DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: light receiving unit in claim 1 and defect detecting unit in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a))(1) as being anticipated by Miyazato (JP 2012058091 A)-using machine translation.
As for claim 1, Miyazato in a surface inspection device discloses/suggests the following:
A measurement apparatus (FIG. 1 with page 3: lines 1-2) for measuring a measurement target object conveyed in a conveying direction (this appears to be an intended use recitation: note the following: ‘it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ F.2d 1647 (1987).’) the measurement apparatus (FIG. 1 with page 3: lines 1-2) comprising: an illuminating unit configured to illuminate the measurement target object (FIG. 1: 20); and a light receiving unit configured to receive specular reflection light from the measurement target object illuminated by the illuminating unit (FIG. 1: 30 with page 1: see TECHNICSL-FIELD with page 4: lines 6-10), wherein the illuminating unit includes a light source and a first diffusion plate (FIG. 3A and 3B: 22 and 23 with 26 as the first diffusion plate), the light source including a plurality of point light sources, a plurality of the light sources are arranged in a predetermined arrangement direction, the plurality of point light sources are arranged in an orthogonal direction that is orthogonal to the predetermined arrangement direction (FIG. 3A: 23 with FIG. 3B: 23 on 22 noting: 240, 241, 242, 243, 244, 245, 246), and when a diffusion angle relative to the predetermined arrangement direction of the first diffusion plate is given as Ax and a diffusion angle relative to the orthogonal direction is given as Ay, a relationship of Ax <Ay is satisfied (page 3: sixth paragraph beginning with ‘The light shaping diffuser 26…’).
As for claim 2, Miyazato discloses/suggests everything as above (see claim 1). In addition, Miyazato discloses/suggests wherein the plurality of point light sources emit light of different wavelengths (page 3: fourth paragraph starting with ‘In the light device 20…’ to third line of fifth paragraph).
As for claim 3, Miyazato discloses/suggests everything as above (see claim 1). In addition, Miyazato discloses/suggests wherein the first diffusion plate is arranged between the light source and the measurement target object (noting orientation of 20 in FIG. 1 with 20: 26 and 23/22 in FIG. 3).
As for claim 8, Miyazato discloses/suggests everything as above (see claim 1). In addition, Miyazato discloses/suggests a defect detecting unit configured to detect a defect of the measurement target object based on the specular reflection light from the measurement target object received by the light receiving unit (FIG. 1: 40-48 wherein, 47 is referred to as ‘the surface defect detection unit’).
As for claim 9, Miyazato discloses/suggests everything as above (see claim 1). In addition, Miyazato discloses/suggests wherein the light source includes the plurality of point light sources emitting red light, the plurality of point light sources emitting green light, and the plurality of point light sources emitting blue light (FIG. 3A: 23 and FIG. 3B: 23 with 240-246).
As for claim 10, Miyazato discloses/suggests everything as above (see claim 1). In addition, Miyazato discloses/suggests wherein the plurality of point light sources include a lens member configured to guide an optical path of emitted light to the measurement target object (FIG. 3A: treating the hemispherical member of each 23 as a lens member).
As for claim 11, Miyazato discloses/suggests everything as above (see claim 1). In addition, Miyazato discloses/suggests wherein the plurality of point light sources are Light Emitting Diode (LED) elements (page 3: fourth paragraph starting with ‘In the light device 20…’ to third line of fifth paragraph).
As for claim 12, Miyazato discloses/suggests everything as above (see claim 1). In addition, Miyazato discloses/suggests wherein the measurement target object is a vehicle body (FIG. 1: 10 with page 3: line 4: ‘a painted surface of a car’).
As for claim 13, Miyazato discloses/suggests the following: a measurement method executed (FIG. 7 with page 6: fourth paragraph beginning with ‘The control unit 40…’ to page 7: line 28) by the measurement apparatus according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above), the measurement method comprising: illuminating the measurement target object with light including a plurality of colors (FIG. 1: 20 with 10; page 3: lines 1-8 and page 3: last nine lines; page 7: lines 4-15); and receiving the specular reflection light from the illuminated measurement target object (FIG. 1: 10 to 30; page 4: lines 6-15).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but appear to be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: please refer to the attached PTO-892. The examiner notes that Yonezawa (JP 2000028535 A) teaches a defect inspecting device that has two diffusion plates (FIG. 1: 3 and 4).
Fax/Telephone Numbers
The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday, 10:00 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.
supervisor, Kara Geisel, can be reached at 571-272-2416. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/GORDON J STOCK JR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877