DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in Fig. 4, “310” should be “330”, and “320” should be “340”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph 0054 line 6, “100displaying” should read “100 displaying”.
In paragraph 0076 line 5, “170under” should read “170 under”.
In paragraph 0076 line 8, “170and” should read “170 and”.
In paragraph 0092 line 1, “operation 320” should read “operation 340”.
In paragraph 0097 line 2, “operations 310 and 320” should read “operations 330 and 340”.
In paragraph 0131 line 7, “1400when” should read “1400 when”.
In paragraph 0219 line 2, “2D space 3D space” should read “2D space or 3D space”.
In paragraph 0258 line 1, “six customized regions” should read “five customized regions”.
Appropriate correction is required.
The use of the terms “Wi-Fi” and “Bluetooth” in paragraph 0079 and 0194, which are trade names or marks used in commerce, have been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the terms should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12260505. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of claim 12 of the patented application 12260505 anticipates claim 1 of the instant application.
Claims 2, 16, and 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12260505, in view of Tian et al. (CN 113345108 A), hereinafter Tian. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of claim 12 of the patented application 12260505 obviously teaches claims 2, 16, and 18-20 of the instant application.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12260505, in view of Tian, Simari et al. (US 10665028 B2), and Dack et al. (US 20190088029 A1), hereinafter Simari and Dack respectively. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of claim 12 of the patented application 12260505 obviously teaches claim 3 of the instant application.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12260505, in view of Tang et al. (CN 114419290 A), hereinafter Tang. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of claim 12 of the patented application 12260505 obviously teaches claim 4 of the instant application.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12260505, in view of Tian, Basra (US 9990028 B2), and Skidmore (US 11568579 B2), hereinafter Basra and Skidmore respectively. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of claim 12 of the patented application 12260505 obviously teaches claim 5 of the instant application.
Claims 6-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12260505, in view of Woo et al. (KR 20170042039 A), hereinafter Woo. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of claim 12 of the patented application 12260505 obviously teaches claims 6-7 of the instant application.
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12260505, in view of Woo and Tian. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of claim 12 of the patented application 12260505 obviously teaches claim 8 of the instant application.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12260505, in view of Woo. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of claim 16 of the patented application 12260505 obviously teaches claim 9 of the instant application.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12260505, in view of Woo and Tian. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of claim 16 of the patented application 12260505 obviously teaches claim 10 of the instant application.
Claims 11-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12260505, in view of Simari. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of claim 12 of the patented application 12260505 obviously teaches claims 11-12 of the instant application.
Claims 13-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12260505. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of claim 13 of the patented application 12260505 anticipates claims 13-14 of the instant application.
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12260505, in view of Kim (KR 102297010 B1), hereinafter Kim. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of claim 13 of the patented application 12260505 obviously teaches claim 15 of the instant application.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12260505, in view of Tian and Johnson et al. (US 10311616 B2), hereinafter Johnson. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of claim 12 of the patented application 12260505 obviously teaches claim 17 of the instant application.
In the table below, italics is used to represent examiner-written comments, bold+italics is used to highlight corresponding claim language, and normal text represents direct claim language.
Instant Application (19/050,911)
Patented Application (US 12260505 B2)
1. A method of controlling a user terminal, performed by a computer system that is a server or the user terminal, the method comprising:
determining whether the user terminal is located within a customized region of a space based on a location of the user terminal, the customized region being associated with at least one service element; and
in response that the user terminal is determined to be located in the customized region, controlling the user terminal based on the service element.
12. An augmented content providing method performed by a computer system that is a server or a user terminal, the augmented content providing method comprising:
determining whether the user terminal is present in a preset unit space based on a location of the user terminal;…the unit space corresponds to a service target area that provides a service including the content within the space
and in response that the user terminal is determined to be present in the unit space, augmenting and displaying at least one content associated with the unit space in an image,
Note: the preset unit space is equivalent to the customized region, and the content is equivalent to the service element.
Patent claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 recites “augmenting and displaying at least one content associated with the unit space in an image”. Therefore, patent claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 is in essence a “species” of the generic invention of application claim 1, which recites “controlling the user terminal based on the service element”. It has been held that a generic invention is “anticipated” by a “species” within the scope of the generic invention. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
defining the customized region to include at least one of two-dimensional (2D) space or three-dimensional (3D) space on a map of the space, wherein the controlling of the user terminal comprises controlling the user terminal based on the service element when the location of the user terminal is present in the customized region on the map.
12. An augmented content providing method… (see 1st row)
Claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 does not teach the limitation. Tian teaches defining the customized region to include at least one of two-dimensional (2D) space or three-dimensional (3D) space on a map of the space (Paragraph 0137 – “During implementation, the spatial location of each preset knowledge point and the corresponding explanation area can be determined in the constructed 3D scene model. For example, the location of the real object in the target scene area can be determined as the spatial location of the preset knowledge point corresponding to that real object; or the surrounding area of the real object in the target scene area can be set as the explanation area of the preset knowledge point corresponding to that real object”; Note: the explanation area is implied to be defined as either a 2D or 3D space in the 3D scene model, which is equivalent to the map of the space), wherein the controlling of the user terminal comprises controlling the user terminal based on the service element when the location of the user terminal is present in the customized region on the map (Paragraph 0129, 0138 – “determining the second positioning information of the AR device based on the scene images and the constructed three-dimensional scene model…Based on the second positioning information of the AR device, it can be determined whether the AR device is located within the explanation area corresponding to any preset knowledge point in the target scene area. If so, the AR device plays the audio explanation data that matches any preset knowledge point and displays the AR effect data that matches the audio explanation data”; Note: the AR device is controlled when it is located in the explanation area based on the 3D scene model, which is the map). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 to incorporate the teachings of Tian to define a 2D or 3D space on a map as the customized region and control the user terminal when it is in the region on the map for the benefit of providing the user with the most relevant information based on where they are and what they are currently viewing.
3. The method of claim 1,
wherein the customized region includes 3D space with a 2D area and a height range, and the controlling of the user terminal comprises, when the user terminal is located in the 2D area and a height of the user terminal belongs to the height range, determining that the user terminal is located in the customized region and controlling the user terminal based on the service element.
12. An augmented content providing method… (see 1st row)
Claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 does not teach the limitation.
Simari teaches wherein the customized region includes 3D space with a 2D area and a height (Col. 5 lines 32-36, Col. 17 lines 45-51 – “the AR map may be divided into different geographic regions, each of which may be associated with a portion of the AR map. The AR system may monitor the distance to locations of content objects listed in the region in which the user is located…Nodes in the map 300, such as a school node 304, may be in the region specified by the root node of the map 300. Nodes in the map 300 may have associated location coordinates, which may be specified in connected nodes. For example, a location node 306 is connected to the school node 304 and specifies location coordinates, e.g., latitude, longitude, and altitude, for the school”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 to incorporate the teachings of Simari to have the customized region be a 3D space including a height because having all of the dimensions of the region allows for accurately determining whether or not the user terminal is in the region.
Claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 modified by Simari still does not teach wherein the controlling of the user terminal comprises, when the user terminal is located in the 2D area and a height of the user terminal belongs to the height range, determining that the user terminal is located in the customized region and controlling the user terminal based on the service element. Tian teaches wherein the controlling of the user terminal comprises, when the user terminal is located in the 2D area, determining that the user terminal is located in the customized region and controlling the user terminal based on the service element (Paragraph 0129, 0138 – “determining the second positioning information of the AR device based on the scene images and the constructed three-dimensional scene model…Based on the second positioning information of the AR device, it can be determined whether the AR device is located within the explanation area corresponding to any preset knowledge point in the target scene area. If so, the AR device plays the audio explanation data that matches any preset knowledge point and displays the AR effect data that matches the audio explanation data”; Note: the AR device is controlled when it is located in the explanation area). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 to incorporate the teachings of Tian to determine that the user terminal is in the customized region and control it when it is in the 2D area for the benefit of providing the user with the most relevant information based on where they are and what they are currently viewing.
Claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 modified by Simari and Tian still does not teach the “height range” in the limitation: “wherein the customized region includes 3D space with a 2D area and a height range” nor wherein the controlling of the user terminal comprises, when a height of the user terminal belongs to the height range, controlling the user terminal based on the service element. Dack teaches a height range (Paragraph 0041-0042 – “user height data is accessed. The user height data component 120 can be responsible for capturing and providing user height data. The height data is associated with a viewing perspective from an eye level of a user of a scene-aware device. The user height can be mapped to one of a plurality of height ranges. The height range supports processing at least two heights in combination with each other. For example, height ranges can be in 4 inch increments such that users within 4 inches each other's heights are shown the augmented reality objects at the same height…. The constraint configuration can include augmented reality objects that are included, and exclude from user-height-based rendering, additional object or elements, an animation rules, and rotation rules to accommodate user height data during rendering”; Note: there is a height range that determines the rendering of AR content), and when a height of the user terminal belongs to the height range, controlling the user terminal based on the service element (Paragraph 0041-0042 – “user height data is accessed. The user height data component 120 can be responsible for capturing and providing user height data. The height data is associated with a viewing perspective from an eye level of a user of a scene-aware device. The user height can be mapped to one of a plurality of height ranges. The height range supports processing at least two heights in combination with each other. For example, height ranges can be in 4 inch increments such that users within 4 inches each other's heights are shown the augmented reality objects at the same height…. The constraint configuration can include augmented reality objects that are included, and exclude from user-height-based rendering, additional object or elements, an animation rules, and rotation rules to accommodate user height data during rendering”; Note: when the user height is within a height range, AR content is displayed for that height range). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 to incorporate the teachings of Dack to have the customized region include a height range and control the user terminal based on the service element when the user terminal is located in the 2D area and a height of the user terminal belongs to the height range for the benefit of ensuring user comfort, such that they are not continuously moving the user terminal to view content outside of the current viewing height range and instead, only needing to focus on the content at the same height level. Additionally, displaying AR content based on the user terminal’s height and field of view, rather than just the region alone, helps further filter the content to display and ensure the most relevant content for the user.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
defining a 3 degree of freedom (DoF) posture condition or a 6DoF posture condition of the user terminal in the customized region, wherein the controlling of the user terminal comprises, when the user terminal is determined to be located in the customized region, controlling the user terminal based on the service element if posture of the user terminal satisfies at least one of the 3DoF posture condition or the 6DoF posture condition.
