Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 4, 7, and 8, the Applicant contends that, in Li, k is the index of a coded block bk (e.g., see paragraphs [0018] and [0024]), not a value indicating the total number of available prediction modes. In this regard, while the prediction modes available for selection depend on k, the block index k itself does not indicate the total number of available prediction modes. Specifically, Li discloses that only prediction mode 1 is available for k=1; prediction modes 1 and 2 are available for k=2; prediction modes 1, 2, 3, and 5 are available for k=3; prediction modes 1 through 5 are available for k=4; and six prediction modes are available for k>5 (see paragraph [0018]). Thus, for example, k=3 corresponds to four available prediction modes and k=4 corresponds to five available prediction modes. Accordingly, it is clear that k is not equal to, and does not represent, the total number of available prediction modes. Based on the foregoing, Applicant submits that Li does not disclose, suggest, or render obvious at least the above-noted feature recited in claim 1 of "generating a bitstream including a mode value indicating the prediction mode selected, the prediction residual, and a total value indicating a total number of the plurality of prediction modes." However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
While the Examiner concedes that index k is not equal to the total number of available prediction modes, the Examiner maintains that index k does indicate the total number of available prediction modes. Each index k, as noted by the Applicant, corresponds to a particular set of available prediction modes. Thus, the total number of available prediction modes may be deduced by the value of index k.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 20200137399 A1).
Re claim 1, Li discloses a three-dimensional data encoding method comprising:
calculating a prediction residual which is a difference between information to be encoded and a predicted value corresponding to a prediction mode selected from among a plurality of prediction modes (Li: paragraph [0010], prediction residual); and
generating a bitstream including a mode value indicating the prediction mode selected, the prediction residual, and a total value indicating a total number of the plurality of prediction modes (Li: Fig. 4, prediction mode and residual code stream for each coded block; Fig. 1, section 4, block number k indicates number of allowable modes to select from; paragraph [0027], entropy encoding).
Re claim 2, Li discloses that one prediction mode of the plurality of prediction modes is a mode that uses an average value of a plurality of three-dimensional points to be referred in a prediction process (Li: paragraphs [0054]-[0057]).
Re claim 3, Li discloses that the predicted value is a median or a maximum value of a plurality of three-dimensional points to be referred in a prediction process (Li: paragraph [0047]).
Claim 4 recites the corresponding three-dimensional data decoding method for decoding the data encoded by the three-dimensional data encoding method of claim 1. Encoding and decoding are understood in the art to be inverse operations. Therefore, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable to claim 4. Accordingly, claim 4 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 1 above.
Claim 5 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 2 above.
Claim 6 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 3 above.
Claim 7 recites the corresponding three-dimensional data encoding device for implementing the method of claim 1. Li discloses that the invention belongs to the technical field of point cloud data processing, and relates to a point cloud data compression method (Li: paragraph [0001]). Data processing and compression are understood in the art to be performed within a computing system, wherein computing systems inherently include a processor and memory containing program instructions. Therefore, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable to claim 7. Accordingly, claim 7 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 1 above.
Claim 8 recites the corresponding three-dimensional data decoding device for implementing the method of claim 4. Li discloses that the invention belongs to the technical field of point cloud data processing, and relates to a point cloud data compression method (Li: paragraph [0001]). Data processing and compression are understood in the art to be performed within a computing system, wherein computing systems inherently include a processor and memory containing program instructions. Therefore, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 4 are applicable to claim 8. Accordingly, claim 8 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 4 above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/CHRISTOPHER G FINDLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482