Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lange et al. (US 2021/0341312 A1), hereafter Lange.
Regarding claim 1, Lange at fig. 1-5 and ¶0041 discloses an inductive sensor device (11) 23 comprising: a scale body (12) 24 having multiple electrically conductive conductor strip loops (17) [29,28] that are arranged in at least one scale line (18) [x2] having a respectively defined division (d1, d2) [λ2, λ1], wherein the at least one scale line (18, 19) [x2, x1] extends parallel to a measurement direction (M) [direction (x) as shown]; a sensor unit (13) 25, which is movably arranged in the measurement direction (M) on the scale body (12) and which comprises for each scale line (18, 19) [x2, x1] at least one transmitter coil (25) [35,36] for application of at least one transmitter signal (S) [fig. 4 and ¶0069-0070] and at least one receiver coil (26, 27) [41,40] for providing a receiver signal (E) [fig. 4 and ¶0069-0070]; and an evaluation unit (42) [32,37, ¶0070], which is configured to evaluate the receiver signal or signals (E)[(S11, C11), (S21,C21), ¶0076] and to determine therefrom an absolute relative position (xa) between the sensor unit (13) and the scale body (12); wherein the at least one scale line (18, 19) comprises a modulating section (xm) [section of 28 or 29 in a direction (x)] extending in the measurement direction (M) [direction (x)], wherein within the modulating section individual ones of the conductor strip loops (17) [28 or 29] have impedances and/or apparent resistances (Z) which are different from one another [fig. 11, see “As shown in FIG. 11, the height of the first scale elements 28 is not constant and it varies periodically depending on the position of the first scale element 28 in measuring direction x.” ¶0084-0086. Different height/width of 28 have different impedance based on ohm’s law R = ρl/A], and wherein the evaluation unit (42) is configured to evaluate a modulation of the receiver signal or signals (E) resulting from the impedances and/or apparent resistances (Z) that change within the modulating section (xm) [“By means of at least one phase modulation, a fine position detection is possible. A combination of both phase modulations can be used to determine a vernier phase that gives absolute position over a certain distance. By further considering at least one of the amplitude modulations and preferably both amplitude modulations, the absolute position range can be extended remarkably. It is additionally possible to use a position independent amplitude of one receiver signal for compensating mechanical tolerances and particularly gap variations.”, ¶0041].
Regarding claim 2, Lange at fig. 1-5 and ¶0041 discloses the inductive sensor device according to claim 1, wherein the conductor strip loops (17) 28 are arranged with a first division (d1) [λ1 as an example] in a first scale line (18) [x1] and with a second division (d2) [λ2 as an example] in a second scale line (19) [x2] and wherein the first and second scale lines (18, 19) [x1, x2] are arranged adjacent to one another in a transverse direction (Q) [direction y, see fig. 2] .
Regarding claim 3, Lange at fig. 1-5 and ¶0041 discloses the inductive sensor device according to claim 1, wherein two receiver coils (26, 27) [42b, 42a] of the at least one receiver coil [40 or 41] are assigned to each scale line (18, 19) [x1 or x2].
Regarding claim 4, Lange at fig. 1-5 and ¶0041 discloses the inductive sensor device according to claim 1, wherein each of the conductor strip loops (17) within the at least one modulating section (xm) have impedances and/or apparent resistances (Z) that are different from one another [fig. 11, see “As shown in FIG. 11, the height of the first scale elements 28 is not constant and it varies periodically depending on the position of the first scale element 28 in measuring direction x.” ¶0084-0086. Different height/size of 28 have different impedance based on ohm’s law ρl/A].
Regarding claim 5, Lange at fig. 1-5 and ¶0041 discloses the inductive sensor device according to claim 1, wherein the impedances and/or apparent resistances (Z) of the individual ones of the conductor strip loops (17) in the modulating section (xm) are different to each other in that the individual ones of the conductor strip loops (17) have different ratios of a reactance (XL) relative to an ohmic resistance (RL) [XL and RL as claimed are implicit to 50-53 of 28 with M1(x) and M2(x) curve of fig. 11, see “As shown in FIG. 11, the height of the first scale elements 28 is not constant and it varies periodically depending on the position of the first scale element 28 in measuring direction x.” ¶0084-0086. Different height/size of 28 have different impedance based on ohm’s law ρl/A].
Regarding claim 6, Lange at fig. 1-5 and ¶0041 discloses the inductive sensor device according to claim 1, wherein a change of the impedance and/or apparent resistance (Z) between the individual ones of the conductor strip loops (17) which are adjacent in the measurement direction (M) within the at least one modulating section (xm) is non-linear [see M1(x) and M2(x) curve of fig. 11, see “As shown in FIG. 11, the height of the first scale elements 28 is not constant and it varies periodically depending on the position of the first scale element 28 in measuring direction x.” ¶0084-0086. Different height/size of 28 have different impedance based on ohm’s law ρl/A].
