DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 & 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 & 19-20 of copending Application No. 19/060915 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they only change the method by which data is gathered.
Application # 19/050905
Application # 19/050915
Claim 1,
An automated test equipment, ATE, for testing a device under test, DUT, the automated test equipment comprising: a testing profile analyzer, and a temperature control instruction provider; wherein the testing profile analyzer is configured to acquire a testing profile indicating an evolution of a DUT temperature during an execution of a given test flow; wherein the testing profile analyzer is configured to analyze the testing profile, in order determine an information describing a plurality of temperature peaks using a fitting approach; and wherein temperature control instruction provider is configured to provide a plurality of temperature control instructions for an execution of a test flow on the basis of the information describing the plurality of temperature peaks.
Claim 1,
An automated test equipment, ATE, for testing a device under test, DUT, the automated test equipment comprising: a testing profile analyzer; and a temperature control instruction provider; wherein the testing profile analyzer is configured to acquire a testing profile indicating an evolution of a DUT temperature during an execution of a given test flow; wherein the testing profile analyzer is configured analyze the testing profile, in order determine an information describing a plurality of temperature peaks; and wherein the temperature control instruction provider is configured to acquire a plurality of temperature control instructions for an execution of a test flow on the basis of the information describing the plurality of temperature peaks; wherein the temperature control instruction provider is configured to iteratively acquire the temperature control instructions.
Claim 19,
A method for testing a device under test, DUT, the method comprising: acquiring a testing profile indicating an evolution of a DUT temperature during an execution of a given test flow; analyzing the testing profile, in order determine an information describing a plurality of temperature peaks using a fitting approach; and acquiring a plurality of temperature control instructions for an execution of an updated test flow on the basis of the information describing the plurality of temperature peaks.
Claim 19,
A method for testing a device under test, DUT, the method comprising: acquiring a testing profile indicating an evolution of a DUT temperature during an execution of a given test flow; analyzing the testing profile, in order determine an information describing a plurality of temperature peaks; and acquiring a plurality of temperature control instructions for an execution of a test flow on the basis of the information describing the plurality of temperature peaks; and wherein the temperature control instructions are acquired iteratively.
Claim 20,
A non-transitory digital storage medium having a computer program stored thereon to perform a method for testing a device under test, DUT, wherein the method comprises acquiring a testing profile indicating an evolution of a DUT temperature during an execution of a given test flow; wherein the method comprises analyzing the testing profile, in order determine an information describing a plurality of temperature peaks using a fitting approach; and wherein the method comprises acquiring a plurality of temperature control instructions for an execution of an updated test flow on the basis of the information describing the plurality of temperature peaks, when said computer program is run by a computer.
Claim 20,
A non-transitory digital storage medium having a computer program stored thereon to perform a method for testing a device under test, DUT, wherein the method comprises acquiring a testing profile indicating an evolution of a DUT temperature during an execution of a given test flow; wherein the method comprises analyzing the testing profile, in order determine an information describing a plurality of temperature peaks; and wherein the method comprises acquiring a plurality of temperature control instructions for an execution of a test flow on the basis of the information describing the plurality of temperature peaks; and wherein the method comprises iteratively acquiring the temperature control instructions, when said computer program is run by a computer.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6, 10-17, & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoshino et al (U.S. PGPub # 2019/0086468).
