DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 9, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (WO2014/157014, ISR/IDS Document) in view of Shu (US 2013/0100572).
Regarding Claim 1, Suzuki discloses an electrostatic chuck (ESC) (Figures 1-18) comprising:
a substrate support (comprising base layer 1 and chuck layer 2, Figures 1-9) including a first segment (comprising 11, 21, Figures 1-9) and a second segment that is laterally adjacent to the first segment (comprising 12, 22, Figures 1-9),
the first segment including a first pair of electrodes (11, 21 including electrodes 25, 25, Figures 1-9), and the first segment being configured to be displaced vertically relative to the second segment to accommodate a non-planar surface of a substrate (11, 21 raised to reduce distance to wafer W, Figure 5).
Suzuki does not disclose the second segment including a second pair of electrodes (Suzuki’s second segment has an adhesive pad in place of the electrostatic attraction layer including the electrodes of the first segment).
Shu discloses an electrostatic chuck (ESC) (Figures 1-17) comprising:
a substrate support (comprising 200, Figures 2, 6) including a first segment (comprising 202, Figure 2, 291, Figure 6) and a second segment that is laterally adjacent to the first segment (comprising 204, Figure 2, 292, Figure 6),
the first segment including a first pair of electrodes (202 including electrodes, Figure 2, 291 comprising 280, Figure 6, Paragraphs 31, 44), and a first power supply and a second power supply to apply a first voltage to the pair of electrodes in the first segment and apply a second voltage relative to the first voltage, to the pair of electrodes in the second segments to accommodate a non-planar surface of a substrate (power supply 212, 213 applied to 202, 204 to accommodate a substrate, Figure 2, +/- V2, +/-V1 to 291, 292, Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the second segment in the electrostatic chuck of Suzuki, a pair of electrodes as taught by Shu to optimize the chucking of larger substrate with warping.
Regarding Claim 2, combination of Suzuki and Shu discloses the ESC of Claim 1, further comprising: a third segment of the substrate support including a third pair of electrodes (Suzuki, comprising 13, 23 in combination with 203 with electrodes in Figures 2, 6 of Shu), and the third segment being configured to be displaced vertically relative to the first segment and the second segment (Suzuki, Figure 8).
Regarding Claim 9, combination of Suzuki and Shu discloses the ESC of Claim 1, further comprising a first actuator that is configured to vertically displace the first segment and a second actuator that is configured to vertically displace the second segment (Suzuki, comprising 31, Figures 1-9).
Regarding Claim 17, Suzuki discloses an electrostatic chuck (ESC) (Figures 1-18) comprising:
a substrate support (comprising base layer 1 and chuck layer 2, Figures 1-9) including a first segment (comprising 11, Figures 1-9) and a second segment that is laterally adjacent to the first segment (comprising 12, 22 adjacent to 11, Figures 1-9);
a first actuator coupled to the first segment (comprising 31, Figures 1-9) that is configured to vertically displace the first segment to reduce a distance between the first segment and a surface of a substrate (11 raised to reduce distance to wafer W, Figure 5);
a second actuator coupled to the second segment (comprising 32, Figures 1-9) that is configured to vertically displace the second segment to reduce a distance between the second segment and the surface of the substrate (12, 22 raised to reduce distance to wafer W, Figure 6);
a first pair of electrodes coupled to the first segment (comprising electrodes 25, 25, Figures 1-9) that, when energized, are configured to generate a first electrostatic force to urge the substrate toward the first segment (wafer W adhered to 11, Figure 5).
Suzuki does not disclose a second pair of electrodes coupled to the second segment that, when energized, are configured to generate a second electrostatic force to urge the substrate toward the second segment.
Shu discloses an electrostatic chuck (ESC) (Figures 1-17) comprising:
a substrate support (comprising 200, Figures 2, 6) including a first segment (comprising 202, Figure 2, 291, Figure 6) and a second segment that is laterally adjacent to the first segment (comprising 204, Figure 2, 292, Figure 6),
the first segment including a first pair of electrodes (202 including electrodes, Figure 2, 291 comprising 280, Figure 6, Paragraphs 31, 44), and a first power supply and a second power supply to apply a first voltage the electrodes in the first segment that, when energized, are configured to generate a first electrostatic force to urge the substrate toward the first segment and apply a second voltage relative to the first voltage, to the electrodes in the second segment that, when energized, are configured to generate a second electrostatic force to urge the substrate toward the second segment (power supply 212, 213 applied to 202, 204 to accommodate a substrate, Figure 2, +/- V2, +/-V1 to 291, 292, Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the second segment in the electrostatic chuck of Suzuki, a pair of electrodes as taught by Shu to optimize the chucking of larger substrate with warping.
