DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 9, 10, and 11 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0219096, “Jain.”
Regarding Claim 1: Jain discloses a fluid end assembly (104) (Figures 1 – 3) comprising: one or more bodies (202) in a crossbore configuration (As shown in at least Figure 3; The two main bores of the body are interepted as being provided in a “crossbore configuration” insofar as there are two main bores present which are shown axially crossing each other), each body comprising: a plunger chamber (308) having a first plunger chamber end (The left end of the chamber as shown in at least Figure 3), a second plunger chamber end opposite the first plunger chamber end (The right end of the chamber as shown in at least Figure 3), and a plunger chamber longitudinal axis (322) extending between the first and second plunger chamber ends (As shown in at least Figure 3); an inlet port (310, 362) comprising an inlet valve (314); and a discharge port (312, 324) having a first discharge port end (The left end of the port as shown in at least Figure 3), a second discharge port end opposite the first discharge port end (The right end of the port as shown in at least Figure 3), and a discharge port longitudinal axis (322) extending between the first and second discharge port ends (As shown in at least Figure 3), the discharge port comprising a discharge valve (334) and a valve cover (354, 342) (As shown in at least Figure 3 and Annotated Figure A; The valve cover is interepted as comprising the bushing retainer 342 and the plug 354), the valve cover being a single, unitary component (As shown in at least Figure 3 and Annotated Figure A; The drain holes are shown as indicated between the plug 354 and the retainer 342, four holes are presumed with three being shown, the hole into the figure is indicated by the ovular hole bisected by axis 322 and two holes normal to axis 322 are indicated by the crescent shape just above and below the axis. It is noted that these features would not be present or shown in Figure 3 if elements 354 and 342 were not formed of a unitary component; however, as indicated, these drain passages are shown formed by drilling with the main bore 340 shown extending past the point of the plurality of drain holes with the tell-tale triangular shape of a drill bit tip shown in the section) and comprising a plurality of drain holes (As shown in at least Figure 3 and Annotated Figure A; The valve cover is sown forming a plurality of drain holes communicative with the sleeve-like bushing retainer of the sleeve-like valve stem 340 interfacing with the elongated guide portion 338), wherein the plunger chamber longitudinal axis and the discharge port longitudinal axis are aligned with each other (As shown in at least Figure 3; [0017], “the discharge valve pocket 312 may be axially aligned with the plunger bore 302 along a longitudinal axis 322 of the fluid end 200”).
Annotated Figure A: Features of Discharge Valve Assembly of Jain
Regarding Claim 2: Jain discloses the assembly of claim 1; Jain further discloses wherein the plunger chamber longitudinal axis and the discharge port longitudinal axis are in line with each other (As shown in at least Figure 3; [0017], “the discharge valve pocket 312 may be axially aligned with the plunger bore 302 along a longitudinal axis 322 of the fluid end 200”).
Regarding Claim 3: Jain discloses the assembly of claim 2; Jain further discloses wherein the inlet port has a first inlet port end (The upper end of the port (i.e. closer to axis 322) as shown in at least Figure 3), a second inlet port end opposite the first inlet port end (The lower end of the port as shown in at least Figure 3), and an inlet port longitudinal axis extending between the first and second inlet port ends (The central axis of the port which is coincident with the central axis of the inlet valve 314), and the inlet port longitudinal axis is perpendicular to both the plunger chamber longitudinal axis and the discharge port longitudinal axis (As shown in at least Figure 3).
Claim(s) 1 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2010/0038070, “Blanco.”
