DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/7/2025 and 4/18/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the US Patent US 5,952,843 by Vinh (Vinh hereafter).
Regarding claim 1, Vinh teaches in Figure 5B, a probe head configured to make temporary electrical contact to a device under test, the probe head comprising:
an array of vertical probes (1), each probe having a tip (lower end) configured for making temporary electrical contact to the device under test (see col. 3, lines 59-62), and each probe having a base (upper ends 25) opposite its tip;
a space transformer (33) configured to make electrical contact to the bases of the vertical probes (see col. 11, lines 5-14. The examiner notes unit 33 permits the spacing between the portions 25 to be expanded or “transformed”);
a lower guide plate (also shown in Figure 3, unit 28) having lower guide plate holes (26) corresponding to each of the vertical probes, wherein each vertical probe passes through a corresponding lower guide plate hole in the lower guide plate;
an upper guide plate (24) having upper guide plate holes (22) corresponding to each of the vertical probes, wherein each vertical probe passes through a corresponding upper guide
plate hole in the upper guide plate;
wherein the upper guide plate is disposed between the space transformer and the lower guide plate (as shown in Figure 5B);
wherein at least one of the upper guide plate and lower guide plate includes a flexure mechanism (through holes accommodating bolts 35) that provides vertical or lateral flexibility (the through holes allows the vertical position of the guide plate to be adjusted by virtue of fastening and unfastening the bolts 35).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art of record doesn’t teach alone or in combination, a probe head comprising one or more flexural elements connecting the outer frame to the one or more rigid probe array sections such that the rigid probe array sections can flex in a vertical direction, but can't flex in lateral directions, whereby an elastic force is provided to the probes that tends to keep the bases of the probes in electrical contact with the space transformer, in combination with all other elements recited.
As to claims 3-4, the claims are objected as they further limit objected claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record doesn’t teach alone or in combination, a probe head comprising one or more lateral flexural elements connecting the outer frame to the one or more rigid probe array sections; wherein the one or more lateral flexural elements enable the one or more rigid probe array sections to flex in a predetermined lateral direction, in combination with all other elements recited.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record doesn’t teach alone or in combination, a probe head comprising one or more lateral flexural elements connecting the outer frame to the one or more rigid probe array sections; wherein the one or more lateral flexural elements enable the one or more rigid probe array sections to flex in a predetermined lateral direction, in combination with all other elements recited.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of record doesn’t teach alone or in combination, a probe head comprising an outer frame; one or more rigid probe array sections; and one or more flexural elements connecting the outer frame to the one or more rigid probe array sections such that the rigid probe array sections can flex in a vertical direction, but can't flex in lateral directions, in combination with all other elements recited.
As to claim 8, the claims are objected as they further limit objected claim 7 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
- The US Patent US 5,623,213 by Liu et al., directed to probe cards including a support plate that uses apertures on the plate to provide a spring force on the probes as needed. See figure below:
- The US Patent US 6,064,215 by Kister, directed to probe cards including a guide plate that include openings/cut-offs allowing expansion and flexibility under thermal stress. See figure below:
- The US Patent US 5,521,523 by Kimura et al., directed to probe cards, and specifically, a support plate including apertures designed to relieve stress on the probes while in use. See figure below:
- The US Patent Application Publication PGPub 2003/0132767 by Tervo et al., directed to probe cards including a guide support plate that uses cut offs on the plate to provide thermal expansion flexibility. See figure below:
/RICHARD ISLA/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 July 23, 2026