Claims 1, 3, 6-11, and 13-21 are rejected. Claims 2, 4, 5, and 12 have been cancelled.
The 112(b) rejection has been overcome in view of the present amendment and response.
The rejections over Sellars, and further in view of Stock and Pattinson have been withdrawn in view of the present amendment and response. None of the cited references disclose a thermal barrier structure wherein a metal foam is comprised of open cells arranged in a structure having tessellated prismatic cells.
New ground of rejection is made in view of newly discovered reference to Xia (WO 02/18674).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-11, and 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 02/18674 to Xia (hereinafter “Xia”).
As to claims 1, 16-18, 20 and 21, Xia discloses a composite thermal barrier coating system for a gas turbine engine component, comprising a metallic substrate 5, a first composite thermal barrier coating 6 on the metallic substrate, and a second composite thermal barrier coating 8 over edge portions of the metallic substrate (abstract, page 3, and figure 3).
The composite thermal barrier coating comprises a metallic honeycomb support structure 12, an overlayer 22 covering the metallic honeycomb support structure wherein the overlayer comprises a ceramic matrix 14 and hollow ceramic particles, and wherein the ceramic matrix 14 and hollow ceramic particles fill the honeycomb cells (pages 6, 7, and figure 6). The composite thermal barrier coating includes a braze coating material 20 to secure the composite coating to the metallic substrate. The composite thermal barrier coating also includes an intermediate void layer 24 between the substrate and the ceramic material (figure 7, and page 7). The intermediate void layer refers to the portion of the honeycomb support structure which is free of the ceramic matrix and hollow ceramic particles
The overlayer reads on the claimed first layer comprising a ceramic material.
The metallic honeycomb support structure free of ceramic fillers reads on the claimed second layer comprising a metal foam comprised of open cells arranged in a structure having tessellated prismatic cells.
The ceramic infiltrated honeycomb support structure reads on the claimed third layer comprising the ceramic material and the metal foam.
The braze layer reads on the claimed backing plate.
As to claims 3 and 19, Xia discloses that the overlayer forms an outermost surface of the composite thermal barrier coating.
As to claim 6, Xia discloses that the open cells of the metal honeycomb structure are filled with the ceramic material (figure 6). Hence, the ceramic material is interspersed with the metal foam.
As to claim 7, Xia discloses that the honeycomb support structure, the ceramic layer and overlayer are made of different materials and thus distinct from each other figures 6 and 7, and page 7).
As to claims 8 and 11, Xia discloses that the overlayer is made of a ceramic matrix and hollow ceramic particles (page 7), the honeycomb support structure made of nickel superalloy (page 6), and the ceramic-filling the honeycomb support structure made of a metal and a ceramic.
As to claim 9, Xia discloses that the ceramic-filling honeycomb structure is defined by an overlap between the overlayer and the overlayer (figures 6 and 7).
As to claim 10, Xia discloses that the ceramic material is zirconia or alumina (page 6).
As to claim 15, Xia discloses that the honeycomb support structure has a thickness of 4 mm (example).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia.
As to claim 13, Xia discloses that the honeycomb support structure has cells with a cell size of 1 to 7 mm or 3.6 to 25.4 ppi (page 6). This overlaps the claimed range.
d= 25.4 mm/ppi
ppi= 25.4/1 = 25.4
ppi= 25.4/7 = 3.6
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the honeycomb support structure having a cell size in the range instantly claimed, motivated by the desire to facilitate the filling of the ceramic material while maintaining adequate strength and dimensional stability.
As to claim 14, Xia discloses that the overlayer has a thickness of 0.5 to 2 mm (page 7). This overlaps the claimed range.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the overlayer having a thickness in the range instantly claimed, motivated by the desire to provide sufficient thermal protection and insulation property to the metallic honeycomb support structure.
Claims 1, 3, 6-11, 13, and 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0143103 to Sellars et al. (hereinafter “Sellars”) further in view of Xia.
As to claims 1, 13, and 15-21, Sellars discloses a seal between rotor blades and a casing of a gas turbine engine, comprising an abradable structure on the casing (abstract). The abradable coating 59 comprises a metallic foam 60 having pores 66, 68 wherein the metallic foam has a first region 62 and a second region 64; an abradable layer 72 comprising ceramic deposited on the second region of the metallic foam; a substrate 58 adhered to the first region of the metallic foam (figure 3; paragraph 55 and 67-69). The pores of the second region are filled with the ceramic of the abradable layer while the pores of the first region are left empty except for any contained gas or air (paragraph 55). The substrate 58 reads on the claimed backing plate that is configured to be attached to the casing corresponding to the claimed substrate.
