DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2022-126647, filed on 08/08/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 02/03/2025, 06/25/2025 and 12/22/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
(1) In claim 9, line 3, insert a colon “:” after the word “comprising”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
6. Claims 1 and 8-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 6-7 of copending Application No. 19/044534.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, for example:
Claims of instant application:
1. A communication apparatus configured to communicate with a plurality of networks by using a plurality of subscriber identity modules, the communication apparatus comprising: a controller configured to temporarily restrict a capability of the communication apparatus used for communication with a second network in a case of communicating with a first network; and a communicator configured to transmit restriction information for temporarily restricting the capability, to the second network.
8. The communication apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the information for indicating that the capability is temporarily restricted is included in a complete message used to confirm that a procedure related to the radio resource control (RRC) connection has been successfully completed.
9. A base station of a network in a mobile communication system including a communication apparatus configured to communicate with a plurality of networks by using a plurality of subscriber identity modules, the base station comprising a communicator configured to receive, from the communication apparatus communicating with another network, restriction information for temporarily restricting a capability of the communication apparatus used for communication with the network.
10. A communication method executed by a communication apparatus configured to communicate with a plurality of networks by using a plurality of subscriber identity modules, the communication method comprising the steps of: temporarily restricting a capability of the communication apparatus used for communication with a second network in a case of communicating with a first network; and transmitting restriction information for temporarily restricting the capability to the second network.
Claims of copending Application No. 19/044534:
1. A communication apparatus configured to communicate with a plurality of networks by using a plurality of subscriber identity modules, the communication apparatus comprising: a controller configured to temporarily restrict a capability of the communication apparatus used for communication with a first network in a case of communicating with a second network; and a communicator configured to transmit information for indicating that the capability is temporarily restricted, to the second network.
2. The communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the information is included in a complete message used to confirm that a procedure related to a radio resource control (RRC) connection has been successfully completed.
6. A base station of a network in a mobile communication system including a communication apparatus configured to communicate with a plurality of networks by using a plurality of subscriber identity modules, the base station comprising a communicator configured to receive, from the communication apparatus temporarily restricting a capability of the communication apparatus used for communication with another network, information for indicating that the capability is temporarily restricted.
7. A communication method executed by a communication apparatus configured to communicate with a plurality of networks by using a plurality of subscriber identity modules, the communication method comprising the steps of: temporarily restricting a capability of the communication apparatus used for communication with a first network in a case of communicating with a second network; and transmitting information for indicating that the capability is temporarily restricted, to the second network.
As can be seen in the above claims comparison, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use theteachings of claims of co-pending application to perform the same functions as claimed by the present application. The instant claims obviously encompass the claimed invention of co-pending application and differ only in terminology.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
(1) Claim 8 recites the limitation "the radio resource control (RRC) connection" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Please note: Examiner has cited particular columns, line numbers, and figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teaching of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well.
Applicants are reminded that MPEP 2141.02 states:
A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
11. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by XIAO et al. (US 20260012773) (hereinafter XIAO).
Regarding claims 1 and 10:
As shown in figures 1-15, XIAO discloses a communication apparatus (see UE figures 1 and 15) configured to communicate with a plurality of networks (see a plurality of networks A-C) by using a plurality of subscriber identity modules (see a plurality of subscriber identity modules A-B), the communication apparatus comprising:
a controller (see processor 151 in figure 15) configured to temporarily restrict a capability of the communication apparatus used for communication with a second network (see network A in par 0127) in a case of communicating with a first network (abstract, par 0127-0132); and
a communicator (150 in figure 15) configured to transmit restriction information for temporarily restricting the capability, to the second network (figure 5, abstract, par 0110, 0127-0132, 0160-0166).
Regarding claim 2:
XIAO further discloses wherein the restriction information is included in a UE assistance information message used for an indication of UE assistance information (par 0068, 0089, 0110).
Regarding claim 3:
XIAO further discloses wherein the restriction information is included in a multiple universal subscriber identity module, MUSIM, assistance information element used to provide MUSIM assistance information (par 0110, 0132).
Regarding claim 4:
XIAO further discloses wherein the controller is configured to include, in the MUSIM assistance information element (par 0110, 0132), at least one of information for restricting a secondary cell, information for restricting a frequency band, and information for restricting a multiple-input and multiple-output, MIMO, layer as the restriction information (par 0091-0094, 0127, 0129, 0225, 0231-0232).
Regarding claim 5:
XIAO further discloses wherein the controller is configured to include, in the MUSIM assistance information element, flag information for deactivating or releasing a secondary cell as the restriction information (see the flow chart of figure 5).
Regarding claim 6:
XIAO further discloses wherein the communicator is configured to transmit information for releasing or changing the temporary restriction of the capability to the second network (see the flow chart of figure 5).
Regarding claim 7:
XIAO further discloses wherein the communicator is configured to transmit information for indicating that the capability is temporarily restricted, to the second network (figure 5, abstract, par 0110, 0127-0132, 0160-0166), and the communicator is configured to transmit the restriction information to the second network after the transmission of the information for indicating that the capability is temporarily restricted (figure 5, abstract, par 0110, 0127-0132, 0160-0166).
Regarding claim 8:
XIAO further discloses wherein the information for indicating that the capability is temporarily restricted is included in a complete message used to confirm that a procedure related to the radio resource control (RRC) connection has been successfully completed (abstract).
Regarding claim 9:
As shown in figures 1-15, XIAO discloses a base station of a network in a mobile communication system (par 0055, 0063) including a communication apparatus (see UE figures 1 and 15) configured to communicate with a plurality of networks by using a plurality of subscriber identity modules, the base station comprising
a communicator configured to receive, from the communication apparatus communicating with another network (figure 5, abstract, par 0110, 0127-0132, 0160-0166), restriction information for temporarily restricting a capability of the communication apparatus used for communication with the network (figure 5, abstract, par 0110, 0127-0132, 0160-0166).
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JIN et al. (US 20240422843) disclose a 5G or 6G communication system for supporting a higher data transmission rate including a user equipment, which supports a plurality of USIMs, may be supported so as to also perform an operation related to dual connectivity configured in one network while maintaining RRC connection establishment with two networks.
13 Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KABIR A TIMORY whose telephone number is (571)270-1674. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 7:00 AM-3:00 PM.
/KABIR A TIMORY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631