Regarding claim 7, Lange at fig. 1-5 and ¶0041 discloses the inductive sensor device according to claim 1, wherein a change of the impedance and/or apparent resistance (Z) between the individual ones of the conductor strip loops (17) which are adjacent in the measurement direction (M) within the at least one modulating section (xm) is exclusively or at least primarily based on a change of an ohmic portion of the apparent resistance (Z) [implicit to structure of 28. See 50,51,52,53 and M1(x) and M2(x) curve of fig. 11, see “As shown in FIG. 11, the height of the first scale elements 28 is not constant and it varies periodically depending on the position of the first scale element 28 in measuring direction x.” ¶0084-0086. Different height/size of 28 have different impedance based on ohm’s law ρl/A]..
Regarding claim 8, Lange at ¶0028, ¶0112 and ¶0041 discloses the inductive sensor device according to claim 1, wherein multiple conductor strip loops (17) within the at least one modulating section (xm) have conductor strip widths (b) that are different from one another [see “The width dimension of the side conductor sections may be larger than the width dimension of the transverse conductor sections. “, ¶0034 and see “In order to provide the second flux modulating property of the first scale elements it is possible to vary at least one of the width or the height or the transverse position of at least a portion of the first scale elements depending from the position of the respective first scale elements in measuring direction.”, ¶0028 and ¶0063, 0096].
Regarding claim 9, Lange at ¶0112 , ¶0041 discloses the inductive sensor device according to claim 8, wherein each conductor strip loop comprises a loop height (H) in a transverse direction (Q) and a loop width (W) in the measurement direction (M) and wherein two conductor strip loops (17) having different conductor strip widths (b1, b2, b3) comprise loop heights (H1, H2, H3) of different magnitude and loop widths (W1, W2, W3) of different magnitude [see “ the width of a respective transverse conductor section 46 or side conductor section 45 can be adjusted to balance the phase response of the scale elements … as further defined at ¶0112].
Regarding claim 10, Lange at ¶0112 , ¶0041 discloses the inductive sensor device according to claim 1, wherein each conductor strip loop (17) [28 or 29] of the multiple conductor strip loops comprises two transverse legs (20) [46, 46 at fig. 5] each extending in a straight line in a transverse direction (Q) [y direction] .
Regarding claim 11, Lange at ¶0112 , ¶0041 discloses the inductive sensor device according to claim 1, wherein each conductor strip loop (17) [28 or 29] of the multiple conductor strip loops comprises two longitudinal legs (21) [45, 45 at fig. 5] each extending in a straight line in the measurement direction (M) [direction x].
Regarding claim 12, Lange at ¶0077 , ¶0041 discloses the inductive sensor device according to claim 1, wherein each individual conductor strip loop (17) [28 or 29] of the multiple conductor strip loops comprises a constant conductor strip width (b) [see “ In this embodiment the widths w of the conductor sections 45, 46 are equal.” at ¶0077].
Regarding claim 13, Lange at ¶0077 , ¶0041 discloses the inductive sensor device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one scale line (18, 19) comprises a non-modulation section (xc) extending in the measurement direction (M) in which each of the conductor strip loops (17) have equal impedances and/or equal apparent resistances (Z) [when “ … the widths w of the conductor sections 45, 46 are equal.” See ¶0077].
Regarding claim 14, Lange at ¶0077 , ¶0041 discloses the inductive sensor device according to claim 13, wherein each of the conductor strip loops (17) within the non-modulating section (xc) have equal conductor strip cross-sections and equal conductor strip widths (b) [when “ … the widths w of the conductor sections 45, 46 are equal.” See ¶0077].
Regarding claim 15, Lange at ¶0077 , ¶0041 and fig. 2 discloses the inductive sensor device according to claim 2, wherein the at least one scale line (18, 19) comprises a first scale line (18) and a second scale line (19) that each comprise at least one non-modulating section (xc) [one of 29 on track 26 as shown at fig. 11; portion of 28 on track 26, as shown at fig. 18-19] respectively, wherein the at least one non-modulating section of each scale line are arranged in a non-overlapping manner in the measurement direction (M) [when “ … the widths w of the conductor sections 45, 46 are equal.” See ¶0077].
Regarding claim 16, Lange at ¶0041, ¶0084-0085, claim 1 and fig. 11 discloses the inductive sensor device according to claim 1, wherein the evaluation unit (42) is configured to determine a phase signal (P1, P2) [fig. 11, 9] from the receiver signal or signals (E) [fig. 6, 7, 8], wherein the phase signal (P1, P2) describes a phase offset between the at least one transmitter signal (S) [transmitter signal of 36, 36 to create receiving signal on 40, 41 via 26, 27] and a conductor strip loop current (IL) [26, 27 of fig. 11], which is induced in at least one of the conductor strip loops (17) due to the at least one transmitter signal (S) [see “modulating rules M1(x) and M2(x)].
