DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . All the claims have been examined on the basis of the merit of the claims.
Priority
The present application claims foreign priority benefits from KR102024001792 filed on 02/06/2024 in Korea. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/02/2025 and 02/05/2025 are considered and attached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 18-19 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by PARK et al., (US-20220109028-A1, hereinafter as PARK).
In regard to claim 1, PARK discloses a display device (a display device referring to figs. 12-14), comprising: a display panel including a plurality of light-emitting regions (DP comprising PXA1…PXA3), a non-light-emitting region (NPXA), a display element layer (DP-OLED layer), and an encapsulation layer disposed on the display element layer (TFE disposed on the DP-OLED layer as shown); and an input sensing layer (ICL2 and ICL1 taken together) including a first insulating layer (IIL1) directly disposed on (directly disposed on) the encapsulation layer (the TFE) and a plurality of sensing electrodes (ICL1 and/or ICL2 comprise(s) plural sensing electrodes IE1s and/or EI2s) disposed on the first insulating layer (disposed on the IIL1), wherein each of the plurality of sensing electrodes includes a mesh pattern having a plurality of openings defined therein (each of the sensing electrodes comprises a mesh pattern having openings as shown), wherein a portion of the mesh pattern overlaps a portion of each of the plurality of light-emitting regions on a plane (SIE2 as a portion of the mesh pattern overlaps a portion of each plurality of light emitting region PXA1…PXA3).
In regard to claim 27, PARK discloses an electronic device, comprising: a display panel (a display device referring to figs. 12-14) including a plurality of light-emitting regions (DP comprising PXA1…PXA3), a non-light-emitting region (NPXA), a display element layer (DP-OLED layer), and an encapsulation layer disposed on the display element layer (TFE disposed on the DP-OLED layer as shown); an input sensing layer (ICL2 and ICL1 taken together) including a first insulating layer (IIL1) directly disposed on (directly disposed on) the encapsulation layer (the TFE) and a plurality of sensing electrodes disposed on the first insulating layer (ICL1 and/or ICL2 comprise(s) plural sensing electrodes IE1s and/or EI2s); and an anti-reflection layer disposed on the input sensing layer (para 0060, the display device DD may further include an anti-reflective unit. The anti-reflective unit may be disposed on the input sensor ISP), wherein each of the plurality of sensing electrodes includes a mesh pattern having a plurality of openings defined therein (each of the sensing electrodes comprises a mesh pattern having openings as shown), wherein a portion of the mesh pattern overlaps a portion of each of the plurality of light-emitting regions on a plane (SIE2 as a portion of the mesh pattern overlaps a portion of each plurality of light emitting region PXA1…PXA3).
In regard to claim 2, PARK discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein a portion of the mesh pattern overlaps an outer side portion of each of the plurality of light-emitting regions (SIE1_b overlaps an outer side portion (the NPXA border area) of the emitting region, fig. 14).
In regard to claim 3, PARK discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of light-emitting regions comprises a plurality of outer sides, and at least one of the plurality of outer sides is covered by the mesh pattern on the plane (fig.14, border area NPXA as plurality of outer sides which are covered by mesh pattern).
In regard to claim 4, PARK discloses the display device of claim 3, wherein the mesh pattern comprises: a plurality of first mesh lines extending along one direction and arranged along a crossing direction crossing the one direction (fig. 12, first mesh lines of IE2 mesh lines as shown in a first angled direction with respect to DR1 and DR2 directions); and a plurality of second mesh lines extending along the crossing direction and arranged along the one direction, wherein the plurality of openings are surrounded by the plurality of first mesh lines and the plurality of second mesh lines (fig.12, second mesh lines of IE2 mesh lines as shown crossing the first mesh line in a second angled direction with respect to DR1 and DR2, wherein the PXAs are surrounded by both the first and second mesh lines).
In regard to claim 5, PARK discloses the display device of claim 4, wherein the plurality of outer sides of each of the plurality of light-emitting regions comprise: first and second sides facing each other in the crossing direction and extending in the one direction; and third and fourth sides facing each other in the one direction and extending in the crossing direction (quadrilateral shaped openings as shown in fig. 12 having at least four sides), wherein: at least some of the first and second sides are covered by the plurality of first mesh lines on the plane; and at least some of the third and fourth sides are covered by the plurality of second mesh lines on the plane (figs. 12, 14, some of the first and second are border and covered by first mesh lines and 3rd and 4th sides are bordered and covered by second mesh lines on the plan view as shown).
