DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi et al (JP-2016-127065 A (provided with IDS).
Regarding claim 12, Takahashi et al disclose a composition used in an etching method for producing a semiconductor substrate [0001], wherein the composition used to etch or treat metal layer comprising various metals including tungsten (W) [0010]; and the etching solution comprises an oxidizing agent and an organic solvent [0020]; and the concentration of the organic solvent is 99% by mass or less [0030].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11,13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIZUTANI et al (TW 202136477) in view of JP 2005-217360 (herein after, JP-360).
Regarding claim 1, MIZUTANI et al a processing method for a processed object, which includes: step A of performing oxidation treatment on the processed object with a metal layer to form a metal oxide layer; and contacting the processed object obtained in step A with a processing liquid, In the step B of dissolving and removing the metal oxide layer, in the processing method of the object to be processed, the processing liquid contains an organic solvent and an acidic compound, and the content of the organic solvent is 50% by mass or more relative to the total mass of the processing liquid (see page 2 at the translation), wherein the metal layer comprises tungsten (W), molybdenum, etc. (see page 12).
MIZUTANI et al disclose that above-mentioned step A is a step of performing an oxidation treatment in which an oxidizing solution is brought into contact with a to-be-processed object having a metal layer, and oxidizing solution (resemble as the claimed “first treatment liquid”) is selected from the group consisting of a mixed aqueous solution containing water, hydrogen peroxide water (reads on the claimed oxidizing agent) (see page 3); and treatment liquid (resemble as the claimed “second treatment liquid”) contains organic solvent and acidic compound (pages 3, 4); and this treatment liquid may contain water. The water is not particularly limited, and examples thereof include distilled water, ion-exchanged water, and pure water (see page 7); and aforesaid treatment liquid contain water, easily reads on the claimed second treatment liquid contains water.
Unlike the instant invention, MIZUTANI et al fail to disclose the first treatment liquid also contains “an organic solvent” in the step A (claimed step 1).
However, JP-360 discloses a metal-polishing liquid comprising an organic solvent in an amount of 0.1 to 95% by weight and an oxidizing agent (see page 4 and 6 in the machine translation). JP-360 discloses that the basic mechanism is to oxidize the surface of a metal film with an oxidizing agent and scrape the oxidized layer (see page 2). JP-360 discloses that the metal to be polished may comprise tungsten (see page 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ JP-360's teaching of using metal-polishing by using an metal oxide on the metal surface utilizing an organic solvent, along with oxidizing agent into the teaching of MIZUTANI et al for effectively removing metal oxide from a metal surface with high flatness and high reliability as suggested by JP-360 (see page 5).
Regarding claims 2 and 5- 6, JP-360 discloses above that the organic solvent is present in an amount of 0.1 to 95% by weight (page 2); and comprises ethyl acetate, ethyl lactate, diethylene glycol dibutyl ether, etc. (page 7).
Regarding claims 3-4, and 14-15, the modified teaching above may not disclose the organic solvent’s relative permittivity. However, JP-360’s organic solvent are the same solvent used in the instant invention and expected to have the same property, namely the claimed relative permittivity.
Regarding claims 7-8 and 18-19, MIZUTANI et al disclose oxidizing solution comprises hydrogen peroxide water being used in an amount of 0.5 to 31 mass % (page 13-14) and therefore, one of ordinary skill int l heart would easily optimize such as the water content would have been with in the claimed range unless applicants show any criticality of such water content.
Regarding claims 9-10, MIZUTANI et al disclose the oxidizing agent comprises quinone compound, such as 1,4-Benzoquinone, Toluoquinone, Dimethyl-1,4-Benzoquinone, etc. (page 14).
Regarding claim 11, MIZUTANI et al disclose that the method for processing an object as described, which repeatedly implements the above step A and the above step B (page 3).
Regarding claim 13, MIZUTANI et al disclose that the above-mentioned process steps are performed in the manufacturing method of the semiconductor device (page 18).
Regarding claims 16-17, JP-360 discloses that the organic solvent comprises an ether solvent and may also comprise ethyl acetate, ethyl lactate, diethylene glycol dibutyl ether, etc. (page 7).
Regarding claim 20, MIZUTANI et al disclose the oxidizing agent comprises quinone compound, such as 1,4-Benzoquinone, Toluoquinone, Dimethyl-1,4-Benzoquinone, etc. (page 14).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, listed in the PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 2022/179680 discloses a process for etching molybdenum, comprising the steps of: a) oxidizing a thickness portion of the molybdenum using a thermal oxidation process to form molybdenum oxide layer and b) dissolving the thermal molybdenum oxide layer using wet chemistry (see, at least abstract).
SHAMIM AHMED
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1713
/SHAMIM AHMED/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713