Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haynes (US 10,591,420).
Regarding claim 1, Haynes discloses a scanner system for parts (Fig.1), the scanner system comprising:
a plurality of scanners (46, 48, 50, 52) mounted to a measurement head (24);
a part support (12);
a conveyor mechanism to change a relative location of the part support (Col.5, lines 38-41) and the measurement head along a scan path (Fig.1) during scanning (Col.5, lines 46-48); and
an alignment artifact (56) located along the scan path (Fig.1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7, 12-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haynes (US 10,591,420) in view of Allen (US 4,462,443).
Regarding claim 2, Haynes does not further specifically disclose the part support comprises a plurality of clamps.
Allen teaches a scanner system for lumber wherein a plurality of clamps (42, 44, Fig.2, Abstract) are used.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified Haynes in view of Allen to include a plurality of clamps in order to further secure the parts.
Regarding claim 3, Haynes, as modified above, further teaches at least some of the plurality of clamps are individually controllable (Allen Col.4, lines 26-50) to selectively engage a part for scanning.
Regarding claim 4, Haynes, as modified above, further teaches at least some of the plurality of clamps are individually controllable (Allen Col.4, lines 26-50) to selectively move each clamp toward or away from the part.
Regarding claim 5, Haynes, as modified above, further teaches at least some of the plurality of clamps are individually controllable (Allen Col.4, lines 26-50) to selectively clamp or unclamp the part.
Regarding claim 6, Haynes, as modified above, further teaches the part support comprises a plurality of part support modules, each part support module having one or more clamps of the plurality of clamps (Allen Fig.1).
Regarding claim 7, Haynes, as modified above, further discloses at least one rail segment positioned on each part support module (Col.5, lines 42-46).
Regarding claim 12, Haynes discloses a scanner system for parts (Fig.1), the scanner system comprising:
a plurality of scanners (46, 48, 50, 52) mounted to a measurement head;
a part support (12),
a conveyor mechanism (Col.5, lines 38-41) to change a relative location of the part support and the measurement head along a scan path during scanning (Col.5, lines 46-48); and
an alignment artifact (56) located along the scan path (Fig.1).
Haynes does not further specifically disclose the part support comprises a plurality of clamps, wherein at least some of the plurality of clamps are individually controllable to selectively engage or disengage from a part being scanned.
Allen teaches a scanner system for lumber wherein a plurality of clamps (42, 44, Fig.2, Abstract) are used, wherein the plurality of clamps are individually controllable (Col.4, lines 26-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified Haynes in view of Allen to include a plurality of clamps in order to further secure the parts.
Regarding claim 13, Haynes, as modified above, further discloses a controller configured to selectively engage or disengage each individually controllable clamp (Col.4, lines 26-50) of the plurality of clamps based at least on a measurement plan.
Regarding claim 14, Haynes, as modified above, further discloses the measurement plan comprises selectively disengaging one or more clamps of the plurality of individually controllable clamps, performing a first scan using the plurality of scanners, selectively engaging the one or more individually controllable clamps, and performing a second scan (Col.7, lines32+).
Regarding claim 15, Haynes, as modified above, further discloses at least some of the plurality of clamps are individually controllable (Col.4, lines 26-50) to selectively move each clamp toward or away from the part.
Regarding claim 16, Haynes, as modified above, further discloses at least some of the plurality of clamps are individually controllable (Col.4, lines 26-50) to selectively clamp or unclamp the part.
Regarding claim 17, Haynes, as modified above, further teaches the part support further comprises a plurality of part support modules, each part support module comprising one or more clamps of the plurality of clamps (Allen Fig.1).
Claim 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haynes (US 10,591,420) in view of Allen (US 4,462,443), as applied above and further in view of Gong et al (US Pub App 2020/0164510).
Regarding claim 8, Haynes, as modified above, does not further specifically disclose the at least one rail segment extends beyond an edge of a body of the part support module and over a body of an adjacent part support module.
Gong teaches a system for loading cargo wherein a loading robot comprises a gantry robot manipulator, configured to load one or more pieces of cargo into a vehicle, twin rails run the length of the loading robot with a gantry robot manipulator mounted between the rails. The rails extend beyond the front of the loading robot so that the robot may position itself over a designated area to be loaded and lower the cargo into its proper placement (Para.29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified Haynes, as modified above, further in view of Gong to have at least one rail segment extends beyond an edge of a body of the part support module and over a body of an adjacent part support module in order to extend and increase the placement area.
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haynes (US 10,591,420) in view of Fujihara et al (US Pub App 2017/0057751).
Regarding claim 9, Haynes does not further specifically disclose the conveyor mechanism comprises a precision encoder to determine the relative location of the measurement head along the scan path during scanning, though such an element would be intrinsic to the system.
Fujihara teaches an article sorting apparatus with a conveyance path, a loading device, a positioning device, a sorting unit and a control device wherein a driving unit determines the stopping position of an article in cooperation with a motor, a high-precision encoder, or the like to realize precise positional control by the motor (Para.105).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified Haynes, as modified above, in view of Fujihara to include a precision encoder to determine the relative location of the measurement head along the scan path in order to increase the accuracy of the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 18-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the claimed invention as set forth in claim 10 and subsequent dependent claims. The prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious a safety system, the safety system comprising one or more detectors to detect when a presence is within a protected space, and a controller configured to, when the presence is detected within the protected space, limit a clamp force of one or more clamps of the part support.
The prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the claimed invention as set forth in claim 18 and subsequent dependent claims. The prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious a scanner system for parts, the scanner system comprising: a plurality of scanners mounted to a measurement head; a part support comprising a plurality of clamps; a conveyor mechanism to change a relative location of the part support and the measurement head along a scan path during scanning; an alignment artifact located along the scan path; one or more detectors to detect when a presence is within a protected space; and a controller configured to, when the presence is detected within the protected space, limit a clamp force of one or more clamps of the plurality of clamps.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Li and Newberg further disclose elements of a scanner system for parts.
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/ASHLEY K ROMANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3652