Regarding Claim 1: Blanco discloses a fluid end assembly (104) (Figures 1 – 12) comprising: one or more bodies (116) in a crossbore configuration (As shown in at least Figure 4; The two main bores of the body are interepted as being provided in a “crossbore configuration” insofar as there are two main bores present which are shown axially crossing each other), each body comprising: a plunger chamber (118) having a first plunger chamber end (The left end of the chamber as shown in at least Figure 4), a second plunger chamber end opposite the first plunger chamber end (The right end of the chamber as shown in at least Figure 4), and a plunger chamber longitudinal axis (126) extending between the first and second plunger chamber ends (As shown in at least Figure 4); an inlet port (122) comprising an inlet valve (160, 162, 164, 166, 168, 170, 172) ([0028]); and a discharge port (124) having a first discharge port end (The left end of the port as shown in at least Figure 4), a second discharge port end opposite the first discharge port end (The right end of the port as shown in at least Figure 4), and a discharge port longitudinal axis (138) extending between the first and second discharge port ends (As shown in at least Figure 4), the discharge port comprising a discharge valve (174, 178, 180) ([0029]) and a valve cover (182) (As shown in at least Figure 4 and Annotated Figure B; The valve cover is interepted as comprising the spring retainer 182 and the forward bushing retainer as indicated), the valve cover being a single, unitary component (As shown in at least Figure 4 and Annotated Figure B; As further discussed with respect to the same valve arrangement as shown in at least Jain, Figure 3, and as discussed in the aforesaid rejection of claim 1 under Jain, wherein the drain holes are shown as indicated between the plug 354 and the retainer 342, four holes are presumed with three being shown, the hole into the figure is indicated by the ovular hole bisected by axis 322 and two holes normal to axis 322 are indicated by the crescent shape just above and below the axis. It is noted that these features would not be present or shown in Figure 3 if elements 354 and 342 were not formed of a unitary component; however, as indicated, these drain passages are shown formed by drilling with the main bore 340 shown extending past the point of the plurality of drain holes with the tell-tale triangular shape of a drill bit tip shown in the section) comprising a plurality of drain holes (As shown in at least Figure 4 and Annotated Figure B; The valve cover is sown forming a plurality of drain holes communicative with the sleeve-like bushing retainer of the sleeve-like valve stem interfacing with the elongated guide portion forming the discharge valve’s stem as shown), wherein the plunger chamber longitudinal axis and the discharge port longitudinal axis are aligned with each other (As shown in at least Figures 3 and 4; [0025], “the displacement central axis vector 126 and the discharge central axis vector 138 are substantially coaxial and lie generally parallel to the x-axis of the shown coordinate system”).
Annotated Figure B: Features of Discharge Valve Assembly of Blanco
Regarding Claim 2: Blanco discloses the assembly of claim 1; Blanco further discloses wherein the plunger chamber longitudinal axis and the discharge port longitudinal axis are in line with each other (As shown in at least Figures 3 and 4; [0025], “the displacement central axis vector 126 and the discharge central axis vector 138 are substantially coaxial and lie generally parallel to the x-axis of the shown coordinate system”).
Regarding Claim 3: Blanco discloses the assembly of claim 2; Blanco further discloses wherein the inlet port has a first inlet port end (The lower end of the port (i.e. closer to axis 126/138) as shown in at least Figure 4), a second inlet port end opposite the first inlet port end (The upper end of the port as shown in at least Figure 4), and an inlet port longitudinal axis (132) extending between the first and second inlet port ends (As shown in at least Figure 4), and the inlet port longitudinal axis is perpendicular to both the plunger chamber longitudinal axis and the discharge port longitudinal axis (As shown in at least Figure 4; [0025], “the displacement central axis vector 126 and the discharge central axis vector 138 are substantially coaxial and lie generally parallel to the x-axis of the shown coordinate system […] the suction central axis vector 132 lies generally perpendicular to the x-axis”).
Regarding Claim 4: Blanco discloses the assembly of claim 3; Blanco further discloses wherein the body further comprises an access port (144), the access port having a first access port end (The upper end of the port (i.e. closer to axis 126/138) as shown in at least Figure 4), a second access port end opposite the first access port end (The lower end of the port as shown in at least Figure 4), and an access port longitudinal axis (146) extending between the first and second access port ends, and wherein the inlet port longitudinal axis and the access port longitudinal axis are aligned with each other (As shown in at least Figure 4; [0026], “the access central axis vector 146 is generally coaxial with the suction central axis vector 132”).
Regarding Claim 5: Blanco discloses the assembly of claim 4; Blanco further discloses wherein the inlet port longitudinal axis and the access port longitudinal axis are in line with each other (As shown in at least Figure 4; [0026], “the access central axis vector 146 is generally coaxial with the suction central axis vector 132”).