Regarding Independent claim 1, Yoshino teaches:
An automated test equipment, ATE, for testing (Fig. 7 Element 100.) a device under test, DUT (Fig. 7 Element 105.), the automated test equipment comprising:
a testing profile analyzer (Fig. 7 Element 106. See paragraphs 0031, 0035-0038, 0044, 0046, & 0049.), and
a temperature control instruction provider (Fig. 7 Elements 108, 204 & 206. See paragraphs 0033-0034, 0039-0040, 0042-0043, & 0048 wherein the sensors provide information to the system that controls the cooling.);
wherein the testing profile analyzer is configured to acquire a testing profile indicating an evolution of a DUT temperature during an execution of a given test flow (Fig. 7 Element 210, the synchronized temperature profile.);
wherein the testing profile analyzer is configured to analyze the testing profile (Fig. 7 Element 210, the synchronized temperature profile.), in order determine an information describing a plurality of temperature peaks using a fitting approach (Fig. 7 Element 210, the synchronized temperature profile. The ATE analyzes the testing profile e.g. by identifying which cycles within the testing profile cause a temperature spike, i.e. a peak, and determines the synchronized temperature profile curve 210 in fig.7, which is information describing the whole curve, thus also describing the temperature peaks of the curve, see paragraphs 0050 & 0062.); and
wherein temperature control instruction provider is configured to provide a plurality of temperature control instructions for an execution of a test flow on the basis of the information describing the plurality of temperature peaks (Fig. 7 Elements 108, 204 & 206. See paragraphs 0033-0034, 0039-0040, 0042-0043, & 0048 wherein the sensors provide information to the system that controls the cooling. The ATE feeds thermal control signals, i.e. temperature control instructions, based on the determined synchronized temperature profile 210 to handler 108 with cooling system 109 to start to increase cooling before said temperature peaks arise, so that temperature control instructions are provided and obtained. Said instructions are for an execution of a test flow which includes said cooling
and which instructions are on the basis of the synchronized temperature profile curve 210 being information describing the temperature peaks, see paragraphs 0052, 0060, 0051-0052 and fig.7-9, in particular step 910 of fig.9, and also paragraphs 0061-0063. It is noted that an ATE as such is per se configured to obtain, e.g. receive, said control instructions, SO that the last three lines of claim 1 do not add any substantial features to the ATE as such anyway).
Regarding claim 5, Yoshino teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Yoshino teaches the testing profile analyzer or the temperature control instruction provider is configured to classify thermal events as thermal events comprising a small significance and as thermal events comprising a high significance; and wherein the temperature control instruction provider is configured to provide the temperature control instructions on the basis of the thermal events comprising the high significance (See paragraphs 0050-0052, 0060, & 0062 wherein some thermal events, disclosed as thermal spikes represent thermal events having higher relevance that are mitigated. There is no need to advance cooling if no thermal spikes are anticipated in the cycle. Therefore, nothing needs to be done because there is no perceived significant problem anticipated in another part of the cycle.).
Regarding claim 6, Yoshino teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Yoshino teaches the testing profile analyzer is configured to take into account a minimum overheat event duration threshold value when determining the information describing the plurality of temperature peaks (See paragraphs 0050-0052, 0060, & 0062 wherein some thermal events, disclosed as thermal spikes represent thermal events having higher relevance that are mitigated. There is no need to advance cooling if no thermal spikes are anticipated in the cycle. Therefore, nothing needs to be done because there is no perceived significant problem anticipated in another part of the cycle.).
Regarding claim 10, Yoshino teaches all elements of claim 9, upon which this claim depends.
Yoshino teaches the testing profile analyzer or the temperature control instruction provider is configured to automatically adjust a criterion for providing a combined temperature control event or a combined temperature control instruction on the basis of two or more fitted temperature peaks such that a total number of temperature control events or a total number of temperature control instructions does not exceed a predetermined maximum value (See paragraphs 0008,0033-0035, & 0049-0050. See Fig.7. Irrespective of said passages, it is noted that an ATE as such is configured to obtain, e.g. receive, said event or instruction).
Regarding claim 11, Yoshino teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Yoshino teaches the testing profile analyzer is configured to select a limited a number of temperature peaks, out of an overall number of temperature peaks within testing profile, for a determination of the information describing the plurality of temperature peaks, or wherein the testing profile analyzer or the temperature control instruction provider is configured to select a limited a number of temperature peaks, out of an overall number of temperature peaks within testing profile, for providing the plurality of temperature control instructions (See paragraphs 0050-0052, 0060, & 0062 wherein some thermal events, disclosed as thermal spikes represent thermal events having higher relevance that are mitigated. There is no need to advance cooling if no thermal spikes are anticipated in the cycle. Therefore, nothing needs to be done because there is no perceived significant problem anticipated in another part of the cycle.).
