a retracted second display thereby permitting a rotation of the first display with respect to the gaming cabinet from a first orientation associated with the first edge toward a second orientation associated with the second edge, in response to the first display reaching the second orientation, initiate an extension of the retracted second display in a first direction parallel to the second edge, and stop the extension of the retracted second display resulting in an extended second display, when the extended second display has an extended horizontal dimension that matches the second dimension.
Similar. 12243378 is directed towards the retraction embodiment.
Further dependent claims include similar subject matter regarding movement of the displays and the creation of a seamless joint display. Therefore the claims are not patentably distinct.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bai (US Pub. No. 2019/0364185 A1) teaches a device comprising a rotatable top display.
Rodriguez et al. (US Pub. No. 2012/0208645 A1) teaches a gaming machine comprising a top display which can be removed and pivoted relative to the gaming device.
/JUSTIN L MYHR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715 9/22/2026