CTNF 19/050,927 CTNF 73666 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION This is in response to application filed on , in which Claims 1-21 are presented for examination of which Claims 1 and 19-21 are in independent form. Specification Please include “application” into the title. Claim Objections Claim 1, Line 5 reads “as a vehicle control unit…” should it read “ as a vehicle control unit…” 07-30-03-h AIA CLAIM INTERPRETATION 07-30-03 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination.-An element in a claim fora combination maybe expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim fora combination maybe expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. 07-30-05 The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. 07-30-06 This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: Claims 1-21 claim: “a vehicle control unit…” “an information decision unit…” “an information provision unit…” and “occupant provision unit…” Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-2, 8-9, 16-17 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SAKAI et al. (Sakai; US 20210284064 A1) in view of AKACHI et al. (Akachi; US 20180264943 A1) . Regarding Claim 1, Sakai discloses an information notification system (Fig 1) in which one or more applications control apparatuses (200, 270 of Fig 2) are provided in at least one of a vehicle or a cloud ([0020] The movable object 20, the notification server 40, and the content server 50 are connected to a network 90. The network 90 includes a communication line such as the Internet or a mobile communication network ), and notification of application information that is information provided by the one or more applications control apparatuses is provided from the vehicle to an occupant (Abstract), wherein the vehicle includes: as a vehicle control unit (including 22 of Fig 1 automated drive control apparatus ) configured to control an operation of the vehicle ([0023] automated drive control apparatus 22 is configured to provide the movable object 20 with the automated driving function ), an information decision unit (including 29, 28, 22 of Fig 1) configured to determine notifiable information indicating a situation required for notifying the occupant of the application information based on a vehicle-related situation ([0023] location information of the movable object 20, speed information of the movable object 20, control information related to the automated driving function of the movable object 20 ) indicating at least one of a vehicle traveling situation indicating a traveling situation of the vehicle ([0023] location, speed ), a vehicle exterior situation indicating a situation in a periphery of the vehicle ([0023] image information of a surrounding of the movable object ), or a vehicle interior situation indicating a situation inside the vehicle ([0023] information related to the occupant ); and an information provision unit (including 28 of Fig 1) configured to provide the notifiable information determined by the information decision unit to the applications control apparatuses (200, 270), and the applications control apparatuses is configured to request the vehicle control unit to notify the occupant of the application information based on the notifiable information provided by the information provision unit ([0032] the notification control unit 270 causes the notification to the occupant 80 by sending the notification data to the movable object 20 through the communication apparatus 290 ; [0041] the notification plan generation unit 240 generates notification data based on the content data, and assigns the notification data into the management unit. In S418, the communication apparatus 290 sends the notification data to the movable object 20. In S404, the notification apparatus 24 presents notification to the occupant 80 in accordance with the received notification data ), but doesn’t specify an application. In the same field of endeavor, Akachi discloses a vehicle information processing system where information can be displayed according to information to notify a driver. An information processing system includes a navigation device, a mobile terminal, and a control server, wherein the navigation device is connected to a head-up display that can be visually recognized by a driver and includes a display panel that can be visually recognized by the driver and a passenger other than the driver, the mobile terminal transmits notification information to the navigation device and transmits notification related information regarding the notification information to the control server, the control server determines a display device that displays information based on the notification information in the navigation device based on the notification related information received from the mobile terminal and transmits display location information indicating the determined display device to the navigation device, and the navigation device displays the information based on the notification information on the display device indicated by the received display location information. Akachi discloses an information notification system (Fig 1) in which applications (including KJA, TSA, TA, KA TJA, THA, OSA, HBA of Fig 5) are provided in a vehicle or a cloud (Fig 5), and notification of application information that is information provided by the o applications is provided from the vehicle to an occupant (Abstract), wherein the vehicle includes: a vehicle control unit (31 of Fig 2) configured to control an operation of the vehicle ([0036] FIG. 2, head-up