12. An augmented content providing method… (see 1st row)
Patent claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 recites “in response that the user terminal is determined to be present in the unit space, augmenting and displaying at least one content associated with the unit space in an image”. Therefore, patent claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 is in essence a “species” of the generic limitation of application claim 4, which recites “when the user terminal is determined to be located in the customized region, controlling the user terminal”. It has been held that a generic invention is “anticipated” by a “species” within the scope of the generic invention. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 does not teach the rest of the limitation. Tang teaches defining a 3 degree of freedom (DoF) posture condition or a 6DoF posture condition of the user terminal in the customized region (Paragraph 0044 – “the trigger command in the target display mode may include the target degree of freedom information in the target display mode, and the target degree of freedom information may include the number of target degrees of freedom and/or the direction of target degrees of freedom. This target degree of freedom information can be used to characterize the direction in which the content displayed by the AR device is not restricted by the movement of the AR device in the target display mode… For example, if the target display mode is the 3DOF display mode, the trigger command in the target display mode can include the target degree of freedom number information 3, as well as the target degree of freedom direction information: roll direction, pitch direction, and yaw direction”; Note: there is a target condition for a 3 DoF posture for an AR device), and controlling the user terminal based on the service element if posture of the user terminal satisfies at least one of the 3DoF posture condition or the 6DoF posture condition (Paragraph 0044, 0056 – “the trigger command in the target display mode may include the target degree of freedom information in the target display mode, and the target degree of freedom information may include the number of target degrees of freedom and/or the direction of target degrees of freedom. This target degree of freedom information can be used to characterize the direction in which the content displayed by the AR device is not restricted by the movement of the AR device in the target display mode… For example, if the target display mode is the 3DOF display mode, the trigger command in the target display mode can include the target degree of freedom number information 3, as well as the target degree of freedom direction information: roll direction, pitch direction, and yaw direction…this application allows the AR device to render each frame of display images according to the method provided in this application when the AR device is in the target display mode, so that the AR device can display images according to the target display mode”; Note; the AR device is controlled to display images if the posture satisfies the condition (in the target display mode)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 to incorporate the teachings of Tang to control the user terminal based on the service element if posture of the user terminal satisfies the defined 3DoF posture condition when the user terminal is located in the customized region for the benefit of displaying AR content based on the user terminal’s field of view, rather than just the region alone, which would help further filter the content to display and ensure the most relevant content for the user.
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
defining at least one condition among a first condition representing a time condition,
a second condition representing movement of the user terminal,
and a third condition representing manipulation of the user terminal in the customized region,
wherein the controlling of the user terminal comprises, when the user terminal is determined to be located in the customized region, controlling the user terminal based on the service element if the user terminal satisfies the defined condition.
12. An augmented content providing method… (see 1st row)
Claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 does not teach the limitation. Basra teaches defining at least one condition among a first condition representing a time condition (Col. 2 lines 32-35 and 51-53 – “an efficient approach of delivering the live AR content, and potentially change the information based, at least in part, on temporal information (e.g., what is available at the time of the day)… The system 100 may also provide the augmented reality content associated with, but is not restricted to, a venue of an event, duration of an event”; Note: there is a time condition, such as a duration of an event). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 to incorporate the teachings of Basra to define a time condition for the benefit of having more precise control over the user terminal and as a result, further limiting the presentation of information to the most relevant information.
Claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 does not teach the limitation. Skidmore teaches a second condition representing movement of the user terminal (Col. 9 lines 9-21 – “a suspension of AR updates is prompted by a receipt of a first indicator 310. The first indicator may be, for example, a user input such as a physical button activation, a touch-enabled screen tap or other pattern of contact, a gesture (e.g., the user shaking or twisting the device or moving the device in a unique manner or motion atypical for other uses of the device), a voice command (e.g., “Suspend Updates” or “Freeze Screen”), or some other mode or manner of indicating the user's desire that the content presently on the screen remain despite the possibility of location and/or pose changes succeeding the receipt of the first indicator”; Note: there is a condition for moving the device, such as shaking, which allows for a suspension of AR updates), and a third condition representing manipulation of the user terminal in the customized region (Col. 9 lines 9-21 – “a suspension of AR updates is prompted by a receipt of a first indicator 310. The first indicator may be, for example, a user input such as a physical button activation, a touch-enabled screen tap or other pattern of contact, a gesture (e.g., the user shaking or twisting the device or moving the device in a unique manner or motion atypical for other uses of the device), a voice command (e.g., “Suspend Updates” or “Freeze Screen”), or some other mode or manner of indicating the user's desire that the content presently on the screen remain despite the possibility of location and/or pose changes succeeding the receipt of the first indicator”; Note: there is a condition for manipulation of the device, such as a screen tap or voice command, which allows for a suspension of AR updates). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 to incorporate the teachings of Skidmore to define a movement and manipulation condition for the benefit of taking user input into account when display information so that the most relevant information to the user can be displayed.
Claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 does not teach the limitation. Tian teaches wherein the controlling of the user terminal comprises, when the user terminal is determined to be located in the customized region, controlling the user terminal based on the service element if the user terminal satisfies the defined condition (Paragraph 0100-0103, 0159 – “S104, if the AR device is located in the explanation area corresponding to any preset knowledge point within the target scene area according to the second positioning information, the AR device plays audio explanation data matching the preset knowledge point and displays AR special effects data matching the audio explanation data…The second prompt information may include prompt information for instructing the AR device to move in a direction that meets the explanation conditions corresponding to any preset knowledge point, so that after adjusting the second positioning information of the AR device according to the prompt information, the AR device can continue to play the audio explanation data corresponding to any preset knowledge point and display the AR effect data corresponding to any preset knowledge point”; Note: the service of playing audio and displaying AR effects for a preset knowledge point is provided according to the condition that the AR device is located in the explanation area of the preset knowledge point). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 to incorporate the teachings of Tian to control the user terminal if the defined condition is satisfied for the benefit of having more precise control over the user terminal and as a result, further limiting the presentation of information to the most relevant information.
6. The method of claim 1,
wherein the service element includes data for displaying augmented reality (AR) content related to a service associated with the space,
and the controlling of the user terminal comprises, in response to the user terminal being located in the customized region, displaying the AR content through an AR view that includes a video captured by a camera of the user terminal based on the service element.
12. An augmented content providing method… (see 1st row)
the unit space corresponds to a service target area that provides a service including the content within the space…augmenting and displaying at least one content associated with the unit space in an image…
and in response that the user terminal is determined to be present in the unit space, augmenting and displaying at least one content associated with the unit space in an image, through an augmented reality (AR) view that includes the image captured by a camera of the user terminal,
Note: the content is equivalent to the service element. It is also equivalent to the AR content because the content is augmented. The unit space is equivalent to the customized region.
Patent claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 recites “augmenting and displaying at least one content associated with the unit space in an image”. Therefore, patent claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 is in essence a “species” of the generic invention of application claim 6, which recites “the service element includes data for displaying augmented reality (AR) content related to a service associated with the space”, since the content is data that is displayed. It has been held that a generic invention is “anticipated” by a “species” within the scope of the generic invention. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 recites an augmented reality (AR) view that includes the image captured by a camera of the user terminal. Claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 does not teach an AR view that includes a video captured by a camera of the user terminal. Woo discloses an AR view that includes a video captured by a camera of the user terminal (Paragraph 0072 – “when the user is included in the area of interest, it automatically switches to an augmented reality (AR) view, and a video stream input by an input device included in the mobile device, such as a camera, can be displayed on the display unit, and a PoI menu related to the implementation of augmented reality content, which may include additional information related to the object of interest, can be displayed”). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the image of US 12260505 B2 could have been substituted for the video of Woo because both the image and video serve the purpose of depicting the reality aspect of “augmented reality”. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the substitution. Finally, the substitution achieves the predictable result of having an AR view. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the image of US 12260505 B2 for the video of Woo according to known methods to yield the predictable result of having an AR view.
7. The method of claim 6,
wherein the AR content is associated with a first object located in the customized region and is displayed within the AR view corresponding to the customized region, or the AR content is associated with a second object located in a remote area for the customized region and is displayed within the AR view corresponding to the remote area.
12. An augmented content providing method… (see row above)
…augmenting and displaying at least one content associated with the unit space in an image, through an augmented reality (AR) view that includes the image captured by a camera of the user terminal, wherein the unit space is predefined as a layer on a map for a space corresponding to at least a portion of the space in which the user terminal moves, independently of the location of the user terminal or a distance from the user terminal, the unit space corresponds to a service target area that provides a service including the content within the space, the content is associated with the layer and is mapped to at least one object within the unit space
Note: the unit space is equivalent to the customized region, the content is equivalent to the AR content, and the object is equivalent to the first object
8. The method of claim 6,
wherein the AR content includes a plurality of sequences, and the displaying of the AR content comprises, when the user terminal is determined to be located within the customized region, displaying different sequences of the AR content through the AR view according to a location of the user terminal within the customized region.
12. An augmented content providing method… (see row for double patenting rejection of claim 6)
Claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 does not teach the limitation. Tian teaches wherein the AR content includes a plurality of sequences (Paragraph 0139, 0144 – “when the audio explanation data corresponding to any preset knowledge point has finished playing, and/or when the AR effect data display has ended, controlling the AR device to display AR guidance data for instructing the AR device to move to the explanation area corresponding to the next preset knowledge point…Update the AR guidance data based on the change in the moving distance and/or the moving direction; and control the AR device to display the updated AR guidance data”; Note: the AR content includes sequences, such as displaying AR effect data followed by AR guidance data), and the displaying of the AR content comprises, when the user terminal is determined to be located within the customized region, displaying different sequences of the AR content through the AR view according to a location of the user terminal within the customized region (Paragraph 0103, 0139, 0144 – “if the AR device is located in the explanation area corresponding to any preset knowledge point within the target scene area according to the second positioning information, the AR device plays audio explanation data matching the preset knowledge point and displays AR special effects data matching the audio explanation data…when the audio explanation data corresponding to any preset knowledge point has finished playing, and/or when the AR effect data display has ended, controlling the AR device to display AR guidance data for instructing the AR device to move to the explanation area corresponding to the next preset knowledge point…Update the AR guidance data based on the change in the moving distance and/or the moving direction; and control the AR device to display the updated AR guidance data”; Note: when the AR device is located in the explanation area, different sequences of AR content is displayed based on the location of the AR device. For instance, AR effect data is displayed followed by AR guidance data and then updated AR guidance data). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 to incorporate the teachings of Tian to display different sequences of AR content depending on the location of the user terminal in the customized region for the benefit of providing the user with a unique and relevant AR experience.
9. The method of claim 6,
wherein the displaying of the AR content comprises changing and thereby displaying the AR content displayed through the AR view or outputting additional content, based on at least one of the location of the user terminal within the customized region, a number of entries of the user terminal into the customized region, or an entry and exit status of the user terminal for the customized region.
16. The augmented content providing method of claim 13, further comprising:
when the user terminal is determined to have left the unit space and moved to another unit space among the plurality of unit spaces, stopping augmenting and displaying the content in the image, and augmenting and displaying at least one another content associated with the another unit space.
Note: the unit space is equivalent to the customized region, and the determination that the user terminal has left the unit space and moved to another unit space is equivalent to an entry and exit status of the user terminal.
