DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because all figures have poor line quality and thus do not meet the reproducibility requirements of 37 CFR 1.84(L). See example below. The drawings likely contain grayscale elements, which cause image degradation in the USPTO filing system. Drawings much be entirely bi-tonal, containing only black or white color values.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the use of the implied phrase “is provided” in line 1. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b). Examiner suggests the following change:
A lower vehicle-body structure
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Currently, the title contains redundancies and does not reflect any of the inventive features.
The following title is suggested:
LOWER VEHICLE-BODY STRUCTURE HAVING SIDE SILL WITH INCREASED ENERGY ABSORPTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 18 of copending Application No. 19/038,013 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim is broader than the claim in the reference application, as the instant claim does not contain any reference to a ”deformation promoting portion” (see final clause of claim 1 in the reference application). Furthermore, the instant claim and the reference claim are directed to the same structure, but merely using different terminology. Specifically, the instant claim uses the terminology “first reinforcement, “second reinforcement,” and “third reinforcement,” while the reference claim uses the terms “main reinforcement,” “sub-reinforcement,” and “another reinforcement.” Despite these differences in terminology, the instant claim is fully encompassed by the narrower reference claim.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuipers et al. (US 2023/0347986, hereinafter Kuipers).
With regard to claim 1, Kuipers discloses a lower vehicle-body structure (see Fig. 3) of a vehicle, the lower vehicle-body structure comprising:
a pair of left and right side sills (10) each of which has a closed cross-section (16, enclosed by sill panels 12, 14) extending in a vehicle front-rear direction on a vehicle-width-direction outer side of a vehicle body; and
a first reinforcement (441, Figs. 19-21), a second reinforcement (upper reinforcement rib 470 in Figs. 19-21) and a third reinforcement (lower reinforcement rib 470 in Figs. 19-21) which are disposed in the closed cross-section (Figs. 3 and 19-21), wherein the first reinforcement includes an upper wall (480) and a lower wall (482), both of which are fixed to a wall of an associated one of the pair of side sills on a vehicle-width-direction inner side (via flanges 88) and extending in a vehicle width direction and a front-rear direction (Figs. 3 and 19-21), and a vertical wall (484) extending in an up-down direction from an end portion of the upper wall on a vehicle-width-direction outer side to an end portion of the lower wall on the vehicle-width-direction outer side (Fig. 3), the first reinforcement having a hat shape that projects toward the vehicle-width-direction outer side and that is open toward the vehicle-width-direction inner side (Fig. 3),
the second reinforcement and the upper wall together form a plurality of first closed cross-sections arranged in the vehicle front-rear direction when viewed in a side view of the vehicle (Figs. 19-21), and
the third reinforcement and the lower wall together form a plurality of second closed cross-sections arranged in the vehicle front-rear direction when viewed in the side view of the vehicle (Figs. 19-21).
With regard to claim 8, Kuipers teaches that the side sills each include a side sill outer portion (12) and a side sill inner portion (14), the side sill inner portion being disposed on the vehicle-width-direction inner side relative to the side sill outer portion (Fig. 3), and being joined to the side sill outer portion (via flanges 18, 20, 22, 24), and the vertical wall is disposed on the vehicle-width-direction outer side relative to a joined portion between the side sill outer portion and the side sill inner portion (vertical wall 84 is positioned outside of the flanges 18, 20, 22, and 24).
With regard to claim 9, Kuipers teaches that the first closed cross-sections each have a polygonal structure having a plurality of ridges extending in the vehicle width direction (Figs. 19-21).
With regard to claim 10, Kuipers teaches that the second closed cross-sections each have a polygonal structure having a plurality of ridges extending in the vehicle width direction (Figs. 19-21).
With regard to claim 11, Kuipers discloses that the second reinforcement and the third reinforcement have different rigidities (this is evident from Fig. 20, which shows that the second and third reinforcement members have slightly different cross-sectional shapes—note the differences in width at positions 464 and 462 in Fig. 20—which will necessarily impart different mechanical properties).
With regard to claim 12, Kuipers discloses a cross member (106) that extends in the vehicle width direction to connect the pair of left and right side sills to each other (Fig. 3), and
the first closed cross-sections are each disposed at a position that overlaps with the cross member, when viewed in the side view of the vehicle (the closed cross-sections extend along the entire length of the side sill, and thus necessarily overlap with the cross member 106).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ROBERT E FULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676