The ceramic abradable layer reads on the claimed first layer.
The metallic foam having pores filled with the ceramic reads on the claimed third layer.
The metallic foam free of the ceramic reads on the claimed second layer.
The abradable coating reduces air leakage between the tips of the rotor blades and casing, thereby lowering the loss in engine efficiency and engine performance (paragraph 3). The abradable coating reads on the claimed thermal barrier coating.
Sellars does not explicitly disclose the metal foam comprised of open cells arranged in a structure having tessellated prismatic cells, which is a honeycomb structure.
Xia, however, discloses a composite thermal barrier coating system for a gas turbine engine component, comprising a metallic substrate 5, a first composite thermal barrier coating 6 on the metallic substrate, and a second composite thermal barrier coating 8 over edge portions of the metallic substrate (abstract, page 3, and figure 3).
The composite thermal barrier coating comprises a metallic honeycomb support structure 12, an overlayer 22 covering the metallic honeycomb support structure wherein the overlayer comprises a ceramic matrix 14 and hollow ceramic particles, and wherein the ceramic matrix 14 and hollow ceramic particles fill the honeycomb cells (pages 6, 7, and figure 6). The metallic honeycomb support structure has a thickness of 4 mm (example). The metallic honeycomb support structure has cells with a cell size of 1 to 7 mm or 3.6 to 25.4 ppi (page 6). This overlaps the claimed range.
d= 25.4 mm/ppi
ppi= 25.4/1 = 25.4
ppi= 25.4/7 = 3.6
The composite thermal barrier coating includes a braze coating material 20 to secure the composite coating to the metallic substrate. The composite thermal barrier coating also includes an intermediate void layer 24 between the substrate and the ceramic material (figure 7, and page 7). The intermediate void layer refers to the portion of the honeycomb support structure free of the ceramic matrix and hollow ceramic particles.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the metallic foam of Sellars in the form of a honeycomb structure disclosed in Xia for because the honeycomb structure is a typical form of the metallic foam for use in the thermal barrier coating, and Xia provides necessary details to practice the invention of Sellars.
As to claim 3, Sellars discloses that the abradable layer 72 forms an outermost surface of the abradable coating or the thermal barrier coating.
As to claim 6, Sellars discloses that the pores of the second region are filled with the ceramic of the abradable layer while the pores of the first region are left empty except for any contained gas or air (paragraph 55). The ceramic material is interspersed with the metallic foam in the second region.
As to claim 7, as shown in figure 3, Sellars discloses that the abradable layer 71, the ceramic-containing metallic foam 64, and the ceramic-free metallic foam are made of different materials and thus distinct from each other.
As to claims 8 and 11, Sellars discloses that the abradable layer 71 is made of a ceramic (paragraph 67), the metallic foam 62 made of nickel alloy (paragraph 69), and the metallic foam 64 made of a metal and a ceramic.
As to claim 9, Sellars discloses that the ceramic-containing metallic foam 64 is defined by an overlap between the abradable layer 72 and the ceramic-free metallic foam 62 (figure 3).
As to claim 10, Sellars discloses that the ceramic is zirconia or alumina (paragraph 67).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sellars in view of Xia as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of US 2013/0071235 to Strock et al. (hereinafter “Strock”).
Sellars does not explicitly disclose the abradable layer having a thickness of at least 2 mm.
Strock, however, discloses a seal 60 comprising an abradable liner comprising a bond coat 65, and an abradable layer 70 which is made of a matrix of agglomerated hexagonal boron nitride and an oxide ceramic, having a thickness of 2.03 mm (paragraph 18; figure 2). The abradable layer 70 is adhered to a substrate 40 through the bond coat 65.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the ceramic abradable layer of Sellars/Xia having a thickness in the range instantly claimed, motivated by the desire to effectively reduce air leakage around the blade tips, thereby providing significant reductions in fuel consumption and increasing engine efficiency.
Response to Arguments
Sellars does not teach a thermal barrier structure wherein a metal foam is comprised of open cells arranged in a structure having tessellated prismatic cells. However, new combination of Sellars and Xia suggests the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Hai Vo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788