Patent claim 16 of US 12260505 B2 recites “stopping augmenting and displaying the content in the image, and augmenting and displaying at least one another content associated with the another unit space”. Therefore, patent claim 16 of US 12260505 B2 is in essence a “species” of the generic invention of application claim 9, which recites “changing and thereby displaying the AR content displayed through the AR view”. It has been held that a generic invention is “anticipated” by a “species” within the scope of the generic invention. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
10. The method of claim 9,
wherein, when the user terminal enters the customized region and when the user terminal leaves the customized region, the displaying of the AR content comprise displaying different AR content as the AR content through the AR view.
16. The augmented content providing method of claim 13, further comprising:… (see row above)
Claim 16 of US 12260505 B2 does not teach the limitation. Tian teaches wherein, when the user terminal enters the customized region and when the user terminal leaves the customized region, the displaying of the AR content comprise displaying different AR content as the AR content through the AR view (Paragraph 0102-0103, 0154, 0156, 0159-0160 – “S103, upon detecting that the AR device is located within the target scene area, obtain the second positioning information of the AR device within the target scene area; S104, if the AR device is located in the explanation area corresponding to any preset knowledge point within the target scene area according to the second positioning information, the AR device plays audio explanation data matching the preset knowledge point and displays AR special effects data matching the audio explanation data…if it is determined based on the second positioning information that the AR device does not meet the audio playback conditions corresponding to the audio explanation data, and/or, the AR device does not meet the effect display conditions corresponding to the AR effect data, controlling the AR device to perform at least one of the following operations:… Play a second prompt message to prompt the adjustment of the second positioning information of the AR device.…the second prompt information may include prompt information instructing the AR device to go to the explanation area corresponding to the next preset knowledge point, so that after adjusting the second positioning information of the AR device according to the prompt information, the AR device can play the audio explanation data corresponding to the next preset knowledge point and display the AR effect data corresponding to the next preset knowledge point… the AR device can first be controlled to display a prompt message indicating that the AR device is moving towards the explanation conditions corresponding to any preset knowledge point”; Note: when the AR device enters the explanation area, AR special effects associated with the preset knowledge point are displayed. When the AR device exits the explanation area, as in the AR device does not meet the effect display conditions anymore, a prompt message is displayed). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified claim 16 of US 12260505 B2 to incorporate the teachings of Tian to display different AR content when the user enters and exits the customized region for the benefit of providing the user with information to guide them to the next destination when they are leaving.
11. The method of claim 1,
wherein the service element includes data for displaying map element content related to a service associated with the space, and the controlling of the user terminal comprises, in response to the user terminal being located in the customized region, displaying the map element content through a map view 3 that includes a map including the location of the user terminal, based on the service element.
12. An augmented content providing method… (see 1st row)
Claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 does not teach the limitation. Simari teaches wherein the service element includes data for displaying map element content related to a service associated with the space (Col. 3 lines 7-40 – “the AR map may be used to identify content objects associated with real-world objects located near a user's client system based on the client system's GPS location…the AR map may be divided into different geographic regions, each of which may be associated with a portion of the AR map, and the AR system may monitor the distance to locations of content objects listed in the region in which the user is located…The AR system may use a tracking algorithm such as a SLAM algorithm and the feature points associated with the model of the real-world object in the AR map to determine a location of the real-world object relative to the user's client system by searching images received from the client system's camera for a real-world object that matches the model of the real-world object associated with the content object in the AR map. The content object may then be displayed on the client system in association with (e.g., superimposed on) the real-world object using the determined location information”; Note: the content object is equivalent to the map element content), and the controlling of the user terminal comprises, in response to the user terminal being located in the customized region, displaying the map element content through a map view that includes a map including the location of the user terminal, based on the service element (Col. 3 lines 7-40 – “the AR map may be used to identify content objects associated with real-world objects located near a user's client system based on the client system's GPS location…the AR map may be divided into different geographic regions, each of which may be associated with a portion of the AR map, and the AR system may monitor the distance to locations of content objects listed in the region in which the user is located…The AR system may use a tracking algorithm such as a SLAM algorithm and the feature points associated with the model of the real-world object in the AR map to determine a location of the real-world object relative to the user's client system by searching images received from the client system's camera for a real-world object that matches the model of the real-world object associated with the content object in the AR map. The content object may then be displayed on the client system in association with (e.g., superimposed on) the real-world object using the determined location information”; Note: in response to the user system being located in a certain region, a content object corresponding to the region is displayed on the map. The map also includes the location of the user system). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 to incorporate the teachings of Simari to have a map including the location of the user terminal for the benefit of allowing the user to see where they are relative to other locations or objects, which can help with navigation or picking a destination. It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 to incorporate the teachings of Simari to display the map element content through a map view based on the service element in response to the user terminal being in a customized region for the benefit of only displaying the location of relevant or desired objects so the user can focus on those specific objects and know where they are and how to navigate to them.
12. The method of claim 11,
wherein the map element content is associated with a first object located in the customized region and displayed in an area corresponding to the customized region of the map view, or is associated with a second object located in a remote area for the customized region and displayed in an area corresponding to the remote area of the map view.
12. An augmented content providing method… (see row above)
Claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 does not teach the limitation. Simari teaches wherein the map element content is associated with a first object located in the customized region and displayed in an area corresponding to the customized region of the map view (Col. 3 lines 7-40 – “the AR map may be used to identify content objects associated with real-world objects located near a user's client system based on the client system's GPS location. The AR map may include one or more models of real-world objects, each of which is associated with one or more feature points, and one or more content objects, each of which is associated with a model of a real-world object…the AR map may be divided into different geographic regions, each of which may be associated with a portion of the AR map, and the AR system may monitor the distance to locations of content objects listed in the region in which the user is located…The AR system may use a tracking algorithm such as a SLAM algorithm and the feature points associated with the model of the real-world object in the AR map to determine a location of the real-world object relative to the user's client system by searching images received from the client system's camera for a real-world object that matches the model of the real-world object associated with the content object in the AR map. The content object may then be displayed on the client system in association with (e.g., superimposed on) the real-world object using the determined location information”; Note: the content object, which is equivalent to the map element content, is associated with an object located in the region and is displayed in an area corresponding to that region of the map). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 to incorporate the teachings of Simari to have the map element content be associated with an object in the customized region and displayed in an area corresponding to the customized region of the map view for the benefit of allowing the user to see where the object is located by looking at the map view, which would help them with navigating directly to the object.
13. The method of claim 1,
wherein the service element includes data for displaying a user interface (UI) related to a service associated with the space,
and the controlling of the user terminal comprises, in response to the user terminal entering the customized region or in response to the user terminal leaving the customized region, displaying the UI on the user terminal based on the service element.
13. The augmented content providing method of claim 12,
…augmenting and displaying, in the image, the content filtered as the content associated with the unit space
wherein the determining comprises determining entry of the user terminal into the unit space, and the displaying further comprises, when the user terminal entered the unit space, augmenting and displaying, in the image, the content filtered as the content associated with the unit space
Note: the content is equivalent to the service element, and the unit space is equivalent to the customized region.
Patent claim 13 of US 12260505 B2 recites “displaying, in the image, the content filtered as the content associated with the unit space”. Therefore, patent claim 13 of US 12260505 B2 is in essence a “species” of the generic invention of application claim 13, which recites “displaying a user interface (UI)”, since the displayed content on the image in the AR view is a type of user interface. It has been held that a generic invention is “anticipated” by a “species” within the scope of the generic invention. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
14. The method of claim 1,
wherein the service element includes data for controlling settings of the user terminal to provide a service associated with the space to the user terminal,
and the controlling of the user terminal comprises, in response to the user terminal entering the customized region or in response to the user terminal leaving the customized region, controlling the settings of the user terminal based on the service element.
13. The augmented content providing method of claim 12,
…augmenting and displaying, in the image, the content filtered as the content associated with the unit space
wherein the determining comprises determining entry of the user terminal into the unit space, and the displaying further comprises, when the user terminal entered the unit space, augmenting and displaying, in the image, the content filtered as the content associated with the unit space
Note: the content is equivalent to the service element, and the unit space is equivalent to the customized region.
Patent claim 13 of US 12260505 B2 recites “augmenting and displaying, in the image, the content filtered as the content associated with the unit space”. Therefore, patent claim 13 of US 12260505 B2 is in essence a “species” of the generic invention of application claim 14, which recites “controlling settings of the user terminal” since the display setting is being controlled. It has been held that a generic invention is “anticipated” by a “species” within the scope of the generic invention. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
15. The method of claim 14,
wherein the controlling of the settings of the user terminal comprises running a module for recognizing an object within the space or the customized region or suspending running of the module.
13. The augmented content providing method of claim 12… (see row above)
Claim 13 of US 12260505 B2 does not teach the limitation. Kim teaches wherein the controlling of the settings of the user terminal comprises running a module for recognizing an object within the space or the customized region (Paragraph 0067-0068, 0070, 0073 – “the server (100) can determine which space in the exhibition hall the user is located in based on the location information of the user terminal (200), and can determine the space where the first image was taken through the confirmed location…In step S504, if the server (100) confirms that the shooting space of the user terminal (200) is the first space, it can obtain a list of exhibits placed in the first space from the database (140)… in step S505, the server (100) can analyze the first image information to identify the first exhibit recognized within the first image… the server (100) can determine whether the first image is a photograph of the first exhibit by comparing the shape of the exhibits included in the list of exhibits placed in the first space with the shape of the first exhibit identified in the first image”; Note: controlling the settings comprises running an algorithm for object recognition). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified claim 13 of US 12260505 B2 to incorporate the teachings of Kim to run a module for object recognition in the space because it “not only allows visitors to check detailed information only for the exhibits they want, but also enables them to easily view both the exhibits and their detailed information at once” (Kim: Paragraph 0005). In other words, performing object recognition when the user terminal is in the customized region helps ensure that the user obtains information only on the desired or relevant objects.
16. The method of claim 1,
wherein a scenario condition for providing a service or information associated with the space to the user terminal based on the service element or controlling settings of the user terminal is defined in the customized region based on the service element, and the controlling of the user terminal comprises controlling the user terminal such that the service or the information associated with the space is provided to the user terminal based on the service element or the settings of the user terminal, according to the scenario condition.
