DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Murphy (5,890,599).
Regarding claim 1, Murphy discloses a jig 410 comprising: at least one pocket (created by framework, figures 17-19) comprising: an opening through a thickness of the jig (thickness shown in figure 19) ; a plurality of chamfered corner openings (formed by 431, 432, figure 19), each of the plurality of chamfered corner openings located at a corner of the at least one pocket arranged around the opening; and angled sides (shown below) of the opening, wherein the angled sides extend to a top of a sidewall 433, 434 of the at least one pocket; wherein the at least one pocket is formed in a body portion of the jig (figures 17-19).
Regarding claim 2, Murphy shows angles, but does not state that the angle of each of the angled sides being 13 degrees from vertical. However, “vertical” is not defined; therefore; a vertical can be formed from any vantage point on the jig. Therefore, the claim limitation would be met.
Regarding claim 3, Murphy discloses a chamfer on each side of the plurality of chamfered corner openings comprises a rounded edge 437, 438).
Regarding claim 5, Murphy discloses a guide 443 disposed along an edge of the opening comprises a completely angled side (the sides of 443 are angled) (figure 19).
Regarding claim 6, Murphy shows angles, but does not state that the angle of each of the angled sides being 13 degrees from vertical. However, “vertical” is not defined; therefore; a vertical can be formed from any vantage point on the jig. Therefore, the claim limitation would be met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 7-10, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Murphy (5,890,599).
Regarding claim 7, Murphy discloses a jig 410 comprising: at least one pocket (created by framework, figures 17-19) comprising: angled sides 433, 434 around an opening (figures 18-19), wherein the at least one pocket is formed in a body portion of the jig (figures 1-2, 18-19). Murphy does not specifically disclose that the jig is configured to receive a semiconductor substrate therein during a reflow process. However, the jig is used for storage and transportation. The jig can be used for storage during the initial steps (prior to any heating) of the reflow process or after the melting has been performed for cooling and/or storage. The claim does not require that jig is used during heating.
Murphy shows angles, but does not state that the angle of each of the angled sides being 13 degrees from vertical. However, “vertical” is not defined; therefore; a vertical can be formed from any vantage point on the jig. Therefore, the claim limitation would be met.
With that being said, if the Applicant does not agree that the angle is 13 degrees, the current specification only states that the angle “may be 13 degrees from vertical” and does not give any significance or criticality to the angle being 13 degrees. This appears to be a design choice. To one skilled in the art at the time of the invention it would have been obvious to determine the ideal angle required for the jig to ensure that the component is held properly without movement or damage to the component.
Regarding claim 8, Murphy discloses at least one chamfered corner opening (formed from 430) (figure 19) located at a corner of the at least one pocket (figures 18-19).
Regarding claim 9, Murphy discloses a chamfer on a side of the at least one chamfered corner openings comprise a rounded edge 438 (figure 19).
Regarding claim 10, Murphy discloses that the at least one chamfered corner opening comprises an arc coupled with the rounded edge. This would inherently happen as the rounded edge would have an arc. Therefore, the claim limitation is met.
Regarding claim 12, Murphy discloses a guide 443 disposed along an edge of the opening comprises a completely angled side (figure 19).
Regarding claim 13, Murphy shows angles, but does not state that the angle of each of the angled sides being 13 degrees from vertical. However, “vertical” is not defined; therefore; a vertical can be formed from any vantage point on the jig. Therefore, the claim limitation would be met.
With that being said, if the Applicant does not agree that the angle is 13 degrees, the current specification only states that the angle “may be 13 degrees from vertical” and does not give any significance or criticality to the angle being 13 degrees. This appears to be a design choice. To one skilled in the art at the time of the invention it would have been obvious to determine the ideal angle required for the jig to ensure that the component is held properly without movement or damage to the component.
Regarding claim 14, Murphy discloses three guides 440, 441, 443 disposed along edges of the opening, each guide of the three guides comprising a completely angled side (figure 19).
Claim(s) 2, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy (5,890,599) as applied to claims 1, 5 above.
This is an alternate rejection if the Applicant does not agree that the angles are 13 degrees.
Regarding claim 2, Murphy does not specifically state that the angle is 13 degrees. The current specification only states that the angle “may be 13 degrees from vertical” and does not give any significance or criticality to the angle being 13 degrees. This appears to be a design choice. To one skilled in the art at the time of the invention it would have been obvious to determine the ideal angle required for the jig to ensure that the component is held properly without movement or damage to the component.
Regarding claim 6, Murphy does not specifically state that the angle is 13 degrees. The current specification only states that the angle “may be 13 degrees from vertical” and does not give any significance or criticality to the angle being 13 degrees. This appears to be a design choice. To one skilled in the art at the time of the invention it would have been obvious to determine the ideal angle required for the jig to ensure that the component is held properly without movement or damage to the component.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-25 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: prior art was not found that taught or suggested a jig as claimed that included wherein the at least one pocket is formed in a body portion of the jig; and wherein each of the plurality of chamfered corner openings comprise at least one square edge wherein an arc portion of the plurality of chamfered corner openings transitions to a side of the opening through the thickness of the jig.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5-6 are moot as the rejection has changed.
The Applicant argues that Murphy cannot be used during a reflow process.
The Examiner disagrees. The claim does not state that the tray is actually used in an oven or during heating of the semiconductors. The reflow process can include the semiconductors in a tray being prepared or pretreated for an oven/furnace. The reflow process can include the placement of completed semiconductors after the reflow has been completed. The reflow process does not have to just include the actual heating of the semiconductors. The claim does not specifically state that the tray goes into the oven/furnace during the reflowing.
The Applicant argues that vertical would mean perpendicular to the plane of the jig.
The Examiner maintains the current rejection. If this is what the Applicant intended, then the Examiner suggests amending. However, the 103 would be maintained as this value appears to be a design choice as stated above. There has been no criticality associated with the 13 degrees.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIN B SAAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735