Claims 3-6, 8, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (WO2014/157014, ISR/IDS Document) in view of Shu (US 2013/0100572) and Wurfel (US 9,281,252).
Regarding Claim 3, combination of Suzuki and Shu discloses the ESC of Claim 1, wherein the first segment is configured such that vertical displacement of the first segment relative to the second segment is configured to translate the first segment both upward and downward vertically relative to the second segment (Figure 5 shows vertical upward translation and Figure 7c shows vertical downward translation).
Combination of Suzuki and Shu does not specifically disclose translating the first segment relative to the second segment laterally also.
Wurfel discloses an electrostatic chuck (ESC) (Figures 1-10) comprising:
a substrate support (602, Figures 7-9) including a first segment (comprising 705, Figures 7-9) and a second segment that is laterally adjacent to the first segment (comprising 704, Figures 7-9),
the first segment including a first electrode (705 including electrode 718, Figures 7-9), and the first segment being configured to be displaced vertically relative to the second segment to accommodate a non-planar surface of a substrate (705 displaced vertically relative to 704 to accommodate a non-planar, convex/concave surface of a semiconductor substrate 100, Figures 8-9), wherein the first segment is configured such that vertical displacement of the first segment relative to the second segment is configured to translate the first segment both vertically and laterally relative to the second segment (705 vertically up/down and laterally away/closer to 704, Figures 8-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the combination, relative lateral translation of the first segment as taught by Wurfel, to adjust the substrate surface shape for optimization of the processing.
Regarding Claim 4, combination of Suzuki, Shu and Wurfel discloses the ESC of Claim 3, wherein the first segment is configured such that vertical displacement of the first segment relative to the second segment is configured to translate the first segment vertically upward and laterally away from the second segment to accommodate a concave surface of the substrate (Wurfel, Figure 8 in the combination).
Regarding Claim 5, combination of Suzuki, Shu and Wurfel discloses the ESC of Claim 3, wherein the first segment is configured such that vertical displacement of the first segment relative to the second segment is configured to translate the first segment vertically upward and laterally toward from the second segment to accommodate a convex surface of the substrate (Wurfel, Figure 9 in the combination).
Regarding Claim 6, combination of Suzuki, Shu and Wurfel discloses the ESC of Claim 1, wherein the first pair of electrodes is configured to generate a first electrostatic force between the first segment and a first portion of the substrate to chuck the first portion of the substrate to the first segment (Suzuki, Figures 5, 7a-c), and the second pair of electrodes is configured to generate a second electrostatic force between the second segment and a second portion of the substrate to chuck the second portion to the substrate to the second segment (in the combination, with pair of electrodes in the second segment similarly configured as the first segment, Suzuki, Figures 5, 7a-c, Shu, Figures 2, 6).
Regarding Claim 8, combination of Suzuki and Shu does not disclose the ESC of Claim 1, further comprising a diaphragm positioned over the first segment and the second segment such that the diaphragm covers an opening between the first segment and the second segment.
Wurfel discloses an electrostatic chuck (ESC) (Figures 1-10) comprising:
a substrate support (602, Figures 7-9) including a first segment (comprising 703, Figures 7-9) and a second segment that is laterally adjacent to the first segment (comprising 704, Figures 7-9),
the first segment including a first electrode (703 including electrode 716, Figures 7-9), and the first segment being configured to be displaced vertically relative to the second segment to accommodate a non-planar surface of a substrate (703 displaced vertically relative to 704, Figures 8-9), and a diaphragm positioned over the first segment and the second segment such that the diaphragm covers an opening between the first segment and the second segment (comprising 701, Figures 7-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the second segment in the combination, a diaphragm as taught by Wurfel, to securely hold the substrate and to adjust the substrate surface shape for optimization of the processing.
Regarding Claim 18, combination of Suzuki and Shu discloses the ESC of Claim 17, wherein the first actuator is configured to displace the first segment both upward and downward vertically relative to the second segment (Figure 5 shows vertical upward translation and Figure 7c shows vertical downward translation).
Combination of Suzuki and Shu does not specifically disclose translating the first segment relative to the second segment laterally also.