12. An augmented content providing method… (see 1st row)
Claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 does not teach the limitation. Tian teaches wherein a scenario condition for providing a service or information associated with the space to the user terminal based on the service element or controlling settings of the user terminal is defined in the customized region based on the service element (Paragraph 0100-0103 – “S104, if the AR device is located in the explanation area corresponding to any preset knowledge point within the target scene area according to the second positioning information, the AR device plays audio explanation data matching the preset knowledge point and displays AR special effects data matching the audio explanation data”; Note: the scenario condition for providing audio and AR effects is defined in the explanation area, as in the AR device must be located in the explanation area in order for those services to be provided), and the controlling of the user terminal comprises controlling the user terminal such that the service or the information associated with the space is provided to the user terminal based on the service element or the settings of the user terminal, according to the scenario condition (Paragraph 0100-0103, 0159 – “S104, if the AR device is located in the explanation area corresponding to any preset knowledge point within the target scene area according to the second positioning information, the AR device plays audio explanation data matching the preset knowledge point and displays AR special effects data matching the audio explanation data…The second prompt information may include prompt information for instructing the AR device to move in a direction that meets the explanation conditions corresponding to any preset knowledge point, so that after adjusting the second positioning information of the AR device according to the prompt information, the AR device can continue to play the audio explanation data corresponding to any preset knowledge point and display the AR effect data corresponding to any preset knowledge point”; Note: the service of playing audio and displaying AR effects for a preset knowledge point is provided according to the scenario condition that the AR device is located in the explanation area of the preset knowledge point). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 to incorporate the teachings of Tian to define a scenario condition in the customized region and control the user terminal according to the scenario condition for the benefit of being able to determine what may be relevant to the user and provide only that relevant information, which would enhance the user experience.
17. The method of claim 16,
wherein a plurality of customized regions are set in the space,
and the scenario condition is defined in the customized region to differently provide the service or the information associated with the space to the user terminal based on the service element or to differently control the settings of the user terminal, depending on whether at least one scenario condition is satisfied between i) a first scenario condition representing whether the user terminal has passed through another customized region rather than the customized region and
ii) a second scenario condition representing whether a number of user terminals located in the customized region corresponds to a range.
12. An augmented content providing method… (see row above)
a plurality of unit spaces including the unit space is defined in a space in which the user terminal moves
Note: unit spaces are equivalent to customized regions
Claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 does not teach the limitation. Tian teaches the scenario condition is defined in the customized region to differently provide the service or the information associated with the space to the user terminal based on the service element or to differently control the settings of the user terminal (Paragraph 0159, 0176 – “the second prompt information may include prompt information instructing the AR device to go to the explanation area corresponding to the next preset knowledge point, so that after adjusting the second positioning information of the AR device according to the prompt information, the AR device can play the audio explanation data corresponding to the next preset knowledge point and display the AR effect data corresponding to the next preset knowledge point…when the AR device is located in the explanation area corresponding to any preset knowledge point within the target scene area based on the second positioning information, the AR device plays audio explanation data matching any preset knowledge point and displays AR special effects data matching the audio explanation data”; Note: the scenario condition for providing audio and AR effects is defined in the explanation area, as in the AR device must be located in the explanation area in order for those services to be provided. The audio and AR effects are different for each explanation area based on the preset knowledge point), depending on whether at least one scenario condition is satisfied: a first scenario condition representing whether the user terminal has passed through another customized region rather than the customized region (Paragraph 0157, 0159 – “when it is determined that the AR device does not meet the audio playback conditions corresponding to the audio explanation data and/or the AR device does not meet the effect display conditions of the AR effect data based on the second positioning position, the AR device can be controlled to play a first prompt message to indicate the explanation status of any preset knowledge point played by the AR device, or the AR device can be controlled to play a second prompt message to prompt the AR device to adjust the second positioning information…the second prompt information may include prompt information instructing the AR device to go to the explanation area corresponding to the next preset knowledge point, so that after adjusting the second positioning information of the AR device according to the prompt information, the AR device can play the audio explanation data corresponding to the next preset knowledge point and display the AR effect data corresponding to the next preset knowledge point”; Note: when the AR device goes to one explanation area instead of another, the display is controlled to align with the explanation area the AR is currently in). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 to incorporate the teachings of Tian to have a scenario condition of which customized region the user terminal passed through to differently provide the service for the benefit of displaying the most relevant information to the user based on where they are and what they are currently viewing, which would enhance the user experience.
Claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 does not teach the limitation. Johnson teaches a second scenario condition representing whether a number of user terminals located in the customized region corresponds to a range (Col. 4 lines 63-67, Col. 5 lines 1-6 – “When a plurality of sight lines for a plurality of location aware devices were or are directed toward the same or similar geographic area, object, etc., it is likely that many AR users are interested in augmented content for the geographic area, object, etc. For example, in FIG. 3, three users 302, 303 and 304 are associated with respective sight lines 306, 307 and 308 directed toward a statue 310. When there is not an augmented content region already associated with the statue 310, the augmented content generator 120 automatically defines an augmented content region 312 that can be used to provide augmented content”; Note: there is a scenario condition representing that a number of users in a region is greater than one, which is used to provide AR content). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 to incorporate the teachings of Johnson to have a second scenario condition representing whether there is a certain number of user terminals located in the customized region because “When a plurality of sight lines for a plurality of location aware devices were or are directed toward the same or similar geographic area, object, etc., it is likely that many AR users are interested in augmented content for the geographic area, object, etc.” (Johnson: Col. 4 lines 63-67). In other words, the number of user terminals located in a region may indicate interest for the region or objects in the region, and thus, controlling the user terminals as a result of that number to provide augmented content would help to enhance the user experience. When the number of user terminals is low, then there is likely to be less interest and thus no need to provide augmented content for that area.
18. The method of claim 16,
wherein the service element associated with the customized region includes a plurality of service elements, the plurality of service elements are associated with different points within the customized region, respectively, and in the customized region, the scenario condition is defined to differently provide the service or the information associated with the space in order in which the user terminal passes through a point associated with each of the plurality of service elements.
12. An augmented content providing method… (see row for double patenting rejection of claim 16)
Claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 does not teach the limitation. Tian teaches wherein the service element associated with the customized region includes a plurality of service elements, the plurality of service elements are associated with different points within the customized region, respectively (Paragraph 0136, 0159 – “The preset knowledge points can be any explanable knowledge point set within the target scene area…the second prompt information may include prompt information instructing the AR device to go to the explanation area corresponding to the next preset knowledge point, so that after adjusting the second positioning information of the AR device according to the prompt information, the AR device can play the audio explanation data corresponding to the next preset knowledge point and display the AR effect data corresponding to the next preset knowledge point”; Note: the target scene area, which is the customized region, has multiple preset knowledge points. The points each have their own AR effects (service elements)), and in the customized region, the scenario condition is defined to differently provide the service or the information associated with the space in order in which the user terminal passes through a point associated with each of the plurality of service elements (Paragraph 0136, 0159 – “The preset knowledge points can be any explanable knowledge point set within the target scene area…the second prompt information may include prompt information instructing the AR device to go to the explanation area corresponding to the next preset knowledge point, so that after adjusting the second positioning information of the AR device according to the prompt information, the AR device can play the audio explanation data corresponding to the next preset knowledge point and display the AR effect data corresponding to the next preset knowledge point”; Note: the audio and AR effects (services) are provided in the order that the AR device goes to each preset knowledge point). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have interpreted Tian, to have obtained the above, and the results of the interpretation would have been obvious and predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention because the target scene area of Tian is also a type of customized region. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 to incorporate the teachings of Tian to define the scenario condition to differently provide the services based on each passed points and their associated service elements for the benefit of providing the user with diverse and the most relevant information according to how they move throughout the space.
19. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, from the user terminal, a route guidance request to a destination; and providing a route guidance to the user terminal in response to the route guidance request, wherein the determining and the controlling of the user terminal is performed when the user terminal moves to the destination according to the route guidance.
12. An augmented content providing method… (see 1st row)
Claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 does not teach the limitation. Tian teaches receiving, from the user terminal, a route guidance request to a destination (Paragraph 0109, 0113-0114 – “navigation map information can be used to instruct the AR device to reach the target scene area from the location indicated by the first positioning information…When the AR device is outside the target scene area, the navigation application installed on the AR device can be invoked for navigation. Therefore, the AR device can display a prompt message to activate the navigation application, prompting the AR device to generate navigation map information from the current location indicated by the AR device's first positioning information to the target scene area. It can respond to a prompt message for a navigation application, obtain navigation map information, and load the navigation map information into the AR screen currently displayed on the AR device. The navigation map information includes the navigation location and/or navigation direction”; Note: the response to the prompt message from the AR device is equivalent to the route guidance request, as it allows for navigation help to the target scene area); and providing a route guidance to the user terminal in response to the route guidance request (Paragraph 0109, 0111-0112 – “When the AR device is determined to be outside the target scene area based on the AR device's first positioning information, navigation map information can be obtained. This navigation map information can be used to instruct the AR device to reach the target scene area from the location indicated by the first positioning information…S1021, Display a navigation application activation prompt to prompt the AR device to use the navigation application installed in the device to generate navigation map information from the location indicated by the first positioning information to the target scene area; S1022, Obtain the navigation map information and load the navigation map information into the AR screen currently displayed by the AR device”; Note: the navigation map information is equivalent to the route guidance, and it is provided after a response to the prompt), wherein the determining and the controlling of the user terminal is performed when the user terminal moves to the destination according to the route guidance (Paragraph 0100-0103 – “S101, Obtain the first location information of the augmented reality (AR) device; S102, Detecting that the AR device is outside the target scene area, and obtaining navigation map information to instruct the AR device to reach the target scene area from the location indicated by the first positioning information; S103, upon detecting that the AR device is located within the target scene area, obtain the second positioning information of the AR device within the target scene area; S104, if the AR device is located in the explanation area corresponding to any preset knowledge point within the target scene area according to the second positioning information, the AR device plays audio explanation data matching the preset knowledge point and displays AR special effects data matching the audio explanation data”; Note: the determining and controlling (S103 and S104) is performed after reaching the destination (target scene area) based on the route guidance (navigation map information)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 to incorporate the teachings of Tian to provide route guidance in response to a request prior to determining and controlling for the benefit of assisting the user to reach their destination more efficiently.
20. A computer system that implements a user terminal or a server, the computer system comprising:
at least one processor configured to execute computer-readable instructions included in a memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to
determine whether the user terminal is located within a customized region based on a location of the user terminal, the customized region being associated with at least one service element,
and in response that the user terminal is determined to be located in the customized region, control the user terminal based on the service element.
12. An augmented content providing method performed by a computer system that is a server or a user terminal, the augmented content providing method comprising:
Claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 does not teach the limitation. Tian teaches at least one processor configured to execute computer-readable instructions included in a memory (Paragraph 0214 – “When the electronic device 800 is running, the processor 801 and the memory 802 communicate through bus 803, enabling the processor 801 to execute the following instructions”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified claim 12 of US 12260505 B2 to incorporate the teachings of Tian to have a processor, computer-readable instructions, and memory because the method is performed by a computer system, which implies a processor and would require instructions and memory to run.
determining whether the user terminal is present in a preset unit space based on a location of the user terminal;…the unit space corresponds to a service target area that provides a service including the content within the space
and in response that the user terminal is determined to be present in the unit space, augmenting and displaying at least one content associated with the unit space in an image,
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tian et al. (CN 113345108 A), hereinafter Tian.
