DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 3-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 and 12-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,241,932. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘932 patent recite at least the limitations of the present claims and thus read on the present claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the second computer instruction". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is assumed Applicant intended claim 27 to depend from claim 26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 16-20, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al (US Pat. 5,892,906; hereinafter referred to as Chou) in view of Kroening et al (US Pat. Pub. 2004/0083208; hereinafter referred to as Kroening).
As per claim 1:
Chou teaches a method of testing semiconductor circuits, comprising:
loading, into an internal memory of the semiconductor circuit (Fig. 1, 15), first computer instructions comprising boot code (Fig. 3, 22), a basic input/output system (BIOS) (Fig. 3; col. 2, lines 63-65), and a functional test (Fig. 2, 23; col. 3, line 64); and
operating the semiconductor circuit in a test boot mode, the operating including executing the boot code, portions of the BIOS, and the functional test (Fig. 10).
Not explicitly disclosed is attaching a semiconductor circuit to a test bed. However, Kroening in an analogous art teaches loading a test routine into memory of a test bed comprising a motherboard (paragraph 22; Fig. 1A, 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to use the motherboard of the system of Chou as a test bed. This modification would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because Chou already teaches a motherboard (col. 3, lines 30-33), and Kroening suggests that a motherboard can be used as a test bed to perform test operations such as the self-test taught by Chou.
As per claims 4, 17: Chou teaches the method of claim 1 and semiconductor die of claim 16, further comprising loading, into the internal memory of the semiconductor circuit, an operating system (OS) (col. 3, lines 46-47).
As per claims 5, 18: Chou teaches the method of claim 4 and semiconductor die of claim 17, wherein operating the operating the semiconductor circuit in a test boot mode further comprises operating portions of the OS (col. 3, lines 44-47).
As per claims 6, 19: Chou teaches the method of claim 1 and semiconductor die of claim 16, wherein loading first computer instructions into the internal memory of the semiconductor circuit comprises loading firmware or instructions that replace or suppress portions of the boot code (col. 3, lines 24-28; boot code is suppressed without proper authentication) that require connections to hardware other than the semiconductor circuit (Fig. 2, security key).
As per claims 7, 20:
Chou teaches the method of claim 1 and semiconductor die of claim 16, wherein the first computer instructions include one or more skip instructions for skipping one or more operations of installed firmware of the semiconductor circuit, or wherein executing the first computer instructions includes bypassing one or more operations in a boot flow as provided in installed firmware of the semiconductor circuit (col. 4, lines 61-63).
As per claim 16: Chou teaches a semiconductor die, comprising:
one or more interfaces (Fig. 1; motherboard interface);
an internal memory (Fig. 1, 15), the internal memory being loaded with first computer instructions (Fig. 3), the first computer instructions comprising boot code (Fig. 3, 22), a basic input/output system (BIOS) (Fig. 3; col. 2, lines 63-65), and a functional test (Fig. 2, 23; col. 3, line 64); and
a first processing circuit (Fig. 1, 14) configured to execute the first computer instructions thereby operating the first processing circuit in a test boot mode, the operating including executing the boot code, portions of the BIOS, and the functional test (Fig. 10).
Not explicitly disclosed is one or more interfaces configured to attach to a test bed. However, Kroening in an analogous art teaches loading a test routine into memory of a test bed comprising a motherboard (paragraph 22; Fig. 1A, 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to use the motherboard of the system of Chou as a test bed. This modification would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because Chou already teaches a motherboard (col. 3, lines 30-33), and Kroening suggests that a motherboard can be used as a test bed to perform test operations such as the self-test taught by Chou.
As per claim 29: Chou teaches the semiconductor die of claim 16, wherein the first processing circuit includes a boot controller (Fig. 1, CPU 14).
Claim(s) 2, 3, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Kroening in view of Ozoe et al (US Pat. Pub. 2013/0223164; hereinafter referred to as Ozoe).
As per claim 2:
Chou et al teach the method of claim 1. Not explicitly disclosed is wherein attaching the semiconductor circuit to the test bed comprises attaching a packaged semiconductor circuit to the test bed. However, Ozoe in an analogous art teaches a CPU and memory in a packaged semiconductor circuit (paragraph 60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to form the CPU and memory components of Chou in a packaged semiconductor device. This modification would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because Ozoe teaches that the components may be packaged or non-packaged without changing the principle of operation.
As per claim 3:
Chou et al teach the method of claim 1. Not explicitly disclosed is wherein attaching the semiconductor circuit to the test bed comprises attaching a non-packaged semiconductor circuit to the test bed. However, Ozoe in an analogous art teaches a CPU and memory in a non-packaged semiconductor circuit (paragraph 60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to form the CPU and memory components of Chou in a non-packaged semiconductor device. This modification would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because Ozoe teaches that the components may be packaged or non-packaged without changing the principle of operation.
