DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites “the cover, or both”. It is unclear which elements cover “both” as recited, since only an option “the cover” is recited.
For examination purposes, “the cover, or both” is construed as --the cover--.
Claims 14-16 dependent from the claim 13 are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miki (US PGPub No. 2008/0236805) in view of Fonfara (US PGPub No. 2007/0274044).
Regarding claim 1, Miki discloses a device (Fig. 2) comprising:
a platform (an assembly of plates 8a, 8b, two radiating plates 14 and thermo-modules 10) comprising one or more first members (plate 8a), each of the one or more first members having a first surface (a surface that contacts sheet member 16); and
a manifold (flow path block 6 and sheet members 16 on its opposite sides, the flow path block 6 is a manifold to divide a fluid flow towards sheet members 16, Fig. 4) removably coupled with the platform (by coupling screws 18) and configured to enhance heat transfer between the platform and a fluid flowing through the manifold (the flow path block 6 and the plate 8a enhance heat transfer by contact and tightening the screws 18), the manifold comprising an inlet (20A), an outlet (20B) and one or more bases (sheet member 16 connecting the plate 8a) between the inlet and outlet (the sheet member 16 extends between the inlet 20A and outlet 20B in vertical direction of Fig. 2), wherein:
each respective base in the one or more bases is removably fitted on a corresponding first member in the one or more first members of the platform (the sheet member 16 is removably fitted the plate 8a by the screws 18, see Figs. 2 and 4).
Miki fails to disclose one or more fins protruding from the first surface;
the respective base is formed with a plurality of first grooves on an interior side of the manifold and one or more second grooves on an exterior side of the manifold;
each of the plurality of first grooves is in fluidic communication with the inlet and the outlet to allow the fluid to flow through;
each of the plurality of first grooves is adjacent to at least one second groove in the one or more second grooves; and
each respective second groove in the one or more second grooves receives a corresponding fin in the one or more fins of the corresponding first member when the respective base of the manifold is fitted on the corresponding first member of the platform, thereby enhancing heat transfer between the fluid and the platform by increasing a surface area between the respective base of the manifold and the corresponding first member of the platform.
Fonfara discloses one or more fins protruding from the first surface (ribs 11 projecting from first heat sink 7, Figs. 1 and 2);
the respective base (bottom of second heat sink 9) is formed with a plurality of first grooves on an interior side of the manifold (grooves within channels 15 at bottom of the second heat sink 9) and one or more second grooves on an exterior side of the manifold (grooves between ribs 13 at bottom of the second heat sink 9);
each of the plurality of first grooves is in fluidic communication with the inlet and the outlet to allow the fluid to flow through (the grooves within the channels 15 have fluid communication with inlet 23 and outlet 25);
each of the plurality of first grooves is adjacent to at least one second groove in the one or more second grooves (the grooves within the channels 15 and the grooves between ribs 13 are adjacent along horizontal direction of the Fig. 2); and
each respective second groove in the one or more second grooves (the groove between the ribs 13 of the second heat sink 9) receives a corresponding fin in the one or more fins of the corresponding first member when the respective base of the manifold is fitted on the corresponding first member of the platform (receives the ribs 11 projecting from first heat sink 7, Fig. 2), thereby enhancing heat transfer between the fluid and the platform by increasing a surface area between the respective base of the manifold and the corresponding first member of the platform (a larger area of contact between the first heat sink 7 and the second heat sink 9 results an increased heat exchange between the two, see “a larger heat transfer to liquid coolant is achieved, because a larger surface can be reached”, paragraph 0017).
Therefore, the interface between the sheet member 16 (the base as claimed) and the plate 8a (the first surface of the first member claimed) in Miki may be provided with engaging ribs and grooves on the first 7 and second heat sink 9 in order to increase contact surface area so that increases conduction heat exchange.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided one or more fins protruding from the first surface;
the respective base is formed with a plurality of first grooves on an interior side of the manifold and one or more second grooves on an exterior side of the manifold;
each of the plurality of first grooves is in fluidic communication with the inlet and the outlet to allow the fluid to flow through;
each of the plurality of first grooves is adjacent to at least one second groove in the one or more second grooves; and
each respective second groove in the one or more second grooves receives a corresponding fin in the one or more fins of the corresponding first member when the respective base of the manifold is fitted on the corresponding first member of the platform, thereby enhancing heat transfer between the fluid and the platform by increasing a surface area between the respective base of the manifold and the corresponding first member of the platform,
in Miki as taught by Fonfara in order to increase conduction heat exchange as a result of the ribs and grooves having an increased surface area.