Regarding claim 1, Tian teaches a method of controlling a user terminal, performed by a computer system that is a server or the user terminal (Paragraph 0098 – “a detailed description of an augmented reality data display method disclosed in the embodiments of this disclosure will be provided first. The entity executing the augmented reality data display method provided in this embodiment can be an AR device. An AR device is a smart device that supports AR functions, such as, but not limited to, mobile phones, tablets, AR glasses, etc.”; Note: the AR device is equivalent to the user terminal and computer system), the method comprising:
determining whether the user terminal is located within a customized region of a space based on a location of the user terminal, the customized region being associated with at least one service element (Paragraph 0100-0103 – “S103, upon detecting that the AR device is located within the target scene area, obtain the second positioning information of the AR device within the target scene area; S104, if the AR device is located in the explanation area corresponding to any preset knowledge point within the target scene area according to the second positioning information, the AR device plays audio explanation data matching the preset knowledge point and displays AR special effects data matching the audio explanation data”; Note: it is determined that the AR device is located in the explanation area, which is equivalent to the customized region. The explanation area is associated with service elements, such as audio and AR special effects);
and in response that the user terminal is determined to be located in the customized region, controlling the user terminal based on the service element (Paragraph 0103 – “if the AR device is located in the explanation area corresponding to any preset knowledge point within the target scene area according to the second positioning information, the AR device plays audio explanation data matching the preset knowledge point and displays AR special effects data matching the audio explanation data”; Note: if the AR device is in the explanation area, the AR device is controlled to play audio and display special effects).
Regarding claim 2, Tian teaches the method of claim 1. Tian further teaches defining the customized region to include at least one of two-dimensional (2D) space or three-dimensional (3D) space on a map of the space (Paragraph 0137 – “During implementation, the spatial location of each preset knowledge point and the corresponding explanation area can be determined in the constructed 3D scene model. For example, the location of the real object in the target scene area can be determined as the spatial location of the preset knowledge point corresponding to that real object; or the surrounding area of the real object in the target scene area can be set as the explanation area of the preset knowledge point corresponding to that real object”; Note: the explanation area is implied to be defined as either a 2D or 3D space in the 3D scene model, which is equivalent to the map of the space), wherein the controlling of the user terminal comprises controlling the user terminal based on the service element when the location of the user terminal is present in the customized region on the map (Paragraph 0129, 0138 – “determining the second positioning information of the AR device based on the scene images and the constructed three-dimensional scene model…Based on the second positioning information of the AR device, it can be determined whether the AR device is located within the explanation area corresponding to any preset knowledge point in the target scene area. If so, the AR device plays the audio explanation data that matches any preset knowledge point and displays the AR effect data that matches the audio explanation data”; Note: the AR device is controlled when it is located in the explanation area based on the 3D scene model, which is the map).
Regarding claim 16, Tian teaches the method of claim 1. Tian further teaches wherein a scenario condition for providing a service or information associated with the space to the user terminal based on the service element or controlling settings of the user terminal is defined in the customized region based on the service element (Paragraph 0100-0103 – “S104, if the AR device is located in the explanation area corresponding to any preset knowledge point within the target scene area according to the second positioning information, the AR device plays audio explanation data matching the preset knowledge point and displays AR special effects data matching the audio explanation data”; Note: the scenario condition for providing audio and AR effects is defined in the explanation area, as in the AR device must be located in the explanation area in order for those services to be provided), and the controlling of the user terminal comprises controlling the user terminal such that the service or the information associated with the space is provided to the user terminal based on the service element or the settings of the user terminal, according to the scenario condition (Paragraph 0100-0103, 0159 – “S104, if the AR device is located in the explanation area corresponding to any preset knowledge point within the target scene area according to the second positioning information, the AR device plays audio explanation data matching the preset knowledge point and displays AR special effects data matching the audio explanation data…The second prompt information may include prompt information for instructing the AR device to move in a direction that meets the explanation conditions corresponding to any preset knowledge point, so that after adjusting the second positioning information of the AR device according to the prompt information, the AR device can continue to play the audio explanation data corresponding to any preset knowledge point and display the AR effect data corresponding to any preset knowledge point”; Note: the service of playing audio and displaying AR effects for a preset knowledge point is provided according to the scenario condition that the AR device is located in the explanation area of the preset knowledge point).
Regarding claim 18, Tian teaches the method of claim 16. Tian does not directly teach wherein the service element associated with the customized region includes a plurality of service elements, the plurality of service elements are associated with different points within the customized region, respectively, and in the customized region, the scenario condition is defined to differently provide the service or the information associated with the space in order in which the user terminal passes through a point associated with each of the plurality of service elements. However, when the target scene area of Tian is viewed as the customized region, Tian then teaches wherein the service element associated with the customized region includes a plurality of service elements, the plurality of service elements are associated with different points within the customized region, respectively (Paragraph 0136, 0159 – “The preset knowledge points can be any explanable knowledge point set within the target scene area…the second prompt information may include prompt information instructing the AR device to go to the explanation area corresponding to the next preset knowledge point, so that after adjusting the second positioning information of the AR device according to the prompt information, the AR device can play the audio explanation data corresponding to the next preset knowledge point and display the AR effect data corresponding to the next preset knowledge point”; Note: the target scene area, which is the customized region, has multiple preset knowledge points. The points each have their own AR effects (service elements)), and in the customized region, the scenario condition is defined to differently provide the service or the information associated with the space in order in which the user terminal passes through a point associated with each of the plurality of service elements (Paragraph 0136, 0159 – “The preset knowledge points can be any explanable knowledge point set within the target scene area…the second prompt information may include prompt information instructing the AR device to go to the explanation area corresponding to the next preset knowledge point, so that after adjusting the second positioning information of the AR device according to the prompt information, the AR device can play the audio explanation data corresponding to the next preset knowledge point and display the AR effect data corresponding to the next preset knowledge point”; Note: the audio and AR effects (services) are provided in the order that the AR device goes to each preset knowledge point).
Note: the target scene area of Tian is also a type of customized region for claims 1, 16, 18 as a group when rejecting claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, Tian teaches the method of claim 1. Tian further teaches receiving, from the user terminal, a route guidance request to a destination (Paragraph 0109, 0113-0114 – “navigation map information can be used to instruct the AR device to reach the target scene area from the location indicated by the first positioning information…When the AR device is outside the target scene area, the navigation application installed on the AR device can be invoked for navigation. Therefore, the AR device can display a prompt message to activate the navigation application, prompting the AR device to generate navigation map information from the current location indicated by the AR device's first positioning information to the target scene area. It can respond to a prompt message for a navigation application, obtain navigation map information, and load the navigation map information into the AR screen currently displayed on the AR device. The navigation map information includes the navigation location and/or navigation direction”; Note: the response to the prompt message from the AR device is equivalent to the route guidance request, as it allows for navigation help to the target scene area); and providing a route guidance to the user terminal in response to the route guidance request (Paragraph 0109, 0111-0112 – “When the AR device is determined to be outside the target scene area based on the AR device's first positioning information, navigation map information can be obtained. This navigation map information can be used to instruct the AR device to reach the target scene area from the location indicated by the first positioning information…S1021, Display a navigation application activation prompt to prompt the AR device to use the navigation application installed in the device to generate navigation map information from the location indicated by the first positioning information to the target scene area; S1022, Obtain the navigation map information and load the navigation map information into the AR screen currently displayed by the AR device”; Note: the navigation map information is equivalent to the route guidance, and it is provided after a response to the prompt), wherein the determining and the controlling of the user terminal is performed when the user terminal moves to the destination according to the route guidance (Paragraph 0100-0103 – “S101, Obtain the first location information of the augmented reality (AR) device; S102, Detecting that the AR device is outside the target scene area, and obtaining navigation map information to instruct the AR device to reach the target scene area from the location indicated by the first positioning information; S103, upon detecting that the AR device is located within the target scene area, obtain the second positioning information of the AR device within the target scene area; S104, if the AR device is located in the explanation area corresponding to any preset knowledge point within the target scene area according to the second positioning information, the AR device plays audio explanation data matching the preset knowledge point and displays AR special effects data matching the audio explanation data”; Note: the determining and controlling (S103 and S104) is performed after reaching the destination (target scene area) based on the route guidance (navigation map information)).
Regarding claim 20, Tian teaches a computer system that implements a user terminal or a server (Paragraph 0004, 0098, 0214-0215 – “the present disclosure provides at least one method, apparatus, electronic device and storage medium for displaying augmented reality data… The entity executing the augmented reality data display method provided in this embodiment can be an AR device…Referring to FIG8, which is a schematic diagram of the structure of an electronic device provided in an embodiment of the present disclosure, it includes a processor 801, a memory 802, and a bus 803…When the electronic device 800 is running, the processor 801 and the memory 802 communicate through bus 803, enabling the processor 801 to execute the following instructions…Obtain the initial location information of the augmented reality (AR) device…”; Note: the electronic device is equivalent to the computer system, and the AR device is equivalent to the user terminal), the computer system comprising:
at least one processor configured to execute computer-readable instructions included in a memory (Paragraph 0214 – “When the electronic device 800 is running, the processor 801 and the memory 802 communicate through bus 803, enabling the processor 801 to execute the following instructions”), wherein the at least one processor is configured to
determine whether the user terminal is located within a customized region based on a location of the user terminal, the customized region being associated with at least one service element (Paragraph 0100-0103 – “S103, upon detecting that the AR device is located within the target scene area, obtain the second positioning information of the AR device within the target scene area; S104, if the AR device is located in the explanation area corresponding to any preset knowledge point within the target scene area according to the second positioning information, the AR device plays audio explanation data matching the preset knowledge point and displays AR special effects data matching the audio explanation data”; Note: it is determined that the AR device is located in the explanation area, which is equivalent to the customized region. The explanation area is associated with service elements, such as audio and AR special effects);
and in response that the user terminal is determined to be located in the customized region, control the user terminal based on the service element (Paragraph 0103 – “if the AR device is located in the explanation area corresponding to any preset knowledge point within the target scene area according to the second positioning information, the AR device plays audio explanation data matching the preset knowledge point and displays AR special effects data matching the audio explanation data”; Note: if the AR device is in the explanation area, the AR device is controlled to play audio and display special effects).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian in view of Simari et al. (US 10665028 B2) and Dack et al. (US 20190088029 A1), hereinafter Simari and Dack respectively.