As per claim 22: Chou further teaches the semiconductor die of claim 16, wherein the first computer instructions are executed to perform a functional test of the semiconductor die (Fig. 3, 23). Not explicitly disclosed is the first computer instructions being loaded and executed without the semiconductor die being attached to a die package. However, Ozoe in an analogous art teaches a CPU and memory in a non-packaged semiconductor circuit (paragraph 60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to form the CPU and memory components of Chou in a non-packaged semiconductor device. This modification would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because Ozoe teaches that the components may be packaged or non-packaged without changing the principle of operation.
Claim(s) 8, 21, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Kroening in view of Dreyer et al (US Pat. 5,479,652; hereinafter referred to as Dreyer).
As per claims 8, 21:
Chou et al teach the method of claim 1 and semiconductor die of claim 16. Not explicitly disclosed is wherein the first computer instructions are loaded into the internal memory via a joint test action group (JTAG) interface after the semiconductor circuit is powered on. However, Dreyer in an analogous art teaches loading instructions via a joint test action group (JTAG) interface (Fig. 1, 34; col. 3, lines 49-54).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to implement a JTAG interface in the system of Chou et al. This modification would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because no additional pins would have been needed for running additional testing, thereby saving costs (col. 3, lines 54-46).
As per claim 30: Chou et al teach the semiconductor die of claim 16. Not explicitly disclosed is further comprising a boot pin that, when asserted, triggers the semiconductor die to enter an automatic test equipment (ATE) mode, the ATE mode including enabling input from JTAG pins. However, Dreyer in an analogous art teaches a boot pin for triggering a test mode including enabling input from JTAG pins (col. 6, lines 46-58; see also Fig. 1, 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to implement the test interface of Dreyer for enabling JTAG input. This modification would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because no additional pins would have been needed for running additional testing, thereby saving costs (col. 3, lines 54-46).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Kroening in view of Ghosh et al (US Pat. 5,598,556; hereinafter referred to as Ghosh).
As per claim 9:
Chou et al teach the method of claim 1. Not explicitly disclosed is wherein the first computer instructions are executed to perform a benchmark test of the semiconductor circuit. However, Ghosh in an analogous art teaches performing a benchmarking test of a semiconductor circuit (col. 1, lines 16-19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to perform a CPU benchmarking test in Chou. This modification would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because it would have been useful for improving or optimizing processor performance under various operating conditions (col. 1, lines 20-21).
Claim(s) 10, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Kroening in view of Shivanna et al (US Pat. Pub. 2017/0315818; hereinafter referred to as Shivanna).
As per claims 10, 23:
Chou et al teach the method of claim 1 and semiconductor die of claim 16. Not explicitly disclosed is further comprising logging functional errors during execution of the first computer instructions in the functional test, the functional errors including runtime errors before a system fault. However, Shivanna in an analogous art teaches logging errors in a register to detect an early boot error before a system fault (paragraph 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to implement the logging of Shivanna in the system of Chou et al. This modification would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because it would have helped detect failures that happen in the early part of the server boot process (paragraph 7).
Claim(s) 11, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Kroening in view of Brown et al (US Pat. Pub. 2019/0095377; hereinafter referred to as Brown).
As per claims 11, 24:
Chou et al teach the method of claim 1 and semiconductor die of claim 16. Not explicitly disclosed is further comprising: logging one or more events of operating the semiconductor circuit in the test boot mode; and transmitting logs of the one or more events from the semiconductor circuit via a joint test action group (JTAG) interface or a universal asynchronous receiver/transmitter (UART) interface. However, Brown in an analogous art teaches logging error events and transmitting logs of the events via a UART terminal (paragraph 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to maintain and transmit error logs as taught by Brown. This modification would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because it would have allowed an administrator to review and act on the errors, as discussed by Brown.
Claim(s) 12, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Kroening in view of Liu et al (US Pat. Pub. 2018/0225126; hereinafter referred to as Liu).
As per claims 12, 25:
Chou et al teach the method of claim 1 and semiconductor die of claim 16. Not explicitly disclosed is wherein the first computer instructions include a Unified Extensible Firmware Interface (UEFI) BIOS, firmware, or a combination thereof. However, Liu in an analogous art teaches a UEFI BIOS (paragraph 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to use a UEFI BIOS as the bios of Chou. This modification would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because UEFI was well-known and used interchangeably with BIOS, as explained by Liu in paragraph 9.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 and 26-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art teach the limitations of parent claims 1 and 16 as detailed above. However, none of the prior art teach or fairly suggest: bringing a first semiconductor circuit of the semiconductor circuit out of reset via the executing of the first computer instructions; loading second computer instructions into the internal memory; and executing the second computer instructions on the semiconductor circuit, as recited in claim 13, particularly in combination with each and every element of the parent claim. Claim 26 would be allowable for analogous reasons. Claims 14, 15, 27, and 28 depend from the claims above and would be allowable for at least the same reasons.
Conclusion
/STEVE N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111