Regarding claim 2, Miki as modified in claim 1 further discloses wherein the platform comprises one or more first cooling assemblies (the thermo-modules 10 connecting the plate 8a) operable to cool the one or more first members of the platform by heat conduction, heat convection, radiation, or any combination thereof (the thermo-modules 10 are constructed with a plurality of Peltier devices, paragraph 0023, and cool the plate 8a and further cool liquid medicine flowing in the flow path block 6).
Regarding claim 3, Miki in claim 2 further discloses wherein the one or more first cooling assemblies comprise one or more thermoelectric coolers, one or more direct-to-air thermoelectric cooling assemblies, one or more direct-to-liquid thermoelectric cooling assemblies, direct liquid cooling, air cooling, one or more fans, one or more heatsinks, or any combination thereof (the thermo-modules 10 are constructed with a plurality of Peltier devices, paragraph 0023).
Regarding claim 4, Miki in claim 2 further discloses wherein the one or more first cooling assemblies are disposed on the one or more first members of the platform (the thermo-modules 10 are disposed on the plate 8a, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Miki as modified in claim 1 further discloses wherein:
the respective base is further formed with a first chamber adjacent to the inlet (flow-dividing chamber 6c, adjacent to the inlet 20A, Fig. 1); and
each of the plurality of first grooves is in fluidic communication with the inlet through the first chamber (the inside grooves provided onto inside of the sheet member 16 as modified by Fonfara are in fluidic communication with the inlet 20A through the flow-dividing chamber 6c).
Regarding claim 6, Miki as modified in claim 1 further discloses wherein:
the respective base is further formed with a second chamber adjacent to the outlet (interflow chamber 6d, adjacent to the inlet 20B, Fig. 1); and
each of the plurality of first grooves is in fluidic communication with the outlet through the second chamber (the inside grooves provided onto inside of the sheet member 16 as modified by Fonfara are in fluidic communication with the outlet 20B through the interflow chamber 6d).
Regarding claim 9, Miki as modified in claim 1 further discloses wherein at least a portion of the respective base of the manifold (a modified ribbed and grooved portion of the sheet member 16 as taught by Fonfara) is corrugated to form the plurality of first grooves and the one or more second grooves (is corrugated to form the modified ribs and grooves).
Regarding claim 10, Miki as modified in claim 1 further discloses wherein the number of the one or more second grooves formed on the respective base of the manifold is the same as the number of the one or more fins on the corresponding first member of the platform (the modified grooves on the sheet member 16 and the modified ribs on the plates 8a are engaged, see for reference Fig. 2 of Fonfara, therefore the number of the both is the same).
Regarding claim 11, Miki as modified in claim 1 further discloses wherein:
the one or more bases consist of a single base (the sheet member 16 is a single sheet member 16);
the one or more first members consist of a single first member (the plate 8a is a single plate 8a); and
the manifold further comprises a cover (opposite sheet member 16 connecting a plate 8b on opposite side of the single sheet member 16) covering the single base between the inlet and the outlet (the opposite sheet member 16 at least covers the left side of the single sheet member 16).
Regarding claim 12, Miki in claim 11 further discloses wherein the cover is opposite to the plurality of first grooves formed on the single base of the manifold (the opposite sheet member 16 is opposite to the grooves in the modified sheet member 16).
Regarding claim 13, as best understood, Miki in claim 11 further discloses wherein the platform further comprises a second member (the plate 8b) removably coupled with the manifold to retain the manifold (the plate 8b removably coupled to flow path block 6 by coupling screws 18), to allow heat transfer between the second member and the fluid through the cover (the coupling allows conduction heat transfer between the plate 8b and the fluid in the flow path block 6 through the opposite sheet member 16).
Regarding claim 14, Miki in claim 11 further discloses wherein the second member of the platform is rotatable with respect to the single first member of the platform (the plate 8b is rotatable with respect to the plate 8a when the screws are removed).
