DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
All drawings have poor line quality, and thus do not meet the reproducibility requirements of 37 CFR 1.84(L). Note that the drawings must be viewed in the USPTO Patent Center in order to see this problem. See example below. The drawings likely contain grayscale elements, and are raster images, rather than vector-based images. Grayscale raster images cause image degradation in the USPTO electronic filing system. Images should be entirely bi-tonal, vector-based images containing only black and white color values.
Reference numerals are too small, per 37 CFR 1.84(p)(3). It is suggested that at least some of the drawings could be enlarged if placed in the landscape orientation.
Section view identifiers in Figs. 1, 2, 4, and 10A should be changed to Roman or Arabic numerals that correspond with the figure numbers in which the section view is provided, per 37 CFR 1.84(h)(3). For example, Arrow “A-A” in Fig. 1 should be changed to “II-II” and “B-B” in Fig. 2 should be changed to “III-III”.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
LOWER VEHICLE-BODY STRUCTURE WITH DEFORMATION SUPPRESSION OF SUSPENSION HOUSING
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Cross-sectional identifiers listed in Paragraph 0027 must be corrected when addressing the drawing objection above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The word “including” in line 3 should be changed to --includes--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 8, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akio (US 5,110,177).
With regard to claim 1, Akio discloses a lower vehicle-body structure of a vehicle, the lower vehicle-body structure comprising:
a frame (10) that includes a closed cross-section portion (proximate numeral 40 in Fig. 5) extending in a front-rear direction on a vehicle-width-direction outer side of a floor panel (4); and
a suspension housing (see annotated Fig. 5 provided below) provided on the frame and supporting a suspension (36), wherein the suspension housing includes a damper mounting surface portion (see annotated Fig. 5 below) extending along an upper surface of the frame, and a peripheral wall (see annotated Fig. 5 below) extending downward from a peripheral edge of the damper mounting surface portion,
at a part of the frame adjacent to a vehicle-width-direction inner side of the suspension housing, the frame includes a narrow width portion (see annotated Fig. 2 below) in which a dimension in a vehicle width direction of the closed cross-section portion is reduced compared with a part of the frame adjacent to the suspension housing in the front-rear direction (see annotated Fig. 2 below),
the lower vehicle-body structure comprises a cross member (15) provided inward of the frame in the vehicle width direction, the cross member extending in the vehicle width direction and being disposed at a same front-rear position as the suspension housing (see Fig. 5, which shows the unlabeled suspension housing and the cross-member 15 being located at the same front-rear position), and
a load transmission portion (Fig. 5, elements 31, 34, 38, and 16) is provided to the narrow width portion, the load transmission portion connecting the suspension housing with the cross member in such a way as to allow transmission of an input load from the suspension housing to the cross member, the input load being input from the suspension (this connection and functionality is visible in Fig. 5).
With regard to claim 4, Akio teaches that the cross member (15) includes a lower wall extending in the front-rear direction, and front and rear side walls extending upward from front and rear end portions of the lower wall, respectively (column 3, lines 7-9; “the medial cross member 15 has a substantially U-shaped cross section which is preferably orientated with its open end upward as shown in FIG. 1”), and
at least one of a front ridge (i.e. the front corner of the “U-shaped cross section” discussed in column 3, lines 7-9, and visible in Fig. 1) and a rear ridge (i.e. the rear corner of the “U-shaped cross section” discussed in column 3, lines 7-9, and visible in Fig. 1) is positioned within a front-rear dimension of the load transmission portion in the front-rear direction, the front ridge being formed in the vehicle width direction by a corner portion between the lower wall and the front side wall (Fig. 1, column 3, lines 7-9), the rear ridge being formed in the vehicle width direction by a corner portion between the lower wall and the rear side wall (Fig. 1, column 3, lines 7-9).
With regard to claim 5, Akio discloses that the front-rear position of the at least one of the front ridge and the rear ridge of the cross member (15) is positioned at a substantially same position as a ridge formed on the load transmission portion in the vehicle width direction (this is visible in the annotated Fig. provided below, which shows the ridges on the cross member 15 at “substantially” the same position as the ridges on the load transmission portion).
With regard to claim 8, Akio teaches that the cross member (15) is fixed to a lower wall of the frame (Fig. 5, proximate numeral 16) from below at a lower fixation portion (proximate numerals 16, 34, etc.),
the lower fixation portion is positioned within a front-rear dimension of the load transmission portion in the front-rear direction (Fig. 3, annotated above, shows that the lower fixation portion and the load transmission portion 31 are located at the same front-rear dimension).
With regard to claim 9, Akio teaches that the frame includes a frame front portion (11) and a frame rear portion (40), and the load transmission portion is fixed to a coupled part at which the frame front portion and the frame rear portion are superimposed on each other (see annotated Fig. provided below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akio in view of Tsukamoto et al. (US 2019/0291788, hereinafter Tsukamoto).
With regard to claim 2, Akio fails to teach that an opening portion is formed in the damper mounting surface portion and having a front-rear dimension, and the load transmission portion is positioned within the front-rear dimension of the opening portion in the front-rear direction. Akio shows a schematic view of the damper (36, Fig. 5), but is silent as to how the damper actually attaches to the suspension housing. Thus, one of ordinary skill is forced to look elsewhere for a specific means of attachment.
Tsukamoto teaches a rear lower structure of a vehicle, similar to that of Akio. Tsukamoto teaches a rear suspension housing (Fig. 7) in which an opening portion (65b) is formed in a damper mounting surface (65a).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified Akio to have the opening portion of Tsukamoto within the damper mounting surface portion, with a reasonable expectation of success given that Tsukamoto teaches that such an opening can be used successfully for insertion and attachment of the damper to a suspension housing. Furthermore, in modifying Akio to have such an opening, the opening would be positioned at the same front-rear dimension as the load transmission portion (31, 38, etc.—note that the damper element 36 is positioned at the same front-rear location as load transmission elements 38, 31, and 16 shown in the section view of Fig. 5).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akio in view of Schilling et al. (US 2022/0080797, hereinafter Schilling).
With regard to claim 10, Akio fails to teach that the suspension housing is made of sheet metal. Akio is simply silent as to the specific materials used for the suspension housing, forcing one of ordinary skill to look elsewhere for instruction on material selection.
Schilling teaches a suspension housing (see Fig. 1, which shows damper 1 and damper receptacle 5) that is constructed of sheet metal (see metal sheets 9, 11, etc.).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified Akio to utilize the sheet metal construction of Schilling, with a reasonable expectation of success given that Schilling teaches that sheet metal construction can be successfully used for suspension housings in vehicles.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references provide further examples of rear suspension systems similar to that disclosed by applicant.
/ROBERT E FULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676