DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/24/25 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 2/5/25. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over US 20230395184 to Caraccio et al.
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
As per claim 1 Caraccio et al. substantially teaches the claimed method comprising: receiving counter values indicating a count of available repair resources for addressable portions of a memory device array (Paragraph [0033] log information); storing the counter values as repair flag tokens associated with corresponding portions of the addressable portions of the memory device array (Paragraph [0033] a flag (e.g., a maintenance flag)); and responsive to detecting an error in a first addressable portion of the addressable portions of the memory device array (Paragraph [0033] a target address (e.g., the address of the affected or faulty row)), changing the repair flag token associated with the first addressable portion where the error was detected (Paragraph [0033] ).
Although Caraccio et al. doesn’t explicitly disclose a counter to indicate the available resources, however Caraccio et al does teach log information that keeps track of multiple items such as the address of the faulty row and the ability to communicate the status of the spare rows being exhausted in order to trigger further action. (Paragraph [0033] ) Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the present application to have used the log reporting of Caraccio et al. because this would be functionally equivalent to the claimed method.
Claim 19 is the processor-readable storage medium corresponding to the method of claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasoning as claim 1.
As per claim 10, Caraccio et al. substantially teaches the claimed system comprising: a host device (Fig 1 element 103); and a memory device coupled to the host device (Fig 1 element 111), wherein the memory device includes a memory device array and control circuitry (Figure 1 element 110), the control circuitry configured to: receive counter values indicating a count of available repair resources for addressable portions of a memory device array (Paragraph [0033] log information); store the counter values as repair flag tokens associated with respective corresponding portions of the addressable portions of the memory device array (Paragraph [0033] a flag (e.g., a maintenance flag)); and responsive to detecting an error in a first addressable portion of the addressable portions of the memory device array (Paragraph [0033] a target address (e.g., the address of the affected or faulty row)), change the repair flag token associated with the first addressable portion where the error was detected (Paragraph [0033]).
Although Caraccio et al. doesn’t explicitly disclose a counter to indicate the available resources, however Caraccio et al does teach log information that keeps track of multiple items such as the address of the faulty row and the ability to communicate the status of the spare rows being exhausted in order to trigger further action. (Paragraph [0033] ) Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the present application to have used the log reporting of Caraccio et al. because the memory system would be functionally equivalent to the claimed memory system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9 11-18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20240330133 to Shukla et al. teaches in response to an error count for the respective classified correctable faulty row exceeding a desired threshold value, mapping the respective classified correctable faulty row to an available spare row, storing the mapping of the respective correctable faulty row and the mapped spare row in a row repair translation table, and copying data stored in the respective correctable faulty row into the mapped spare row.
US 20240029813 to McCombs, Jr. et al. teaches to locate memory identification of the memory and pointing to a row in the memory for repair and further to update a repair chain in a reuse table with the memory identification that points to the row in the memory for repair, and then update memory status of the memory as ready for use.
CYNTHIA H. BRITT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2111
/CYNTHIA BRITT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111