display 4 is connected to the navigation device 3 and displays information for supporting the drive of the driver based on the traveling road or traffic information under the control of the control unit 31 ), an information decision unit (including 35, 36, KA of Fig 5) configured to determine notifiable information indicating a situation required for notifying the occupant of the application information based on a vehicle-related situation ([0103] server control unit 71 uses the function of the in-vehicle situation monitoring reception app KJA to refer to the specified notification information display table T1 [0106] server control unit 71 uses the function of the notification transmission app TSA to refer to the head-up display field F21 and the display panel field F22 associated with the specified record and determines whether to display the message on the head-up display 4 and/or the display panel 33a ); and an information provision unit (including KA of Fig 5) configured to provide the notifiable information determined by the information decision unit to the application ([0086], Figs 4A-4D, steps SA1, SB2, terminal control unit 51 uses the function of the notification integration app TA to transmit, to the control server 7… [0088] step SD1, the server control unit 71 of the control server 7 uses the function of the notification integration reception app TZA to receive the notification related information ), and the application is configured to request the vehicle control unit to notify the occupant of the application information based on the notifiable information provided by the information provision unit ([0130] step SD3, server control unit 71 uses the function of the notification transmission app TSA to transmit the display location information and the voice determination information generated in the output related process to the mobile terminal 5 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sakai with Akachi using an application in order to improve relevance of information displayed and convenience of a user, as suggested by Akachi ([0007], [0161]). Regarding Claim 2, Sakai discloses the vehicle control unit is configured to set at least one of a notifiable time, a notification type, or a notification mode according to a situation as the notifiable information and provide the at least one to the application ([0031] A notification time and at least any driving mode of corresponding automated driving mode and manual driving mode are set in the notification data ). 2>Regarding Claim 8, Sakai discloses at least one of a notification method or a notification content at a time of the notification of the application information to the occupant is changed according to the vehicle exterior situation ([0041] In S412, the communication apparatus 290 is configured to send request information for content data associated with the point on the road scheduled to be travelled to the content server 50. In S414, the communication apparatus 290 receives the content data from the content server 50. In S416, the notification plan generation unit 240 generates notification data based on the content data, and assigns the notification data into the management unit. In S418, the communication apparatus 290 sends the notification data to the movable object 20. In S404, the notification apparatus 24 presents notification to the occupant 80 in accordance with the received notification data ; [0022] content data may include…weather information ). 8>Regarding Claim 9, Sakai discloses the vehicle exterior situation is at least one of a weather situation in the periphery of the vehicle or a situation of a road on which the vehicle is traveling ([0041], [0022] phenomenon information includes weather information ). Regarding Claim 16, Sakai discloses the application is configured to set the application information for the notification to the occupant based on the vehicle-related situation ([0023] the communication apparatus 28 sends location information of the movable object 20, speed information of the movable object 20 ), and the notifiable information ([0023] control information related to the automated driving function of the movable object 20 ). Regarding Claim 17, Sakai discloses the vehicle control unit is configured to notify the occupant of the application information ([0041] the notification plan generation unit 240 generates notification data based on the content data, and assigns the notification data into the management unit. In S418, the communication apparatus 290 sends the notification data to the movable object 20. In S404, the notification apparatus 24 presents notification to the occupant 80 in accordance with the received notification data ). Regarding Claim 19, Sakai discloses a vehicle control device (Fig 1) for notifying an occupant of application information that is information provided from a vehicle to the occupant (Abstract) based on a request from one or more applications control apparatuses (200, 270 of Fig 2) provided in at least one of the vehicle or a cloud ([0020] The movable object 20, the notification server 40, and the content server 50 are connected to a network 90. The network 90 includes a communication line such as the Internet or a mobile communication network ), the vehicle control device comprising: an information decision unit (including 29, 28, 22 of Fig 1) configured to determine notifiable information indicating a situation required for notifying the occupant of the application information based on a vehicle-related situation ([0023] location information of the movable