DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim1,3,5, 7-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim1, 4-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,381,845 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim limitations in the instant application are covered by the scope of the claims in he parented application with obvious wording variations as shown in the rejection below.
As per claim 1, Andersson teaches a method for deblocking a block boundary between a first block (B1) and a second block (B2), the method comprising: determining that the B2 block has prediction sub-blocks (claim 1, “.. determining that sub-block deblocking is activated comprises determining that B2 has prediction sub-blocks”); as a result of determining that the B2 block has prediction sub-blocks, deblocking a block boundary between the B1 block and the B2 block with the restriction that not more than 5 samples are modified on the B2 side of the block boundary as a result of the deblocking (claim 1, “deblocking a block boundary between a first block (B1) and a second block (B2) with the restriction that not more than 5 samples are modified on the B2 side of the block boundary as a result of the deblocking”.. and “the deblocking steps are performed as a result of determining that sub-block deblocking is activated, and determining that sub-block deblocking is activated comprises determining that block B2 has prediction sub-blocks”); and deblocking a sub-block boundary with the B2 block such that not more than 2 samples on the side of the sub-block boundary within the B2 block that is closest to the block boundary between the B1 and the B2 block are modified by the deblocking (claim 1, “; and deblocking a sub-block boundary within the B2 block such that not more than 2 samples on the side of the sub-block boundary within the B2 block that is closest to the block boundary between B1 and B2 are modified by the deblocking”).
Claim 3 of the instant application corresponds to claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,381,845 B2.
As per claim 5, Andersson teachers wherein deblocking the sub-block boundary is performed as a result of determining that the B2 block has prediction sub-blocks (claim 1).
Claim 7 of the instant application corresponds to claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,381,845 B2.
Claim 8 of the instant application corresponds to claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,381,845 B2.
Claim 9 of the instant application corresponds to claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,381,845 B2.
Claim 10 of the instant application corresponds to claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,381,845 B2.
Claim 11 of the instant application corresponds to claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,381,845 B2.
Claim 12 of the instant application corresponds to claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,381,845 B2.
As per claim 13, Andersson teaches wherein the sub-block boundary is separated from the block boundary at least 8 samples (claim 1, “wherein the sub-block boundary is separated from the block boundary by 8 samples”).
As per claim 14, Andersson teaches wherein deblocking the sub-block boundary is performed prior to deblocking the block boundary as a result of determining that sub-block deblocking is activated (claim 1, “prior to performing both of the deblocking steps, determining that sub-block deblocking is activated”).
Claim 15 of the instant application corresponds to claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,381,845 B2.
Claim 16 of the instant application corresponds to claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,381,845 B2.
Claim 17 of the instant application corresponds to claim 12 of U.S. Patent No,. 11,381,485 B2.
Claim 18 of the instant application corresponds to claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,381,485 B2.
Claim 19 of the instant application corresponds to claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,381,485 B2.
Claim 20 of the instant application corresponds to claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,381,485 B2.
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4, 6-11, 14-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,413 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 3-5, 7-20 are generic to all that is recited in claims 1, 3-4, 6-11, and 14-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,413 B2. That is, claims 1, 3-5, 7-20 are anticipated by claims 1, 3-4, 6-11, 14-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,413 B2.
As per claim 1, Andersson teaches a method for deblocking a block boundary between a first block (B1) and a second block (B2), the method comprising: determining that the B2 block has prediction sub-blocks (claim 1, “determining that sub-block deblocking is activated comprises determining that block B2 has prediction sub-blocks”); as a result of determining that the B2 block has prediction sub-blocks, deblocking a block boundary between the B1 block and the B2 block with the restriction that not more than 5 samples are modified on the B2 side of the block boundary as a result of the deblocking (claim 1,” deblocking a block boundary between a first block (B1) and a second block (B2) with the restriction that not more than 5 samples are modified on the B2 side of the block boundary as a result of the deblocking” and “deblocking the block boundary is performed as a result of determining that sub-block deblocking is activated, and determining that sub-block deblocking is activated comprises determining that block B2 has prediction sub-blocks”); and deblocking a sub-block boundary within the B2 block such that not more than 2 samples on the side of the sub-block boundary within the B2 block that is closest to the block boundary between the B1 block and the B2 block are modified by the deblocking (claim 1, “deblocking a sub-block boundary within the B2 block such that not more than 2 samples on the side of the sub-block boundary within the B2 block that is closest to the block boundary between B1 and B2 are modified by the deblocking”).
Claim 3 of the instant application corresponds to claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,413 B2.