Regarding Claim 6: Blanco discloses the assembly of claim 5; Blanco further discloses wherein a first length from the first inlet port end to the second inlet port end is longer than a second length from the first access port end to the second access port end (As shown in at least Figure 4; The inlet port is shown as having a longer length, along axis 132/146 than that of the length of the access port, which is shown as having a shorter length, along axis 132/146 than that of the inlet port).
Regarding Claim 7: Blanco discloses the assembly of claim 5; Blanco further discloses wherein the one or more bodies comprise a first body, a second body, a third body, and a fourth body (As shown in at least Figure 1; [0024], “an embodiment of pump 100 has total of five sets of the bores 120, 122, 124 with three sets being housed within one housing 116 while the remaining two sets are housed within another housing 116”); wherein the first, second, third, and fourth bodies form a unitary structure. Blanco suggests an arrangement wherein the first, second, third, and fourth bodies form a unitary structure ([0024], “alternative embodiments of a pump may comprise more or fewer sets of bores 120, 122, 124 and with as few as a single set within a housing 116 and/or more than three sets within a housing 116.” Blanco discloses an arrangement with more than three sets (i.e. one – four as claimed) within a single housing.).
Regarding Claim 8: Blanco discloses the assembly of claim 7; Blanco further discloses wherein the plunger chamber axes of the first, second, third, and fourth bodies are parallel to each other (As shown in at least Figures 1 – 5; The fluid end is shown arranged with common elements arranged as shown in section at Figures 3 and 4 such that the plunger chamber axes of each body will be similarly arranged such that they are parallel to each other), wherein the access ports of the first, second, third, and fourth bodies are aligned with each other (As shown in at least Figures 1 – 5; The fluid end is shown arranged with common elements arranged as shown in section at Figures 3 and 4 such that the access port of each body will be similarly arranged such that they are aligned to each other (i.e. parallel)), wherein the inlet ports of the first, second, third, and fourth bodies are aligned with each other (As shown in at least Figures 1 – 5; The fluid end is shown arranged with common elements arranged as shown in section at Figures 3 and 4 such that the inlet ports of each body will be similarly arranged such that they are aligned to each other (i.e. parallel), similarly shown by the alignment of axes 198 in the suction header 106 shown in Figure 5), wherein the assembly has a first assembly end near the access ports of the first, second, third, and fourth bodies (Similarly to the arrangement as discussed in the aforesaid rejection of claims 4 and 6, a first assembly end may be interepted as the common point/plane at which the second access port ends of the bodies are arranged once combined into the common unitary structure as discussed in the aforesaid rejection of claim 7), wherein the assembly has a second assembly end near the inlet ports of the first, second, third, and fourth bodies (Similarly to the arrangement as discussed in the aforesaid rejection of claims 3 and 6, a second assembly end may be interepted as the common point/plane at which the second inlet port ends of the bodies are arranged once combined into the common unitary structure as discussed in the aforesaid rejection of claim 7), and wherein a length from the first assembly end to a plane crossing the plunger chamber longitudinal axes is shorter than a length from the second assembly end to the plane (Similarly to the arrangement as discussed in the aforesaid rejection of claim 6, The inlet port is shown as having a longer length, along axis 132/146 than that of the length of the access port, which is shown as having a shorter length, along axis 132/146 than that of the inlet port, such that once combined into the common unitary structure as discussed in the aforesaid rejection of claim 7, the length of the first assembly end will be smaller than that of the second assembly end).
Regarding Claim 9: Blanco discloses the assembly of claim 1; Blanco further discloses wherein the discharge valve comprises a stem (As shown in at least Figure 4 and Annotated Figure B) coupled to the valve cover (As shown in at least Figure 4 and Annotated Figure B; The valve cover is shown forming a sleeve-like stem which forms an extension arranged to receive the discharge valve stem element in a manner which provides axial guidance to the valve element as it reciprocates). An alternative interpretation of Blanco reads over the valve cover (184) and the valve stem as (182) (As shown in at least Figure 4; [0029], “discharge spring retainer 182 is abutted against and stopped by a discharge cover 184 that is removable from the bore housing 116.”).