Regarding claim 15, Miki in claim 13 further discloses wherein the second member of the platform is removably placed on the cover of the manifold (the plate 8b is removable from the opposite sheet member 16 by removing the coupling screws 18).
Regarding claim 16, Miki in claim 13 further discloses wherein the platform further comprises one or more second cooling assemblies (the thermo-modules 10 connecting the plate 8b) operable to cool the second member by heat conduction, heat convection, radiation, or any combination thereof (the thermo-modules 10 are constructed with a plurality of Peltier devices, paragraph 0023, and cool the plate 8a and further cool liquid medicine flowing in the flow path block 6).
Regarding claim 17, Miki in claim 16 further discloses wherein the one or more second cooling assemblies comprise one or more thermoelectric coolers, one or more direct-to-air thermoelectric cooling assemblies, one or more direct-to-liquid thermoelectric cooling assemblies, direct liquid cooling, air cooling, one or more fans, one or more heatsinks, or any combination thereof (the thermo-modules 10 are constructed with a plurality of Peltier devices, paragraph 0023).
Regarding claim 18, Miki in claim 16 further disclose wherein the one or more second cooling assemblies are disposed on the second member (the thermo-modules 10 connecting the plate 8b, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 19, Miki as modified in claim 1 fails to disclose a system comprising a plurality of devices of claim 1.
Fonfara (Fig. 3) discloses a plurality of devices (a plurality of cooling device 1 shown in Fig. 1).
Therefore, a simply duplication of the device shown in Fig. 2 of Miki may be provided alongside with the original device to increase or double the cooling capacity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a system comprising a plurality of devices of claim 1 in Miki as taught by Fonfara since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 20, Miki as modified in claim 19 fails to disclose wherein:
the manifolds of at least a subset of the plurality of devices are fluidly connected to each other in series;
the manifolds of at least a subset of the plurality of devices are fluidly connected to each other in parallel; or both.
Fonfara (Fig. 3) further discloses the manifolds of at least a subset of the plurality of devices (first heat sink parts 7 of two cooling devices 1 shown in Fig. 3 as “a subset of the plurality of devices”) connected to each other in parallel (to receive a cooling fluid in parallel from a common header 35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the manifolds of at least a subset of the plurality of devices are fluidly connected to each other in parallel in Miki as taught by Fonfara in order to supply the fluid to both of the devices to double the cooling capacity.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miki (US PGPub No. 2008/0236805) and Fonfara (US PGPub No. 2007/0274044) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Okuno (US PGPub No. 2022/0030747).
Regarding claim 7, Miki as modified in claim 1 fails to disclose wherein the inlet, the outlet and the one or more bases are monolithically formed as a unitary piece.
Okuno (Figs. 2 and 3A) discloses a housing (2) including the inlet (21), the outlet (22) and the base (partition 3) are monolithically formed as a unitary piece (the partition 3 may be provided together with the housing 2 in a single monolithic member).
Therefore, the flow path block 6, inlet 20A, outlet 20B, and sheet members 16 may be made monolithic as taught by Okuno.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the inlet, the outlet and the one or more bases are monolithically formed as a unitary piece in Miki as taught by Okuno in order to eliminate seals between the flow path block 6 and the sheet members 16 so that prevents fluid leak when the seals fail.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miki (US PGPub No. 2008/0236805), Fonfara (US PGPub No. 2007/0274044) and Okuno (US PGPub No. 2022/0030747) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Fritze (US PGPub No. 2006/0021745).
Regarding claim 8, Miki as modified in claim 7 fails to disclose wherein the unitary piece is made of a material comprising nylon, polycarbonate, polypropylene, polysulfone, polyethylene, or any combination thereof.
Fritze discloses wherein the unitary piece (monolithic plate heat exchanger 100) is made of a material comprising nylon, polycarbonate, polypropylene, polysulfone, polyethylene, or any combination thereof (paragraph 0050 lists a materials including nylon, polyethylene and polypropylene).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the unitary piece is made of a material comprising nylon, polycarbonate, polypropylene, polysulfone, polyethylene, or any combination thereof in Miki as taught by Fritze in order to satisfy a variety of factors such as, for example, cost, processing ability, durability and compatibility with potable liquids (paragraph 0050 of Fritz).
Conclusion
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/F.K.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3763