DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-8, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (US 20220383965 A1; hereinafter "Yang").
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses:
A method of operating a memory device (memory device 100), comprising the steps of:
preparing a memory block that includes an array of memory cells that are arranged in a plurality of word lines (FIGs. 6A-6F), a selected word line of a plurality of word lines being programmed according to a storage scheme that includes at least three data states (FIG. 7B: data states S1-S7);
during a sensing operation, for a set duration, discharging a sensing capacitor through a selected NAND string that includes a selected memory cell to be read (FIG. 26: step 2605);
after discharging the sensing capacitor for the set duration, conducting a first comparison of a voltage at a sense node to a trip voltage (FIG. 26: step 2607); and
applying a first voltage to an opposite side of the sensing capacitor from the sense node, and then conducting a second comparison of the voltage at the sense node to the trip voltage (FIG. 26: step 2611).
Regarding claim 7, Yang discloses:
during the sensing operation, a reference voltage is applied to the selected word line and pass voltages are applied to a plurality of unselected word lines (para. [0126]: “the selected word line is connected to a voltage (one example of a reference signal), a level of which is specified for each read operation. . . the unselected memory cells are provided with one or more read pass voltages”).
Regarding claim 8, Yang discloses:
A memory device (memory device 100), comprising:
a memory block that includes an array of memory cells that are arranged in a plurality of word lines, a selected word line of a plurality of word lines (FIGs. 6A-6F) being programmed according to a storage scheme that includes at least three data states (FIG. 7B: data states S1-S7);
circuitry for reading the data of the selected word line (FIG. 24), the circuitry being configured to;
during a sensing operation, for a set duration, discharge a sensing capacitor through a selected NAND string that includes a selected memory cell to be read (FIG. 26: step 2605),
after discharging the sensing capacitor for the set duration, conduct a first comparison of a voltage at a sense node to a trip voltage (FIG. 26: step 2607), and
apply a first voltage to an opposite side of the sensing capacitor from the sense node, and then conduct a second comparison of the voltage at the sense node to the trip voltage (FIG. 26: step 2611).
Regarding claim 14, Yang discloses:
during the sensing operation, the circuitry applies a reference voltage to the selected word line and pass voltages to a plurality of unselected word lines (para. [0126]: “the selected word line is connected to a voltage (one example of a reference signal), a level of which is specified for each read operation. . . the unselected memory cells are provided with one or more read pass voltages”).
Regarding claim 15, Yang discloses:
A computing system (para. [0119]: “A processor may also be implemented as a combination of computing devices . . .”), comprising:
a processing unit (para. [0119]);
a plurality of memory packages in electrical communication with the processing unit (para. [0119]: “The various illustrative blocks and modules described in connection with the disclosure herein may be implemented or performed with a general-purpose processor . . .”);
each of the memory packages including at least one memory block that includes an array of memory cells that are arranged in a plurality of word lines, a selected word line of a plurality of word lines (FIGs. 6A-6F) being programmed according to a storage scheme that includes at least three data states (FIG. 7B: data states S1-S7); and
each of the memory packages including sensing circuitry for reading the data of the selected word line (FIG. 24), the sensing circuitry being configured to;
during a sensing operation, for a set duration, discharge a sensing capacitor through a selected NAND string that includes a selected memory cell to be read (FIG. 26: step 2605),
after discharging the sensing capacitor for the set duration, conduct a first comparison of a voltage at a sense node to a trip voltage (FIG. 26: step 2607), and
apply a first voltage to an opposite side of the sensing capacitor from the sense node, and then conduct a second comparison of the voltage at the sense node to the trip voltage (FIG. 26: step 2611).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 9, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 20220383965 A1; hereinafter "Yang") in view of Sforzin et al (US 20240062824 A1; hereinafter "Storzin").
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, Yang discloses the elements of claims 1, 8, and 15, respectively, as set forth in the anticipation rejections above.
Yang discloses multilevel memory cells (MLC) but does not disclose a storage scheme including only three data states including a first data state, a second data state, and a third data state.
Sforzin, in the same field of endeavor discloses three data states (Abstract and FIG. 3A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the multilevel memory cells of Yang to include only three data states, as disclosed by Sforzin, because multilevel memory cells were known in the art to include three or more data states.
Claim(s) 4, 11, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 20220383965 A1; hereinafter "Yang") in view of Choi (US 11990191 B2).
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, Yang discloses the elements of claims 1, 8, and 15, respectively, as set forth in the anticipation rejections above.
Yang discloses multilevel memory cells (MLC) but does not disclose a storage scheme including only four data states including a first data state, a second data state, a third data state, and a fourth data state.
Choi, in the same field of endeavor discloses four data states (para. [0139] and FIG. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the multilevel memory cells of Yang to include only four data states, as disclosed by Choi, because multilevel memory cells were known in the art to include three or more data states.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8, and 15 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,532,370. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,532,370 discloses, a memory device comprising a control circuit configured to connect to an array of non-volatile memory cells, wherein claim 1 teaches the control circuit is configured to:
during a sensing operation, for a set duration, discharge a sensing capacitor through a selected NAND string that includes a selected memory cell to be read (“discharge the first plate of the sensing capacitor through the selected memory cell for a sensing interval and trap a resultant charge level on the first plate of the sensing capacitor”),
after discharging the sensing capacitor for the set duration, conduct a first comparison of a voltage at a sense node to a trip voltage (“verify a first threshold voltage level for the selected memory cell by discharging a data latch node by an amount dependent the resultant trapped charge level on the first plate of the sensing capacitor when a second plate of the sensing capacitor is at a first voltage level”), and
apply a first voltage to an opposite side of the sensing capacitor from the sense node, and then conduct a second comparison of the voltage at the sense node to the trip voltage (“verify a second threshold voltage level for the selected memory cell by discharging the data latch node by an amount dependent the resultant trapped charge level on the first plate of the sensing capacitor when the second plate of the sensing capacitor is at a second voltage level that is higher than the first voltage level”).
Claims 2, 9, and 16 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,532,370 in view of Sforzin et al. (US 20240062824 A1). Multilevel memory cells were known at the time of the invention to include three or more data states.
Claims 4, 11, and 18 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,532,370 in view of Choi (US 11990191 B2). Multilevel memory cells were known at the time of the invention to include three or more data states.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5-6, 10, 12-13, 17, and 19-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN BRYCE HEISTERKAMP/Examiner, Art Unit 2827
/AMIR ZARABIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2827