DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05 February 2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “62” has been used to designate both “socket” and “pocket”.
The drawings are objected to because:
In Fig. 3, it appears that reference characters “26” and “66” have been used to designate “column”. Only one reference character and its associated lead line should be used to designate a specific structural element in any given figure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 31 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 31 recites “a slot extending radially inwardly from each of the plurality of holes”. However, the figures (see Figs. 10B, 11A, and 14 - 17) illustrate a slot extending radially outwardly rather than inwardly from each of the plurality of holes. Additionally, the original disclosure does not describe how a slot can extend into a hole. A slot is an narrow aperture or slit and a hole is a hollow space, and the original disclosure does not describe how a slit can be formed in a hollow space.
Claims 35 - 38 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 35, it is unclear whether “the plurality slots” refers to the plurality of slots of the first intermediate plate or to the plurality of slots of the second intermediate plate.
Claim 40 recites the limitation "the base" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 22 - 41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,247,383. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 2 of the ‘383 patent recites all of the limitations recited in claim 22 of the present application except explicitly reciting “a top plate comprising a plurality of pockets” and “one or more intermediate plate”. Examiner takes the position that the “third plate having a plurality of holes” as recited in claim 2 of the ‘383 is functionally equivalent to the “top plate comprising a plurality of pockets” as recited in claim 22 of the present application and the “second plate” as recited in claim 1 of the ’383 patent is functionally equivalent to the “one or more intermediate plate” as recited in claim 22 of the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22 - 29, 39, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guizzardi (US 2002/0046982).
Regarding claim 22, Guizzardi discloses a module for receiving stormwater when buried in permeable media, comprising: a base plate (lowermost shelf 3) comprising a plurality of fittings (couplings 5) configured to receive a lower end of a plurality of columns (uprights 2); a top plate (uppermost shelf 3) comprising a plurality of pockets (couplings 5) configured to receive an upper end of the plurality of columns (2); the plurality of columns extending vertically from the base plate to the top plate, wherein each of the plurality of columns (2) comprises the lower end configured to mate with one of the plurality of fittings (5) and the upper end configured to mate with one of the plurality of pockets (5); one or more intermediate plate (middle shelf 3; see Fig. 1) located between the base plate and the top plate comprising a plurality of holes (through housings 9) configured to allow the at least one intermediate plate to slide vertically along the plurality of columns; and a plurality of self-acting fasteners (projections 8) comprising a plurality of latches and a plurality of receivers (housings 4) configured to secure each of the one or more intermediate plate to each of the plurality of columns at an elevation and to prevent downward motion of the one or more intermediate plate (Figs. 1, 3, and 5 - 7; abstract; paragraphs 0020 - 0029, 0038, and 0041).
Regarding claim 23, Guizzardi further discloses each of the plurality of pockets (couplings 5 in uppermost shelf 3) comprises one of the plurality of receivers (4) configured to engage with the upper end of each of the plurality of columns (2) (Figs. 1, 6, and 7).
Regarding claim 24, Guizzardi further discloses each of the plurality of pockets (couplings 5 in uppermost shelf 3) comprises one of the plurality of receivers (4) configured to engage with the upper end of each of the plurality of columns (2) (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 25, Guizzardi further discloses each of the plurality of pockets (couplings 5 in uppermost shelf 3) comprises a nub (portion of unlabeled plug that extends into the upright 2; Fig. 1) extending downwardly to fit within a bore of the upper end of each of the plurality of columns (2) (Fig. 1; paragraph 0038).
Regarding claim 26, Guizzardi further discloses the top plate (uppermost shelf 3) is configured to be secured to the upper end of each of the plurality of columns (2) by at least one of: a latch or a fastener (projection 8) (Figs. 1, 6, and 7; paragraphs 0027, 0028, and 0041).
Regarding claim 27, Guizzardi further discloses the plurality of fittings (5), the plurality of pockets (5), and the plurality of holes (9) are arranged according to a pattern (Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 28, Guizzardi further discloses the plurality of latches (8) are attached to each of the plurality of columns (2) (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 29, Guizzardi further discloses the plurality of receivers (4) are attached to each of the one or more intermediate plate (middle shelf 3) (Figs. 1 and 7).
Regarding claim 39, Guizzardi further discloses the plurality of self-acting fasteners (8) further prevent upward movement of the one or more intermediate plate (middle shelf 3; see Fig. 1) (Figs. 1, 6, and 7; paragraphs 0027, 0028, and 0041).
Regarding claim 40, Guizzardi further discloses the lower end of the plurality of columns (2) is fastened or latchingly engaged (via projections 8 and housings 4) with the base (lowermost shelf 3) (Figs. 1 and 7; paragraphs 0027, 0028, and 0041).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 33 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guizzardi.
Regarding claim 33, Guizzardi discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except a second intermediate plate. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the at least one intermediate plate as disclosed by Guizzardi to include both a first intermediate plate and a second intermediate plate since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). MPEP 2144.04 (vi)(B).
Regarding claim 34, Guizzardi further discloses a plurality of plates (3) located at different elevations and the first intermediate plate is configured to be located at a first elevation between the top plate and the base plate (Fig. 1). Guizzardi fails to discloses the second intermediate plate is configured to be located at a second elevation between the top plate and the base plate. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the at least one intermediate plate as disclosed by Guizzardi to include both a first intermediate plate and a second intermediate plate, wherein the second intermediate plate is at a second elevation between the top plate and the base plate since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). MPEP 2144.04 (vi)(B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Van Der Scheer et al. (US 10,132,069) discloses stormwater modules comprising a base plate, a top plate, at least one intermediate plate, and a plurality of columns. However, Van Der Scheer fails to disclose a plurality of self-acting fasteners comprising a plurality of latches and a plurality of receivers.
/SEAN D ANDRISH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
SA
6/16/2026