Regarding Claim 10: Blanco discloses the assembly of claim 9; Blanco further discloses wherein the valve cover comprises an extension coupled to the stem (As shown in at least Figure 4 and Annotated Figure B; The portion of the valve cover which extends to the left and forms the drain passages and the sleeve-like bushing retainer of the sleeve-like valve stem interfacing with the elongated guide portion is interpreted as comprising the extension coupled to the stem), the extension having the plurality of drain holes (As shown in at least Figure 4 and Annotated Figure B and as further discussed with respect to the drain holes recited in at least the aforesaid rejection of claim 1). An alternative interpretation reads over the valve cover comprises an extension coupled to the stem (As the valve cover and the stem are in contact with one another, as described in at least [0029] and as shown in at least Figure 4, a broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitation “coupled,” reads over the disclosed elements) and having one or more drain holes (At least four drain holes are shown in the cover 184 in at least Figure 4), it is noted that the claims do not claim the drain path of the drain holes such that those drain holes provided in drain cover 184 continue to read over the recited limitations.
Regarding Claim 11: Blanco discloses a reciprocating pump (100) (Figures 1 – 12) comprising: a power end frame (102) having a crankshaft aperture (The opening in which crankshaft 152 is shown rotatable within the frame in at least Figure 3); a crankshaft (152) ([0027]) extending through the crankshaft aperture (As shown in at least Figure 3); a plurality of plungers (158) connected to the crankshaft (As shown in at least Figure 3; [0027], “a rotatable crankshaft 152 attached to a crank arm 154. Crank arm 154 is also attached to a plunger assembly 156 that comprises a plunger 158. Together, the crank arm 154 and plunger assembly 156 are configured to cause reciprocation of plunger 158”); and a fluid end assembly (104) comprising a plurality of bodies (116) in a crossbore configuration (As shown in at least Figure 4; The two main bores of the body are interepted as being provided in a “crossbore configuration” insofar as there are two main bores present which are shown axially crossing each other), each body corresponding to a respective plunger of the plurality of plungers (As shown in at least Figures 3 and 4), each body comprising: a chamber (118) having a first chamber end (The left end of the chamber as shown in at least Figure 4), a second chamber end opposite the first chamber end (The right end of the chamber as shown in at least Figure 4), and a chamber longitudinal axis (126) extending between the first and second chamber ends (As shown in at least Figure 4), the chamber configured to receive a plunger portion of the respective plunger and allow the plunger portion to reciprocate between the first and second chamber ends ([0027], “reciprocation of plunger 158 along a path generally parallel to the displacement central axis vector 126”); an inlet port (122) comprising an inlet valve (160, 162, 164, 166, 168, 170, 172) ([0028]) and configured to receive a fluid and direct the fluid to enter the chamber (As shown in at least Figure 4); and a discharge port (124) having a first discharge port end (The left end of the port as shown in at least Figure 4), a second discharge port end opposite the first discharge port end (The right end of the port as shown in at least Figure 4), and a discharge port longitudinal axis (138) extending between the first and second discharge port ends (As shown in at least Figure 4), the discharge port comprising a discharge valve (174, 178, 180) ([0029]) and a valve cover (182) (As shown in at least Figure 4 and Annotated Figure B; The valve cover is interepted as comprising the spring retainer 182 and the forward bushing retainer as indicated) and configured to receive the fluid from the chamber and direct the fluid to exit the body (As shown in at least Figure 4); wherein the chamber longitudinal axis and the discharge port longitudinal axis are aligned with each other (As shown in at least Figures 3 and 4; [0025], “the displacement central axis vector 126 and the discharge central axis vector 138 are substantially coaxial and lie generally parallel to the x-axis of the shown coordinate system”), the valve cover comprising a plurality of drain holes (As shown in at least Figure 4 and Annotated Figure B; The valve cover is sown forming a plurality of drain holes communicative with the sleeve-like bushing retainer of the sleeve-like valve stem interfacing with the elongated guide portion forming the discharge valve’s stem as shown).
Regarding Claim 12: Blanco discloses the pump of claim 11; Blanco further discloses wherein the chamber longitudinal axis and the discharge port longitudinal axis are in line with each other (As shown in at least Figures 3 and 4; [0025], “the displacement central axis vector 126 and the discharge central axis vector 138 are substantially coaxial and lie generally parallel to the x-axis of the shown coordinate system”).