Wurfel discloses an electrostatic chuck (ESC) (Figures 1-10) comprising:
a substrate support (602, Figures 7-9) including a first segment (comprising 705, Figures 7-9) and a second segment that is laterally adjacent to the first segment (comprising 704, Figures 7-9),
a first actuator coupled to the first segment (comprising 710, Figures 7-9) that is configured to vertically displace the first segment (Figures 8-9);
a second actuator coupled to the second segment (comprising 709, Figures 7-9) that is configured to vertically displace the second segment (Figures 8-9);
the first segment including a first electrode (705 including electrode 718, Figures 7-9), and the first segment being configured to be displaced vertically relative to the second segment to accommodate a non-planar surface of a substrate (705 displaced vertically relative to 704 to accommodate a non-planar, convex/concave surface of a semiconductor substrate 100, Figures 8-9), wherein the first segment is configured such that vertical displacement of the first segment relative to the second segment is configured to translate the first segment both vertically and laterally relative to the second segment (705 vertically up/down and laterally away/closer to 704, Figures 8-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the combination, relative lateral translation of the first segment as taught by Wurfel, to adjust the substrate surface shape for optimization of the processing.
Regarding Claim 19, combination of Suzuki, Shu and Wurfel discloses the ESC of Claim 18, further comprising a diaphragm positioned over the first segment, the second segment, and an opening between the first segment and the second segment (Suzuki, comprising 2 including 21, 22, Figures 1-9), wherein the first pair of electrodes and the second pair of electrodes are positioned in the diaphragm (Suzuki, 25 in 21, Figures 1-9 and electrodes similarly in 22 in the combination).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shu (US 2013/0100572) in view of Suzuki et al. (WO2014/157014, ISR/IDS Document).
Regarding Claim 10, Shu (US 2013/01005572) discloses a method for chucking a substrate to a substrate support (Figures 1-17) comprising:
(a) determining a first distance between a surface of a first segment of the substrate support and a first portion of the substrate (comprising wafer flatness measuring unit 230 measuring flatness of the substrate relative to a first segment 202 of ESC 200, Figures 2, 6, 16-17);
(b) determining a second distance between a surface of a second segment of the substrate support and a second portion of the substrate (comprising wafer flatness measuring unit 230 measuring flatness of the substrate relative to a second segment 204 of ESC 200, Figures 2, 6, 16-17); and
(e) applying a DC bias to a first pair of electrodes included in the first segment (applying DC bias to 202 from a first power supply unit 212, Figure 2, applying +/- V2 to the electrodes in a first segment 291, Figure 6) and to a second pair of electrodes included in the second segment to chuck the first and second portions of the substrate to the first and second segments, respectively (applying DC bias to 204 from a second power supply unit 214, Figure 2, applying +/- V1 to the electrodes in a first segment 292, Figure 6).
Shu does not disclose (c) actuating the first segment toward the first portion of the substrate to reduce the first distance between a surface of a first segment of the substrate support and a first portion of the substrate;(d) actuating the second segment toward the second portion of the substrate to reduce the second distance.
Suzuki discloses a method of chucking an electrostatic chuck (ESC) (Figures 1-18) comprising:
a substrate support (comprising base layer 1 and chuck layer 2, Figures 1-9) including a first segment (comprising 11, 21, Figures 1-9) and a second segment that is laterally adjacent to the first segment (comprising 12, 22, Figures 1-9);
actuating the first segment toward the first portion of the substrate to reduce a first distance (Figure 5), and actuating the second segment toward the second portion of the substrate to reduce a second distance between a surface of a second segment of the substrate support and a second portion of the substrate (Figure 7c).
Claims 11-14, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shu (US 2013/0100572) in view of Suzuki et al. (WO2014/157014, ISR/IDS Document) and Wurfel (US 9,281,252).
Regarding Claim 11, combination of Shu and Suzuki discloses the method of Claim 10, wherein (c) comprises displacing the first segment vertically within a processing volume (Suzuki, Figures 5, 7c), and wherein (d) comprises displacing the second segment in both upward and downward vertically within the processing volume (Suzuki, Figure 5 shows vertical upward translation and Figure 7c shows vertical downward translation).
Combination of Shu and Suzuki does not specifically disclose displacing the second segment laterally also.
