DETAILED ACTION
Summary
2. The Patent Application(CON) filed on February 03, 2025, has been received and made of record. There are 1-20 claims in the application of which claims 1 and 19 are independent claims. Therefore, claims 1-20 are pending for consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted was filed along with the mailing date of the continuation application on February 03, 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
5. Claims 1-4, 6-12, 14-16, and 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No.US 12,219,801 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because except for minor wording and insignificant changes in terminology, each and every limitation of claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,219,801 B2 reads on the corresponding limitation of claims 1-4, 6-12, 14-16, and 18-20 of the current application 19/043,764. Both the US published Patent and current application recite physical structural of a display panel.
Comparing claims of the current application and claims 1-30 of the US Patent No. US 12,045,427 B2 is given below:-
Current Application No. 19/043,764
US Patent No.
US 12,219,801 B2
Claim 1: A display panel comprising:
a base layer comprising a display region, a hole region at least partially surrounded by the display region, and an intermediate region disposed between the display region and the hole region;
a module hole in the hole region and passing through the display panel;
a first groove in the intermediate region and surrounding the module hole;
a second groove in the intermediate region and disposed between the first groove and module hole;
a plurality of pixels, each of which includes a light emitting element;
an encapsulation layer including a first inorganic layer covering the light emitting element, a second inorganic layer, and an organic layer disposed between the first inorganic layer and the second inorganic layer;
a first filling member disposed inside the first groove; and
a second filling member disposed inside the second groove,
wherein the first filling member and the second filling member are separated from each other.
Claim 2: The display panel of claim 1, wherein the first filling member is a portion of the organic layer.
Claim 6: The display panel of claim 4, wherein the dam portion surrounds the module hole and defines a boundary of the organic layer in the intermediate region.
Claim 7: The display panel of claim 1, further comprising a first organic pattern in the first groove and a second organic pattern in the second groove.
Claim 1: A display panel, comprising:
a display region, a hole region at least partially surrounded by the display region, and an intermediate region disposed between the display region and the hole region and the display panel comprising:
a module hole in the hole region and passing through the display panel;
a first groove in the intermediate region and surrounding the module hole;
a second groove in the intermediate region and disposed between the first groove and module hole;
a light emitting element in the display region;
an encapsulation layer including a first inorganic layer covering the light emitting element, a second inorganic layer, and an organic layer disposed between the first inorganic layer and the second inorganic layer;
a dam portion in the intermediate region and surrounding the module hole; and
an organic pattern disposed in the first groove and the second groove, and
wherein a portion of the organic layer is disposed in the first groove.
Claim 2: The display panel of claim 1, wherein the first inorganic layer is disposed in the first groove and covered by the portion of the organic layer.
Claim 3: The display panel of claim 1, further comprising a filling member disposed in the second groove.(it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that two filling members are separated from each other as first filling member is an inorganic layer and second filling member could be an organic layer or inorganic layer, therefore they are not mixed but separated from each other.
Claim 3 corresponds to claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12, 219,801 B2;
Claim 4 corresponds to claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. US 12, 219,801 B2;
Claim 8 corresponds to claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. US 12, 219,801 B2;
Claim 9 corresponds to part of claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,219,801 B2;
Claim 10 corresponds to claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. US 12, 219,801 B2(it is obvious that first inorganic layer covers all sides of the first groove and the second groove);
Claim 11 corresponds to claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. US 12, 219,801 B2;
Claim 12 corresponds to part of claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,219,801 B2;
Claim 14 corresponds to claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. US 12, 219,801 B2;
Claim 15 corresponds to claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. US 12, 219,801 B2;
Claim 16 corresponds to claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. US 12, 219,801 B2;
Claim 18 corresponds to claim 20 of U.S. Patent No. US 12, 219,801 B2;
Claim 19 corresponds to claim 21 of U.S. Patent No. US 12, 219,801 B2(it is obvious to have power supply in an electronic device to supply power to different components of the electronic device to make the electronic device functional); and
Claim 20 corresponds to part of claim 21 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,219,801 B2.
6. Claims 5, and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,219,801 B2 in view of KIM et al.(US 2017/0110532 A1)(herein after KIM).
Regarding claim 5, claim of U.S. Patent No. US 12,219,801 B2 do not recite the limitations, the display panel of claim 4, wherein the dam portion comprises at least two organic layers laminated on the base layer and overlaps the intermediate region.