Regarding claim 3, Tian teaches the method of claim 1. Tian further teaches wherein the controlling of the user terminal comprises, when the user terminal is located in the 2D area, determining that the user terminal is located in the customized region and controlling the user terminal based on the service element (Paragraph 0129, 0138 – “determining the second positioning information of the AR device based on the scene images and the constructed three-dimensional scene model…Based on the second positioning information of the AR device, it can be determined whether the AR device is located within the explanation area corresponding to any preset knowledge point in the target scene area. If so, the AR device plays the audio explanation data that matches any preset knowledge point and displays the AR effect data that matches the audio explanation data”; Note: the AR device is controlled when it is located in the explanation area). Tian does not teach wherein the customized region includes 3D space with a 2D area and a height range, and the controlling of the user terminal comprises, when a height of the user terminal belongs to the height range, controlling the user terminal based on the service element. However, Simari teaches wherein the customized region includes 3D space with a 2D area and a height (Col. 5 lines 32-36, Col. 17 lines 45-51 – “the AR map may be divided into different geographic regions, each of which may be associated with a portion of the AR map. The AR system may monitor the distance to locations of content objects listed in the region in which the user is located…Nodes in the map 300, such as a school node 304, may be in the region specified by the root node of the map 300. Nodes in the map 300 may have associated location coordinates, which may be specified in connected nodes. For example, a location node 306 is connected to the school node 304 and specifies location coordinates, e.g., latitude, longitude, and altitude, for the school”). Since Tian already teaches an area represented by a 3D space (Paragraph 0133 – “a 3D scene model corresponding to the target scene area can be obtained”), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tian to incorporate the teachings of Simari to have the customized region be a 3D space including a height because having all of the dimensions of the region allows for accurately determining whether or not the user terminal is in the region. Tian modified by Simari still does not teach the “height range” in the limitation: “wherein the customized region includes 3D space with a 2D area and a height range” nor wherein the controlling of the user terminal comprises, when a height of the user terminal belongs to the height range, controlling the user terminal based on the service element. However, Dack teaches a height range (Paragraph 0041-0042 – “user height data is accessed. The user height data component 120 can be responsible for capturing and providing user height data. The height data is associated with a viewing perspective from an eye level of a user of a scene-aware device. The user height can be mapped to one of a plurality of height ranges. The height range supports processing at least two heights in combination with each other. For example, height ranges can be in 4 inch increments such that users within 4 inches each other's heights are shown the augmented reality objects at the same height…. The constraint configuration can include augmented reality objects that are included, and exclude from user-height-based rendering, additional object or elements, an animation rules, and rotation rules to accommodate user height data during rendering”; Note: there is a height range that determines the rendering of AR content), and when a height of the user terminal belongs to the height range, controlling the user terminal based on the service element (Paragraph 0041-0042 – “user height data is accessed. The user height data component 120 can be responsible for capturing and providing user height data. The height data is associated with a viewing perspective from an eye level of a user of a scene-aware device. The user height can be mapped to one of a plurality of height ranges. The height range supports processing at least two heights in combination with each other. For example, height ranges can be in 4 inch increments such that users within 4 inches each other's heights are shown the augmented reality objects at the same height…. The constraint configuration can include augmented reality objects that are included, and exclude from user-height-based rendering, additional object or elements, an animation rules, and rotation rules to accommodate user height data during rendering”; Note: when the user height is within a height range, AR content is displayed for that height range). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tian to incorporate the teachings of Dack to have the customized region include a height range and control the user terminal based on the service element when the user terminal is located in the 2D area and a height of the user terminal belongs to the height range for the benefit of ensuring user comfort, such that they are not continuously moving the user terminal to view content outside of the current viewing height range and instead, only needing to focus on the content at the same height level. Additionally, displaying AR content based on the user terminal’s height and field of view, rather than just the region alone, helps further filter the content to display and ensure the most relevant content for the user.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian in view of Tang et al. (CN 114419290 A), hereinafter Tang.
Regarding claim 4, Tian teaches the method of claim 1. Tian further teaches wherein the controlling of the user terminal comprises, when the user terminal is determined to be located in the customized region, controlling the user terminal based on the service element (Paragraph 0100-0103, 0159 – “S104, if the AR device is located in the explanation area corresponding to any preset knowledge point within the target scene area according to the second positioning information, the AR device plays audio explanation data matching the preset knowledge point and displays AR special effects data matching the audio explanation data…The second prompt information may include prompt information for instructing the AR device to move in a direction that meets the explanation conditions corresponding to any preset knowledge point, so that after adjusting the second positioning information of the AR device according to the prompt information, the AR device can continue to play the audio explanation data corresponding to any preset knowledge point and display the AR effect data corresponding to any preset knowledge point”; Note: the service of playing audio and displaying AR effects for a preset knowledge point is provided according to the condition that the AR device is located in the explanation area of the preset knowledge point). Tian does not teach defining a 3 degree of freedom (DoF) posture condition or a 6DoF posture condition of the user terminal in the customized region; nor controlling the user terminal based on the service element if posture of the user terminal satisfies at least one of the 3DoF posture condition or the 6DoF posture condition. However, Tang teaches defining a 3 degree of freedom (DoF) posture condition or a 6DoF posture condition of the user terminal in the customized region (Paragraph 0044 – “the trigger command in the target display mode may include the target degree of freedom information in the target display mode, and the target degree of freedom information may include the number of target degrees of freedom and/or the direction of target degrees of freedom. This target degree of freedom information can be used to characterize the direction in which the content displayed by the AR device is not restricted by the movement of the AR device in the target display mode… For example, if the target display mode is the 3DOF display mode, the trigger command in the target display mode can include the target degree of freedom number information 3, as well as the target degree of freedom direction information: roll direction, pitch direction, and yaw direction”; Note: there is a target condition for a 3 DoF posture for an AR device. The AR device being in the customized region was previously taught by Tian in the rejection of claim 1), and controlling the user terminal based on the service element if posture of the user terminal satisfies at least one of the 3DoF posture condition or the 6DoF posture condition (Paragraph 0044, 0056 – “the trigger command in the target display mode may include the target degree of freedom information in the target display mode, and the target degree of freedom information may include the number of target degrees of freedom and/or the direction of target degrees of freedom. This target degree of freedom information can be used to characterize the direction in which the content displayed by the AR device is not restricted by the movement of the AR device in the target display mode… For example, if the target display mode is the 3DOF display mode, the trigger command in the target display mode can include the target degree of freedom number information 3, as well as the target degree of freedom direction information: roll direction, pitch direction, and yaw direction…this application allows the AR device to render each frame of display images according to the method provided in this application when the AR device is in the target display mode, so that the AR device can display images according to the target display mode”; Note; the AR device is controlled to display images if the posture satisfies the condition (in the target display mode)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tian to incorporate the teachings of Tang to control the user terminal based on the service element if posture of the user terminal satisfies the defined 3DoF posture condition when the user terminal is located in the customized region for the benefit of displaying AR content based on the user terminal’s field of view, rather than just the region alone, which would help further filter the content to display and ensure the most relevant content for the user.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian in view of Basra (US 9990028 B2) and Skidmore (US 11568579 B2), hereinafter Basra and Skidmore respectively.
Regarding claim 5, Tian teaches the method of claim 1. Tian further teaches wherein the controlling of the user terminal comprises, when the user terminal is determined to be located in the customized region, controlling the user terminal based on the service element if the user terminal satisfies the defined condition (Paragraph 0100-0103, 0159 – “S104, if the AR device is located in the explanation area corresponding to any preset knowledge point within the target scene area according to the second positioning information, the AR device plays audio explanation data matching the preset knowledge point and displays AR special effects data matching the audio explanation data…The second prompt information may include prompt information for instructing the AR device to move in a direction that meets the explanation conditions corresponding to any preset knowledge point, so that after adjusting the second positioning information of the AR device according to the prompt information, the AR device can continue to play the audio explanation data corresponding to any preset knowledge point and display the AR effect data corresponding to any preset knowledge point”; Note: the service of playing audio and displaying AR effects for a preset knowledge point is provided according to the condition that the AR device is located in the explanation area of the preset knowledge point). Tian does not teach defining at least one condition among a first condition representing a time condition, a second condition representing movement of the user terminal, and a third condition representing manipulation of the user terminal in the customized region. However, Basra teaches defining at least one condition among a first condition representing a time condition (Col. 2 lines 32-35 and 51-53 – “an efficient approach of delivering the live AR content, and potentially change the information based, at least in part, on temporal information (e.g., what is available at the time of the day)… The system 100 may also provide the augmented reality content associated with, but is not restricted to, a venue of an event, duration of an event”; Note: there is a time condition, such as a duration of an event). Tian modified by Basra still does not teach a second condition representing movement of the user terminal, and a third condition representing manipulation of the user terminal in the customized region. However, Skidmore teaches a second condition representing movement of the user terminal (Col. 9 lines 9-21 – “a suspension of AR updates is prompted by a receipt of a first indicator 310. The first indicator may be, for example, a user input such as a physical button activation, a touch-enabled screen tap or other pattern of contact, a gesture (e.g., the user shaking or twisting the device or moving the device in a unique manner or motion atypical for other uses of the device), a voice command (e.g., “Suspend Updates” or “Freeze Screen”), or some other mode or manner of indicating the user's desire that the content presently on the screen remain despite the possibility of location and/or pose changes succeeding the receipt of the first indicator”; Note: there is a condition for moving the device, such as shaking, which allows for a suspension of AR updates), and a third condition representing manipulation of the user terminal in the customized region (Col. 9 lines 9-21 – “a suspension of AR updates is prompted by a receipt of a first indicator 310. The first indicator may be, for example, a user input such as a physical button activation, a touch-enabled screen tap or other pattern of contact, a gesture (e.g., the user shaking or twisting the device or moving the device in a unique manner or motion atypical for other uses of the device), a voice command (e.g., “Suspend Updates” or “Freeze Screen”), or some other mode or manner of indicating the user's desire that the content presently on the screen remain despite the possibility of location and/or pose changes succeeding the receipt of the first indicator”; Note: there is a condition for manipulation of the device, such as a screen tap or voice command, which allows for a suspension of AR updates. The device being in the customized region was previously taught by Tian in the rejection of claim 1). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the explanation condition of Tian could have been substituted for the time condition of Basra, the movement condition of Skidmore, and/or the manipulation condition of Skidmore because all of the conditions serve the purpose of controlling the display of AR content. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the substitution. Finally, the substitution achieves the predictable result of controlling the user terminal to display or not display AR content depending on whether the condition is satisfied. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the explanation condition of Tian for the time condition of Basra, the movement condition of Skidmore, and/or the manipulation condition of Skidmore according to known methods to yield the predictable result of controlling the user terminal to display or not display AR content depending on whether the condition is satisfied.
Claims 6-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian in view of Woo et al. (KR 20170042039 A), hereinafter Woo.