In regard to claim 6, PARK discloses the display device of claim 4, wherein the plurality of openings defined in the mesh pattern comprise: a plurality of central openings that at least partially overlap the light-emitting regions (OP1_a, b, c in the PXAs as shown in fig. 14 as central openings partially overlap with the PXAs); and a plurality of peripheral openings that do not overlap the light-emitting regions (fig.12, the openings or the gaps created by the electrode mesh IE1 and IE2 as the peripheral openings).
In regard to claim 18, PARK discloses the display device of claim 4, wherein the plurality of light-emitting regions comprise a plurality of unit light-emitting regions arranged along each of the one direction and the crossing direction, wherein each of the plurality of unit light-emitting regions comprises: one first light-emitting region and one third light-emitting region spaced apart from each other in a first direction which is a diagonal direction of the one direction and the crossing direction (fig. 12, PXAs comprises OLED units arranged in an angled manner with respect to DR1 and DR2 directions at least 2 light emitting regions in diagonal direction); and two second light-emitting regions spaced apart from each other in a second direction crossing the first direction, wherein the first, second, and third light-emitting regions respectively emit first, second, and third color lights which are different from each other (para 0010, , the first light is a red light, the second light is a green light, and the third light is a blue light).
In regard to claim 19, PARK discloses the display device of claim 4, wherein the plurality of light-emitting regions comprise: a first light-emitting region and a second light-emitting region alternately arranged along the one direction; and a third light-emitting region spaced apart from the first light-emitting region and the second light-emitting region along the crossing direction, wherein the first, second, and third light-emitting regions respectively emit first, second, and third color lights which are different from each other (fig. 6, para 0109, as an example, the first light may be a red light, the second light may be a green light, and the third light may be a blue light. PXA are arranged as per fig. 12, wherein the first and second PXA can be alternately arranged. And a third PXA can be arranged crossing direction, see diagonal arrangement with respect to DR1 and DR2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-12 and 20-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regard to claim 7, PARK discloses the display device of claim 6, wherein: the mesh pattern covers all of the plurality of outer sides of each of the plurality of light-emitting regions (fig.12, and fig. 14, mesh pattern covers outer sides of PXAs);
PARK does not disclose “and each of the plurality of central openings is disposed within a corresponding light-emitting region on the plane.”
Claim 8 depends on claim 7.
In regard to claim 9, PARK discloses the display device of claim 6, wherein the plurality of outer sides of each of the plurality of light-emitting regions comprise: first and second sides facing each other in the crossing direction and extending in the one direction; and third and fourth sides facing each other in the one direction and extending in the crossing direction, wherein: the first, fourth, second, and third sides are sequentially connected to each other in a clockwise direction (fig. 12, first mesh lines of IE2 mesh lines as shown in a first angled direction with respect to DR1 and DR2 directions);
PARK does not disclose “and the mesh pattern covers two interconnected sides among the plurality of outer sides of each of the plurality of light-emitting regions, wherein at least some of the plurality of light-emitting regions cover two different sides among the first to fourth sides.”
Dependent claims 10-12 depend on claim 9.
In regard to claim 13, PARK discloses the display device of claim 6, PARK does not disclose “wherein, on the plane, a separation distance in a direction from an outer side of the light-emitting region covered by the mesh pattern to an adjacent central opening is less than or equal to a width of the mesh pattern in the direction.”
In regard to claim 14, PARK discloses the display device of claim 6, PARK does not disclose “wherein a cut portion configured to connect two adjacent peripheral openings to each other among the plurality of peripheral openings is defined in the mesh pattern.”
Claims 15-16 depend on claim 14.
In regard to claim 17, PARK discloses the display device of claim 6, wherein the plurality of sensing electrodes comprise: a plurality of first sensing electrodes extending in the one direction and arranged in the crossing direction crossing the one direction; and a plurality of second sensing electrodes extending in the crossing direction and arranged in the one direction, wherein: each of the first sensing electrodes includes a plurality of first sensing portions arranged in the one direction; and each of the second sensing electrodes includes a plurality of second sensing portions arranged in the crossing direction (fig.12).
PARK does not disclose “wherein a boundary cut portion is defined between a first sensing portion and a second sensing portion adjacent to each other, wherein the boundary cut portion is spaced apart from the plurality of central openings.”
