DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
This action is responsive to the following communications: the Application filed February 6, 2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 8 and 16 are independent.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on February 6, 2025. This IDS has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g).
Applicant’s Figure 1 is identical to U.S. 10,839,873 Figure 3B.
Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains a phrase that can be implied (i.e. “apparatuses and computing systems are disclosed”). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-13 and 16-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4, 15 and 17-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,243,580. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: application claims 1 and 4-5 are anticipated by 12,243,580 claim 1. Claims 6 is anticipated by 12,243,580 claim 2. Claims 8-11 are anticipated by 12,243,580 claim 4. Claims 12-13 are anticipated by 12,243,580 claim 15. Claims 16-17 are anticipated by 12,243,580 claim 17. Claims 18-20 are anticipated by 12,243,580 claims 18-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bringivijayaraghavan et al. (U.S. 2020/0342918; hereinafter “Bringivijayaraghavan”).
Regarding independent claim 16, Bringivijayaraghavan discloses a computing system (Fig. 4A), comprising:
control circuitry (Fig. 4A: 490) comprising:
a pull-up sense amplifier comprising P-type fin field effect transistors (FinFETs) (Fig. 2: 243a/243c);
a pull-down sense amplifier comprising N-type FinFETs (Fig. 2: 211a/211b);
global input-output (GIO) lines electrically connected to the pull-up sense amplifier and the pull-down sense amplifier (Fig. 2: 215/225); and
GIO pre-charge circuitry configured to pre-charge the GIO lines to a low power supply voltage potential (see page 2, par. 0009-0010 and page 5, par. 0034).
Regarding claim 17, Bringivijayaraghavan discloses column select gates for electrically coupling the GIO lines to at least one of the pull-up sense amplifier or the pull-down sense amplifier (Fig. 2: 243a-243c, see also page 5, par. 0034).
Regarding claim 18, Bringivijayaraghavan discloses the column select gates include additional P-type FinFETs positioned adjacent at least one of the pull-up sense amplifier or the pull-down sense amplifier (Fig. 2: 243a-243c).
Regarding claim 19, Bringivijayaraghavan discloses wherein the control circuitry is free of threshold voltage potential compensation transistors to compensate for a mismatch between a first threshold voltage potential associated with the P-type FinFETs and a second threshold voltage potential associated with the N-type FinFETs (see page 6, par. 0037).
Regarding claim 20, Bringivijayaraghavan discloses a memory device including the control circuity (Fig. 4A: 400).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bringivijayaraghavan et al. (U.S. 2020/0342918; hereinafter “Bringivijayaraghavan”) in view of Liu et al. (U.S. 2023/0230633; hereinafter “Liu”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Bringivijayaraghavan teaches an apparatus (Fig. 4A), comprising:
a sense amplifier comprising fin field effect transistors (FinFETs) (Fig. 2: 200, see page 6, par. 0038);
a global input-output (GIO) line electrically connected to the sense amplifier (Fig. 2: 215/225) and
GIO pre-charge circuitry configured to pre-charge the GIO line to a first power supply voltage potential (see page 2, par. 0009-0010 and page 5, par. 0034).
However, Bringivijayaraghavan is silent with respect to a local input/output (LIO) line and LIO circuitry configured to pre-charge the LIO line to a pre-charge voltage potential substantially halfway between the first power supply voltage potential and a second higher power supply voltage potential.
Similar to Bringivijayaraghavan, Liu teaches an apparatus comprising a sense amplifier (Fig. 1: Bit line sense amplifer/Local sense amplifier/Input/output amplifier) and global input-output (GIO) line (Fig. 1: GIO and /GIO).
Furthermore, Liu teaches a local input/output (LIO) line (Fig. 1: LIO and /LIO) and LIO circuitry configured to pre-charge the LIO line to a pre-charge voltage potential substantially halfway between the first power supply voltage potential and a second higher power supply voltage potential (see page 2, par. 0050, pages 3-4, par. 0070-0072 and page 5, par. 0097).
Since Liu and Bringivijayaraghavan are from the same field of endeavor, the teachings described by Liu would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Bringivijayaraghavan.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Bringivijayaraghavan for the purpose of improve a signal transmission speed and reduce a signal transmission delay, see Liu’s page 1, par. 0004.
Regarding claim 2, Bringivijayaraghavan in combination with Liu teaches the limitations with respect to claim 1.
Furthermore, Bringivijayaraghavan teaches a first wafer including the sense amplifier, the GIO line, and the GIO pre-charge circuitry (Fig. 4A: 490).
Regarding claim 3, Bringivijayaraghavan in combination with Liu teaches the limitations with respect to claim 2.
Furthermore, Bringivijayaraghavan teaches a second wafer bonded to the first wafer and including an array of memory cells (Fig. 4A: 481).
Regarding claim 4, Bringivijayaraghavan in combination with Liu teaches the limitations with respect to claim 1.
Furthermore, Bringivijayaraghavan teaches the sense amplifier comprise pull-up circuitry comprising at least one P-type FinFET (Fig. 2: 243a/243c) and pull-down circuitry comprising at least one N-type FinFET (Fig. 2: 211a/211b).
Regarding claim 5, Bringivijayaraghavan in combination with Liu teaches the limitations with respect to claim 1.
Furthermore, Bringivijayaraghavan teaches wherein the GIO line is electrically coupled to the sense amplifier via a column select gate (Fig. 1: 111.1).
Regarding claim 6, Bringivijayaraghavan in combination with Liu teaches the limitations with respect to claim 5.
Furthermore, Bringivijayaraghavan teaches wherein the column select gate comprises a P-type FinFET positioned adjacent a pull-up sense amplifier region of the sense amplifier (Fig. 1: 111.1/112.1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 14, there is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art of record to provide the recited FinFET wafer overlays the array wafer.
With respect to claim 15, there is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art of record to provide the recited contact area for electrically connecting the sense amplifier region of the FinFET wafer to one or more digit lines of the array wafer.
Conclusion
/Alfredo Bermudez Lozada/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825