Regarding Claim 13: Blanco discloses the pump of claim 12; Blanco further discloses wherein the inlet port has a first inlet port end (The lower end of the port (i.e. closer to axis 126/138) as shown in at least Figure 4), a second inlet port end opposite the first inlet port end (The upper end of the port as shown in at least Figure 4), and an inlet port longitudinal axis (132) extending between the first and second inlet port ends (As shown in at least Figure 4), and the inlet port longitudinal axis is perpendicular to both the chamber longitudinal axis and the discharge port longitudinal axis (As shown in at least Figure 4; [0025], “the displacement central axis vector 126 and the discharge central axis vector 138 are substantially coaxial and lie generally parallel to the x-axis of the shown coordinate system […] the suction central axis vector 132 lies generally perpendicular to the x-axis”).
Regarding Claim 14: Blanco discloses the pump of claim 13; Blanco further discloses wherein each body further comprises an access port (144), the access port having a first access port end (The upper end of the port (i.e. closer to axis 126/138) as shown in at least Figure 4), a second access port end opposite the first access port end (The lower end of the port as shown in at least Figure 4), and an access port longitudinal axis (146) extending between the first and second access port ends, and wherein the inlet port longitudinal axis and the access port longitudinal axis are aligned with each other (As shown in at least Figure 4; [0026], “the access central axis vector 146 is generally coaxial with the suction central axis vector 132”).
Regarding Claim 15: Blanco discloses the pump of claim 14; Blanco further discloses wherein the inlet port longitudinal axis and the access port longitudinal axis are in line with each other (As shown in at least Figure 4; [0026], “the access central axis vector 146 is generally coaxial with the suction central axis vector 132”).
Regarding Claim 16: Blanco discloses the pump of claim 15; Blanco further discloses wherein a first length from the first inlet port end to the second inlet port end is longer than a second length from the first access port end to the second access port end (As shown in at least Figure 4; The inlet port is shown as having a longer length, along axis 132/146 than that of the length of the access port, which is shown as having a shorter length, along axis 132/146 than that of the inlet port).
Regarding Claim 17: Blanco discloses the pump of claim 15; Blanco further discloses wherein the plurality of bodies form a unitary structure (As shown in at least Figure 1; [0024], “an embodiment of pump 100 has total of five sets of the bores 120, 122, 124 with three sets being housed within one housing 116 while the remaining two sets are housed within another housing 116.” It is noted that claim 17 is not directed towards a specific number of plurality of bodies such that the three sets housed in one housing as discussed in at least [0024] are interepted as reading over the instant claim.), the chambers of the plurality of bodies are aligned with each other, the access ports of the plurality of bodies are aligned with each other, and the inlet ports of the plurality of bodies are aligned with each other (As shown in at least Figures 1 – 5; The fluid end is shown arranged with common elements arranged as shown in section at Figures 3 and 4 such that the inlet ports of each body will be similarly arranged such that they are aligned to each other (i.e. parallel), similarly shown by the alignment of axes 198 in the suction header 106 shown in Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 18: Blanco discloses the pump of claim 17; Blanco further discloses wherein the fluid end assembly has a first assembly end near the access ports of the plurality of bodies (Similarly to the arrangement as discussed in the aforesaid rejection of claims 4 and 6, a first assembly end may be interepted as the common point/plane at which the second access port ends of the bodies are arranged once combined into the common unitary structure as discussed in the aforesaid rejection of claim 7), wherein the fluid end assembly has a second assembly end near the inlet ports of the plurality of bodies (Similarly to the arrangement as discussed in the aforesaid rejection of claims 3 and 6, a second assembly end may be interepted as the common point/plane at which the second inlet port ends of the bodies are arranged once combined into the common unitary structure as discussed in the aforesaid rejection of claim 7), and wherein a first length from the first assembly end to a plane crossing the chamber longitudinal axes of the plurality of bodies is shorter than a second length from the second assembly end to the plane (Similarly to the arrangement as discussed in the aforesaid rejection of claim 6, The inlet port is shown as having a longer length, along axis 132/146 than that of the length of the access port, which is shown as having a shorter length, along axis 132/146 than that of the inlet port, such that once combined into the common unitary structure as discussed in the aforesaid rejection of claim 7, the length of the first assembly end will be smaller than that of the second assembly end).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19, and 20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0038070, “Blanco,” in view of US 2022/0372857, “Yeung.”