Regarding claim 12, Yoshino teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Yoshino teaches a temperature control instruction inserter (Fig. 7 Element Feed-Forward Data.); wherein the temperature control instruction inserter is configured to correlate a timing information of the information describing the plurality of temperature peaks with test flow events (See paragraphs 0050-0052. Fig. 7 Element Feed-Forward Data.).
Regarding claim 13, Yoshino teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Yoshino teaches a temperature control instruction inserter (Fig. 7 Element Feed-Forward Data.); wherein the temperature control instruction inserter is configured to receive an input test flow and to insert a plurality of temperature control instructions into the input test flow, to acquire an updated test flow, wherein the temperature control instruction inserter is configured to insert the plurality of temperature control instructions into the input test flow to start the temperature control before a beginning of a respective temperature peak. (See paragraphs 0035-0038 & 0049-0051 wherein synchronization including alignment and correlation between the temperature data and the respective cycle times of the testing profile are disclosed and stored in memory.).
Regarding claim 14, Yoshino teaches all elements of claim 13, upon which this claim depends.
Yoshino teaches the temperature control instruction inserter (Fig. 7 Element Feed-Forward Data.) is configured to acquire a test log file which is associated with the thermal profile (See paragraphs 0035-0038 & 0049-0051 wherein synchronization including alignment and correlation between the temperature data and the respective cycle times of the testing profile are disclosed and stored in memory.), and wherein the temperature control instruction inserter is configured to insert the plurality of temperature control instructions into the test flow using information of the test log file (See paragraphs 0035-0038 & 0049-0051 wherein synchronization including alignment and correlation between the temperature data and the respective cycle times of the testing profile are disclosed and stored in memory.).
Regarding claim 15, Yoshino teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Yoshino teaches a visualizer (Fig. 7 Element 20 wherein the temperature data is plotted and therefore visualized.); wherein the visualizer is configured to jointly visualize - the testing profile indicating the evolution of a DUT temperature during the execution of the given test flow (Fig. 7 Element 20 wherein the temperature data during a cycle is plotted and therefore visualized.), and- respective fitting functions fitted to the plurality of temperature peaks within the testing profile (Paragraphs 0026-0028 wherein modules are disclosed.).
Regarding claim 16, Yoshino teaches all elements of claim 15, upon which this claim depends.
Yoshino teaches wherein the visualizer (Fig. 7 Element 20 wherein the temperature data is plotted and therefore visualized.) is configured to also visualize temperature control periods determined using the information describing the plurality of temperature peaks (Fig. 7 Element 20 wherein the temperature data is plotted and therefore visualized. See paragraphs 0050-0052, 0060, & 0062 wherein some thermal events are disclosed being processed and analyzed.).
Regarding claim 17, Yoshino teaches all elements of claim 15, upon which this claim depends.
Yoshino teaches the visualizer is configured to update the visualization in response to a user interaction changing one or more parameters (Fig. 7 Element 20 wherein the temperature data is plotted and therefore visualized. See paragraphs 0050-0052, 0060, & 0062 wherein some thermal events are disclosed being processed and analyzed.).