However, Kim teaches a display apparatus, wherein the dam portion(443, fig.4, Para-99) comprises at least two organic layers(415, 402, fig.4, Para-70, 77) laminated on the base layer (display substrate 401, fig.4, Para-64) and overlaps the intermediate region(dams at NDA regions, fig.4).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified U.S. Patent No.US 12,219,801 B2 with the teaching of KIM to include the feature in order to provide a display apparatus in which damage to a substrate at which an insulating layer is disposed could be reduced during manufacture.
Regarding claim 17, [claim of U.S. Patent No.US 12,219,801 B2 as modified by] KIM teaches the display panel of claim 1, wherein the first inorganic layer(436 or 437, fig.4)) and the second inorganic layer(437, or 436, fig.4, Para-98) are spaced apart from each other in an area overlapping the first groove(fig.4, KIM)(for motivation see the rejection of claim 5 above).
7. Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,219,801 B2 in view of SHI et al.(US 2020/0020752 A1) (herein after SHI).
Regarding claim 13, claim of U.S. Patent No. US 12,219,801 B2 do not recite the limitations, the display panel of claim 1, further comprising an insulating layer with first insulating opening overlapping the first groove and a second insulating opening overlapping the second groove, wherein the first insulating opening has a width smaller than a width of the first groove and the second insulating opening has a width smaller than a width of the second groove.
However, SHI teaches an OLED device, comprising an insulating layer with first insulating(organic insulation layer 11, figs.5-6, Para-60) opening overlapping the first groove(notch 7, figs.11-12, Para-74) and a second insulating opening(notch 7, figs.11-12) overlapping the second groove(fig.12),
wherein the first insulating opening has a width smaller than a width of the first groove and the second insulating opening has a width smaller than a width of the second groove(fig.12).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified U.S. Patent No. US 12,219,801 B2 with the teaching of SHI to include the feature in order to improve the quality of the display device.
8. Claims 1-10, 13-17, and 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No.US 11,653,525 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because except for minor wording and insignificant changes in terminology, each and every limitation of claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,653,525 B2 reads on the corresponding limitation of claims 1-10, 13-17, and 19-20 of the current application 19/043,764. Both the US published Patent and current application recite physical structural of a display panel.
Comparing claims of the current application and claims 1-21 of the US Patent No. US 11,653,525 B2 is given below:-
Current Application No. 19/043,764
US Patent No.
US 11,653,525 B2
Claim 1: A display panel comprising:
a base layer comprising a display region, a hole region at least partially surrounded by the display region, and an intermediate region disposed between the display region and the hole region;
a module hole in the hole region and passing through the display panel;
a first groove in the intermediate region and surrounding the module hole;
a second groove in the intermediate region and disposed between the first groove and module hole;
a plurality of pixels, each of which includes a light emitting element;
an encapsulation layer including a first inorganic layer covering the light emitting element, a second inorganic layer, and an organic layer disposed between the first inorganic layer and the second inorganic layer;
a first filling member disposed inside the first groove; and
a second filling member disposed inside the second groove,
wherein the first filling member and the second filling member are separated from each other.
Claim 2: The display panel of claim 1, wherein the first filling member is a portion of the organic layer.
Claim 3: The display panel of claim 2, wherein the second filling member comprises a same material as the first filling member.
Claim 7: The display panel of claim 1, further comprising a first organic pattern in the first groove and a second organic pattern in the second groove.
Claim 8: The display panel of claim 7, wherein the light emitting element comprises a first electrode, a second electrode, a light emitting layer, and a charge control layer disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode, and wherein the first organic pattern and the second organic pattern have a same material as the charge control layer or the light emitting layer.
Claim 1: A display panel comprising a display region, a hole region at least partially surrounded by the display region, and an intermediate region disposed between the display region and the hole region and the display panel comprising:
a module hole in the hole region and passing through the display panel;
at least one groove in the intermediate region and surrounding the module hole;
a light emitting element in the display region and including a first electrode, a second electrode, a light emitting layer, and a charge control layer disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode;
an encapsulation layer including a first inorganic layer covering the light emitting element, a second inorganic layer, and an organic layer disposed between the first inorganic layer and the second inorganic layer; and
an organic pattern disposed in the at least one groove,
wherein a portion of the organic layer is disposed in the at least one groove and the organic pattern has a same material as the charge control layer or the light emitting layer.
Claim 11: The display panel of claim 1, wherein the at least one groove further comprises a first groove surrounding the module hole and a second groove surrounding the first groove, each of the first groove and the second groove overlapping the intermediate region.
Claim 4: The display panel of claim 3, wherein the first inorganic layer covers the organic pattern in the at least one groove.
(it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that two filling members are separated from each other as first filling member is an inorganic layer and second filling member could be an organic layer or inorganic layer, therefore they are not mixed but separated from each other.
