Double Patenting
1. Claims 1-3, 10-12, 15-17, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,260,217. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application would be anticipated by those of ‘217.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1-2, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Magklis et al (US 2013/0326199, herein Magklis) in view of Henry et al (US 2014/0122843, herein Henry).
Regarding claim 1, Magklis teaches a method for renaming architectural register, comprising:
decoding one or more instructions in a pipeline, wherein the one or more instructions update a control and status register (CSR) ([0021-0024], control and status register and operation, [0056], decoding);
updating values in the CSR based on a respective instruction of the one or more instructions ([0024], CSR updated by operations in floating point unit);
allocating one or more tags to the respective instruction in the pipeline ([0027-0028], tracking of operations within processor core & [0030-0031], instructions extended to update CSR fields),
wherein the one or more tags identify the CSR included in or associated with the one or more instructions or the updated values of the CSR ([0027-0029], [0033-0034], and
writing the tags for renaming the CSR ([0021], [0027], renaming enabled by CSR, [0030-0031], updating values of CSR based on FPU operations).
Magklis fails to teach wherein each of the one or more tags is associated with a unique value and writing the tags into a mapping table for renaming the CSR.
Henry teaches a method for renaming architectural registers wherein each of one or more tags is associated with a unique value and the tags are written into a mapping table for renaming a control and status register ([0089], [0128], renaming and rename tags, [0061], control & status registers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Magklis and Henry to utilize a mapping table for register renaming. While both Magklis and Henry disclose the use of control and status registers and register renaming, Magklis does not explicitly disclose the details of a mapping table or other structure used for tracking the renamed values of registers. However, since register renaming is a routine and conventional aspect of the microprocessor art, implementing a mapping table, as disclosed by Henry, would merely entail a simple substitution of known prior art elements to achieve predictable results, and thus would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Magklis and Henry teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: liberating overwritten tags from the mapping table when the respective instruction retires from the pipeline (Magklis [0005], Henry [0092], [0122], freeing entries associated with retiring instruction).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Magklis and Henry teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the pipeline includes a primary pipeline and a vector pipeline (Magklis [0056], vector and scalar units of pipelines, Henry [0043], [0046], vector instructions & multiple pipelines).
Claim 16 refers to a system embodiment of the method embodiment of claim 2. Therefore, the above rejection for claim 2 is applicable to claim 16.
3. Claims 10, 11, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Magklis and Henry as applied to claims above, and further in view of Yeager (US 6,594,728).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Magklis and Henry teaches the method of claim 1. Magklis and Henry fail to teach the method further comprising mapping virtual FIFO entries to physical FIFO entries using a virtual index to manage instruction flow in the pipeline.
Yeager teaches a method comprising mapping virtual FIFO entries to physical FIFO entries using a virtual index to manage instruction flow in a pipeline (7:42-45, FIFO address queue, 8:57-9:33, 10:15-18, virtual indexing of address queues).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Magklis and Henry with those of Yeager to utilize virtual addressing. While neither Magklis nor Henry explicitly contemplate the use of a virtual index, Henry does disclose the potential for using address translation and virtual memory within a memory subsystem (Henry [0062]). As the use of virtual to physical address translation is a routine and conventional aspect of the microprocessor art, the combination would merely entail a simple substitution of known prior art elements to achieve predictable results, and thus would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 11, Magklis teaches an integrated circuit comprising:
a processor (Fig 1, [0015], processors 110, 115, etc) configured to:
decode one or more instructions in a pipeline, wherein the one or more instructions update a control and status register (CSR) ([0021-0024], control and status register and operation, [0056], decoding);
update values in the CSR based on a respective instruction of the one or more instructions ([0024], CSR updated by operations in floating point unit);
allocate one or more tags to the respective instruction in the pipeline ([0027-0028], tracking of operations within processor core & [0030-0031], instructions extended to update CSR fields),
wherein the one or more tags identify the CSR included in or associated with the one or more instructions or the updated values of the CSR ([0027-0029], [0033-0034], and
write the tags for renaming the CSR ([0021], [0027], renaming enabled by CSR, [0030-0031], updating values of CSR based on FPU operations).
Magklis fails to teach wherein each of the one or more tags is associated with a unique value and writing the tags into a mapping table for renaming the CSR, or liberating overwritten tags from the mapping table when the respective instruction retires from the pipeline.
Henry teaches an integrated circuit for renaming architectural registers wherein each of one or more tags is associated with a unique value and the tags are written into a mapping table for renaming a control and status register ([0089], [0128], renaming and rename tags, [0061], control & status registers), and liberating overwritten tags from the mapping table when the respective instruction retires from the pipeline ([0092], [0122], freeing entries associated with retiring instruction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Magklis and Henry to utilize a mapping table for register renaming. While both Magklis and Henry disclose the use of control and status registers and register renaming, Magklis does not explicitly disclose the details of a mapping table or other structure used for tracking the renamed values of registers. However, since register renaming is a routine and conventional aspect of the microprocessor art, implementing a mapping table, as disclosed by Henry, would merely entail a simple substitution of known prior art elements to achieve predictable results, and thus would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Magklis and Henry fail to teach the integrated circuit comprising a store buffer.
Yeager teaches an integrated circuit comprising a store buffer and a processor configured to perform register renaming (4:47-51, register renaming & 6:35-36, store buffer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Magklis and Henry with those of Yeager to utilize a store buffer. While neither Magklis nor Henry disclose internal details of the units which handle memory instructions such as loads and stores, a buffer or queue dedicated to handling outgoing stores to a memory system is a routine and conventional aspect of the microprocessor art. As all three references disclose techniques for handling memory operations and register renaming, the combination would merely entail a simple substitution of known prior art elements to achieve predictable results, and thus would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 15 refers to a circuit embodiment of the method embodiment of claim 10. Therefore, the above rejection for claim 10 is applicable to claim 15.
Claim 20 refers to a system embodiment of the method embodiment of claim 10. Therefore, the above rejection for claim 10 is applicable to claim 20.
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 3-8, 12-14, and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Matveyev (US 2016/0378480) discloses a processor for renaming the mapping of a status register.
Senthinathan (US 2015/0177821) discloses a processor that utilizes virtual indexing for a store buffer and other queues.
Cain (US 2013/0019085) discloses a processor that uses physical IDs for control registers.
Alexander (US 6,779,103) discloses a processor that renames control registers.
Elwood (US 6,304,963) discloses a processor that updates a vector control register with values pertaining to vector type and length.
/MICHAEL J METZGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2183