Claim 4 of the instant application corresponds to claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,413 B2.
Claim 5 of the instant application corresponds to claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,413 B2.
Claim 7 of the instant application corresponds to claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,413 B2.
Claim 8 of the instant application corresponds to claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,413 B2.
Claim 9 of the instant application corresponds to claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,413 B2.
Claim 10 of the instant application corresponds to claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,413 B2.
Claim 11 of the instant application corresponds to claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,413 B2.
Claim 12 of the instant application corresponds to claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,413 B2.
Claim 13 of the instant application corresponds to claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,413 B2.
Claim 14 of the instant application corresponds to claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,413 B2.
Claim 15 of the instant application corresponds to claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,413 B2.
Claim 16 of the instant application corresponds to claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,413 B2.
Claim 17 of the instant application corresponds to claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,413 B2.
Claim 18 of the instant application corresponds to claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,413 B2.
Claim 19 of the instant application corresponds to claim 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,413 B2.
Claim 20 of the instant application corresponds to claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,413 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotra et al., (U.S. Pub. No.2020/0382775 A1) and in view of Tsai et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0344934 A1).
As per claim 1, Kotra teaches a metho for deblocking a block boundary between a first block (B1) and a second block (B2), the method comprising: determining that the B2 block has prediction sub-blocks ([0362-0363]; if current block Q uses Sub-pu tools like Affine or ATMVP, then embodiments of the present invention use the asymmetric version of the long tap filter, i.e., uses an asymmetric filter as shown in table 1 to deblock the CU boundary between P and Q” and “… . Sub-pu tools means a given coding unit will further use smaller prediction units (sub-pus) and motion compensation is done separately for each of the sub-pus” and at least fig. 4); as a result of determining that the B2 block has prediction sub-blocks, deblocking a block boundary between the B1 block and the B2 block with the restriction that not more than 5 samples are modified on the B2 side of the block boundary as a result of the deblocking ([0362-0363]; “… Therefore for the coding unit Q which uses Sub-pu tools, a maximum of three samples are modified”). Although Kotra discloses deblocking a sub-block boundary within the B2 block such that samples on the side of sub-block boundary within the B2 block that is closest to the block boundary between the B1 and the B2 block are modified by the deblocking (figs. 4-5), Kotra does not explicitly disclose deblocking a sub-block boundary within the B2 block such that not more than 2 samples between the B1 and B2 block are modified by the deblocking.
However, Tsai teaches deblocking a sub-block boundary within the B2 block such that not more than 2 samples between the B1 and B2 block are modified by the deblocking (fig. 8 and [0093-0095]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Tsai with Kotra for the benefit of providing techniques to improve video quality by using de-blocking filtering in video/image coding systems utilising sub-block processing, [0002].
As per claim 2, Kotra (modified by Tsai) as a whole teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 1. In addition, Kotra teaches wherein the deblocking the block boundary between the B1 block and the B2 block and deblocking the sub-block boundary within the B2 block are performed independently (fig. 19).
As per claim 3, Kotra (modified by Tsai) as a whole teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 1. In addition, Kotra teaches wherein the block boundary is a vertical block boundary and the sub-block boundary is a vertical sub-block boundary, or the block boundary is a horizontal block boundary and the sub-block boundary is a horizontal sub-block boundary ([0415] and figs. 4-5, and 15).
As per claim 4, Kotra (modified by Tsai) as a whole teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 1. In addition, Kotra teaches wherein the sub-block boundary is separated from the block boundary by 8 samples (figs. 4, 15-16).
As per claim 5, Kotra (modified by Tsai) as a whole teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 1. In addition, Kotra teaches wherein deblocking the sub-block boundary is performed as a result of determining that the B2 block has prediction sub-blocks (fig. 7, fig. 12 el. 1203 and [0362-0363]).
As per claim 6, Kotra (modified by Tsai) as a whole teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 1. In addition, Kotra teaches wherein the determining that the B2 block has prediction sub-blocks comprises determining that the B2 block has at least two prediction sub-blocks ([0014], [0140], [0354]).
As per claim 7, Kotra (modified by Tsai) as a whole teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 1. In addition, Kotra teaches wherein the sub-block boundary in the B2 block is a prediction sub-block boundary ([0362] and figs. 4-5).
As per claim 8, Kotra (modified by Tsai) as a whole teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 1. In addition, Kotra teaches wherein the block boundary between the B1 block and the B2 block is a transform boundary or a prediction boundary ([0010], TU boundary).