Claim 4 corresponds to claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. US 11, 653,525 B2;
Claim 5 corresponds to claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. US 11, 653,525 B2;
Claim 6 corresponds to claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. US 11, 653,525 B2;
Claim 9 corresponds to part of claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. US 11, 653,525 B2;
Claim 10 corresponds to part of claims 3-6 of U.S. Patent No. US 11, 653,525 B2(it is obvious that first inorganic layer covers all sides of the first groove and the second groove);
Claim 13 corresponds to part of claim 18 of U.S. Patent No. US 11, 653,525 B2;
Claim 14 corresponds to part of claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. US 11, 653,525 B2(all components in an electrical circuit are electrically connected);
Claim 15 corresponds to part of claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. US 11, 653,525 B2;
Claim 16 corresponds to claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. US 11, 653,525 B2;
Claim 17 corresponds to part of claims 10-11 of U.S. Patent No. US 11, 653,525 B2;
Claim 19 corresponds to claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. US 11, 653,525 B2(it is obvious to have power supply in an electronic device to supply power to different components of the electronic device to make the electronic device functional); and
Claim 20 corresponds to part of claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. US 11, 653,525 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claims 1-3, 15-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KIM et al.(US 2017/0031323 A1) (herein after KIM).
Regarding claim 1, KIM teaches a display panel(organic light emitting display device, fig.3) comprising:
a base layer(substrate SUB, fig.7, Para-50) comprising a display region(display area AA, figs.3&7), a hole region(hole area HLA, figs.3&7) at least partially surrounded by the display region (AA)(fig.3), and an intermediate region(figs.4-6) disposed between the display region(AA) and the hole region(HLA);
a module hole(open hole HL, figs.7-9) in the hole region(HLA) and passing through the display panel(figs.7-9);
a first groove(BH1 or BH2, fig.5) in the intermediate region and surrounding the module hole(HL);
a second groove(BH2 or BH1) in the intermediate region and disposed between the first groove and module hole(HL);
a plurality of pixels(pixels PA, fig.3), each of which includes a light emitting element(OLE, Para-32);
an encapsulation layer(passivation layer PASSI, fig.7, Para-49) including a first inorganic layer(first inorganic film PAS1, fig.7) covering the light emitting element(OLE), a second inorganic layer(second inorganic film PAS2, fig.7), and an organic layer(organic film PCL, fig.7) disposed between the first inorganic layer(PAS1) and the second inorganic layer (PAS2)(Para-50);
a first filling member(BH1, or BH2 fig.5) disposed inside the first groove(fig.5); and
a second filling member(BH2, or BH1) disposed inside the second groove(fig.5)(partitions are regarded as groove filled with same material as base substrate, Para-33),
wherein the first filling member(BH1 or BH2) and the second filling member(BH2, or BH1) are separated from each other (fig.5)(Para-33: the partition BH may be formed of the same material as the substrate SUB).
Regarding claim 2, KIM teaches the display panel of claim 1, wherein the first filling member is a portion of the organic layer(polyimide, Para-31)(polyimide is an organic element).
Regarding claim 3, KIM teaches the display panel of claim 2,
wherein the second filling member comprises a same material as the first filling member(Para-33: the partition BH may be formed of the same material as the substrate SUB).
Regarding claim 15, KIM teaches the display panel of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first groove and the second groove has a circular, an oval, or a polygonal closed line shape on a plane(fig.5).
Regarding claim 16, KIM teaches the display panel of claim 1, wherein the module hole has a circular, an oval, or a polygonal shape on a plane(fig.5).
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 1, since both claims 1 and 19 recite identical claim limitations. The additional claim limitations in claim 19, “a power supply module configured to supply an electric power to the electronic device” are inherent property of the electronic device since without power supply module, the electronic device would be non-functional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claims 4-5, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over KIM et al.(US 2017/0031323 A1) in view of KIM et al.(US 2017/0110532 A1)(herein after KIM’532).
Regarding claim 4, KIM is not found to teach expressly the display panel of claim 1, further comprising a dam portion between the first groove and the second groove.
However, KIM’532 teaches a display panel, further comprising a dam portion(insulating dam 443, fig.4, Para-100) between the first groove and the second groove(fig.4).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified KIM with the teaching of KIM’532 to include the feature in order to provide a display apparatus in which damage to a substrate at which an insulating layer is disposed could be reduced during manufacture.