Wurfel discloses a method for chucking a substrate to a substrate support (Figures 1-10) comprising:
the substrate support (602, Figures 7-9) including a first segment (comprising 705, Figures 7-9) and a second segment that is laterally adjacent to the first segment (comprising 704, Figures 7-9),
the first segment including a first electrode (704 including electrode 717, Figures 7-9), the second segment including a second electrode (705 including electrode 718, Figures 7-9);
applying a DC bias to the first electrode included in the first segment (applying DC bias to 718, Figures 7-9) and to the second electrode included in the second segment to chuck the first and second portions of the substrate to the first and second segments, respectively (applying DC bias to 717, Figures 7-9, Column 3, lines 62-64);
wherein the first segment being configured to be displaced vertically relative to the second segment to accommodate a non-planar surface of a substrate (704 displaced vertically relative to 705 to accommodate a non-planar, convex/concave surface of a semiconductor substrate 100, Figures 8-9), wherein the first segment is configured such that vertical displacement of the first segment relative to the second segment is configured to translate the first segment both vertically and laterally relative to the second segment (705 vertically up/down and laterally away/closer to 704, Figures 8-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the combination, displacing the second segment laterally as taught by Wurfel, to adjust the substrate surface shape for optimization of the processing.
Regarding Claim 12, combination of Shu, Suzuki and Wurfel discloses the method of Claim 11, wherein the first segment is laterally adjacent to the second segment (Shu, 202 adjacent to 204, Figures 2, 6, Suzuki, 11 adjacent to 12, Figures 1-9, Wurfel, 704 adjacent to 705, Figures 7-9).
Regarding Claim 13, combination of Shu, Suzuki and Wurfel discloses the method of Claim 12, wherein (d) comprises displacing the second segment laterally toward the first segment (Wurfel, Figure 9).
Regarding Claim 14, combination of Shu, Suzuki and Wurfel discloses the method of Claim 13, wherein (d) comprises displacing the second segment laterally away from the first segment (Wurfel, Figure 8).
Regarding Claim 16, combination of Shu, Suzuki and Wurfel discloses the method of Claim 12, further comprising deforming a diaphragm that covers a top surface of the first segment, a second surface of the second segment, and an opening between the first segment and the second segment (Suzuki, comprising 2 including 21, 22, Figures 1-9, Wurfel, comprising 701, Figures 7-9, Column 11, lines 41-43, “….the elastic member 701 may include a membrane formed from a polymer, a ceramic material, a glass, a glass ceramic material and/or a metal…”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7,15, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 7, combination of Suzuki, Shu and Wurfel discloses the ESC of Claim 6, further comprising a membrane that is coupled to a side of the first segment and the second segment that is facing the substrate (Wurfel, comprising 701, Figures 7-9, Column 11, lines 41-43, “….the elastic member 701 may include a membrane formed from a polymer, a ceramic material, a glass, a glass ceramic material and/or a metal…”). Combination of Suzuki, Shu and Wurfel does not disclose a membrane coupled to a side of the first segment and the second segment that is opposite from the substrate, in combination with the other recited elements of Claim 7, and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim (Claim 1) and any intervening claims (Claim 6).
Regarding Claim 15, combination of Suzuki, Shu and Wurfel discloses the method of Claim 12, further comprising deforming a membrane that is positioned above the first segment and the second segment during (c) and (d) (Wurfel, comprising 701, Figures 7-9, Column 11, lines 41-43, “….the elastic member 701 may include a membrane formed from a polymer, a ceramic material, a glass, a glass ceramic material and/or a metal…”). Combination of Suzuki, Shu and Wurfel does not disclose deforming a membrane that is positioned below the first segment and the second segment, in combination with the other recited elements of Claim 15, and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim (Claim 10) and any intervening claims (Claims 11-12).
Regarding Claim 20, combination of Suzuki, Shu and Wurfel discloses the ESC of Claim 18, further comprising a membrane positioned above the first segment and the second segment, wherein vertical displacement of the first segment or the second segment is configured to deform the membrane (Wurfel, comprising 701, Figures 7-9, Column 11, lines 41-43, “….the elastic member 701 may include a membrane formed from a polymer, a ceramic material, a glass, a glass ceramic material and/or a metal…”). Combination of Suzuki, Shu and Wurfel does not specifically disclose a membrane positioned bellow the first segment and the second segment, in combination with the other recited elements of Claim 20, and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim (Claim 17) and any intervening claims (Claims 18-19).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shirley (US 2021/0035850, IDS document) discloses an ESC (100, Figures 1A-D) comprising mutually lateral adjacent segments (120), each mutually lateral adjacent segments configured to move at least vertically and comprising an upper surface, and an actuator system (140) operably coupled to each of the segments to selectively move the segments vertically to adjust a surface profile of a wafer (160).
/LUCY M THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 2838, 7/22/2026 /CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838