In regard to claim 20, PARK discloses the display device of claim 19, PARK does not disclose “wherein: the third light-emitting region is disposed to be closer to the first light-emitting region than the second light-emitting region in the one direction; and the mesh pattern further comprises a third mesh line spaced apart from the plurality of second mesh lines, wherein the third mesh line extends along the crossing direction and covers an outer side of the third light-emitting region adjacent to the second light-emitting region.”
In regard to claim 21, PARK discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the input sensing layer further comprises: a second insulating layer disposed on the first insulating layer (fig. 14, IIL2 disposed on IIL1); a first conductive layer disposed between the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer (fig.13, ICL1 between IIL1 and IIL2); and a second conductive layer disposed on the second insulating layer (ICL2 on IIL2, fig.13), wherein the plurality of sensing electrodes comprise: a plurality of first sensing electrodes extending in one direction and arranged in a crossing direction crossing the one direction (fig. 12, first mesh lines of IE2 mesh lines as shown in a first angled direction with respect to DR1 and DR2 directions); and a plurality of second sensing electrodes extending in the crossing direction and arranged in the one direction (fig.12, second mesh lines of IE2 mesh lines as shown crossing the first mesh line in a second angled direction with respect to DR1 and DR2, wherein the PXAs are surrounded by both the first and second mesh lines),
PARK does not disclose “wherein: each of the first sensing electrodes comprises a plurality of first sensing portions arranged in the one direction and connection patterns connecting the first sensing portions to each other; and each of the second sensing electrodes comprises a plurality of second sensing portions arranged in the crossing direction and extension patterns connecting the second sensing portions to each other, wherein: the first sensing portions, the second sensing portions, and the extension patterns are included in the second conductive layer; and the connection patterns are included in the first conductive layer.”
Claims 22-26 and 28 are allowable.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regard to claim 22, PARK discloses a display device (a display device referring to figs. 12-14), comprising: a display panel comprising a plurality of light-emitting regions (DP comprising PXA1…PXA3), a non-light-emitting region (NPXA), a display element layer (DP-OLED layer), and an encapsulation layer disposed on the display element layer (TFE disposed on the DP-OLED layer as shown); and an input sensing layer (ICL2 and ICL1 taken together) comprising a first insulating layer (IIL1) directly disposed on (directly disposed on) the encapsulation layer (the TFE) and a plurality of sensing electrodes disposed on the first insulating layer (ICL1 and/or ICL2 comprise(s) plural sensing electrodes IE1s and/or EI2s), wherein each of the plurality of sensing electrodes includes a mesh pattern having a plurality of openings defined therein (each of the sensing electrodes comprises a mesh pattern having opening as shown), wherein the openings defined in the mesh pattern comprise: a plurality of central openings that at least partially overlap the light-emitting regions (OP1_a, b, c in the PXAs as shown in fig. 14 as central openings partially overlap with the PXAs); and a plurality of peripheral openings that do not overlap the light-emitting regions (fig.12, the openings or the gaps created by the electrode mesh IE1 and IE2 as the peripheral openings),
PARK does not disclose “wherein a cut portion connecting two adjacent peripheral openings to each other among the peripheral openings is defined in the mesh pattern.”
Accordingly, the independent claim 22 is allowable. The dependent claims 23-26 would also be allowed based on their respective dependencies from the independent claim 22.
In regard to claim 28, PARK discloses an electronic device, comprising: a display panel comprising a plurality of light-emitting regions, a non-light-emitting region, a display element layer, and an encapsulation layer disposed on the display element layer; an input sensing layer comprising a first insulating layer directly disposed on the encapsulation layer and a plurality of sensing electrodes disposed on the first insulating layer; and an anti-reflection layer disposed on the input sensing layer, wherein each of the plurality of sensing electrodes includes a mesh pattern having a plurality of openings defined therein, wherein the openings defined in the mesh pattern comprise: a plurality of central openings that at least partially overlap the light-emitting regions; and a plurality of peripheral openings that do not overlap the light-emitting regions (see citations to claim 27 above),
PARK does not disclose “wherein a cut portion connecting two adjacent peripheral openings to each other among the peripheral openings is defined in the mesh pattern.”
Accordingly, the independent claim 28 is allowable.
Conclusion
/DEEPROSE SUBEDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627