object 20, speed information of the movable object 20, control information related to the automated driving function of the movable object 20 ) indicating at least one of a vehicle traveling situation indicating a traveling situation of the vehicle ([0023] location, speed ), a vehicle exterior situation indicating a situation in a periphery of the vehicle ([0023] image information of a surrounding of the movable object ), or a vehicle interior situation indicating a situation inside the vehicle ([0023] information related to the occupant ); and an information provision unit (including 28 of Fig 1) configured to provide the notifiable information determined by the information decision unit to the applications control apparatuses (200, 270), and an occupant provision unit (290 of Fig 2) configured to instruct a notification device (24 of Fig 1) to provide the application information to the occupant when the application control apparatus requests that notification of the application information is provided to the occupant based on the notifiable information provided by the information provision unit ([0032] the notification control unit 270 causes the notification to the occupant 80 by sending the notification data to the movable object 20 through the communication apparatus 290 ; [0041] the notification plan generation unit 240 generates notification data based on the content data, and assigns the notification data into the management unit. In S418, the communication apparatus 290 sends the notification data to the movable object 20. In S404, the notification apparatus 24 presents notification to the occupant 80 in accordance with the received notification data ), but doesn’t specify an application. Akachi discloses an information notification system (Fig 1) in which applications (including KJA, TSA, TA, KA TJA, THA, OSA, HBA of Fig 5) are provided in a vehicle or a cloud (Fig 5), and notification of application information that is information provided by the o applications is provided from the vehicle to an occupant (Abstract), wherein the vehicle includes: a vehicle control unit (31 of Fig 2) configured to control an operation of the vehicle ([0036] FIG. 2, head-up display 4 is connected to the navigation device 3 and displays information for supporting the drive of the driver based on the traveling road or traffic information under the control of the control unit 31 ), an information decision unit (including 35, 36, KA of Fig 5) configured to determine notifiable information indicating a situation required for notifying the occupant of the application information based on a vehicle-related situation ([0103] server control unit 71 uses the function of the in-vehicle situation monitoring reception app KJA to refer to the specified notification information display table T1 [0106] server control unit 71 uses the function of the notification transmission app TSA to refer to the head-up display field F21 and the display panel field F22 associated with the specified record and determines whether to display the message on the head-up display 4 and/or the display panel 33a ); and an information provision unit (including KA of Fig 5) configured to provide the notifiable information determined by the information decision unit to the application ([0086], Figs 4A-4D, steps SA1, SB2, terminal control unit 51 uses the function of the notification integration app TA to transmit, to the control server 7… [0088] step SD1, the server control unit 71 of the control server 7 uses the function of the notification integration reception app TZA to receive the notification related information ), and the application is configured to request the vehicle control unit to notify the occupant of the application information based on the notifiable information provided by the information provision unit ([0130] step SD3, server control unit 71 uses the function of the notification transmission app TSA to transmit the display location information and the voice determination information generated in the output related process to the mobile terminal 5 ) Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sakai with Akachi using an application in order to improve relevance of information displayed and convenience of a user, as suggested by Akachi ([0007], [0161]). Regarding Claim 20, Sakai discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program executed by an information notification system ([0027] in which one or more applications control apparatuses (200, 270 of Fig 2) are provided in at least one of a vehicle or a cloud ([0020] The movable object 20, the notification server 40, and the content server 50 are connected to a network 90. The network 90 includes a communication line such as the Internet or a mobile communication network ), and notification of application information that is information provided by the one or more applications control apparatuses is provided from the vehicle to an occupant (Abstract), the program being executed to: determine notifiable information indicating a situation required for notifying the occupant of the application information based on a vehicle-related situation ([0023] location information of the movable object 20, speed information of the movable object 20, control information related to the automated driving function of the movable object 20 ) indicating at least one of a vehicle traveling situation indicating a traveling situation of the vehicle ([0023] location, speed ), a vehicle exterior situation indicating a situation in a periphery of the vehicle ([0023] image information of a