As per claim 9, Kotra (modified by Tsai) as a whole teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 1. In addition, Kotra teaches wherein deblocking the block boundary comprises modifying a first set of two or more consecutive samples on the B2 side of the block boundary positioned orthogonal to the block boundary (figs. 4-5; [0362-0363], [0365], [0417]), the first set of samples comprises a first sample that is directly adjacent to the block boundary (fig. 4, fig. 5 el. [0417]); and the deblocking is performed with the restriction that the first set of one or more consecutive samples contains not more than the 5 samples (fig. 5, note the first 5 samples in block 502).
As per claim 10, Kotra (modified by Tsai) as a whole teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 9. In addition, Kotra teaches wherein the first set of samples consists of the first sample, a second sample, a third sample, a fourth sample, and a fifth sample (fig. 5; note the first 5 samples in coding unit Q), and the second sample is directly adjacent to the first sample, the third sample is directly adjacent the second sample, the fourth sample is directly adjacent the third sample, the fifth sample is directly adjacent to the fourth sample (fig. 5).
As per claim 11, Kotra (modified by Tsai) as a whole teaches everything as claimed above see claim 9. In addition, Kotra teaches deblocking the sub-block boundary comprises modifying a second set of one or more consecutive samples positioned orthogonal to the sub-block boundary ([0414] and fig. 4-5, fig, 16, 19), the second set of samples comprises a first sample that is directly adjacent to the sub-block boundary (fig. 4-5). Kotra does not explicitly disclose the deblocking of the sub-block boundary is performed with the restriction that the second set of one or more consecutive samples contain not more than 2 samples.
However, Tsai teaches the deblocking of the sub-block boundary is performed with the restriction that the second set of one or more consecutive samples contain not more than 2 samples (fig. 8 and [0093-0095]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Tsai with Kotra for the benefit of providing techniques to improve video quality by using de-blocking filtering in video/image coding systems utilising sub-block processing, [0002].
As per claim 12, Kotra (modified by Tsai) as a whole teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 11. In addition, Kotra discloses the second set of samples consists of the first sample that is directly adjacent to the sub-block boundary and a second sample directly adjacent to the second sample (figs. 4-5; note samples q0,0-q7,0 which are orthogonal to the CU boundary and adjacent to the sub-PU boundary).
As per claim 13, Kotra (modified by Tsai) as a whole teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 1. In addition, Kotra teaches wherein the sub-block boundary is separated from the block boundary by at least 8 samples (figs. 4, 15-16).
As per claim 14, Kotra (modified by Tsai) as a whole teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 1. In addition, Kotra teaches wherein deblocking the sub-block boundary is performed prior to deblocking the block boundary as a result of determining that the sub-block deblocking is activated ([0061-0065], “deblocking determination
As per claim 15, which is the corresponding computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a computer program with the limitations of claim 1, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 1 also applies here.
As per claim 16, which is the corresponding apparatus with the limitations of the method for deblocking as recited in claim 1, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 1 also applies here. In addition, Kotra discloses processing circuitry (fig.3, fig. 13, fig. 14,[0239-0241], [0530]); and a memory (fig. 3, fig. 13, fig. 14 and [0530-0531], wherein the memory stores instructions executable by the processing circuitry ([0239-0241]).
As per claim 17, Kotra (modified by Tsai ) as a whole teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 16. In addition, Kotra teaches wherein the apparatus is an encoding apparatus (fig. 1).
As per claim 18, Kotra (modified by Tsai) as a whole teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 16. In addition, Kotra teaches wherein the apparatus is a decoding apparatus (fig. 2).
As per claim 19, Kotra (modified by Tsai) as a whole teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 16. In addition, Kotra teaches wherein deblocking the sub-block boundary is performed as a result of determining that the B2 block has prediction sub-blocks (fig. 12 el. 1203).
As per claim 20, Kotra (modified by Tsai) as a whole teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 16. In addition, Kotra teaches wherein the sub-block boundary in block B2 is a prediction sub-block boundary ([0135], [0140], [0362] and fig. 4-5), and the block boundary between block B1 and block B2 is a transform boundary or a prediction boundary ([0010], [0014-0015], [0351], [0388], Tu boundary).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kwon et al., (U.S. Pat. No. 7539248-B2); “Adaptive De-Blocking Filtering Apparatus and Method for MPEP Video Decoder”
Sadafale et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 20130034169-A1), “Block-Based Parallel Deblocking Filter in Video Coding”
Contact
JESSICA PRINCE
Examiner
Art Unit 2486
/JESSICA M PRINCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486