Claim(s) 1, 8-9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sasaki et al. (US 2002/0097043A), hereafter Sasaki..
Regarding claim 1, Sasaki at least at fig. 10-14 discloses an inductive sensor device (11) comprising: a scale body (12) 10 having multiple electrically conductive conductor strip loops (17) [12, 14] that are arranged in at least one scale line (18) [line of 12, line of 14] having a respectively defined division (d1, d2) [λ1, λ2], wherein the at least one scale line (18, 19) extends parallel [as shown] to a measurement direction (M) [measuring axis X]; a sensor unit (13) 20, which is movably [¶0004] arranged in the measurement direction (M) on the scale body (12) 10 and which comprises for each scale line (18, 19) at least one transmitter coil (25) 26, 28] for application of at least one transmitter signal (S) [from 30] and at least one receiver coil (26, 27) [22, 24] for providing a receiver signal (E) [to 32]; and an evaluation unit (42) 34, which is configured to evaluate the receiver signal or signals (E) and to determine therefrom an absolute relative position (xa) between the sensor unit (13) and the scale body (12) [¶0005]; wherein the at least one scale line (18, 19) [line of 12 or 14] comprises a modulating section (xm) [two neighboring 12 on line of 12 or two neighboring 14 online of 14, see modified embodiment at fig. 2] extending in the measurement direction (M), wherein within the modulating section individual ones of the conductor strip loops (17) have impedances and/or apparent resistances (Z) which are different from one another [different impedance because of different sizes of 12 s shown at fig. 2, see ohm’s law R=ρl/A]], and wherein the evaluation unit (42) 34 is configured to evaluate a modulation of the receiver signal or signals (E) resulting from the impedances and/or apparent resistances (Z) that change within the modulating section (xm) [see “absolute position” at ¶0005 and ¶0010].
Regarding claim 8, Sasaki at least at fig. 10 with fig. 4A-4b the discloses inductive sensor device according to claim 1, wherein multiple conductor strip loops (17) [12 or 14] within the at least one modulating section (xm) [two neighboring 12, as an example] have conductor strip widths (b) that are different from one another[see “pattern width A” and “pattern width A+Xn at fig. 2] .
Regarding claim 9, Sasaki at least at fig. 10 with fig. 4A-4b the inductive sensor device according to claim 8, wherein each conductor strip loop comprises a loop height (H) [height of 12 or 14] in a transverse direction (Q) [direction perpendicular to axis X]] and a loop width (W) [width of two neighboring 12 in axis X, see fig. 4A] in the measurement direction (M) and wherein two conductor strip loops (17) having different conductor strip widths (b1, b2, b3) [“Pattern width A” and “pattern width A + Xn”, see fig. 4A] comprise loop heights (H1, H2, H3) of different magnitude [height of two neighboring 12 in axis perpendicular to axis X, see fig. 4B] and loop widths (W1, W2, W3) of different magnitude [width of two neighboring 12 in axis X, see fig. 4A].
Regarding claim 16, Sasaki at least at fig. 10 with fig. 4A-4b, ¶0044 the inductive sensor device according to claim 1, wherein the evaluation unit (42) is configured to determine a phase signal (P1, P2) [signal from 22, 24 to 32/34] from the receiver signal or signals (E) [output signal from 22, 24], wherein the phase signal (P1, P2) describes a phase offset between the at least one transmitter signal (S) [signal from 26, 28 to 12, 14] and a conductor strip loop current (IL) [current induced in 12, 14 because of 26, 28], which is induced in at least one of the conductor strip loops (17) due to the at least one transmitter signal (S) [current induced in 12, 14 because of 26, 28, see [see “phase difference” at ¶0005 and ¶0010].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lange or Sasaki as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Bonny et al. (DE 10 2007 046 318 A1), hereafter Bonny.
Regarding claim 17, Lange or Sasaki discloses all the elements of the inductive sensor device according to claim 16. They are silent about said evaluation unit (42) is configured to sample the receiver signal or signals (E) multiple times and to determine one sample value respectively. Bonny at fig. 1 and Abstract discloses evaluation unit (42) is configured to sample 1 the receiver signal or signals (E) multiple times [101, 102, 103, 104] and to determine one sample value respectively. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify evaluation unit of Lange or Sasaki with method as taught by Bonny, in order too take advantages that Bonny have to offer i.e. the method enables equalizing sinusoidal signal distortion of the overtones by the digital computing procedures, and ensures fast and simple phase determination of the signal, thus ensuring high precision. The method is implemented in the computing system in a simple and economical manner.
Regarding claim 18, modified Lange or modified Sasaki discloses the inductive sensor device according to claim 17, wherein the evaluation unit (42) is configured to determine a phase value (φ) [see “phase determination”, see Bonny] for the phase signal (P1, P2) from the sample values of the receiver signal (E).
Conclusion
/PARESH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858
August 10, 2026