surrounding of the movable object ), or a vehicle interior situation indicating a situation inside the vehicle ([0023] information related to the occupant ); and provide the determined notifiable information to the application ([0032] the notification control unit 270 causes the notification to the occupant 80 by sending the notification data to the movable object 20 through the communication apparatus 290 ); and cause the application to request a vehicle control unit that controls an operation of the vehicle to notify the occupant of the application information based on the provided notifiable information (; [0041] the notification plan generation unit 240 generates notification data based on the content data, and assigns the notification data into the management unit. In S418, the communication apparatus 290 sends the notification data to the movable object 20. In S404, the notification apparatus 24 presents notification to the occupant 80 in accordance with the received notification data ), but doesn’t specify an application. Akachi discloses an information notification system (Fig 1) in which applications (including KJA, TSA, TA, KA TJA, THA, OSA, HBA of Fig 5) are provided in a vehicle or a cloud (Fig 5), and notification of application information that is information provided by the o applications is provided from the vehicle to an occupant (Abstract), wherein the vehicle includes: a vehicle control unit (31 of Fig 2) configured to control an operation of the vehicle ([0036] FIG. 2, head-up display 4 is connected to the navigation device 3 and displays information for supporting the drive of the driver based on the traveling road or traffic information under the control of the control unit 31 ), an information decision unit (including 35, 36, KA of Fig 5) configured to determine notifiable information indicating a situation required for notifying the occupant of the application information based on a vehicle-related situation ([0103] server control unit 71 uses the function of the in-vehicle situation monitoring reception app KJA to refer to the specified notification information display table T1 [0106] server control unit 71 uses the function of the notification transmission app TSA to refer to the head-up display field F21 and the display panel field F22 associated with the specified record and determines whether to display the message on the head-up display 4 and/or the display panel 33a ); and an information provision unit (including KA of Fig 5) configured to provide the notifiable information determined by the information decision unit to the application ([0086], Figs 4A-4D, steps SA1, SB2, terminal control unit 51 uses the function of the notification integration app TA to transmit, to the control server 7… [0088] step SD1, the server control unit 71 of the control server 7 uses the function of the notification integration reception app TZA to receive the notification related information ), and the application is configured to request the vehicle control unit to notify the occupant of the application information based on the notifiable information provided by the information provision unit ([0130] step SD3, server control unit 71 uses the function of the notification transmission app TSA to transmit the display location information and the voice determination information generated in the output related process to the mobile terminal 5 ) Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sakai with Akachi using an application in order to improve relevance of information displayed and convenience of a user, as suggested by Akachi ([0007], [0161]). Regarding Claim 21, Sakai discloses an information notification method (Abstract) in which one or more applications control apparatuses (200, 270 of Fig 2) are provided in at least one of a vehicle or a cloud ([0020] The movable object 20, the notification server 40, and the content server 50 are connected to a network 90. The network 90 includes a communication line such as the Internet or a mobile communication network ), and notification of application information that is information provided by the one or more applications control apparatuses is provided from the vehicle to an occupant (Abstract), the method comprising: determining notifiable information indicating a situation required for notifying the occupant of the application information based on a vehicle-related situation ([0023] location information of the movable object 20, speed information of the movable object 20, control information related to the automated driving function of the movable object 20 ) indicating at least one of a vehicle traveling situation indicating a traveling situation of the vehicle ([0023] location, speed ), a vehicle exterior situation indicating a situation in a periphery of the vehicle ([0023] image information of a surrounding of the movable object ), or a vehicle interior situation indicating a situation inside the vehicle ([0023] information related to the occupant ); and providing the determined notifiable information to the application ([0032] the notification control unit 270 causes the notification to the occupant 80 by sending the notification data to the movable object 20 through the communication apparatus 290 ); and causing the application to request a vehicle control unit that controls an operation of the vehicle to notify the occupant of the application information based on the provided notifiable information ([0041] the notification plan generation unit 240 generates notification data based on the content data, and assigns the notification