Regarding Independent claim 19, Yoshino teaches:
A method for testing (Fig. 7 Element 100.) a device under test, DUT(Fig. 7 Element 105.), the method comprising:
acquiring a testing profile indicating an evolution of a DUT temperature during an execution of a given test flow (Fig. 7 Element 210, the synchronized temperature profile.);
analyzing the testing profile, in order determine an information describing a plurality of temperature peaks using a fitting approach (Fig. 7 Element 210, the synchronized temperature profile. The ATE analyzes the testing profile e.g. by identifying which cycles within the testing profile cause a temperature spike, i.e. a peak, and determines the synchronized temperature profile curve 210 in fig.7, which is information describing the whole curve, thus also describing the temperature peaks of the curve, see paragraphs 0050 & 0062.); and
acquiring a plurality of temperature control instructions for an execution of an updated test flow on the basis of the information describing the plurality of temperature peaks (Fig. 7 Elements 108, 204 & 206. See paragraphs 0033-0034, 0039-0040, 0042-0043, & 0048 wherein the sensors provide information to the system that controls the cooling. The ATE feeds thermal control signals, i.e. temperature control instructions, based on the determined synchronized temperature profile 210 to handler 108 with cooling system 109 to start to increase cooling before said temperature peaks arise, so that temperature control instructions are provided and obtained. Said instructions are for an execution of a test flow which includes said cooling and which instructions are on the basis of the synchronized temperature profile curve 210 being information describing the temperature peaks, see paragraphs 0052, 0060, 0051-0052 and fig.7-9, in particular step 910 of fig.9, and also paragraphs 0061-0063. It is noted that an ATE as such is per se configured to obtain, e.g. receive, said control instructions, SO that the last three lines of claim 1 do not add any substantial features to the ATE as such anyway).
Regarding Independent claim 20, Yoshino teaches:
A non-transitory digital storage medium having a computer program stored thereon to perform a method for testing (Fig. 7 Element 100.) a device under test, DUT (Fig. 7 Element 105.),
wherein the method comprises acquiring a testing profile indicating an evolution of a DUT temperature during an execution of a given test flow (Fig. 7 Element 210, the synchronized temperature profile.);
wherein the method comprises analyzing the testing profile, in order determine an information describing a plurality of temperature peaks using a fitting approach (Fig. 7 Element 210, the synchronized temperature profile. The ATE analyzes the testing profile e.g. by identifying which cycles within the testing profile cause a temperature spike, i.e. a peak, and determines the synchronized temperature profile curve 210 in fig.7, which is information describing the whole curve, thus also describing the temperature peaks of the curve, see paragraphs 0050 & 0062.); and
wherein the method comprises acquiring a plurality of temperature control instructions for an execution of an updated test flow on the basis of the information describing the plurality of temperature peaks (Fig. 7 Elements 108, 204 & 206. See paragraphs 0033-0034, 0039-0040, 0042-0043, & 0048 wherein the sensors provide information to the system that controls the cooling. The ATE feeds thermal control signals, i.e. temperature control instructions, based on the determined synchronized temperature profile 210 to handler 108 with cooling system 109 to start to increase cooling before said temperature peaks arise, so that temperature control instructions are provided and obtained. Said instructions are for an execution of a test flow which includes said cooling and which instructions are on the basis of the synchronized temperature profile curve 210 being information describing the temperature peaks, see paragraphs 0052, 0060, 0051-0052 and fig.7-9, in particular step 910 of fig.9, and also paragraphs 0061-0063. It is noted that an ATE as such is per se configured to obtain, e.g. receive, said control instructions, SO that the last three lines of claim 1 do not add any substantial features to the ATE as such anyway),
when said computer program is run by a computer (Fig. 1 Element 101. Fig. 7 Element 100 wherein the ATE in figure 7 would have the processor disclosed in figure 1.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshino et al (U.S. PGPub # 2019/0086468) in view of Bu Lingqi et al (Translation of CN # 109116216).
Regarding claim 2, Yoshino teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Yoshino does not explicitly teach the testing profile analyzer is configured to fit respective fitting functions to the plurality of temperature peaks within the testing profile, in order to acquire parameters of the plurality of temperature peaks.
Bu Lingqi teaches the testing profile analyzer is configured to fit respective fitting functions to the plurality of temperature peaks within the testing profile, in order to acquire parameters of the plurality of temperature peaks (Paragraphs 0005, 0013, & 0023.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Bu Lingqi to the teachings of Yoshino such that the testing profile analyzer would be configured to fit respective fitting functions to the plurality of temperature peaks within the testing profile, in order to acquire parameters of the plurality of temperature peaks because curve fitting is a well-known, reliable technique to aid in observing trends in data and simplifying complex information.