Regarding Claim 19: Blanco discloses the pump of claim 11; Blanco further discloses wherein the plurality of plungers is a first plurality of plungers and the fluid end assembly is a first fluid end assembly (As shown in at least Figures 1 – 12; A first set of plunger is disclosed, those plungers numbering at least three in a unitary housing as discussed in at least [0024] and as shown in at least Figure 2); however, Blanco fails to explicitly disclose wherein the pump further comprises: a second plurality of plungers connected to the crankshaft; and a second fluid end assembly comprising a plurality of bodies, each body corresponding to a respective plunger of the second plurality of plungers, each body comprising: a chamber having a first chamber end, a second chamber end opposite the first chamber end, and a chamber longitudinal axis extending between the first and second chamber ends, the chamber configured to receive a plunger portion of the respective plunger and allow the plunger portion to reciprocate between the first and second chamber ends; an inlet port comprising an inlet valve and configured to receive a fluid and direct the fluid to enter the chamber; and a discharge port having a first discharge port end, a second discharge port end opposite the first discharge port end, and a discharge port longitudinal axis extending between the first and second discharge port ends, the discharge port comprising a discharge valve and configured to receive the fluid from the chamber and direct the fluid to exit the body; wherein the chamber longitudinal axis and the discharge port longitudinal axis are aligned with each other; wherein each plunger of the first plurality of plungers is configured to reciprocate in a first plane, each plunger of the second plurality of plungers is configured to reciprocate in a second plane, the discharge port longitudinal axes of the first fluid end are aligned with the first plane, and the discharge port longitudinal axes of the second fluid end are aligned with the second plane.
Yeung teaches a plunger pump (14) (Figures 1 – 8), arranged similarly to the pump of Blanco, and further teaches wherein the pump comprises a first plurality of plungers (84, 88) connected to a crankshaft (78) and housed in a first fluid end assembly (74a, 74b) (At least [0100]) and comprising a plurality of bodies (122) (At least [0141], “the first fluid end 74a and/or the second fluid end 74b may include a fluid end body 122 at least partially defining a chamber 124, a first inlet port 126a, a second inlet port 126b, a first discharge port 128a, and a second discharge port 128b”), and wherein the pump further comprises: a second plurality of plungers (84, 88) connected to the crankshaft (As shown in at least Figure 4E); and a second fluid end assembly (74a, 74b) comprising a plurality of bodies (At least [0100], and [0141], “the first fluid end 74a and/or the second fluid end 74b may include a fluid end body 122 at least partially defining a chamber 124, a first inlet port 126a, a second inlet port 126b, a first discharge port 128a, and a second discharge port 128b”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the arrangement of Blanco to have duplicated the fluid end of Blanco with a second fluid end angularly offset from the first fluid end, as taught by Yeung, with the precited results that such an arrangement of duplicated fluid ends will produce a pump with a higher output and a more compact design than an equivalent pump with a single fluid end (Yeung, At least [0288] – [0289], “the total fluid output of hydraulic fracturing pumps such as disclosed in various embodiments of the present disclosure, including 8 plungers are able to provide increased fluid flow output over 4-plunger pumps having approximately twice the stroke length of the 8-plunger pump configurations illustrated in at least some of the embodiments of hydraulic fracturing pumps disclosed herein, while being implemented in a compact design with a lower size, weight and mechanical feasibility than 4-pump configurations”).
Once combined, Blanco in view of Yeung, makes obvious two duplicated fluid ends such that the first fluid end and the second fluid end are symmetrically arranged and wherein each body comprising: a chamber having a first chamber end, a second chamber end opposite the first chamber end, and a chamber longitudinal axis extending between the first and second chamber ends, the chamber configured to receive a plunger portion of the respective plunger and allow the plunger portion to reciprocate between the first and second chamber ends; an inlet port comprising an inlet valve and configured to receive a fluid and direct the fluid to enter the chamber; and a discharge port having a first discharge port end, a second discharge port end opposite the first discharge port end, and a discharge port longitudinal axis extending between the first and second discharge port ends, the discharge port comprising a discharge valve and configured to receive the fluid from the chamber and direct the fluid to exit the body; wherein the chamber longitudinal axis and the discharge port longitudinal axis are aligned with each other (Each feature of the second fluid end will have the features of the first fluid end, said features discussed in further detail in at least the aforesaid rejection of claim 11).