data into the management unit. In S418, the communication apparatus 290 sends the notification data to the movable object 20. In S404, the notification apparatus 24 presents notification to the occupant 80 in accordance with the received notification data ), but doesn’t specify an application. Akachi discloses an information notification system (Fig 1) in which applications (including KJA, TSA, TA, KA TJA, THA, OSA, HBA of Fig 5) are provided in a vehicle or a cloud (Fig 5), and notification of application information that is information provided by the o applications is provided from the vehicle to an occupant (Abstract), wherein the vehicle includes: a vehicle control unit (31 of Fig 2) configured to control an operation of the vehicle ([0036] FIG. 2, head-up display 4 is connected to the navigation device 3 and displays information for supporting the drive of the driver based on the traveling road or traffic information under the control of the control unit 31 ), an information decision unit (including 35, 36, KA of Fig 5) configured to determine notifiable information indicating a situation required for notifying the occupant of the application information based on a vehicle-related situation ([0103] server control unit 71 uses the function of the in-vehicle situation monitoring reception app KJA to refer to the specified notification information display table T1 [0106] server control unit 71 uses the function of the notification transmission app TSA to refer to the head-up display field F21 and the display panel field F22 associated with the specified record and determines whether to display the message on the head-up display 4 and/or the display panel 33a ); and an information provision unit (including KA of Fig 5) configured to provide the notifiable information determined by the information decision unit to the application ([0086], Figs 4A-4D, steps SA1, SB2, terminal control unit 51 uses the function of the notification integration app TA to transmit, to the control server 7… [0088] step SD1, the server control unit 71 of the control server 7 uses the function of the notification integration reception app TZA to receive the notification related information ), and the application is configured to request the vehicle control unit to notify the occupant of the application information based on the notifiable information provided by the information provision unit ([0130] step SD3, server control unit 71 uses the function of the notification transmission app TSA to transmit the display location information and the voice determination information generated in the output related process to the mobile terminal 5 ) Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sakai with Akachi using an application in order to improve relevance of information displayed and convenience of a user, as suggested by Akachi ([0007], [0161]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3-7 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai and Akachi, further in view of Aggarwal et al. (Aggarwal; US 20190159166 A1) . Regarding Claim 3, Sakai doesn’t specify the vehicle control unit is configured to determine whether notification of the application information from the application to the occupant is possible or appropriate when the application requests the vehicle control unit to notify the occupant of the application information after the information provision unit provides the notifiable information to the application. In the same field of endeavor, Aggarwal discloses an automated assistant application predicts a level of engagement for a user and determines, based on the predicted level of engagement and optionally future predicted levels of engagement, provisioning (e.g., whether, when, and/or how) of output that is based on a received notification. Aggarwal discloses a vehicle control unit is configured to determine whether notification of the application information from the application to the occupant is possible or appropriate when the application requests the vehicle control unit to notify the occupant of the application information after the information provision unit provides the notifiable information to the application ([0004] adapting a format, timing, and/or any other property of the presentation of a notification…presentation of a notification is delayed until a user is idle or not traveling ; [0034] user can set preferences for delaying of notifications until a particular time and/or a particular condition or context has occurred ; [0093] automated assistant application can then determine the notifications that would be appropriate to provide to the user at certain portions of the route ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sakai with Aggarwal using appropriate timing in order to avoid potentially dangerous and distracting situations affecting the user and to improve the quality of notifications, as suggested by Aggarwal ([0004]). 3>Regarding Claim 4, Aggarwal discloses the vehicle control unit is configured to adjust a state in which the notification of the application information is provided to the occupant in response to a request, depending on the vehicle-related situation ([0034] user can set preferences for delaying of notifications until a particular time and/or a particular condition or context has occurred ; [0093] automated assistant application can then determine the notifications that would be appropriate to provide to the user at certain portions of the route ). Regarding Claim 5, Aggarwal discloses the application is configured to set a notification mode according to the situation based on the vehicle-related situation and provide the notification mode to the vehicle control unit ([0034] user can set preferences for delaying of notifications until a particular time and/or a particular condition or context has occurred ; [0093] automated assistant application can then determine the notifications that would be appropriate to provide to the user at certain portions of the route ). 