Regarding claim 5, KIM as modified by KIM’532 teaches the display panel of claim 4, wherein the dam portion(443, fig.4, Para-99, KIM’532) comprises at least two organic layers(415, 402, fig.4, Para-70, 77) laminated on the base layer (display substrate 401, fig.4, Para-64) and overlaps the intermediate region(dams at NDA regions, fig.4, KIM’532).
Regarding claim 17, [KIM as modified by] KIM’532 teaches the display panel of claim 1, wherein the first inorganic layer(436 or 437, fig.4)) and the second inorganic layer(437, or 436, fig.4, Para-98) are spaced apart from each other in an area overlapping the first groove(fig.4)(for motivation see the rejection of claim 4 above).
15. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over KIM et al.(US 2017/0031323 A1) in view of KIM et al.(US 2017/0110 532 A1) and further in view of HAN(US 2017/0010500 A1).
Regarding claim 6, KIM as modified by KIM’532 is not found to teach expressly the display panel of claim 4, wherein the dam portion surrounds the module hole and defines a boundary of the organic layer in the intermediate region.
However, HAN teaches liquid crystal display device, wherein the dam portion surrounds the module hole(opening OP, fig.2B, Para-48; slit patterns SP1, fig.4, Para-76) and defines a boundary of the organic layer in the intermediate region (fig.4, Para-76).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified KIM further with the teaching of HAN to include the feature in order to minimize infiltration of moisture from outside and thus possible to minimize erosion of a driving circuit caused by the moisture from the outside.
16. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over KIM et al.(US 2017/0031323 A1) in view of KIM et al.(US 2017/028 8004)(herein after KIM’004).
Regarding claim 9, KIM is not found to teach expressly the display panel of claim 1, wherein the first groove and the second groove are defined by recessing at least a portion of the base layer.
However, KIM’004 teaches a display device, wherein the first groove and the second groove(310A, figs.3-4, Para-81) are defined by recessing at least a portion of the base layer (insulating layer 110, figs.3-4, Para-76).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified KIM with the teaching of KIM’004 to include the feature in order to prevent a crack from propagating toward the display area.
17. Claims 13-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over KIM et al.(US 2017/0031323 A1) in view of SHI et al.(US 2020/0020752 A1) (herein after SHI).
Regarding claim 13, KIM is not found to teach expressly the display panel of claim 1, further comprising an insulating layer with first insulating opening overlapping the first groove and a second insulating opening overlapping the second groove, wherein the first insulating opening has a width smaller than a width of the first groove and the second insulating opening has a width smaller than a width of the second groove.
However, SHI teaches an OLED device, comprising an insulating layer with first insulating(organic insulation layer 11, figs.5-6, Para-60) opening overlapping the first groove(notch 7, figs.11-12, Para-74) and a second insulating opening(notch 7, figs.11-12) overlapping the second groove(fig.12),
wherein the first insulating opening has a width smaller than a width of the first groove and the second insulating opening has a width smaller than a width of the second groove(fig.12).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified KIM with the teaching of SHI to include the feature in order to improve the quality of the display device.
Regarding claim 14, KIM as modified by SHI teaches the display panel of claim 13, further comprising a transistor(TFT ST, DT, figs.3&7, Para-39) with a semiconductor layer on the base layer (SUB, fig.7, KIM),
wherein the transistor is electrically connected to the light emitting element(figs.3&7, KIM).
Regarding claim 20, [KIM as modified by] SHI teaches the electronic device of claim 19, further comprising a camera (Para-4) module overlapping the module hole(through hole 8, Para-51) and disposed under the display panel(Para-137) (for motivation see the rejection of claim 13 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
18. Claims 7-8, 10-12, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and also overcoming the double patenting rejection by submitting terminal disclaimer.
19. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 7: None of the cited prior arts, on record, taken alone or in combination, provides a reasonable motivation to fairly teach or suggest applicant claimed invention, “the display panel of claim 1, further comprising a first organic pattern in the first groove and a second organic pattern in the second groove”.
Claim 10: None of the cited prior arts, on record, taken alone or in combination, provides a reasonable motivation to fairly teach or suggest applicant claimed invention, “the display panel of claim 9, wherein the first inorganic layer covers a side surface and a bottom surface of the first groove and the first inorganic layer covers a side surface and a bottom surface of the second groove”.
Claim 18: None of the cited prior arts, on record, taken alone or in combination, provides a reasonable motivation to fairly teach or suggest applicant claimed invention, “the display panel of claim 17, wherein the first inorganic layer and the second inorganic layer are in contact with each other in an area between the second groove and the module hole”.
Claims 8, and 11-12 are also objected to because of their dependency on the objected base claims respectively.
Examiner Nate
20. The Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the references, as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Contact
/MD SAIFUL A SIDDIQUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621