Regarding claim 6, Tian teaches the method of claim 1. Tian further teaches wherein the service element includes data for displaying augmented reality (AR) content related to a service associated with the space (Paragraph 0103 – “if the AR device is located in the explanation area corresponding to any preset knowledge point within the target scene area according to the second positioning information, the AR device plays audio explanation data matching the preset knowledge point and displays AR special effects data matching the audio explanation data”; Note: the AR special effects data is equivalent to the service element), and the controlling of the user terminal comprises, in response to the user terminal being located in the customized region, displaying the AR content through an AR view based on the service element (Paragraph 0103 – “if the AR device is located in the explanation area corresponding to any preset knowledge point within the target scene area according to the second positioning information, the AR device plays audio explanation data matching the preset knowledge point and displays AR special effects data matching the audio explanation data”; Note: in response to the AR device being located in the explanation area, AR content is displayed on the AR device, which counts as the AR view). Tian does not teach an AR view that includes a video captured by a camera of the user terminal. However, Woo teaches an AR view that includes a video captured by a camera of the user terminal (Paragraph 0072 – “in response to the determination that the mobile device is located within the area of interest, an augmented reality view display mode can be performed that displays the camera view of the mobile device and the object of interest menu on the display of the mobile device (S403). That is, when the user is included in the area of interest, it automatically switches to an augmented reality (AR) view, and a video stream input by an input device included in the mobile device, such as a camera, can be displayed on the display unit, and a PoI menu related to the implementation of augmented reality content, which may include additional information related to the object of interest, can be displayed”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tian to incorporate the teachings of Woo to have the AR view include a video captured by a camera of the user terminal based on the service element because augmented reality by definition includes both a real-world view and virtual information (Woo: Paragraph 0030 – “'Augmented Reality (AR) technology' may refer to a technology that displays three-dimensional virtual information on the display of an output device (e.g., a display device) in the real world viewed by the user through an input device (e.g., a camera) mounted on a mobile device”). Therefore, the service element refers to the virtual information displayed on the real-world, and the real-world is represented as a video from a camera. Additionally, using video from a camera on the user terminal would be a convenient way to obtain the real-world view for the AR display.
Regarding claim 7, Tian in view of Woo teaches the method of claim 6. Tian further teaches wherein the AR content is associated with a first object located in the customized region and is displayed within the AR view corresponding to the customized region, or the AR content is associated with a second object located in a remote area for the customized region and is displayed within the AR view corresponding to the remote area (Paragraph 0137-0138 – “the spatial location of each preset knowledge point and the corresponding explanation area can be determined in the constructed 3D scene model. For example, the location of the real object in the target scene area can be determined as the spatial location of the preset knowledge point corresponding to that real object; or the surrounding area of the real object in the target scene area can be set as the explanation area of the preset knowledge point corresponding to that real object… Based on the second positioning information of the AR device, it can be determined whether the AR device is located within the explanation area corresponding to any preset knowledge point in the target scene area. If so, the AR device plays the audio explanation data that matches any preset knowledge point and displays the AR effect data that matches the audio explanation data”; Note: the AR content/effects is associated with a real object located in the explanation area and is displayed corresponding to the explanation area).
Regarding claim 8, Tian in view of Woo teaches the method of claim 6. Tian further teaches wherein the AR content includes a plurality of sequences (Paragraph 0139, 0144 – “when the audio explanation data corresponding to any preset knowledge point has finished playing, and/or when the AR effect data display has ended, controlling the AR device to display AR guidance data for instructing the AR device to move to the explanation area corresponding to the next preset knowledge point…Update the AR guidance data based on the change in the moving distance and/or the moving direction; and control the AR device to display the updated AR guidance data”; Note: the AR content includes sequences, such as displaying AR effect data followed by AR guidance data), and the displaying of the AR content comprises, when the user terminal is determined to be located within the customized region, displaying different sequences of the AR content through the AR view according to a location of the user terminal within the customized region (Paragraph 0103, 0139, 0144 – “if the AR device is located in the explanation area corresponding to any preset knowledge point within the target scene area according to the second positioning information, the AR device plays audio explanation data matching the preset knowledge point and displays AR special effects data matching the audio explanation data…when the audio explanation data corresponding to any preset knowledge point has finished playing, and/or when the AR effect data display has ended, controlling the AR device to display AR guidance data for instructing the AR device to move to the explanation area corresponding to the next preset knowledge point…Update the AR guidance data based on the change in the moving distance and/or the moving direction; and control the AR device to display the updated AR guidance data”; Note: when the AR device is located in the explanation area, different sequences of AR content is displayed based on the location of the AR device. For instance, AR effect data is displayed followed by AR guidance data and then updated AR guidance data).
Regarding claim 9, Tian in view of Woo teaches the method of claim 6. Tian further teaches wherein the displaying of the AR content comprises changing and thereby displaying the AR content displayed through the AR view or outputting additional content, based on at least one of the location of the user terminal within the customized region, a number of entries of the user terminal into the customized region, or an entry and exit status of the user terminal for the customized region (Paragraph 0102-0103, 0154, 0156, 0159-0160 – “S103, upon detecting that the AR device is located within the target scene area, obtain the second positioning information of the AR device within the target scene area; S104, if the AR device is located in the explanation area corresponding to any preset knowledge point within the target scene area according to the second positioning information, the AR device plays audio explanation data matching the preset knowledge point and displays AR special effects data matching the audio explanation data…if it is determined based on the second positioning information that the AR device does not meet the audio playback conditions corresponding to the audio explanation data, and/or, the AR device does not meet the effect display conditions corresponding to the AR effect data, controlling the AR device to perform at least one of the following operations:… Play a second prompt message to prompt the adjustment of the second positioning information of the AR device.…the second prompt information may include prompt information instructing the AR device to go to the explanation area corresponding to the next preset knowledge point, so that after adjusting the second positioning information of the AR device according to the prompt information, the AR device can play the audio explanation data corresponding to the next preset knowledge point and display the AR effect data corresponding to the next preset knowledge point… the AR device can first be controlled to display a prompt message indicating that the AR device is moving towards the explanation conditions corresponding to any preset knowledge point”; Note: when the AR device enters the next explanation area (entry status), the AR content becomes AR special effects associated with the preset knowledge point. When the AR device exits the explanation area (exit status), as in the AR device does not meet the effect display conditions anymore, the AR content is changed to become a prompt message).
Regarding claim 10, Tian in view of Woo teaches the method of claim 9. Tian further teaches wherein, when the user terminal enters the customized region and when the user terminal leaves the customized region, the displaying of the AR content comprise displaying different AR content as the AR content through the AR view (Paragraph 0102-0103, 0154, 0156, 0159-0160 – “S103, upon detecting that the AR device is located within the target scene area, obtain the second positioning information of the AR device within the target scene area; S104, if the AR device is located in the explanation area corresponding to any preset knowledge point within the target scene area according to the second positioning information, the AR device plays audio explanation data matching the preset knowledge point and displays AR special effects data matching the audio explanation data…if it is determined based on the second positioning information that the AR device does not meet the audio playback conditions corresponding to the audio explanation data, and/or, the AR device does not meet the effect display conditions corresponding to the AR effect data, controlling the AR device to perform at least one of the following operations:… Play a second prompt message to prompt the adjustment of the second positioning information of the AR device.…the second prompt information may include prompt information instructing the AR device to go to the explanation area corresponding to the next preset knowledge point, so that after adjusting the second positioning information of the AR device according to the prompt information, the AR device can play the audio explanation data corresponding to the next preset knowledge point and display the AR effect data corresponding to the next preset knowledge point… the AR device can first be controlled to display a prompt message indicating that the AR device is moving towards the explanation conditions corresponding to any preset knowledge point”; Note: when the AR device enters the explanation area, AR special effects associated with the preset knowledge point are displayed. When the AR device exits the explanation area, as in the AR device does not meet the effect display conditions anymore, a prompt message is displayed).
Regarding claim 13, Tian teaches the method of claim 1. Tian does not teach wherein the service element includes data for displaying a user interface (UI) related to a service associated with the space, and the controlling of the user terminal comprises, in response to the user terminal entering the customized region or in response to the user terminal leaving the customized region, displaying the UI on the user terminal based on the service element. However, Woo teaches wherein the service element includes data for displaying a user interface (UI) related to a service associated with the space (Paragraph 0072 – “in response to the determination that the mobile device is located within the area of interest, an augmented reality view display mode can be performed that displays the camera view of the mobile device and the object of interest menu on the display of the mobile device (S403). That is, when the user is included in the area of interest, it automatically switches to an augmented reality (AR) view, and a video stream input by an input device included in the mobile device, such as a camera, can be displayed on the display unit, and a PoI menu related to the implementation of augmented reality content, which may include additional information related to the object of interest, can be displayed”; Note: the service element includes data for displaying an AR view, which is a type of user interface), and the controlling of the user terminal comprises, in response to the user terminal entering the customized region or in response to the user terminal leaving the customized region, displaying the UI on the user terminal based on the service element (Paragraph 0060, 0072 – “When a user enters an area of interest, the guide system can sequentially augment the observation location - the object of interest - and the content of the object of interest…in response to the determination that the mobile device is located within the area of interest, an augmented reality view display mode can be performed that displays the camera view of the mobile device and the object of interest menu on the display of the mobile device (S403). That is, when the user is included in the area of interest, it automatically switches to an augmented reality (AR) view, and a video stream input by an input device included in the mobile device, such as a camera, can be displayed on the display unit, and a PoI menu related to the implementation of augmented reality content, which may include additional information related to the object of interest, can be displayed”; Note: in response to the device entering a region of interest, the AR view is displayed). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tian to incorporate the teachings of Woo to display the user interface on the user terminal based on the service element in response to the user terminal entering the customized region because “A continuous stream of augmented guide information requires constant user attention to the surroundings, provides unhelpful information that prevents the user from focusing on real-world information, and ultimately reduces the intuitive nature of augmented real and virtual information” (Woo: Paragraph 0004). In other words, displaying information at any location or time can distract the user from relevant information. Therefore, only displaying a certain user interface when the user terminal enters a specific corresponding region properly limits the distribution of information and prevents overcrowding the screen.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian in view of Simari.
Regarding claim 11, Tian teaches the method of claim 1. Tian does not teach wherein the service element includes data for displaying map element content related to a service associated with the space, and the controlling of the user terminal comprises, in response to the user terminal being located in the customized region, displaying the map element content through a map view that includes a map including the location of the user terminal, based on the service element. However, Simari teaches wherein the service element includes data for displaying map element content related to a service associated with the space (Col. 3 lines 7-40 – “the AR map may be used to identify content objects associated with real-world objects located near a user's client system based on the client system's GPS location…the AR map may be divided into different geographic regions, each of which may be associated with a portion of the AR map, and the AR system may monitor the distance to locations of content objects listed in the region in which the user is located…The AR system may use a tracking algorithm such as a SLAM algorithm and the feature points associated with the model of the real-world object in the AR map to determine a location of the real-world object relative to the user's client system by searching images received from the client system's camera for a real-world object that matches the model of the real-world object associated with the content object in the AR map. The content object may then be displayed on the client system in association with (e.g., superimposed on) the real-world object using the determined location information”; Note: the content object is equivalent to the map element content), and the controlling of the user terminal comprises, in response to the user terminal being located in the customized region, displaying the map element content through a map view that includes a map including the location of the user terminal, based on the service element (Col. 3 lines 7-40 – “the AR map may be used to identify content objects associated with real-world objects located near a user's client system based on the client system's GPS location…the AR map may be divided into different geographic regions, each of which may be associated with a portion of the AR map, and the AR system may monitor the distance to locations of content objects listed in the region in which the user is located…The AR system may use a tracking algorithm such as a SLAM algorithm and the feature points associated with the model of the real-world object in the AR map to determine a location of the real-world object relative to the user's client system by searching images received from the client system's camera for a real-world object that matches the model of the real-world object associated with the content object in the AR map. The content object may then be displayed on the client system in association with (e.g., superimposed on) the real-world object using the determined location information”; Note: in response to the user system being located in a certain region, a content object corresponding to the region is displayed on the map. The map also includes the location of the user system). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tian to incorporate the teachings of Simari to have a map including the location of the user terminal for the benefit of allowing the user to see where they are relative to other locations or objects, which can help with navigation or picking a destination. It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tian to incorporate the teachings of Simari to display the map element content through a map view based on the service element in response to the user terminal being in a customized region for the benefit of only displaying the location of relevant or desired objects so the user can focus on those specific objects and know where they are and how to navigate to them.