2>Regarding Claim 6, Aggarwal discloses at least one of a notification method or a notification content at a time of the notification of the application information to the occupant is changed according to the vehicle traveling situation ([0034] user can set preferences for delaying of notifications until a particular time and/or a particular condition or context has occurred ; [0093] automated assistant application can then determine the notifications that would be appropriate to provide to the user at certain portions of the route ). 6>Regarding Claim 7, Aggarwal discloses the vehicle traveling situation is at least one of a traveling speed of the vehicle, a stopping situation of the vehicle ([0004] presentation of a notification is delayed until a user is idle or not traveling ) or a traffic congestion situation of the vehicle. 2>Regarding Claim 10, Aggarwal discloses at least one of a notification method or a notification content at a time of the notification of the application information to the occupant is changed according to the vehicle interior situation ([0004] presentation of a notification is delayed until a user is idle or not traveling ; [note: occupant at a standstill]). 10>Regarding Claim 11, Aggarwal discloses the vehicle interior situation is at least one of a role of the occupant, a movement state of the occupant, a characteristic of the occupant, or a riding time of the occupant ([0004] presentation of a notification is delayed until a user is idle or not traveling ; [note: occupant at a standstill]). Regarding Claim 12, Akachi discloses in a case where the application includes a plurality of applications (including KJA, TSA, TA, KA TJA, THA, OSA, HBA of Fig 5), when the plurality of applications provide a notification request for requesting the notification of each application information to the occupant ([0130] step SD3, server control unit 71 uses the function of the notification transmission app TSA to transmit the display location information and the voice determination information generated in the output related process to the mobile terminal 5 ), the vehicle control unit adjusts whether to provide the notification of at least one of the application information to the occupant or an order of the notification of each application information to the occupant . Aggarwal teaches the vehicle control unit adjusts whether to provide the notification of at least one of the application information to the occupant ([0034] user can set preferences for delaying of notifications until a particular time and/or a particular condition or context has occurred ; [0093] automated assistant application can then determine the notifications that would be appropriate to provide to the user at certain portions of the route ). Regarding Claim 13, Aggarwal discloses the application provides a notification request for requesting the notification of the application to the occupant, the vehicle control unit adjusts a state for the notification of the application information to the occupant so as to match the vehicle-related situation that is in an actual state ( Aggarwal teaches setting a condition that when matched by the vehicle in reality generates the appropriate response ; [0034] user can set preferences for delaying of notifications until a particular time and/or a particular condition or context has occurred ; [0093] automated assistant application can then determine the notifications that would be appropriate to provide to the user at certain portions of the route ). Regarding Claim 14, Aggarwal discloses the application is configured to determine whether the notification of the application information to the occupant is possible or appropriate, and when determining that the notification is possible or appropriate, request the vehicle control unit to notify the occupant of the application information ([0004] adapting a format, timing, and/or any other property of the presentation of a notification…presentation of a notification is delayed until a user is idle or not traveling ; [0034] user can set preferences for delaying of notifications until a particular time and/or a particular condition or context has occurred ; [0093] automated assistant application can then determine the notifications that would be appropriate to provide to the user at certain portions of the route ). Regarding Claim 15, Aggarwal discloses the vehicle control unit is configured to determine whether the notification of the application information to the occupant is possible or appropriate, and when determining that the notification is possible or appropriate, request the notification of the application information to the occupant ([0004] adapting a format, timing, and/or any other property of the presentation of a notification…presentation of a notification is delayed until a user is idle or not traveling ; [0034] user can set preferences for delaying of notifications until a particular time and/or a particular condition or context has occurred ; [0093] automated assistant application can then determine the notifications that would be appropriate to provide to the user at certain portions of the route ) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai and Akachi, further in view of Kuragaki et al. (Kuragaki; US 20030117273 A1) . 