DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/11/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites “…the antenna element group being arranged to cover an area in a circumferential direction of the shaft”. It is not exactly clear what is being claimed. It is not clear if the above limitation is claiming that the antenna element group is physically disposed on surface area of the shaft. It is also not clear if the above limitation is claiming the antenna element group is configured for instance to electromagnetically cover the area on the shaft to communicate with the wireless tag.
Regarding claims 2-10, claims 2-10 are rejected at least for inheriting the above discussed issue due to their dependency to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Matsuda et al.(JP 2000-281268) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Matsuda et al.(JP 2000-281268) in view of Ohashi et al.(US 2009/0041527) and/or Hunt et al. (US 2022/0031231).
Regarding claim 1, Matsuda et al teaches a printing apparatus (fig.1), comprising:
a shaft (7 fig.3) that is arranged to be inserted into a tubular material (25,6) including a wireless tag (30 figs.2,4) and rotatably supports the tubular material; and
an antenna (20 figs.3,4; 20 has an electromagnetic induction reader i.e. antenna) that has an antenna element group including a plurality of antenna elements (20 fig.4, 20 includes at least two elements) and performs data communication with the wireless tag (30), the antenna element group being arranged to cover an area in a circumferential direction of the shaft (7).
In case applicant argued that Matsuda et al doe not explicitly shows the plurality of antenna elements.
In the alternatives, Ohashi et al teaches an antenna (LC figs.8-10,18,40A) that has an antenna element group including a plurality of antenna elements (figs.8-10 see the different elements of the conductive patterns RP in the antenna LC).
Similarly, Hunt et al teaches an antenna (1510 figs.15; 1610 figs.16; 1710 figs.17) that has an antenna element group including a plurality of antenna elements (paragraphs 0336,0337,0340,0341,0343-0346,0373,0374,0375).
Therefore, in the alternatives, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use such antenna with antenna element group including a plurality of antenna elements in device of Matsuda et al based on the teachings of Ohashi et al and/or Hunt et al for instance to provide optimal antenna communication based on the configuration of the device.
Regarding claim 2, Matsuda et al as alternatively modified by Ohashi et al and/or Hunt et al further teaches wherein the plurality of antenna elements (20 figs.3,4 of Matsuda et al; LC figs.8-10,18,40A of Ohashi et al; 1510 figs.15; 1610 figs.16; 1710 figs.17 of Hunt et al) of the antenna element group is arranged in a single direction with no gaps between the adjacent antenna elements (figs.3,4 of Matsuda et al;figs.8-10 of Ohashi et al teaches different configurations; figs.15-17, paragraphs 0336,0337,0340,0341,0343-0346,0373,0374,0375 of Hunt et al teaches different configurations).
Regarding claim 3, Matsuda et al as alternatively modified by Ohashi et al and/or Hunt et al further teaches wherein the antenna (20 figs.3,4 of Matsuda et al; LC figs.8-10,18,40A of Ohashi et al; 1510 figs.15; 1610 figs.16; 1710 figs.17 of Hunt et al) is arranged so that the plurality of antenna elements of the antenna element group covers the area in the circumferential direction of the shaft (figs.3,4 of Matsuda et al;figs.8-10 of Ohashi et al; figs.15-17, paragraphs 0336,0337,0340,0341,0343-0346,0373,0374,0375 of Hunt et al).
Regarding claim 4, Matsuda et al as alternatively modified by Ohashi et al and/or Hunt et al further teaches wherein the antenna element group (20 figs.3,4 of Matsuda et al; LC figs.8-10,18,40A of Ohashi et al; 1510 figs.15; 1610 figs.16; 1710 figs.17 of Hunt et al) is arranged in a single direction with the plurality of antenna elements overlapping the adjacent antenna elements (figs.3,4 of Matsuda et al;figs.8-10 of Ohashi et al; figs.15-17, paragraphs 0336,0337,0340,0341,0343-0346,0373,0374, 0375 of Hunt et al).
Regarding claim 5, Matsuda et al as alternatively modified by Ohashi et al and/or Hunt et al further teaches wherein the antenna (20 figs.3,4 of Matsuda et al; LC figs.8-10,18,40A of Ohashi et al; 1510 figs.15; 1610 figs.16; 1710 figs.17 of Hunt et al) is arranged so that the plurality of antenna elements of the antenna element group covers the area in the circumferential direction of the shaft (figs.3,4 of Matsuda et al;figs.8-10 of Ohashi et al; figs.15-17, paragraphs 0336,0337,0340,0341,0343-0346,0373,0374,0375 of Hunt et al).
Regarding claim 6, Matsuda et al as alternatively modified by Ohashi et al and/or Hunt et al further teaches wherein one end side and another end side of the plurality of antenna elements (20 figs.3,4 of Matsuda et al; LC figs.8-10,18,40A of Ohashi et al; 1510 figs.15; 1610 figs.16; 1710 figs.17 of Hunt et al) arranged to cover the area in the circumferential direction of the shaft are arranged with no gaps (figs.3,4 of Matsuda et al;figs.8-10 of Ohashi et al; figs.15-17, paragraphs 0336,0337,0340,0341,0343-0346,0373,0374,0375 of Hunt et al).
Regarding claim 7, Matsuda et al as alternatively modified by Ohashi et al and/or Hunt et al further teaches wherein the antenna element group (20 figs.3,4 of Matsuda et al; LC figs.8-10,18,40A of Ohashi et al; 1510 figs.15; 1610 figs.16; 1710 figs.17 of Hunt et al) includes a plurality of loop-shaped antenna elements wound in the same orientation, and the plurality of loop-shaped antenna elements is arranged in a single direction (figs.3,4 of Matsuda et al;figs.8-10 of Ohashi et al; figs.15-17, paragraphs 0336,0337,0340,0341,0343-0346,0373,0374,0375 of Hunt et al).
Regarding claim 8, Matsuda et al as alternatively modified by Ohashi et al and/or Hunt et al further teaches wherein the shaft on which a ribbon roll with a long ink ribbon wound around the tubular material is removably mounted and rotatably supports the mounted roll, the ink ribbon retaining ink (15,16 figs.1,3 of Matsuda et al;105 figs.5 of Ohashi et al. It is also obvious to use different tubular materials such as medium, ribbon, tape in printing apparatus and track status of such tubular materials ).
Regarding claim 9, Matsuda et al as alternatively modified by Ohashi et al and/or Hunt et al further teaches further comprising: a conveyance motor group including a plurality of motors for rotating the shaft and conveying the ink ribbon over the print sheet so as to feed the ink ribbon from the ribbon roll; and a printing device that heats the ink ribbon conveyed over the print sheet and transfers the ink in the ink ribbon to the print sheet (figs.1,4 of Matsuda et al;figs.4,5,18,52,55 of Ohashi et al teaches thermal printer including plurality of motors to drive the medium, ribbon, and/or tape).
Regarding claim 10, Matsuda et al as alternatively modified by Ohashi et al and/or Hunt et al further teaches further comprising a controller that controls printing speed by controlling the motors on a basis of data, the data being read from the wireless tag via the antenna (figs.1,4 of Matsuda et al;figs.4,5,18,52,55 of Ohashi et al).
Conclusion
/HENOK D LEGESSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853