Regarding claim 3, Yoshino teaches all elements of claim 2, upon which this claim depends.
Yoshino teaches the temperature control instruction provider is configured to determine the plurality of temperature control instructions in dependence on one or more parameters of the fitting functions.
Bu Lingqi teaches the temperature control instruction provider is configured to determine the plurality of temperature control instructions in dependence on one or more parameters of the fitting functions (Paragraphs 0012-0013.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Bu Lingqi to the teachings of Yoshino such that the temperature control instruction provider would be configured to determine the plurality of temperature control instructions in dependence on one or more parameters of the fitting functions because this solves “the shortcomings of traditional test methods, such as poor linearity of offset voltage temperature drift curve, low test efficiency, inaccurate temperature, and inability to automatically fit the temperature drift curve.” See paragraph 0013 of translation of Bu Lingqi.
Regarding claim 7, Yoshino teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Yoshino does not explicitly teach the testing profile analyzer is configured to fit a common fitting function to two or more adjacent temperature peaks within the testing profile.
Bu Lingqi teaches the testing profile analyzer is configured to fit a common fitting function to two or more adjacent temperature peaks within the testing profile (Paragraphs 0005, 0013, & 0023.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Bu Lingqi to the teachings of Yoshino such that the testing profile analyzer is configured to fit a common fitting function to two or more adjacent temperature peaks within the testing profile because curve fitting is a well-known, reliable technique to aid in observing trends in data and simplifying complex information.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshino et al (U.S. PGPub # 2019/0086468) in view of Li et al (U.S. PGPub # 2002/0151092).
Regarding claim 9, Yoshino teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Yoshino does not explicitly teach the temperature control instruction provider is configured to provide a combined temperature control event or a combined temperature control instruction on the basis of two or more fitted temperature peaks.
Li teaches the temperature control instruction provider is configured to provide a combined temperature control event or a combined temperature control instruction on the basis of two or more fitted temperature peaks (See Fig. 11 Elements 53, 54, & 55. See paragraphs 0043, 0049, 0071. See also Fig. 5-10, the curves that are analyzed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Li to the teachings of Yoshino such that the temperature control instruction provider would be configured to provide a combined temperature control event or a combined temperature control instruction on the basis of two or more fitted temperature peaks because this allows one to monitor various conditions in a material and observe possible problems. See paragraph 0044 of Li.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8, & 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art listed does not anticipate alone or combine in an obvious manner to teach the invention claimed by applicant.
Regarding claim 4, Yoshino teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Yoshino does not explicitly teach the testing profile analyzer is configured to identify the plurality of temperature peaks in the testing profile using a temperature threshold value and/or wherein the testing profile analyzer is configured to identify the plurality of temperature peaks in the testing profile in dependence on an extension of respective ones of the plurality of temperature peaks, and wherein the testing profile analyzer is configured to fit respective fitting functions to the identified temperature peaks, or to a subset of the identified temperature peaks, in order to acquire the information describing the plurality of temperature peaks.
Regarding claim 8, Yoshino & Bu Lingqi teach or make obvious all elements of claim 7, upon which this claim depends.
Yoshino & Bu Lingqi do not explicitly teach the testing profile analyzer is configured to evaluate a maximum overheat event proximity parameter to decide whether the common fitting function should be fitted to the two or more adjacent temperature peaks within the testing profile.
Regarding claim 18, Yoshino teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Yoshino does not explicitly teach an iteration controller; wherein the iteration controller is configured to control the automated test equipment to execute an updated test flow, which is based on the given test flow and into which the plurality of temperature control instructions are inserted, and wherein the testing profile analyzer is configured to evaluate an updated testing profile indicating an evolution of a DUT temperature during an execution of the updated test flow; and wherein the temperature control instruction provider is configured to refine the temperature control instructions in dependence on the updated testing profile, in order to acquire a refined test flow comprising refined temperature control instructions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art listed but not cited represents the previous state of the art and analogous art that teaches some of the limitations claimed by applicant.
/CHRISTOPHER P MCANDREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858