17>Regarding Claim 18, Sakai doesn’t disclose when the vehicle control unit notifies or does not notify the occupant of the application information, the vehicle control unit is configured to transmit a notification result indicating presence or absence of the notification to the application. In the same field of endeavor, Kuragaki discloses an on-vehicle emergency report apparatus, an emergency communication apparatus and an emergency report system. The emergency report apparatus includes an emergency situation prediction unit for predicting the possibility of a vehicle involved encountering an emergency situation, a report control unit and a communication unit. The communication is established based upon the determination of the emergency situation prediction unit, which predicts the possibility of the vehicle encountering an emergency situation a predetermined time later, based on feature quantities including the distance between the vehicle involved and the vehicle running immediately ahead, the relative speed, the relative acceleration, the speed of the vehicle involved, the brake pedal stroke, the steering wheel angle and the expression of the driver. Kuragaki discloses when the vehicle control unit notifies or does not notify the occupant of the application information, the vehicle control unit is configured to transmit a notification result indicating presence or absence of the notification to the application ([0106] FIG. 14 emergency report testing apparatus 81 includes report test unit 82, display unit 83, and communication unit 84 for communicating with the on-vehicle emergency report apparatus 11, wherein the result of self-diagnosis is received from the on-vehicle emergency report apparatus 11 and displayed on the screen of the display unit 83, the acknowledgment of the receipt is transmitted to the on-vehicle emergency report apparatus 11, and the presence or absence of the response thereto is displayed on the screen of the display unit ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sakai with Kuragaki using an acknowledgment in order to provide helpful measures to ensure delivery of important notifications are being displayed to a driver . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. a. Hashimoto (US 20230108802 A1) discloses a method a remote moving control is executed, and a state of controlling a vehicle is a state of changing a shift state of a transmission apparatus of the vehicle, a remote moving application software controls a terminal control unit to cause an operation terminal to generate vibration having a vibration pattern different from the vibration pattern of the vibration generated by the operation terminal when the state of controlling the vehicle is a state other than the state of changing the shift state or output informing sounds having an output pattern different from the output pattern of the informing sounds output by the operation terminal when the state of controlling the vehicle is the state other than the state of changing the shift state. b. TAHNOOSE et al. (US 20150094877 A1) discloses a method for notifying a user of a condition of a vehicle by receiving sensor data from sensors associated with the vehicle. The sensors observe conditions associated with the one or more systems of the vehicle. The method includes receiving a preference for notifications from a user of the vehicle and generating a notification based on the preference and the sensor data, and communicating the at least one notification to a device of the user. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MARK S RUSHING whose telephone number is (571)270-5876. The examiner can normally be reached on 10-6pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Davetta Goins can be reached at 571-272-2957. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MARK S RUSHING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/050,927 Page 2 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/050,927 Page 3 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/050,927 Page 4 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/050,927 Page 5 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/050,927 Page 7 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/050,927 Page 8 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/050,927 Page 9 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/050,927 Page 10 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/050,927 Page 11 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/050,927 Page 12 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/050,927 Page 13 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/050,927 Page 14 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/050,927 Page 15 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/050,927 Page 16 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/050,927 Page 17 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/050,927 Page 18 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/050,927 Page 19 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/050,927 Page 21 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/050,927 Page 22 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/050,927 Page 23 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/050,927 Page 25 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/050,927 Page 26 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/050,927 Page 27 Art Unit: 2689