Regarding claim 12, Tian in view of Simari teaches the method of claim 11. Tian does not teach wherein the map element content is associated with a first object located in the customized region and displayed in an area corresponding to the customized region of the map view, or is associated with a second object located in a remote area for the customized region and displayed in an area corresponding to the remote area of the map view. However, Simari teaches wherein the map element content is associated with a first object located in the customized region and displayed in an area corresponding to the customized region of the map view (Col. 3 lines 7-40 – “the AR map may be used to identify content objects associated with real-world objects located near a user's client system based on the client system's GPS location. The AR map may include one or more models of real-world objects, each of which is associated with one or more feature points, and one or more content objects, each of which is associated with a model of a real-world object…the AR map may be divided into different geographic regions, each of which may be associated with a portion of the AR map, and the AR system may monitor the distance to locations of content objects listed in the region in which the user is located…The AR system may use a tracking algorithm such as a SLAM algorithm and the feature points associated with the model of the real-world object in the AR map to determine a location of the real-world object relative to the user's client system by searching images received from the client system's camera for a real-world object that matches the model of the real-world object associated with the content object in the AR map. The content object may then be displayed on the client system in association with (e.g., superimposed on) the real-world object using the determined location information”; Note: the content object, which is equivalent to the map element content, is associated with an object located in the region and is displayed in an area corresponding to that region of the map). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tian to incorporate the teachings of Simari to have the map element content be associated with an object in the customized region and displayed in an area corresponding to the customized region of the map view for the benefit of allowing the user to see where the object is located by looking at the map view, which would help them with navigating directly to the object.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian in view of Woo and Kim (KR 102297010 B1), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 14, Tian teaches the method of claim 1. Tian does not teach wherein the service element includes data for controlling settings of the user terminal to provide a service associated with the space to the user terminal, and the controlling of the user terminal comprises, in response to the user terminal entering the customized region or in response to the user terminal leaving the customized region, controlling the settings of the user terminal based on the service element. However, Kim teaches wherein the service element includes data for controlling settings of the user terminal to provide a service associated with the space to the user terminal (Paragraph 0070, 0073, 0075 – “in step S505, the server (100) can analyze the first image information to identify the first exhibit recognized within the first image… the server (100) can determine whether the first image is a photograph of the first exhibit by comparing the shape of the exhibits included in the list of exhibits placed in the first space with the shape of the first exhibit identified in the first image… If it is confirmed that the first exhibit has been photographed in step S507, in step S508, the server (100) can control the display of content regarding the detailed information of the first exhibit on the user terminal (200) by overlapping it with the first image”; Note: the service element includes an algorithm for object recognition, which is a way to control settings and provides a service for augmentation), and the controlling of the user terminal comprises, in response to the user terminal being in the customized region, controlling the settings of the user terminal based on the service element (Paragraph 0067-0068, 0070, 0073 – “the server (100) can determine which space in the exhibition hall the user is located in based on the location information of the user terminal (200), and can determine the space where the first image was taken through the confirmed location…In step S504, if the server (100) confirms that the shooting space of the user terminal (200) is the first space, it can obtain a list of exhibits placed in the first space from the database (140)… in step S505, the server (100) can analyze the first image information to identify the first exhibit recognized within the first image… the server (100) can determine whether the first image is a photograph of the first exhibit by comparing the shape of the exhibits included in the list of exhibits placed in the first space with the shape of the first exhibit identified in the first image”; Note: in response to the user terminal being in the customized region, settings for object recognition in the captured image are controlled). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tian to incorporate the teachings of Kim to control the settings of the user terminal based on the service element in response to the user terminal being in the customized area because it “not only allows visitors to check detailed information only for the exhibits they want, but also enables them to easily view both the exhibits and their detailed information at once” (Kim: Paragraph 0005). In other words, controlling the settings of the user terminal to turn on object recognition when the user terminal is in the customized region helps ensure that the user obtains information only on the desired or relevant objects. Tian modified by Kim still does not teach controlling the user terminal in response to the user terminal entering the customized region. However, Woo teaches controlling the user terminal in response to the user terminal entering the customized region (Paragraph 0060 – “When a user enters an area of interest, the guide system can sequentially augment the observation location - the object of interest - and the content of the object of interest”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tian to incorporate the teachings of Woo to control the user terminal in response to the user terminal entering the customized region for the benefit of being able to immediately or almost immediately perform the object recognition process once the user terminal reaches the specific target area, rather than having the user wait or delay the experience.
Regarding claim 15, Tian in view of Woo and Kim teaches the method of claim 14. Tian does not teach wherein the controlling of the settings of the user terminal comprises running a module for recognizing an object within the space or the customized region or suspending running of the module. However, Kim teaches wherein the controlling of the settings of the user terminal comprises running a module for recognizing an object within the space or the customized region (Paragraph 0067-0068, 0070, 0073 – “the server (100) can determine which space in the exhibition hall the user is located in based on the location information of the user terminal (200), and can determine the space where the first image was taken through the confirmed location…In step S504, if the server (100) confirms that the shooting space of the user terminal (200) is the first space, it can obtain a list of exhibits placed in the first space from the database (140)… in step S505, the server (100) can analyze the first image information to identify the first exhibit recognized within the first image… the server (100) can determine whether the first image is a photograph of the first exhibit by comparing the shape of the exhibits included in the list of exhibits placed in the first space with the shape of the first exhibit identified in the first image”; Note: controlling the settings comprises running an algorithm for object recognition). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tian to incorporate the teachings of Kim to run a module for object recognition in the space because it “not only allows visitors to check detailed information only for the exhibits they want, but also enables them to easily view both the exhibits and their detailed information at once” (Kim: Paragraph 0005). In other words, performing object recognition when the user terminal is in the customized region helps ensure that the user obtains information only on the desired or relevant objects.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian in view of Johnson et al. (US 10311616 B2), hereinafter Johnson.
Regarding claim 17, Tian teaches the method of claim 16. Tian further teaches wherein a plurality of customized regions are set in the space (Paragraph 0159 – “the second prompt information may include prompt information instructing the AR device to go to the explanation area corresponding to the next preset knowledge point, so that after adjusting the second positioning information of the AR device according to the prompt information, the AR device can play the audio explanation data corresponding to the next preset knowledge point and display the AR effect data corresponding to the next preset knowledge point”; Note: there are multiple explanation areas (customized regions)), and the scenario condition is defined in the customized region to differently provide the service or the information associated with the space to the user terminal based on the service element or to differently control the settings of the user terminal (Paragraph 0159, 0176 – “the second prompt information may include prompt information instructing the AR device to go to the explanation area corresponding to the next preset knowledge point, so that after adjusting the second positioning information of the AR device according to the prompt information, the AR device can play the audio explanation data corresponding to the next preset knowledge point and display the AR effect data corresponding to the next preset knowledge point…when the AR device is located in the explanation area corresponding to any preset knowledge point within the target scene area based on the second positioning information, the AR device plays audio explanation data matching any preset knowledge point and displays AR special effects data matching the audio explanation data”; Note: the scenario condition for providing audio and AR effects is defined in the explanation area, as in the AR device must be located in the explanation area in order for those services to be provided. The audio and AR effects are different for each explanation area based on the preset knowledge point), depending on whether at least one scenario condition is satisfied: a first scenario condition representing whether the user terminal has passed through another customized region rather than the customized region (Paragraph 0157, 0159 – “when it is determined that the AR device does not meet the audio playback conditions corresponding to the audio explanation data and/or the AR device does not meet the effect display conditions of the AR effect data based on the second positioning position, the AR device can be controlled to play a first prompt message to indicate the explanation status of any preset knowledge point played by the AR device, or the AR device can be controlled to play a second prompt message to prompt the AR device to adjust the second positioning information…the second prompt information may include prompt information instructing the AR device to go to the explanation area corresponding to the next preset knowledge point, so that after adjusting the second positioning information of the AR device according to the prompt information, the AR device can play the audio explanation data corresponding to the next preset knowledge point and display the AR effect data corresponding to the next preset knowledge point”; Note: when the AR device goes to one explanation area instead of another, the display is controlled to align with the explanation area the AR is currently in). Tian does not teach a second scenario condition representing whether a number of user terminals located in the customized region corresponds to a range. However, Johnson teaches a second scenario condition representing whether a number of user terminals located in the customized region corresponds to a range (Col. 4 lines 63-67, Col. 5 lines 1-6 – “When a plurality of sight lines for a plurality of location aware devices were or are directed toward the same or similar geographic area, object, etc., it is likely that many AR users are interested in augmented content for the geographic area, object, etc. For example, in FIG. 3, three users 302, 303 and 304 are associated with respective sight lines 306, 307 and 308 directed toward a statue 310. When there is not an augmented content region already associated with the statue 310, the augmented content generator 120 automatically defines an augmented content region 312 that can be used to provide augmented content”; Note: there is a scenario condition representing that a number of users in a region is greater than one, which is used to provide AR content). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tian to incorporate the teachings of Johnson to have a second scenario condition representing whether there is a certain number of user terminals located in the customized region because “When a plurality of sight lines for a plurality of location aware devices were or are directed toward the same or similar geographic area, object, etc., it is likely that many AR users are interested in augmented content for the geographic area, object, etc.” (Johnson: Col. 4 lines 63-67). In other words, the number of user terminals located in a region may indicate interest for the region or objects in the region, and thus, controlling the user terminals as a result of that number to provide augmented content would help to enhance the user experience. When the number of user terminals is low, then there is likely to be less interest and thus no need to provide augmented content for that area.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Singh (US 20160217623 A1) teaches a method of displaying augmented reality content based on an associated region of interest of a user. Jiang (US 20180342105 A1) teaches a method of sending augmented reality information to a terminal if the distance between the terminal and an augmented reality target is less than a defined distance. Chachek et al. (US 20230118119 A1) teaches a method of generating a store map and providing augmented directions to guide a user to a destination in the store.
/MICHELLE HAU MA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2617
/KING Y POON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2617