Once combined, Yeung further teaches wherein each plunger of the first plurality of plungers is configured to reciprocate in a first plane (P1, P2) (As shown in at least Figure 3E; [0105], “each of the first plungers 84 may reciprocate in a first plane P1 […] each of the second plungers 88 may reciprocate in a second plane P2”), each plunger of the second plurality of plungers is configured to reciprocate in a second plane (P1, P2) (As shown in at least Figure 3E; [0105], “each of the first plungers 84 may reciprocate in a first plane P1 […] each of the second plungers 88 may reciprocate in a second plane P2”), the discharge port longitudinal axes of the first fluid end are aligned with the first plane (Once combined, the discharge port longitudinal axis is aligned with the pump reciprocation axis, as discussed in at the aforesaid rejection of claim 11, such that the discharge port longitudinal axes of the first fluid end will be aligned with the first plane), and the discharge port longitudinal axes of the second fluid end are aligned with the second plane (Once combined, the discharge port longitudinal axis is aligned with the pump reciprocation axis, as discussed in at the aforesaid rejection of claim 11, such that the discharge port longitudinal axes of the first fluid end will be aligned with the second plane).
Regarding Claim 20: Blanco, in view of Yeung teaches the pump of claim 19; once combined, Yeung further teaches wherein the discharge port longitudinal axes of the first fluid end and the discharge port longitudinal axes of the second fluid end define a non-zero offset angle (A) (As shown in at least Figure 3E; [0105], “offset angle A between the first plane P1 and the second plane P2 may be a non-zero offset angle”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2026.02.12 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 8 of their Remarks, regarding the claim 1 rejection over Jain, that Jain fails to disclose “a single, unitary component that includes a plurality of drain holes.” Applicant alleges that Jain discloses “two different components–the bushing retainer 342 and the plug 354 [for disclosing] the plurality of drainage holes.”
Applicant repeats these arguments on page 9 of their Remarks with respect to the claim 1 rejection over Blanco, arguing that Blanco discloses “two different components–the spring retainer 182 and the forward bushing retainer [for disclosing] the plurality of drainage holes,” and that Blanco fails to disclose “a single, unitary component that includes a plurality of drain holes.”
However, as discussed in the aforesaid rejection of claim 1 under both Jain and Blanco, in at least ¶6 and ¶10, the valve cover of both Jain and Blanco is formed of a single unitary component. As previously described with respect to Figure 3 of Jain, at least three drain holes are shown in the section of the valve cover (with a fourth hole presumed to be present and extending out of the figure in the direction of the viewer), each of these three holes clearly shown at the center of the section with one bisected by the axis 322, the other two drain holes shown by a half oval or crescent shape indicative of a slice through two intersecting cylinders. Furthermore, elements 342 and 354 are shown utilizing hatching which would indicate that they are the same element whereas there is no hatching present at the area corresponding to the plurality of drain holes (as shown in at least Annotated Figures A and B) which would further indicate that this is an area shown in the negative and that the section is not through another element, in which case the lines indicating the presence of the plurality of holes would not be shown in the figure. It is noted that the hatching of the corresponding elements in Blanco is shown differently, this appears to be an error in hatching selection for the same reasons that the lines indicating the presence of the plurality of holes is still present in Blanco’s Figure 4.
However, even if Applicant’s aforesaid arguments were to be assumed correct, modifying either of the valve cover of Jain or Blanco to be of a single, unitary component, would be well within the ordinary skill in the art. It is further noted that Applicant has failed to express any criticality for such an arrangement in the originally filled specification, and that in such hypothetical arrangement, a modification of either of Jain or Blanco that the use of a one-piece construction instead of the structure alleged in the prior art would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. (MPEP 2144.04) It is further noted that such a single piece design of a valve cover is taught by at least US 2004/0234404, “Vicars.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2004/0234404 – Outlet valve with unitary cap comprising drain holes
/BENJAMIN DOYLE/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
[AltContent: ] 2026.03.17 [AltContent: ]
/MARK A LAURENZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746 3/27/2026